Campo

Daytripper said:
2. Stanton will more than likely come under heavy opposition tagging next year. Having Camporeale in the side takes some pressure off him.
Or he'll keep Stanton out of the side, put back his development or teach him how to be the perfect downhill skier.
Daytripper said:
3. He has been tagged basically every game in the last 10 seasons. He may enjoy some freedom next season.
He's still going to be tagged since Essendon are a bottom 4 side without an onball division like the Saints or WCE.
Daytripper said:
4. He has experience. Our outside midfielders are all very young or have played few games. Players like Stanton, Dyson, Winderlich and Lovett.
He hardly kicked the ball to Walker whenever he made good position and prefers to feed off players who get him the ball.Part of the reason he left was because he's weak, can't lead the next generation of Blues or stand losing.Not someone to look to when you have a young side and are getting belted.
Daytripper said:
Sure he has his flaws but there is nothing to lose and everything to gain by having him in the side. Agreed his deneanour was lacking last year but (and I'm not having a go at Carlton here) there is more leadership at Essendon with players like Hird, Lucas, Lloyd, Johnson and Fletcher. He won't be able to get away with the same behaviour or he'll get pulled up very quickly.
And how did Zantuck or Cupido progress under Sheedy's tough administration?

cypher said:
Or he'll keep Stanton out of the side, put back his development or teach him how to be the perfect downhill skier.

He won't keep Stanton out of the side. He won't keep anyone out of the side. If they're good enough, they'll get a game. Likewise Camporeale. We don't give away spots at Essendon.

cypher said:
He's still going to be tagged since Essendon are a bottom 4 side without an onball division like the Saints or WCE.

Then he frees up someone who would have otherwise been tagged. See how this whole midfield depth thing works?

We aren't getting Campo because we think he'll do miracles or win us a flag. We are getting him because he plays a position we have limited resources in.

cypher said:
He hardly kicked the ball to Walker whenever he made good position and prefers to feed off players who get him the ball.Part of the reason he left was because he's weak, can't lead the next generation of Blues or stand losing.Not someone to look to when you have a young side and are getting belted.

We just want him to get the footy. His form last season at the very least suggests he can do that. Carlton made the decision to make him a VC, some players just aren't natural leaders. Camporeale seems one of those, he is a natural footballer though.

cypher said:
And how did Zantuck or Cupido progress under Sheedy's tough administration?

Neither made football their first priority. For all of Camporeale's weaknesses, at least they are football related. His first priority is to get a kick. Apples and oranges.

Longy413 said:
He won't keep Stanton out of the side. He won't keep anyone out of the side. If they're good enough, they'll get a game. Likewise Camporeale. We don't give away spots at Essendon.

Then he frees up someone who would have otherwise been tagged. See how this whole midfield depth thing works?

We aren't getting Campo because we think he'll do miracles or win us a flag. We are getting him because he plays a position we have limited resources in.

We just want him to get the footy. His form last season at the very least suggests he can do that. Carlton made the decision to make him a VC, some players just aren't natural leaders. Camporeale seems one of those, he is a natural footballer though.

Neither made football their first priority. For all of Camporeale's weaknesses, at least they are football related. His first priority is to get a kick. Apples and oranges.
Nice, Longy.

You keep getting better.

That "apples and oranges" line was ********ing class.

Viking Wizard Eyes said:
Nice, Longy.

You keep getting better.

That "apples and oranges" line was ********ing class.
Your nose is looking a bit brown...

Longy413 said:
But you've met his price and of course that doesn't guarantee his spot.
Longy413 said:
Is the position one that requires unaccountability, front running and poor leadership?
Longy413 said:
You haven't see much of him since his All-Australian year have you?

cypher said:
But you've met his price and of course that doesn't guarantee his spot.

We don't know his price. He left Carlton because of what he believed was a show of disloyalty. He hasn't come to Essendon chasing big money.

cypher said:
Is the position one that requires unaccountability, front running and poor leadership?

Not everyone has to be a leader. We have Hird, Lloyd, the Johnsons etc. He isn't coming to us to captain the club. He's coming to play in the midfield. He'll be the best player available in the PSD, he'll come to play a role and if he doesn't he'll be dropped. It's as simple as that. There is nothing to lose in this for Essendon. We either get a quality midfielder that adds to our group, or we pick up where we left off last year and keep trying to find a solution. We have a hole in our side and Sheedy is trying to address that.

cypher said:
You haven't see much of him since his All-Australian year have you?

He wouldn't have been the only Carlton player to under perform in the past few years would he?

He still found the ball 20 times a game last season. He still has good foot skils. If he does that next year and sends 4-5 of them inside 50 towards Lloyd, then we are a better team for it.

