Can Hawthorn succeed while ignoring the elite end of the draft?

DanA

May 15, 2006
Hawthorn (like Geelong) benefitted hugely by having a Premiership window that opened right when the expansion teams entered. The expansion teams meant teams struggled to acquire the talent to make that final charge into Premiership relevance. In the last few years we've seen other teams go past the Hawks as age caught up and now they're irrelevant until there next cycle.

Geelong have managed to delay bottoming out and stay somewhat competitive off the back of Hawkins F/S, Selwood, the Dangerfield trade and some unusually good drafting with mid/late picks (Blicavs, Kelly, Stewart) but it won't last past the Hawkins/Selwood era and even then it's not really Premiership competitive, just good results. Still just like the Hawks were never gonna last past the Hodge/Burgoyne/Mitchell era Geelong won't stay competitive past Selwood/Hawkins retirements.

matey

Oct 5, 2004
Which one?
When your captain alcoholic driving lite and easy eating guy elbowed Murphy in the head?

You have got to be f###### kidding it was a 50/50 contest and Hodge came out with the ball. It’s footy not soccer or basketball. Can’t blame Hodge if Murphy is soft as butter. If it was against Selwood, Viney, Shoey, Kennedy, Ward ... play on, it would have just continued because they would expect it. If Blues fans are upset with that, like Murphy they need to grow some b###s/guts. It’s either in you or it ain’t and unfortunately teams like Carlton and Essendon haven’t had it for years and they still don’t have it today with any of their players. Hardest bloke Carlton had last decade .... they got rid of him!

chelseacarlton

BLUE it's the Magic Number
10k Posts Sensible Type Chess Club Member Pantskyle
Apr 13, 2008
So Frang
The Anti-Theists
You have got to be f###### kidding it was a 50/50 contest and Hodge came out with the ball. It’s footy not soccer or basketball. Can’t blame Hodge if Murphy is soft as butter. If it was against Selwood, Viney, Shoey, Kennedy, Ward ... play on, it would have just continued because they would expect it. If Blues fans are upset with that, like Murphy they need to grow some b###s/guts. It’s either in you or it ain’t and unfortunately teams like Carlton and Essendon haven’t had it for years and they still don’t have it today with any of their players. Hardest bloke Carlton had last decade .... they got rid of him!
Hey mate, grab a glass of milk and a cupla cookies and have a little nap after yeh?

proxy.php

proxy.php

mDRG1jm.gif

GIF_20160215_190832_zps3hepscm7.gif

These are all so good.

matey

Oct 5, 2004
Haha ya reckon. Yes, plenty of bites. Certainly hit my target audience = Insecure Hawks realising the sheer luck and timing of their arsey little run. :$

Premiership every 4.46 years since 1961 is pretty arsey hey! You would imagine that Tigers winning two in the last 3 years and done s##t in the previous 4 decades is much arsier wouldn’t you think? Tried offloading Dusty a few years ago but had no takers, nearly sacked Hardwick 2016, that’s arsey stuff right there.

chelseacarlton

BLUE it's the Magic Number
10k Posts Sensible Type Chess Club Member Pantskyle
Apr 13, 2008
So Frang
The Anti-Theists
Is that all you got. That’s Murphy.

It really pays getting access to elite draft picks, nu1 picks like Murphy!
Well, I’m convinced you’ve had your milk and cookies and are now twice as hard as you were before.👍

blaisee

Aug 11, 2004
Punt Road
None
Premiership every 4.46 years since 1961 is pretty arsey hey! You would imagine that Tigers winning two in the last 3 years and done s##t in the previous 4 decades is much arsier wouldn’t you think? Tried offloading Dusty a few years ago but had no takers, nearly sacked Hardwick 2016, that’s arsey stuff right there.

Hawthorn fans know that this is going to be a long long drought.

4 years without winning a final, an aging list and very little to none elite young talent

It a recipe for disaster

matey

Oct 5, 2004
Hawthorn fans know that this is going to be a long long drought.

