C-section Ammo's 2007

Bob I would like to know what hype surrounds the Friars from what I have read it is all about Reds and the 2 OC's.

I have followed Friars and seen them drop 2 grades in 3 years so not sure about their hype.

I think that Mazenod, Ormond and Parkdale will all be very competitive this year. I can only gauge that the teams shooting off their mouth are doing the talking befor they've done the walking!

Reds and Friars to play off. My sources inform me the friars are flying. Carey and Mazenod to fill the placings.
Carey have recruited very, very well and may even threaten for second .

Pretty clear cut four to me, with 2007 the year of the REDDDER!

Interesting to see that Battle, Ratcliffe and possibly Howgate may be leaving Old Carey. These three are rately very highly at OC and i'd imagine they'll try and do everything possible to hold on to them. However not sure if OG will be happy to see this happen.

I'm looking forward to watching the GF re-match of OC and Rupo.

Collins still leading the pack for Rupo?
they wont be losing them to the opposition.
both are now os and will remain there for at least this year.

Yeh it was but the club is much more ready now. New coach, plenty of quailty recruits( many of whom will slip under the radar!) and there isn't a St Bedes this year.

Who is your top four beacon?

It's a long way out but in no particular order:

Whitefriarers
Reds
Mazenod
Ormond
and
Old Camberwell may surprise

Alot will depend on how each team's form in their away games.

It's a long way out but in no particular order:

Whitefriarers
Reds
Mazenod
Ormond
and
Old Camberwell may surprise

Alot will depend on how each team's form in their away games.

Roy here - just letting you know I am still alive and kicking.

Righto - top four will be in order:

Reds
The OC (camberwell variety - if rumors are correct - the best recruiting effort in Ammos history will get them to 2nd, hard to gel all those guns, took Chelsea a season or two to get it right in the EPL)
Ormond (Hopefully they make the finals and we can give them another sound thrashing)
Rupo - bit of a smoky I know

That is all for now

Red

Roy here - just letting you know I am still alive and kicking.

Righto - top four will be in order:

Reds
The OC (camberwell variety - if rumors are correct - the best recruiting effort in Ammos history will get them to 2nd, hard to gel all those guns, took Chelsea a season or two to get it right in the EPL)
Ormond (Hopefully they make the finals and we can give them another sound thrashing)
Rupo - bit of a smoky I know

That is all for now

Red
Roy, great to hear form you! At least you got the top team right!

Friars and Carey will fill the next two spots. Forget the rumours, the other clubs will need all the good players they can muster to beat the Reds!

Rupo to just survive.

Their coach has a history of first semi final losses, will be interesting if he gets them to the big dance this year. Surely with Chard, Loats, Dermies best mate etc they can get out of C Section? The big number 5 is due to miss a large chunk of the season with his dodgy knees, will this be the one?

Brian has spoken;6689021The big number 5 is due to miss a large chunk of the season with his dodgy knees said:
Is number 5 loates? Havent seen him before but have heard he's a handful. Who's Chard?

I really cant see them challenging the teams that are coming down from the top grades given they've been stuck in C Grade for 5 years or so.

No doubt Ryan Chard would be hard to contain for most C grade CHB's. He's a very, very good mark of the footy. Big loss for SKOB. If their stated acquisitions do all arrive and stand up, I'd be pencilling the Wellers in for a top 4 berth for sure.

With all due respect to Ryan Chard he is only 1 player and lets face if they are going to hang their hat on 1,2 or 3 then they may be surprised when they face 22 comitted types!

Why doesn't the talk focus on teams rather then individuals? Let me tell you all on this forum Mazenod are the sleepers, strong culture and a well organised ad proud club!

With all due respect to Ryan Chard he is only 1 player and lets face if they are going to hang their hat on 1,2 or 3 then they may be surprised when they face 22 comitted types!

Why doesn't the talk focus on teams rather then individuals? Let me tell you all on this forum Mazenod are the sleepers, strong culture and a well organised ad proud club!

Agree. I have them in my top four behind Reds, Fiars, Carey.

Mazenod have slipped under the radar here but will be more than competitive.

Jack - I take your point and certainly agree that the flag will be won by the side who consistently gets the most committed and hardest working group of 22 players on the park. Frankly, I see part of my role at Reds as making sure the 10 - 15 guys who don't make that senior 22 are capable of slotting in if/when required and doing the job better than the opposition.

However, I firmly believe that, if Old Camberwell manage to get Tom Bayford (ex-Box Hill), Rayden Tallis, Rory Hilton and Ryan Chard in their senior side regularly, that will serve to provide the other 18 players with additional confidence and enthusiasm. Further the team will have great bite around the packs and a reliable set of key forwards, in Chard and Loats, to utilise. It certainly helps with structure and predictability.

As for why we talk about individuals as opposed to teams, well obviously no side has won any premiership points as yet and probably 12- 16 players in each side's senior 22 would be unknown to most, if not all BF posters. Hence the names supposedly coming into the sides carry more currency at this stage than the teams' past performances.