If he gets tagged next year and Mark Johnson doesn't or Brent Stanton doesn't, then we are a better team for it.

Longy413 said:
We don't know his price. He left Carlton because of what he believed was a show of disloyalty. He hasn't come to Essendon chasing big money.
He was rumoured to have been offered 300-350K by Carlton but that's an insult to a guy who was paid more than Ratten.This is one of his quotes from yesterday's Age.
http://www.theage.com.au/realfooty/...ointed-not-blue/2005/10/21/1129775961066.html
"I know that if we had to go through another year like we had been through the last couple of years, I would have retired at the end of the year because I had just had a gutful, pretty much," he said
The guy's a sook who could take the money but not deliver because he's motivated purely what a club can do for him.And he isn't going to win many more games with Essendon ATM, so he's welcome to join another bottom four side.
Longy413 said:
He wouldn't have been the only Carlton player to under perform in the past few years would he?
Not many Carlton players have taken so much but given so little on and off the field.
Longy413 said:
He still found the ball 20 times a game last season. He still has good foot skils. If he does that next year and sends 4-5 of them inside 50 towards Lloyd, then we are a better team for it.
He got a lot of the ball because he always looks to run off at every occasion and receive uncontested possessions off the centre square.He lead Carlton in average uncontested possessions but was level with Bentick for total 1st possessions.

cypher said:
He got a lot of the ball because he always looks to run off at every occasion and receive uncontested possessions off the centre square.He lead Carlton in average uncontested possessions but was level with Bentick for total 1st possessions.

You really don't get this do you.
That's exactly what we want him to do.
Get the ball from someone else and kick it to Lloyd.
It's simple and Camporeale will be good at it.

And while he's getting tagged, Mark Johnson won't be. Stanton won't be. Jason Johnson can have a rest instead of playing near on every minute of every game.

It is a simple concept of midfield depth and rotations. Ours needs to improve, Camporeale is the best available player to help address that.

Poor cypher thinks that every midfielder in the modern game has to be a Brett Ratten or Jason Johnson type.

Hard to argue wirh someone who thinks football is still played as it was in the 60s.

Daytripper said:
Poor cypher thinks that every midfielder in the modern game has to be a Brett Ratten or Jason Johnson type.

Hard to argue wirh someone who thinks football is still played as it was in the 60s.

Mate what ever if you are happy for him to take the spot of a kid then good luck to you,i see it as a blessing now a kid had to line up in his spot for Carlton.I am happy about that.

Longy413 said:
You really don't get this do you.
That's exactly what we want him to do.
Get the ball from someone else and kick it to Lloyd.
It's simple and Camporeale will be good at it

Sounds easy, but it will be very hard for him to hit Lloyd
when he's getting the majority of his kicks on the
half back flank.

It is funny when a player changes clubs in a situation like this. Carlton supporters who have loved him for years now think that he is a soft uncommited receiver and are happy that he is gone. Essendon fans have generally thought of him as one of the softest players in the AFL but are now warming to him because of his disposal and experience.

What people don't understand is we are picking him up to add something to our midfield. Smart Essendon and Carlton fans both know he used to be a gun AA, but is not what he used to be. We don't need speed or hardness, we need skill and depth and thats what he brings. Smart Bombers fans know he won't be costing any young players a game, because A: Sheedy will play them as much as they need, and B: Monfries, Dyson, Thomas, while they may be exciting and promising, can't play every minute and every game, they are still way to raw, if we did rely on them every single week this season, we will challenge Carlton for the spoon

RoK said:
Mate what ever if you are happy for him to take the spot of a kid then good luck to you,i see it as a blessing now a kid had to line up in his spot for Carlton.I am happy about that.
speaking of taking kids spots how is sultana o'halphin going? What a majestic player he is, going to be a star :thumbsd: You guys still got mick martyn?

Diamond_Joe said:
speaking of taking kids spots how is sultana o'halphin going? What a majestic player he is, going to be a star :thumbsd: You guys still got mick martyn?

I hear the universities are now offering a course in relevance. Might be worth taking a look at.

Martyn delisted after one season. O'hAilpin has been promoted to the senior list and is looking good. Would have played more if we had a long term injury at the end of last season. Thanks for your interest.

RoK said:

How would he be taking the spot of a kid?
We pick the best 22 each week that we possibly can. We're not going to give away a spot to a kid just because he's 19 years old. If he's good enough and playing good enough footy, he'll get a game anyway.

Including Camporeale, we'll have 6 players in our best 22, 28 and over. There are plenty of spots up for grabs for young players, but they have to earn them, just like everyone else.

flankerfromsrilanka said:
Sounds easy, but it will be very hard for him to hit Lloyd
when he's getting the majority of his kicks on the
half back flank.

