C-section Ammo's 2007

Expect a major improvement from Ormond next year. With Millsy returning from injury, Robbins family (Matt, Dave & Brendan) & an early indication from an ex-Kangaroo, could shake a few feathers in C grade next year...

Is it Jonathan Hay????

Will Robbins definetely end up at Ormond, I hear a club recently promoted to B grade is chasing him as well as a D4 club to Captain Coach.

Is it Jonathan Hay????

Will Robbins definetely end up at Ormond, I hear a club recently promoted to B grade is chasing him as well as a D4 club to Captain Coach.

Wow - what are the odds of Matthew Robbins going to a D4 club as captain coach? :rolleyes:

No disrespect intended, but I'd put this one at 1,000,000/1

Yeah, Ammos clubs are loaded and pay so much under the table coin..........NOT!

You are so naive monkeyboy. There are many ammo clubs that are loaded and DO pay under the counter. I know of one club that has a player supposedly employed for one of their sponsors who provides a paypacket each week. There are ways and the word does get around.

This old chestnut again.
As has been said by many on this forum.....
PUT UP OR SHUT UP!
The old "everyone knows" "I know a club" Someone told me" just doesn't cut it with me and you will find will not cut it with many others.
Name me some clubs and players and i will listen to you. Till then, let it remain phantom like.

Wow - what are the odds of Matthew Robbins going to a D4 club as captain coach? :rolleyes:

No disrespect intended, but I'd put this one at 1,000,000/1

I would say the odds are pretty good, if you can believe what he has been offered. But as Monkey Magic says unless you can prove it you shouldn't put it on here. Unfortunately the only people who can prove it are the players themselves and those offering the deals and I don't think they will be speaking out any time soon.

This old chestnut again.
PUT UP OR SHUT UP!
The old "everyone knows" "I know a club" Someone told me" just doesn't cut it with me and you will find will not cut it with many others.
Name me some clubs and players and i will listen to you. Till then, let it remain phantom like.

Monkeyboy I reckon your club is one that pays or you wouldn't be carrying on like you are.

A. Im not carrying on.
B. I have been aroung Ammos for a long time and i think people talk crap more than not on this subject.
C. You do not know who i follow
D. The team/s i follow do not pay any money to players. They offer certain opportunities. But that is the secret of success and the Ammos culture of networking (otherwise known as good business)
E. I dont care how much a team pays a coach - ie robbins.

Got this off the D2 thread. Can anyone add to this?
Originally Posted by oldtimer
The player can seriously play. Played Teal Cup, won a Trinity A Grade b and F at 19. At the moment is only in negotiations as he is playing tomorrow in a grand final. Is only 23 and will bring players with him if he accepts the job.

being involved with oc1 i understand that that he has connections with rupertswood and along with matt little and jessie smith will be pushing to rupertswood to make a very serious challange for b grade as priemers and champions.

Got this off the D2 thread. Can anyone add to this?
Originally Posted by oldtimer
The player can seriously play. Played Teal Cup, won a Trinity A Grade b and F at 19. At the moment is only in negotiations as he is playing tomorrow in a grand final. Is only 23 and will bring players with him if he accepts the job.

being involved with oc1 i understand that that he has connections with rupertswood and along with matt little and jessie smith will be pushing to rupertswood to make a very serious challange for b grade as priemers and champions.
I doubt Al Neville will ever play VAFA again.

A. Im not carrying on.
B. I have been aroung Ammos for a long time and i think people talk crap more than not on this subject.
C. You do not know who i follow
D. The team/s i follow do not pay any money to players. They offer certain opportunities. But that is the secret of success and the Ammos culture of networking (otherwise known as good business)
E. I dont care how much a team pays a coach - ie robbins.

So let me get this straight.... Do the Ammos pay players or not???

this is a clear example why people with an IQ bellow 20, should not be allowed to register on big footy!

do i have to spell it out to you (lol the irony)

a.m.a.t.e.u.r.s.
V.A.F.A
victorian amateur football assosiation

defintion

an athlete who does not compete for payment or for a monetary prize.

I assume you have not yet completed primary school.

this is a clear example why people with an IQ bellow 20, should not be allowed to register on big footy!

do i have to spell it out to you (lol the irony)

a.m.a.t.e.u.r.s.
V.A.F.A
victorian amateur football assosiation

defintion

an athlete who does not compete for payment or for a monetary prize.

I assume you have not yet completed primary school.

That is a correct definition, but you are kidding yourself if you thinks some blokes don't get paid - or get free tuition for their kids - or have work done on their house for free - or get dodgy jobs in an office somewhere for a few hours a week for a nice salary...

This old chestnut again.
PUT UP OR SHUT UP!

Monkey - just some background on a personal experience.

In 1999 I was approached by a then A grade club and offered financial payments to play at their club. The process was to take the form of a VISA card of which I was to be entrusted a fixed amount per week. The payment of that amount was to be paid off by a 'sponsor' of said club. I declined and played DVFL ( NFL).

In 2002 I was asked to attend a meeting with another A grade club when thinking about playing in the VAFA again. This meeting was held by the president and it was openly discussed that I would be placed as an employee at his factory - yet I did not have to attend the work place. In return for a 'wage' i would play at their club. I again declined the offer but a very good mate of mine did play under the above mentioned format.

All, I am pointing out is that, IMO, it does happen within the VAFA...... or it did when I was playing.

Monkey - just some background on a personal experience.

In 1999 I was approached by a then A grade club and offered financial payments to play at their club. The process was to take the form of a VISA card of which I was to be entrusted a fixed amount per week. The payment of that amount was to be paid off by a 'sponsor' of said club. I declined and played DVFL ( NFL).

In 2002 I was asked to attend a meeting with another A grade club when thinking about playing in the VAFA again. This meeting was held by the president and it was openly discussed that I would be placed as an employee at his factory - yet I did not have to attend the work place. In return for a 'wage' i would play at their club. I again declined the offer but a very good mate of mine did play under the above mentioned format.

All, I am pointing out is that, IMO, it does happen within the VAFA...... or it did when I was playing.

and the names of these clubs are.......????

Until you provide that information, it is pure fiction.

How does naming the clubs validate the claim? People must be dillusional if they think it doesn't occur. Why do guys who have been well paid in metro leagues or come straight out of the AFL decide to all of a sudden play for nothing within the VAFA? Good on the clubs for thinking out side the square & attracting quality to recruits

Parkside absolutely paid in the 90's. Scribe get out from under the rock. There is a player playing D1 this year who was offered $600 to go back to his old club and play, however, knocked it back. Why?? - for mateship - not a chance.

How does naming the clubs validate the claim?

Do you seriously expect me to answer this?

Alright, read slowly OK, just in case you don't understand.....then read over again. It's a basic building block of the rules of evidence - the more facts which are provided to support an allegation assist in ensuring the allegation becomes more believable. Provide sufficient facts which are capable of being fully investigated, tested and confirmed, and an allegation becomes a properly tested fact itself.

Umm...ok, let's say hypothetically of course, I was offered money by a VAFA footy club. I am asked by the VAFA to explain the circumstances of the approach. They ask me to describe the persons and the club involved.

I say his name was Peter Hille and he took me out for a meal at the Lord Newry Hotel on 12 December 2006. At the end of the evening, he offered me $200 per game to leave Old Trinity and play for Fitzroy Reds. If proven correct, then that would validate my claim. (NB - the fact I was in Thailand last year at that time means it's a false claim)

If, on the other hand, I said I can't name/identify the guy, nor can I remember the club involved, and the date and location escapes me as well.....then who would believe me? Would you?

Provide identity and it becomes a compelling allegation, provide enough tested evidence and it becomes a fact. On the basis of the above, Swan Song's allegation is fiction. Anyone can make up what Swan Song posted without backing it up with facts - and plenty of posters on this forum continue to do so every off-season.

Oh, and outwest - I have 2 points to make:

1. I didn't say it doesn't happen, I just said people keep alleging it happens without providing any evidence. If people provided evidence, then one hopes it would enable the VAFA to take steps to eliminate the practice.

2. oh, and where do Parkside play their footy now? The Northern FL. How convenient.....I note you haven't bothered to name the D1 player, nor the clubs involved in the 2007 allegation. Who is he? and which clubs were involved? Add those details and your allegation becomes testable, and possibly believable.

See, that's my point.

This is an old issue and will never go away. Most clubs do the right thing and if you have been around long enough you soon know the clubs that do and do not abide by the fundimental principle of the ammos.

i for one have zero time for it. If I ever discovered my club doing it I would walk away in an instant. I have already said this on Bigfooty that there were strong rumors that we paid some players when we were in A grade in the mid eighties. Fact remains that as a result of the influx in $$ players we lost more than 30 players over 3 years who had played all their junior footy with us and many went on to play top line senior footy else where.

We all know the clubs that do it - pity them, and in most cases it doesnt help them anyway....