golions

Jul 10, 2000
Brisbane Lions
Can someone tell me about Mal Michael

I was wondering if someone could give me some info on Mal Michael.

Is he any good?
What positions can he play?
Who benefited from the Molloy-Michael trade?

Molloy didn't want to go. He was told mid year he was going.
But he has an inflated ego also.Piles on the weight. Has lingering knee and wrist injuries.
So maybe its a fair swap. One dud for another.

Molloy is known as the the D9 because he plays like a D9.

Molloy is better than Michael - just. But the thing here is that both players are returning to thier home state, so maybe they will both be the better for it ?

Don't know what a D9 is ? maybe it could be a BigFooty Survivor trivia question ...

Oh yeah - And Mal certainly made the Brisbane public laugh during his tv interview on Monday night.

"I am coming home to Brisbane......I want to play finals football"

Now wasn't that the same reason given by Buckley when he left Brisbane for the Pies?

Only ONE!!!!!! Chris Johnson - though there was a list published earlier this year of players who would be out of contract at the end of this year. I am pretty sure he was on it, but we haven't heard anything about him re-signing yet.

Pretty pitiful state isn't it? 4 seasons completed under the merger and only 1 of the 8 left.

Mal Michael & his crook back is all yours!

For the pr0n Star to return to his home state he'd have to go to PNG.

Did naff all at Collingwood & still asked for a million dollar contract.
**** off Mal!

Plugger kicked 11 on him once!

He may be fat. He may be slow.
But if Molloy is serious that alone is an improvement!

Dannii, the fact that only one of the eight Fitzroy players taken at the end of 1996 is left after four seasons is not that surprising. Quite part from the fact that Fitzroy had a poor list anyway with only 2-3 stars or potential stars, most clubs turn over their lists regularly and it is to be expected that some Fitzroy players would go. I'm sure if Fitzroy was still in the competition their list would be vastly different now to the one they had in 1996.

The number of former Bears players now gone from the merged side is double the seven Fitzroy players who have gone. In 1997 the first year of the merged club, there were eight Fitzroy players, two recruits and 34 Bears players. Since 1997, 18 of those 34 Bears players have been delisted, traded or retired, compared to seven Fitzroy players.
They are Champion, Chapman, Fletcher, McIvor,Gowers, Dickfos, Lawrence, Clarke, Bartlett, Lambert, McLean, Gowling, Green, Bews, Wirth, Trask, D. Scott, and T. Lynch.
Of the seven Royboys who have gone
Boyd (retired to back injury)
Molloy (traded at his own request to a Melbourne club)
Hawking (traded to Sydney and then Collingwood where he didn't play a game for either club. Nor did he play a game for Brisbane)
Barker (traded at his own request to a Melbourne club)
Bamford (traded to Geelong and has since been delisted by the Cats)
Carter (traded to Melbourne and has since been delisted by the Demons)
Clayton (traded to the Kangaroos).

The Bears had a very good list in 1996, and it to be expected that players like Voss, A. Lynch, White, Lappin, Chris Scott, Ashcroft, Leppitsch, Keating, etc would form the nucleus of the Brisbane Lions side four-five years later.

I'm not sure why you think it is a "pitiful state". To me it looks pretty much the normal situation that is faced by any AFL club trading fringe players in the hope of picking up something better. Unfortunately given Fitzroy's poor list in 1996, some of the 25 players that have gone from the Lions since 1997, were always going to be Fitzroy players.

Don't forget those players that joined after the merger too, like Des Headland and the like that we got in the draft, they are the new breed of BRISBANE LIONS.

I saw Mal Michael play against the Crows back in March. He was very good, lots of touches and some great marks - provided a real presence around centre half forward. If he can be injury free and enjoying his footy he could be a big bonus for the Lions

Mal Micheal is gotta be the most ordianry player in the AFL, $1000000 for 3 years, id pay 1 mil for 20 yrs, and still feel jipped, i cant believe brissie traded molloy for him, well done pies!

Can someone tell me about Mal Michael