Then he can kick it to Lucas.

mustapha said:
It is funny when a player changes clubs in a situation like this. Carlton supporters who have loved him for years now think that he is a soft uncommited receiver and are happy that he is gone. Essendon fans have generally thought of him as one of the softest players in the AFL but are now warming to him because of his disposal and experience.

Happens everywhere, not just here. Take Jonathan Hay for example

The Old Dark Navy's said:
O'hAilpin has been promoted to the senior list and is looking good. Would have played more if we had a long term injury at the end of last season. Thanks for your interest.
Looking good? At what, AFL football or something else? Cmon bloke! Not interested in sultana, knowing he is on your list is good enough for me. This sultana experiment didnt work bloke, give a spot to a kid that might actually be able to play the game.

Daytripper said:

Camporeale wouldn't get a game in a side from the 60s whilst Ratten would. Ratten would actually put his body on the line whilst earning less money than the uber-downhill skier.

It's ridiculous to chase and commitbig money to a player who is 31 next year when you have similar players on your list.It seems Sheedy is obsessed with recruiting Carlton's rejects yet is letting the more talented one slip through to another club.

Diamond_Joe said:
Looking good? At what, AFL football or something else?
Tadgh Kennelly made it and O'Hailpin is also an A grade sporting talent.
QUOTE=Diamond_Joe]This sultana experiment didnt work bloke, give a spot to a kid that might actually be able to play the game.[/QUOTE]
Then why have Essendon stuck with Henneman, Bolton and Johns and draft Zantuck and Cupido?

It seems Sheedy's obsession with Carlton never ends with recruiting our rejects and promoting an Ethiopian who wasn't even rookie listed.

cypher said:
It's ridiculous to chase and commitbig money to a player who is 31 next year when you have similar players on your list.It seems Sheedy is obsessed with recruiting Carlton's rejects yet is letting the more talented one slip through to another club.

We aren't chasing him. He left Carlton and we will draft him IF he's the best available player in the PSD when we have our pick. In a weak draft, we could do worse. And we don't have a player similar to Campo on our list.

And Carlton's had a fair share of Essendon rejects over the years. Davis, McGrath, Bannister. I'm confident Camporeale will out perform those three in 2006.

cypher said:
Tadgh Kennelly made it and O'Hailpin is also an A grade sporting talent.
QUOTE=Diamond_Joe]This sultana experiment didnt work bloke, give a spot to a kid that might actually be able to play the game.
Then why have Essendon stuck with Henneman, Bolton and Johns and draft Zantuck and Cupido?

It seems Sheedy's obsession with Carlton never ends with recruiting our rejects and promoting an Ethiopian who wasn't even rookie listed.[/QUOTE]
you said it yourself champ, PROMOTING an ETHIOPIAN. Promoting a race of people that have never played our game. No way starvin was going to put on our list and that's what you dont understand. Nothing wrong with having the entire back page of the sun with starvin in our jumper, intersting to see how many ethiopians are actual Essendon supporters cause of that. And I wouldnt be talking about recruits to much if I were you, your policy over the last 2-3 years has been nothing but embarrassing for such a proud club.

cypher said:

Firstly, we didn't draft Cupido.
He came with McPhee and Pick 17 for Caracella. That's not a bad deal.

No one wants Henneman on the list, but we understand the reasoning for it. He's tall and he's big and if we need a tall back or a ruckman due to injury he can come in. But no one pretends he's good enough although he might actually show something if left at CHB as he was circa 2001. Doubtful though.

Bolton, hopefully will be a very handy depth player in 2005. He plays well when given a job to do, but isn't good enough. We tried to shop him around, no one wanted him, his contract means we have to keep him.

We drafted Zantuck because we needed another defender. He came as a 23 year old with 60 games experience. It was the right decision at the time but it didn't work out, so he's gone. No loss, no gain.

cypher said:
It seems Sheedy's obsession with Carlton never ends with recruiting our rejects and promoting an Ethiopian who wasn't even rookie listed.

Tutlan's manager is a money hungry media pig. He threw him at Essendon and took it to the media circles. Essendon had a look at him, he was a great athlete, so why shouldn't we? But the publicity was due to his manager and Tutlan himself who wanted to generate money for themselves. He's already left a couple of local AFL clubs chasing more cash.

And Camporeale isn't a Carlton reject. You wanted him, you offered him a contract. He didn't want to stay. If anything, Carlton FC is a Camporeale reject. A delisted player like Michael Davis, or Jordan Bannister that you waste a pick on, that is a reject.

Longy413 said:
If anything, Carlton FC is a Camporeale reject. A delisted player like Michael Davis, or Jordan Bannister that you waste a pick on, that is a reject.
OUCH! :thumbsu: