Toast Cameron Mooney - Geelong legend

• Thread starter Thread starter witsend

Mooney a champion, even named my cat after him (he's large, a little awkward, cuddly, a little violent at times) I've never been sadder about a retirement. It's the right decision I reckon though. Plenty of room for him as a forward line or development coach. Great with the kids.

such a champion of the club. one of a number of guys that demanded that the losing culture of the club no be accepted any longer. his career could have gone to shit with his anger and suspensions, but he turned it around and became a true leader - both literal and spiritual - at one of the most succesful teams of all time. love ya moondog.

We will miss you Moons. Thanks for everything!!!
You are a true cats champion!

Re: Mooney Anguish

That's fair enough, just that people will inevitably start saying that Cam should have been included when the reality of it is that he just wasn't best 22 this year, his body was too much of a risk for him to be included.

Agree.

The right decision has been made by Scott and he deserves to be applauded for making it, as does Cam deserve to be applauded for the attitude with which he has taken that decision and continued to contribute to helping the group.

Agree.

The right decision has been made by Scott and he deserves to be applauded for making it, as does Cam deserve to be applauded for the attitude with which he has taken that decision and continued to contribute to helping the group.

True PO. But it's no more than you should expect from any genuine team oriented player. Which Moons is.

MoonsRooke.png

Im gonna miss the big hairy cat. However his time is definitely up.

Re: Mooney anguish

In light of Moons omission as even an emergency, let's all grab a beer out of the fridge and toast a man who came to personify the heart and soul of this great club. Hard as a Cat's head but with a heart as big as Phar Lap.
I have a tear in my eye right now for Moons but I know he can retire a proud man who gave his all for the Geelong Football Club!
You will always be remembered for your contribution to our glory years, Moons.
God Bless and Good Luck in the future!!

Cheers...

Excellent post. For years opposition fans have hated Mooney for the same reason they all loved Richo and to a lesser extent Fev. Moons showed his emotion and I loved it that he bleeds Blue and White. But Mooney is more than just about the passion for the club - quite simply, he was great when we weren't.

Time and time again when we had a problem it was Mooney who was thrown in the deep end. Kingy hurt again, Mooney to ruck. Benny Graham out - Mooney up forward. We're leaking goals Mooney to CHB. He was absolutely huge at a time when our young group were playing two quarters and getting rolled by three goals most weeks.

Little wonder his frustration boiled over during one of the worst seasons I can remember for us in 2006. Yeah we didn't lose nine straight like 1999 but it seemed our premiership dream was in ruins. Mooney pulled his head in and his goals and strong lead up work during 2007 went mostly unremarked as our team rewrote the record books.

I've been following this great club since the Tommy Hafey days and Mooney will always be one of my all time favourite Cats.

Cheers Cameron Mooney - You are an absolute legend. :thumbsu:

Re: Cameron Mooney-Geelong Legend!!!

Without Moons, I'm pretty sure our 44 year drought would now be 48 and counting.

He went from an inconsistent and unpredictable player who most of us thought would never get it together, to the leader and focal point of our forward line - our achilles heel - and with that we were able to win two flags.

I'll always have plenty of love for the Moondog. Feeling for him missing out this week as well. Must be tough.

He'll always be a legend of the club.

Long live The Moons!

Spot on great summary of Cam- i actually rate Mooney in his hey day a better CHF than Stoneham-i just thought Cam was a little qicker off the mark

i am proud to wear your name on my username moons.

Gonna miss you so much, i will forever wear my cats top with the 21 on the back.

Heart and soul of the GFC, we love you mate.

I remember going to see his brother's 1st game for us in round 1 of 1999 against the Kangaroos, was an absolute classic match and Jason laid one of the best bumps on Martin Pike you would ever want to see that led to a Geelong goal in the square.
Unfortunately Jason suffered too many injuries but he was just as tough as his younger brother who joined us that very same year.

As they say 'time waits for no one' and Cam has been one of our best players. Always remember a game against St Kilda at Waverley park in early 2002 or 2003 and a fight broke out near the bench. A young Barry Hall lost the plot and was trying to kill someone (no idea who now) and Cam ran half the length of the ground just to get into Hall as the runners tried to get him off the ground. At that time Barry Hall was really doing ordinary things but obviously didn't do some of his later more publicized indiscretions and for Mooney to get into him & try to have a fight, sorta sums up how tough and aggro he truly was. Never took a backward step but was a truly wonderful unselfish player:thumbsu: He's help mold players such as Stokes, Johnson, Kelly and Hawkins into the players they are today.

Instrumental in our 07 premiership

infamously instrumental in our 08 downfall

important (I thought) in 09 season and GF where we basically didnt have a better option.

Do not feel for him as many said as much as Menzel because's he's been there done that

What a champion, if only more players were as passionate and as committed to a club as he is. The footy club helped fix Mooney, and Mooney helped to fix the footy club. He is a champion of the GFC and will always be missed.

Cheers Cam, you wont be forgotten.

The big hairy cat! Is my 4 year old daughters fav player. She has watched every game since birth with me and always yells out "MOOOOOOOOOOONNNNN" when he got the ball. Thanks to mooney for years of service and cats will get up for you, milburn, Bobby Davis and menzel.!

Thankyou Big Hairy Cat, You opitomised all that is good about the Geelong Football Club in the past 5 years and were a driving force behind our resurgence as a great Club.

Who would have thought that a guy we respect so much and hold in such high regard was the same wild man on the early days, you gave your heart and soul for the club and will not be fogotten quickly

The club could do worse than Hire Cam as an assistant coach hope he sticks around

I'm having a beer for him.
I can't feel too bad for him though. He had damned good run.
Ordinary way to finish.

I don't think that it's an ordinary way to finish at all. Broke the drought anmd picked up a second medal with the cats. And loved by all. If he'd played 5 weeks of the H&A, and all the finals, and then got dropped for the GF - that would be ordinary.

He knew and has said all year that he was very iffy playing on. But he was there for the club and his team mates. And that sums him up - it's about the club, not about himself.

I can understand why a Collingwood supporter mightn't get this ....

Tough, hard, skilled with a heart as big as KP. Can't believe that he won't be running around in the hoops. No-one else fired the team up like he did with that big fist and even bigger roar.
Some great memories including the start to this year with the handball to Milburn and goal and win.
My favourite player.
Thanks for the memories Cam.

Never used to like him, but after hearing him talk thought he was excellent... Probably became my favorite cat, down to earth an funny to boot... Just a question is there any truth he's looking around at coaching gigs - would love him in B&W next year?

Tell me there's no truth to this and someone's just having a laugh on Wikipedia...

View attachment 1280856

Wikipedia is available for anyone to update - so best not believing everything you read on it

Besides, a 30 second search on his social media profiles show him as plenty active at a period later than the suggested date above