Obviously they CAN be beaten. The question is, whether they WILL be beaten.
They are human beings, of course they CAN be beaten.
But, I don't think they will be. Possibly against Carlton in Round 20 ? Essendon have the enviable mix of talent, luck and motivation, which could possibly carry them through unbeaten.
Don't worry Servo, you may be lucky enough to be alive when the Bombers go through a season unbeaten.
You'll be able to say to your kids: "I was there"
It must be exciting for you that the possibility of this happeneing is so close now.
It's a 1/100 chance, yet you may be alive to see it. Imagine Grand Final day, with an unbeaten season in our grasp. Wha a moment. I reckon it's worth THREE premierships. That's how good it would be
keep cheering us on.........I know you (and others) want to witness history......
Sainter you are spot on. This Dan24 character is in a class of his own even amongst the insufferable arrogance of Essendon supporters in general. Fortunately though a possible scenario is this- although a few teams get close to a win the Bombers do go through the minor round undefeated. But then they meet a team from lower in the eight (hopefully an interstate team though it doesn't really matter who) in a prelim and lose by a very narrow margin, and hence don't make the GF. They end up with no recognition at all for the years effort.
That would be truly fitting natural justice in its purest form.
Obviously, you can see that my post is a thinly veiled attempt to incur the ire of Servo.
Which I will no doubt do.
But please.....don't take everything I say literally.
I'm fully aware we will probably be beaten at some point.
I just think it's kind of exciting that my team is doing so well. It's just so damn exciting.
And sainter, as for your "even" competition. Why would you hope Essendon fall to 21-1 instead of 22-0 ? 21-1 is still very "uneven" is it not ?
All that will do is mean that we can't go undefeated. It will mean "history" won't happen. It's going to be un-even anyway, right ? So, why not hope to see something which will never happen again ?
Perhaps because you want to see me (and other Bomber fans) un-happy. Well, you got that last year !
And the likelihood is we will lose a game. I just hope it's not until 2001.
Am I arrogant ? Nah ! I've said all along that the top team doesn't always win the Grand Final. I'm just extremely happy, relatively confident, but my no means certain that my team can create history.
It's possible. Each win makes it more and more possible.
I think you want to see us lose just to spite me !!! I'm presuming if Essendon are undefeated (hypothetically) going into Grand Final day, against, say, Carlton (for example), you would be barracking for the Blues ? Hey, why not support the most arrogant team of all (Carlton), rather than hoping history can be made ? Makes a lot of sense..........NOT.
If St.Kilda or Adelaide were undefeated, going into a Grand Final against Carlton, I'd be cheering my guts out for them. After all, it would be an incredible feat. It doesn't mater who the team is. What a feat !
Essendon isn't known for its arrogance. Carlton however, is famous for it, and the gloating after victories. I don't recall Essendon EVER gloating to the same extent as Carlton after a victory (or premiership).
Essendon is actually quite a quiet club. Over our history we have accumulated 15 premierships (more than Collingwood and one less than the Blues), yet we havn't attratced the publicity of those two clubs over the 100 years. Not known for being outspoken, or arrogant, Essendon has, in many ways, been a quiet achiever.
Much like Hawthorn
P.S. : I repeat...Please don't take EVERYTHING I say literally.
Just as the Swans showed on Sunday - if you pressure them in the packs with desperate scragging, blocking and tackling then their much touted skillful disposal falls apart.
Oh and another thing - with the exception of Barnard they are SOFT. When the going gets tough they just can't handle the pressure. The only way they could get the ball clear on Sunday was to throw it out of the packs - which the umpires either did not see or chose to ignore.
The Bombers can be beaten - just get in their face on a wet and slippery day and they fall apart - and I know what you are going to say D24 - yes you did win but only because of our silly un-forced turnovers. I thought for a so-called champion team you looked soft and easily beatable.
Actually Dave this is the first game the Swans have lost this year that I haven't been all bitter and twisted about.
I thought our effort was outstanding and if we can duplicate that for the rest of the season then we may scrape into the finals after all. Look mate the Bombers finished stronger and they deserved their win but what I'm saying is this :
They are the undisputed best team on the end of a huge winning streak. They have beaten all comers by an average of 50 points. The footy media is chock full of hype about how they are tough and skillful. So I was expecting an exhibition from this so-called top side on Sunday.
