Can Walker deliver?

I clearly stated that most, not all fans swore he'd be a gun, I didn't think I needed to add it in again at the end...

As for the video, Kade Simpson was 25m in space, if Walker had of missed the target with that kick, he should be delisted, and we beat the Doggies in that game, for one reason, and one reason only... Jordan Bannister played his first game of the season and shut down Brad Johnson, it also ended our losing streak which was 7 at the time I think.

The funny thing is you still could both be wrong....:)

Nope Gilly, I wont be wrong, I don't know about thylacine60 but I knew that at Carlton, Kennedy would never mature into a good player, at another club, he might make that leap, with the right guidance, that he clearly didn't get under Pagan and his band of goons, he could still become a good AFL player, he needed to be something very, very special to make it at Carlton with the shoddy development record we have.

I think Walker has the potential to be a reasonable player. At the moment, he doesn't add much because of poor decision making, poor disposal, poor kicking on the run and mis-timing of leaps

I think you completely missed the part where I actually rate Bannister in our best 18, the role he can play in the side is vital for us.

If the opposition have a key forward getting on top of a defender, Banno can easily be moved onto him, Banno has a midfielders engine, so he can easily run with a player, he can also play on a small forward, his versatility makes him a very, very good player, and we'll need him this season. Guaranteed.

Lets hope we don't pick up his brother who you reckon is a much better player then...his spot may be under threat:p

I'm still waiting for big bad John Brown to run out for us as well. I guess the form four hasn't gone through yet:D

I think we need your brother to come out and apologise for your silly threads again:thumbsu::)

Nothing wrong with stirring, it is the Australian way and you are good for a giggle..for me anyway.

NB (apologies to Banno who actually did his job in a number of games last season.. but, you have just been used:D)

DC isn't exactly on his own in bagging players. There are a few others who constantly bag players. I hope no one complaining has ever bagged a player because it's not as though it never happens here.

Settle mate...no-one mentioned Hoops:D (who has had a very good couple of years by the by:))

We are just having a bit of fun with DC who is trying to have fun with us. He is getting attention so I imagine that he is secretly happy:D

Nope Gilly, I wont be wrong, I don't know about thylacine60 but I knew that at Carlton, Kennedy would never mature into a good player, at another club, he might make that leap, with the right guidance, that he clearly didn't get under Pagan and his band of goons, he could still become a good AFL player, he needed to be something very, very special to make it at Carlton with the shoddy development record we have.

Classic:D

I think you completely missed the part where I actually rate Bannister in our best 18, the role he can play in the side is vital for us.

If the opposition have a key forward getting on top of a defender, Banno can easily be moved onto him, Banno has a midfielders engine, so he can easily run with a player, he can also play on a small forward, his versatility makes him a very, very good player, and we'll need him this season. Guaranteed.

Yep they are all of Jordans best attributes but the problem is he would be inferior to Walker in all of those departments with the added bonus of Walker being able to play attacking roles also.

It's obvious you're taking the piss. Pity it's at poor Banno's expense.:thumbsdown:

Lets hope we don't pick up his brother who you reckon is a much better player then...his spot may be under threat:p

I'm still waiting for big bad John Brown to run out for us as well. I guess the form four hasn't gone through yet:D

I think we need your brother to come out and apologise for your silly threads again:thumbsu::)

Nothing wrong with stirring, it is the Australian way and you are good for a giggle..for me anyway.

NB (apologies to Banno who actually did his job in a number of games last season.. but, you have just been used:D)

Jarrod's not a bad footballer, doesn't have the body strength that Jordan does, but he's only 20, is quicker than Jordan and is a better kick than Jordan, Jarrod also has a better leap, there's also a brother better than both of them, but he wont play AFL football.

Yep they are all of Jordans best attributes but the problem is he would be inferior to Walker in all of those departments with the added bonus of Walker being able to play attacking roles also.

It's obvious you're taking the piss. Pity it's at poor Banno's expense.:thumbsdown:

Banno cant play an attacking role? What about when Banno towelled up Chad Cornes at the Dome? How many goals did Banno kick that night?...

Poor Banno?... Taking the piss??... Jordan inferior to Andrew, haha, you're having a laugh, now who's taking the piss!

What you talking about Willis?:D

He has just tried to cover himself just in case JK kicks on at West Coast. Although in his rants about JK I can't remember any mention of JK's development being hampered by our training and use of him...he was just saying he was no good.

I found it funny pardon me:eek:

Then say that next time you lazy bugger :p, I was thinking the same thing.....I should have given you more credit in my internal dialogue, I assumed you were pleased with the comeback.

Banno cant play an attacking role? What about when Banno towelled up Chad Cornes at the Dome? How many goals did Banno kick that night?...

Poor Banno?... Taking the piss??... Jordan inferior to Andrew, haha, you're having a laugh, now who's taking the piss!

Settle..your nic already proves that you are a good judge of horseflesh:p

I think you may need to change it to Torres who actually is a world class player:D

you're right I'm having a good laugh.:D

Settle..your nic already proves that you are a good judge of horseflesh:p

I think you may need to change it to Torres who actually is a world class player:D

I still think Cisse is a good player, but Torres is god (as evident in my sig).

And no, I'm not covering myself just in case JK comes good, I said numerous times that our staff hampers the development of players, look at Collingwood, players like Rusling, Pendlebury, Goldsack, O'Brien, Reid & MARTY CLARKE (who had been playing 'Aussie Rules' for about a year) come into their side and make an immediate impact, why is that? Why cant our players do that?... Because they have better staff than we do, whether or not West Coast have that level of staff remains to be seen.

I'd steer clear of agreeing with me if I was you, it might not be your best move.

If it was 40 degrees outside and not a cloud in the sky, I could start a thread saying "right now, outside... the sky is blue" and people would challenge my opinion. It's just because normally I go against popular opinion, like when basically, since he arrived at Carlton, I challenged Josh Kennedy's potential and ability, yet (most, not all) swore black and blue he'd be a gun at Carlton, but the simple fact is, his lack of ability and talent, coupled with Carlton's inability to work with the kids and turn them into great AFL players was going to be his downfall, yet no-one else could see that.
Well West Coast wouldn't agree with you. They believe he has potential and ability and were willing to accept him for Judd.

Precisely why I started a thread on Walker, rather than just bagging him in a totally unrelated thread.

I don't rate Walker in our best 22, let alone out best 18. At the stage we are in right now, we need players who aren't flashy, aren't brilliant, but who wont turn the ball over, we need assured players who just go about their job.

Hmmm I've been what I believe "realistic" rating our players, in specific Walker rather than the usual overrating stuff you see on this board.

But come on Walker is easily in our best 10 players. He was compiling some pretty decent games last season until he got injured, and then came back before he perhaps should have.

I eagerly await Audas' reply to your posts :D

What is him being injured got the **** to do with it?
He doesn't exactly have a few rounds to play himself in like most of the boys have already had, he has to jump in the deep end as quick as possible and I think it's cheap judging performances directly after injury.

FFS he was judging Walker as a player up until now. How can you judge a player on games he is yet to play? Fair dinkum.

Plus picks 3 and 20. They didnt really have a choice. Take that or lose Judd for nothing!
They were never going to lose Judd for nothing. I think we wanted to keep Kennedy and offer them pick 36 but they were quite insistent that Kennedy be part of the deal and weren't interested in any other players. They would have drafted him had they been able to and still rate him highly.

Can Walker deliver?