4 years without winning a final, an aging list and very little to none elite young talent

It a recipe for disaster

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂 we ain’t Richmond ..... the laughing stock for 99% of the time over the last 4 decades. Two premierships in 4 decades 😂😂😂😂😂😂.

I will tell you why your recipe tastes like s##t and prediction is completely wrong. Clarko has on numerous occasions talked about how the transition is progressing since the three peat and he is optimistic that the Hawks will be in a position to challenge for silverware again in the next couple years. This reinforces my belief. If Clarko didn’t think this not only would I be worried but he would have walked away by now without doubt. BF buffoons don’t come into the equation.

Hawks now have the quality in all areas and the perfect age profile across its list. Another season of the team playing together under the Hawks coaches/system .... once it clicks Hawks could easily shoot right up the ladder and then anything is possible. That’s what most Hawk supporters i know think.

Jul 13, 2015
Haha ya reckon. Yes, plenty of bites. Certainly hit my target audience = Insecure Hawks realising the sheer luck and timing of their arsey little run. :$

I think you had far more success with jelly Essendon and Geelong fans. More recently Carlton and Richmond.

90% of the Hawthorn supporter posts are of the mockery style. Not a lot of melts.

Most Richmond posts are of the "whatabout us???!?!?!??!?!?!?!" style. Carlton fans are mostly just sad. Decades of irrelevence does that.

Apr 3, 2006
Joel Selwood begs to differ. He still has nightmares about the day he was mugged off by a kid in his first year.

What is the Hawk fascination with this piece of play?

Worpel reached the footy first. Joel pulled a kick off the ground so he didn't injure the bloke. The end?

Hodge would have went through with the boot I guess.

Oct 9, 2006
Left of centre.
Super Tottenham....from the Lane.
Yeah exactly, thankyou.

If you want to isolate posts without making allowances for context then there really is very little point in engaging you in reasonable discussion.

The response was regarding the notion that Worpel lacks physical presence at the contest.

Why do you take everything as an affront?

Oct 9, 2006
Left of centre.
What is the Hawk fascination with this piece of play?

Worpel reached the footy first. Joel pulled a kick off the ground so he didn't injure the bloke. The end?

Hodge would have went through with the boot I guess.

Yeah, Joel Selwood pulled a kick off the ground to avoid injuring his opponent.

Sure he did.:p

Apr 3, 2006
If you want to isolate posts without making allowances for context then there really is very little point in engaging you in reasonable discussion.

The response was regarding the notion that Worpel lacks physical presence at the contest.

Why do you take everything as an affront?

Not affronted - have just seen Hawks posters spamming this video ad nauseum and wondered why?

matey

Oct 5, 2004
He clearly did. As the other poster agreed.
Selwood pulled the kick because he saw Worpel bending down to pick up the ball and in the last split second changed his decision. Selwood clearly wanted to hip and shoulder Worpel. Have a look at Selwood’s right hip/bicep/shoulder straight after pulling the kick! That’s what you would expect from a hard/tough player like Joel no problem with that. Worpel luckily evaded it but kept his eye on the ball the entire time. Pick nu 45 .... not bad!

Aug 9, 2017
Penguin
Tasmania
Hurricanes, Panthers
He clearly did. As the other poster agreed.
Whether he did or not is irrelevant, this is just impressive. A first year player cleanly picks up the ball, spins through contact and hits the handball that led to a goal. Really surprised anyone would try and downplay that. It was a really good piece of play.

Oct 9, 2006
Left of centre.
Selwood pulled the kick because he saw Worpel bending down to pick up the ball and in the last split second changed his decision. Selwood clearly wanted to hip and shoulder Worpel. Have a look at Selwood’s right hip/bicep/shoulder straight after pulling the kick! That’s what you would expect from a hard/tough player like Joel no problem with that. Worpel luckily evaded it but kept his eye on the ball the entire time. Pick nu 45 .... not bad!

If Selwood wanted to hip and shoulder Worpel then Selwood would have hip and shouldered Worpel. The notion that he pulled out as a conscious decision not to hurt his opponent is laughable.

This is not about Selwood, this is about the allegation that Worpel lacks a physical presence. Which of course is nonsense.