Can Cloke play CHF?

Personally I don't think that Cloke has the agility or mobility for CHF.

If not in the ruck then i might use him in a FP and use him as a tall in the fwd 50 to strech the opposition for height, but not as a leading CHF.

IMO Waite & Fisher are better suited to the HF line coz of their better mobility.

One things for sure he is one off 6 or more units Carlton has in stock at the moment and no doubt will cause the other younger pups to have to push even harder to get a posi. in the 22. It's all good!!:thumbsu:

I think he'll be a useful utility in the ruck and up forward for about 3-4 years, but I don't see him nailing a position down in our best 22 long term.

There's nothing wrong with that, all teams need those types of players.
Seems to me that Setanta has a lock on that 'utility' position doesn't he? Can pinch hit in the ruck, do a bit back or forward. Be more likely that we run a duo through there - Fisher & Waite - neither really CHFs but will have to play lead up roles. I think we will be without a crunching CHF now Whitnall and Kennedy are gone.

No, we need Cloke in the ruck next year. I seriously doubt Kreuzer will get a game next year guys, ruckman take longer to develop. And Hampson and Aisake are both still raw as. I thought Cloke looked good in the ruck early this year

Next year = Cloke in the ruck, with either Hampson or Aisake as 2nd ruck, Ackland in the VFL, and Setanta at FB. We need Cloke to ruck whilst our younger rucks develop, and Ackland is way too shit to be in our side

gday all blues fans just joined bigfooty from sunny darwin im here to help youse give it to all those other fans. i reckon they should give him a go at chf you dont know if you dont try.

Seems to me that Setanta has a lock on that 'utility' position doesn't he? Can pinch hit in the ruck, do a bit back or forward. Be more likely that we run a duo through there - Fisher & Waite - neither really CHFs but will have to play lead up roles. I think we will be without a crunching CHF now Whitnall and Kennedy are gone.

Good Call... When you have a Full Forward like Fevola, the need for a traditional powerhouse CHF is less. They'll probably add another tall player to the rotation and run two lead up players off CHF with two talls in the 50 to spread the field. The box formation is really getting popular with coaches these days and we have the right sort of players to make it work.

I liked him in our side this year, he had a red hot go, long term who knows. Lets hope that his shoulder is now right, remember Judd used to have shoulder problems when he was first drafted, now he hardly ever tapes them and has no problems with them, hope the same thing happens for Cloke.

I can not believe how many carlton supporters write "dreamer" posts on here. Supporters from other clubs must just laugh. Cloke is too slow to play center half forward. He would be run off his legs. Also a guy with two shoulder recos is hardly the ideal to play in an overhead marking position. Cloke is a typical utility. He is a guy that covers injuries and despite his attitude would have limited value in a good side.

I can answer this question: no, he can't. At best he might be able to pinch-hit as a last resort, but in general he just doesn't have the athleticism to play a key position. That's his problem and always has been: he's a tweener, not big enough to be a front-line ruck, not athletic enough to own a key position.

Unfortunately, Cam doesn't have football smarts. I think we might see him playing out of the forward pocket more than CHF. I think Waite is our best bet and combining with Fisher these two will form a very good combination, complementing each other. Hartlett will hopefully also start pushing hard for the CHF position now.

Im a fan of Cameron and actually wish we kept him and pissed off richards a year earlier, but i dont think he can polay CHF he isnt the greatest overhewad mark or contested for that matter, always semed hesitant after he first hurt himself. His goal kicking also leaves alot to be desired similar if not worse than travis.

But i can see him being you ruck man along with hampson, and setanta backling and kruezer forward.

I'd rather him playing as a 1st ruckmen swapping with Kreuzar/Hampson as the 3rd tall forward or bench. When Cloke goes forward Waite goes back when Cloke goes ruck Waite goes forward.

I can not believe how many carlton supporters write "dreamer" posts on here. Supporters from other clubs must just laugh. Cloke is too slow to play center half forward. He would be run off his legs. Also a guy with two shoulder recos is hardly the ideal to play in an overhead marking position. Cloke is a typical utility. He is a guy that covers injuries and despite his attitude would have limited value in a good side.
It's at least his 3rd, but possibly 4th reco on that shoulder AFAIK. Pretty sure he had at least 2 at the Pies.

As for being in an overhead marking role, probably no worse than rucking in a lot of ways but you're right, he will be at risk.

Not sure if he is quick enough, has a big enough engine, and uses the ball well enough to be a CHF.

It's at least his 3rd, but possibly 4th reco on that shoulder AFAIK. Pretty sure he had at least 2 at the Pies.

As for being in an overhead marking role, probably no worse than rucking in a lot of ways but you're right, he will be at risk.

Not sure if he is quick enough, has a big enough engine, and uses the ball well enough to be a CHF.

3rd reco, has dislocated his shoulder four times though, wasnt reconstrusted first time just cleaned out (useless op).

Keep as a rcuk pinch hit forward he really isnt a CHF

3rd reco, has dislocated his shoulder four times though, wasnt reconstrusted first time just cleaned out (useless op).

Keep as a rcuk pinch hit forward he really isnt a CHF
Cheers, had a feeling there was a 3 and a 4 in there.:thumbsu:

thats right mate, i like cam alot hopefully he can get himself fitter with you guys, and get his ****en shoulder right.

But like i said isnt a chf at all can pinch hit full forward and play ruck (s your best ruck IMO (setanta FB, ackland Gone, Kruezer Forward) and have hampson as his back up switching with the other irish kid at preston.

How has he come back this year from surgery he was always a little overweight at collingwood (trav also but he seemed to get past the laziness)

Personally i think we should play ether Cam or Hartts at CHF, they both dont have the engine to be a lead up forward like a Travis Cloke, we could have Waite on the Wing being a roamer to give us a target around halfback and the centre to give us a platform to build counter attacks on. Let Fish play on the flank to be a lead up forward, working from around 30 out to the centre. Fev as our power full forward who needs to kick his bag. Hartts and Clokey could play the role of a crash and bash CHF, they both have the body and the ability to take a mark, working from around 30-60 metres away from the goal. This gives our onballers and small forwards to crumb off these if its our only avenue forward. Too many times we are caught going to one option, whether it be Fevola, Waite or Fisher. Its too predictable, they are all lead up forwards and opposition backman find it easy to cut off.

Can Cloke play CHF?