Jack - I take your point and certainly agree that the flag will be won by the side who consistently gets the most committed and hardest working group of 22 players on the park. Frankly, I see part of my role at Reds as making sure the 10 - 15 guys who don't make that senior 22 are capable of slotting in if/when required and doing the job better than the opposition.

However, I firmly believe that, if Old Camberwell manage to get Tom Bayford (ex-Box Hill), Rayden Tallis, Rory Hilton and Ryan Chard in their senior side regularly, that will serve to provide the other 18 players with additional confidence and enthusiasm. Further the team will have great bite around the packs and a reliable set of key forwards, in Chard and Loats, to utilise. It certainly helps with structure and predictability.

As for why we talk about individuals as opposed to teams, well obviously no side has won any premiership points as yet and probably 12- 16 players in each side's senior 22 would be unknown to most, if not all BF posters. Hence the names supposedly coming into the sides carry more currency at this stage than the teams' past performances.

Hey frase, do you reckon the Reds will play senior home games at Vic Park this year, given the poor state of Brunswick street? One would have thought that would make sense.

Are you sure hilton is playing for them? I have heard otherwise.

Carey have recruited very well from scotch and will be a threat.

Carey will win C grade in a canter. At least a 5 goals better side than Red where in '05 (IMO) - and word on the street is that they have added plenty.

Big call I know.

Hey frase, do you reckon the Reds will play senior home games at Vic Park this year, given the poor state of Brunswick street? One would have thought that would make sense.

Are you sure hilton is playing for them? I have heard otherwise.

Carey have recruited very well from scotch and will be a threat.

I also heard that Hilton was playing EFL this year so perhaps OC may not be as well heeled as first thought!

Let me tell a few home truths about 2007.

Uni Reds could pick up 12 A grade players and they will be still no good this year. Until they find some ticker in the chest region, they will struggle to be in the top half.

Carey may have picked up a few, but too big a jump. No side in recent memory has gone straight through Crunch grade (someone will correct I'm sure).

Rupo not experienced enough. Will consolidate.

Monash. Gone.

NOBS. Will struggle until they get a cohesive unit. Not enough playing for the coach. (If they changed coach then prepared to reserve judgement)

Camberwell. Good enough list on paper. But they have had for the last couple of years. Can't get them all on the park, or in the country, or come up with the money on the weekend, or get them out of the pub in time. Too many excuses.

Whitefriars.I know nothing about.

Parkdale. Lost some. Gained some. Still old. Rely on too few. But their too few are genuine match winners. Will be real tough to beat at home.

Ormond. My tip. Got a lot to prove after playing there semi last year thinking a week ahead of themselves.

Mazenod. Will struggle to hold there head above D Grade. Will cause some upsets this year.

Top 4.
Ormond
Camberwell
Parkdale
Carey

D Grade here they come
Monash
NOBS

Also hoping RED ROY keeps it real this year.

VV

Let me tell a few home truths about 2007.

Uni Reds could pick up 12 A grade players and they will be still no good this year. Until they find some ticker in the chest region, they will struggle to be in the top half.

Carey may have picked up a few, but too big a jump. No side in recent memory has gone straight through Crunch grade (someone will correct I'm sure).

Rupo not experienced enough. Will consolidate.

Monash. Gone.

NOBS. Will struggle until they get a cohesive unit. Not enough playing for the coach. (If they changed coach then prepared to reserve judgement)

Camberwell. Good enough list on paper. But they have had for the last couple of years. Can't get them all on the park, or in the country, or come up with the money on the weekend, or get them out of the pub in time. Too many excuses.

Whitefriars.I know nothing about.

Parkdale. Lost some. Gained some. Still old. Rely on too few. But their too few are genuine match winners. Will be real tough to beat at home.

Ormond. My tip. Got a lot to prove after playing there semi last year thinking a week ahead of themselves.

Mazenod. Will struggle to hold there head above D Grade. Will cause some upsets this year.

Top 4.
Ormond
Camberwell
Parkdale
Carey

D Grade here they come
Monash
NOBS

Also hoping RED ROY keeps it real this year.

VV

Blacks went straight through crunch grade. Jsut for the record, it is Fitzroy Reds not Uni Reds! Your ladder is way off the mark.

At this stage of the (PRE) season, each club should have their reasons for being optimistic.

Geez if Carlton fans can get excited about a 72 year-old being seconded as their president, and start buying memberships like they're going out of style (which they were), then everyone else is entitled to view their cup as half full aren't they?

No firm decision on Vic Park for Reds home games at this stage, I think the City of Yarra will wait until mid-late March to make that call. I can understand the desire of the Fitzroy faithful to keep Brunswick Street as the home ground for seniors/reserves, but a switch would seem logical if the deck doesn't improve. If so, then we may well host Whitefriars in round one as their school ground is in real strife.

Unless the VAFA advises us of a delay in the start of the senior season, then there's only 52 days to go.........