Can we re-rookie Macaffer?

shawthing09

With all the craziness that is the last "untainted draft" and the extra rookie list spots. If we are struggling to find the extra list space could we effectively let this rookie contract run out and offer him another one?

I say this simply because in his case I am torn. I deffinately think he has done enough to be worth keeping and persisting with but I don't see a spot for him in the ones with Medhurst playing pretty much the exact role he does and guys like Thomas and Didak able to play similar role. So I don't see the point of him taking up a senior list spot. This way he is given the extra list time he has earnt, Is able to be premoted if need be but doesn't take up actual list space.

No we either elevate him or lose him.

Two years on the rookie list at any one club you are then either elevated or delisted

No we either elevate him or lose him.

Two years on the rookie list at any one club you are then either elevated or delisted

Yeh I know that part but can we take the risk of delisting him, telling him we intend to rookie him again if he is still there and rooking him in the rookie draft if avalible?

The same way it has been suggested we could delist and then rookie Iles?

In all honesty if either was picked up by someone else I wouldn't see it as a huge lose.

Yeh I know that part but can we take the risk of delisting him, telling him we intend to rookie him again if he is still there and rooking him in the rookie draft if avalible?

The same way it has been suggested we could delist and then rookie Iles?

In all honesty if either was picked up by someone else I wouldn't see it as a huge lose.
No even if we delist him we cant re rookie him in the draft we can only re draft him to the seniors.

In any case i can see us delisting enough that macca and wellingham will be elevated and toovey will remian on the list, the last part sadly still seems to be to many posters disgust

Firstly, I think he'll be elevated anyway.

Secondly, I have yet to be convinced that players cannot be retained on the rookie list for three years.

Thirdly, the 2009 draft isn't really "tainted", it's just picking from 33% fewer new draftees as the cut-off has been brought back by 4 months (ie. from April 30th, 1992 to Dec 31st, 1991).

If MacCaffer isn't on the senior list next year i will be disgusted

What more can a bloke do?????

Anyway over the coming years Thomas, Didak and Medhurst will gradually move more into the mid, so there will be a possie open for him

No even if we delist him we cant re rookie him in the draft we can only re draft him to the seniors.

In any case i can see us delisting enough that macca and wellingham will be elevated and toovey will remian on the list, the last part sadly still seems to be to many posters disgust

Pretty sure thats wrong. If we delist him and he's still there at pick 5236 in the rookie draft, we can select him.

If MacCaffer isn't on the senior list next year i will be disgusted

What more can a bloke do?????

Anyway over the coming years Thomas, Didak and Medhurst will gradually move more into the mid, so there will be a possie open for him
Disgusted is a very harsh word here.

Im pretty certain Caff will be elevated, but i do worry about how much of an impact he can make at senior level. He is an undersized full forward without the amazing miracle goal sense of most full forwards.

If he does almost as well as edwards at the roos who played blinding football in the VFL we should be happy, but who knows if he can do it who knows if we even think he is necessary seeing as we have rus/ried/rocca all back next year a defender cun forward in Anthony

The kid can play. At worst we should elevate him for one of our players who *can't* play, and then trade him next year or the year following when GC17 comes in. We can't trade players off the rookie list.

Pretty sure thats wrong. If we delist him and he's still there at pick 5236 in the rookie draft, we can select him.

Yeah. Richmond re-rookied Howat after de-listing him off the rookie list in the 07 rookie draft.

Yeah, we can all keep saying that, but the fact is; it ain't going to happen. Toovey will be on the list next year, MM loves him.

Pretty sure he could be re-rookied if still there by the time it got to our pick but as others have stated that will not happen, he will be elevated.

Medhurst, Thomas & Didak will be spending a lot more time in the midfield next & with at least 3 forward spots available for non KPP types I can see no reason why there wouldn't be a spot available for him.

You also have to consider that Anthony may well go back next year & if so Macaffer would be a possibel replacement.

Yep - To add the final say (yes, I am that authoritative), yes, we can re-draft Macaffer onto our rookie list if we delist him and then draft him when it comes around to our pick in the rookie draft, considering he is still young enough to be rookied again.

And NO, TRS, rookies cannot be retained for a third year on the rookie list unless they are an international/Irish rookie, which Macaffer is not.

As for the actual topic at hand, Macaffer, can, should and will be elevated to the senior list, and provides perhaps an even bigger reason for why we might well look at trading one of our forwards.

Yeah, we can all keep saying that, but the fact is; it ain't going to happen. Toovey will be on the list next year, MM loves him.
I don't know about that - Malthouse liked the fact that he worked hard and could (in a limited capacity) do a job, but that doesn't necessarily mean that he thinks he has a long term future at the club. He's made hard decisions in the past on players he loves, like Shackleton and Betheras.

I still see Toovey being on the outs come year end, considering that we need to promote two players to the senior list, plus make room for Scott Reed - We're going to need to cut at least 6 deep.

And NO, TRS, rookies cannot be retained for a third year on the rookie list unless they are an international/Irish rookie, which Macaffer is not.
Sauce mate? :D

I don't know about that - Malthouse liked the fact that he worked hard and could (in a limited capacity) do a job, but that doesn't necessarily mean that he thinks he has a long term future at the club. He's made hard decisions in the past on players he loves, like Shackleton and Betheras.

I still see Toovey being on the outs come year end, considering that we need to promote two players to the senior list, plus make room for Scott Reed - We're going to need to cut at least 6 deep.
Ah, but there's love and there's love. Alan Toovey was shown the love recently, being played right up until his broken foot... and even then MM was spreading the Toovey-love in the members e-mail.

Sam Iles, on the other hand, is someone I think MM has fallen out of love with. From saying "he'll play 200 games for this club" (paraphrase), he's failed to pick him this year, and sadly I reckon Iles is gawn.

I am still not sold on the Caff TBH. I have seen much better medium fowards struggle to make the transition from VFL to AFL. The role he plays require real pace and X factor and I haven't seen either of those from him. There is no doubt he can play but for smaller fowards who play big the jump from the 2's to senior level is huge.

I have the same concerns. I just think he could really struggle. He has enough talent to play and kick a few goals in a senior game but i would have concerns about him doing that week in and week out. He just doesn't have a leap, or pace, or freak skills, or great hands. I think you need at least one of these things to make it as a medium forward.

What he does have is above average footy smarts and a lovely kick. Is that enough?

I have the same concerns. I just think he could really struggle. He has enough talent to play and kick a few goals in a senior game but i would have concerns about him doing that week in and week out. He just doesn't have a leap, or pace, or freak skills, or great hands. I think you need at least one of these things to make it as a medium forward.

What he does have is above average footy smarts and a lovely kick. Is that enough?

It's a bit of a catch 22 for mine. I think he'd be a great foward to slip under the radar. I.E If your a grade bigs and smalls are firing and he gets a poorer defender he could do really well. The problem is if your foward line is that strong how would he fit in.

He'll be promoted. Its a free swing for us.

One of three things will happen
  • He'll make the grade and will be a valuable addition to the team, and not neccessarily as a forward but also as a midfielder
  • He wont make the grade and the experiment will cost us nothing
  • He will make the grade but there wont be room in our team, but his trade value down the track will increase and we'll be able to trade him for something decent.
He could not have done any more than he has done this year. Promotion is a certainty.

We have a good history for promoted rookies - at least a 50 % success ratio. Lockyer Maxwell Clarke are three promoted rookies who have achieved great things. And Toovey Cox Wellingham and Macaffer could be in the next batch.

Sauce mate? :D

I was on the same page as you TRS. This is the draft timetable according to the AFL http://afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=63364.

It notes a time for nomination of third year rookies. Maybe it is just for international rookies like Vinnie said but I thought Irish rookies were treated the same as Oz rookies anyway.

FWIW, I think we should elevate him anyway. I think he could play in a pocket with Medhurst on a flank and Thomas, Didak and Davis in the guts.

Ah, but there's love and there's love. Alan Toovey was shown the love recently, being played right up until his broken foot... and even then MM was spreading the Toovey-love in the members e-mail.

Sam Iles, on the other hand, is someone I think MM has fallen out of love with. From saying "he'll play 200 games for this club" (paraphrase), he's failed to pick him this year, and sadly I reckon Iles is gawn.
Toovey was doing a rather good job as a small defender tagger up until his broken foot TRS you cant really deny