Instead what I witnessed was an outfit that was easily pressured off their game in difficult conditions by a swans outfit that had nothing going for them except enthusiasm. Seriously Dave the Dons were PATHETIC around the packs on Sunday and bashed, bumped and scragged off the ball with almost embarrassing ease by a bunch skinny kids in Red and White jumpers.
All I'm saying is that for the most hyped team of the season - I expected a much tougher display.
When all of this crap started about how long can the bombers go undefeated, which was about rd 7, I had a bet with a mate and picked them to lose their first game at round 15 against the Weagles. So far so good!
But when it comes down to it, who really gives a shit if the bombers do finish the H&A games undefeated. If they can't take home their 16th flag, it just goes to show that they can't handle the presure of finals footy!!!!
BSA, so basically becuase they didn't live up to the expectations you had based on the MEDIA'S hype they're a bunch of no-hopers?
No team will perform to their optimum week in week out and Sunday was an example of that, though a lot of that was due to the Swans endevour.
Personally I think your description of the pack situation is also a tad exagerated, we seemed to do pretty well except for the third quarter when the Swans dominated.
To Don, Barnes on Allen, Fletcher on Whitnall. Who're Carlton going to play on Lloyd, Lucas, Hird and Mercuri?
HA HA HA HA "HEAR WE GO HEAR WE GO HEAR WE GO". Knew this was coming, just imagine if we had've lost, "The Bombers are GONE!".
Can't believe it's coming from you BSA, that little reply above is most uncharacteristic. Guys/girls how many Swans V Dons games have you seen in Sin City, HELLO! We never do any good there. Still no excuses we played like shit, pure and simple. But sheesh show some nouse, don't go saying we're soft, we're hyped, we can't play in the wet (did you miss the Bris game as well). It's not just Don supporters who reckon their an ok side, checked out any media lately? Hate to break it to you guys/girls but if we beat the Eagles (who probably won't make the 8) this week, that's everyone, all comers beaten, including Carl/Rich.
OK OK - maybe I'm exaggerating a little here but look at from my point of view.
Living in Sydney I haven't had the chance to see alot of the Bombers this year and on Sunday I was looking forward to a power display from the runaway leaders. I thought my own team may have been nuisance value at best considering 6 of our first team players were out.
On Sunday what I got from the red-hot favourites instead was soft and insipid - even the most one-eyed Essendon fans out there would agree - you guys were easily bustled off the ball on Sunday - no excuses.
I'd been looking forward to checking out this awesome squad all year - I came away feeling Essendon were not awesome at all, indeed they were pretty...well, ummm average really.
You are exaggerating to a huge degree. Actually, make that a MASSIVE degree.
So, the Bombers didn't play at their best. In fact, they were probably at their worst. Well SORRY !
Essendon probably reached a point, where they felt they could just go out and win. The Swans had the "backs to the wall" mentality happening, and admittedly, they were ferocious.
When the game needed to be won however, we responded like good teams do. 5.7.37 to 2.0.12 in the last quarter. 12 scoring shots to 2.
Essendons hardness at the ball was one of the reasons we climbed to top spot last year. Essendon certainly weren't soft. Sydney just showed more spirit in the first three quarters, which, when you think about it, is very predictable. After all, they had everything to play for, didn;t they ?
Sorry we didn't meet your expectations. I saw an inspided performance by the Swans last year agaisnt the Bombers in Round 3 (where Lloyd kicked 13)
But I didn't judge the Swannies on that one game. I was fully aware that they had the talent to make the 8, which they eventualy did. In fact, the very next week against North Melbourne at the SCG, they pulled off one of the most courageous wins imaginable.
I hope we can impress you in the next few weeks. As if 14-0 isn't impresive enough.
If that is the worst we can play, then I am very VERY happy.
I take others opinions seriously. But that doesn't mean I'm gonna change mine !
It depends on the topic of course.
I think you have to be open to sugestions and opinions in football, because it is such a controversial (and emotional) game. Both on and off the field.
But obviously, there are certain things, which I believe can't be argued agaisnt once all logic has been taken into account. But only certain things. Not everything.
I really wouldn't be suprised to see Essendon drop a couple of games between now & the finals.
If Sheedy is smart (& we all know he is) then he will soon be preparing the team specificaly for the finals. I expect he will be increasing their training, especialy aerobic conditioning.
4-5 hard weeks of hard training followed by maintenance work during their finals campaign.
It should guarantee their ability to run out any finals game.
We may however see a tired looking Bomber side sometime over the next few months.
This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.