Celtic
Hey all,

I'm moving to Canada in september to work for 5 months and was wondering if anyone could give me some info. I'll be spending my time between Toronto and Windsor mainly but the gig does encourage travel.

So any tips would be great and i'll probably come back to this thread every now and again to update.

Cheers!

Hey all,

I'm moving to Canada in september to work for 5 months and was wondering if anyone could give me some info. I'll be spending my time between Toronto and Windsor mainly but the gig does encourage travel.

So any tips would be great and i'll probably come back to this thread every now and again to update.

Cheers!

Great move TbR, you'll love Canada. The people are very similar to here.

I haven't spent any time as far East as you'll be living but I've spent plenty of time between Vancouver BC and Edmonton AB. Some of the best scenery you'll see anywhere in the world lies within that area with The Rockies inbetween of course.

What would you like to know mate?

Never been to Canada, but have met so many Canadians during my travels. Great people. As Toes said, quite similar to Aussies in many ways. I would say avoid Whistler, as it is just full of Australians from what I've heard. Go snare a Canadian bird :thumbsu:

Canada is amazing, and the whole area around Toronto is gorgeous.

Niagara falls, Buffalo, St Catherines, etc etc... all fantastic.

Plus, New York City is a short (and pretty often cheap) flight.

I've heard the aussie comparison quite a lot so just another reason i'm looking foward to it. I've been to America before and lived in europe for a year so it'll be nice to visit bizzaro Aus.

The kind of things i'm looking for are places to see or avoid, hidden gems and custom tips.

I have to go to Chicago a few times for the job so i'll probably visit New York again as well as try to make a taping of Conan in L.A :)

Anything would be great folks.

Just about to finish up in Toronto after living here on and off all year. We've had a 6 week public services strike here which has just ended. Hopefully the garbage smell clears up by the time you're here because right now the city smells like a tip.

I think the best thing about Canada is the wilderness really so organise as many weekends away as you can. Toronto is just a city to be honest nothing special socially so take the chance to explore the great lakes etc.

The Severn Sound is a couple of hours North of Toronto and it's very picturesque too.

Spent the recent long weekend on a houseboat on the lakes near Peterborough just cruised around with mates plenty of little islands to dock and fish/sink piss. Bobcaygeon is a cool little town to park your boat and explore.

Niagara falls are undeniably impressive.

Quebec City is a mission but a really interesting place.

Hamilton is a shithole and London is nothing special so forget about those.

In Toronto the Kensington Markets are very worth killing a few hours in and there should be some decent weather still around in September so get the ferry over to the Toronto islands (only about 500 metres off shore but feels relaxed and isolated). May as well go on a tour of the Steamwhistle brewery as they give you free beer.

But yeah my advise would be to plan a few weekends away because the weather will still be decent and it's worth exploring out of town.

I think I may check out that Brewery, sounds good.

In an update i've organised a meeting with the 'Picnicface' group.
(Check them out on youtube)

Still waiting for my US visa to return but if all goes well i'll be heading out on the 6th.

Lived in Detroit for 2 years, and spent much of it visiting the Windsor Ballet - sensational dancing girls ;)

As mentioned above, Niagara Falls and if you can get up to Northern Michigan it is worth the drive, especially in Autumn. Great place up there is Mackinaw Island.

Hamilton is a shithole and London is nothing special so forget about those.

lol beauty is in the eye of the beholder. ;) I loved living there, good working class city.

Toronto is a great city, plenty to see and do there. You will have a ball.

Windsor is just basically a through way between Toronto and Detroit. Motown is worth seeing, but there is a few reasons why the city has halved in population since the '60s.

Ottawa is worth the trip too, very picturesque.

I just returned from Canada after being there for three years. I'd definitely recommend BC, in particular Victoria and Vancouver Island. Went whale watching there and it was just incredible. Spent alot of time in the praries (Alberta - Saskachewan) and they are kinda boring, but at the right time of the year (a couple of months ago) even they can be quite pretty. Most of my time was spent in the North (above the arctic circle) and it is probably worth visiting there in the winter if you can afford it (plane tickets are about $1000 return). You'll get to see the Northern Lights at their best, and if you go around December you will experience 24 hours of dark and some pretty damn cold temperatures. Something to tell your grand kids about.

Unfortunately I never got to see Montreal or Quebec city, and it remains one of my regrets as it looks gorgeous. However, my girlfriend is Canadian, so no doubt I'll be back.

Go see Banff and all the rocky mountains stuff too, but that goes without saying:

Banff.jpg

You'll have a great time eh! Right on.

I'm going to Oregon on the 11th, for work too, but only away for 12 weeks, I know its not Canada but has anyone else been there and can give me any places to visit, from pics i've seen it looks like a beautiful part of the world.
BTW Rooboski what day did you have your visa interview, we might have been in the same room?

The 21st Jozeph. Such a prick of a day.

Mine was on the 10th, don't tell me you didn't have a receipt, I went to the window handed all my papers through and the guy says, 'where's such and such receipt?' and i said, 'I gave it to you', 'no you didn't', 'yes I did', after much gnashing of teeth and me desperately rummaging through my papers, and him telling me I would have to go back downstairs, down the street to Alfred Hospital post office and pay again, he then says 'Oh here it is'.
2 and a half hours I was in there.
Although you're going to Canada, my bad, different consulate.:o

I was in Canada last month, very beautiful place. I was in Montreal, was a really nice city - very nice French buildings and such. Was suprised the main language was French over there. The weather was really nice - despite being summer it barely got over 30 degrees for me.

I would definitely go there again

I'm going to Oregon on the 11th, for work too, but only away for 12 weeks, I know its not Canada but has anyone else been there and can give me any places to visit, from pics i've seen it looks like a beautiful part of the world.
BTW Rooboski what day did you have your visa interview, we might have been in the same room?

G'day jozeph,

I spent a bit of time in Oregon in the late 80's. There's not alot to see there but there's enough, considering that you'll be there for work.

I spent time in Portland, Harrisburg and Eugene (the home of Nike). I remember the locals in Harrisburg kept telling me to get out to the coast and check out the surf beaches if I had time, but I didn't. Seattle WA is well worth a weekend trip up the highway, and what's left of Mount St. Helens is enroute as well.

Northern California's magnificent and there's a heap to see there, and again it's a great way to spend a weekend..........whether you go towards the coast or towards the Rockys.

You'll have a ball anyway mate!

Re the OP...........

From my time there, and where I HAVE been, I can highly recommend the Banff area, and the entire drive from Calgary AB into BC. With it being through the Rocky Mountains, and following the famous rail route, the scenery is beyond belief. The lake areas once in British Columbia are great too. Kelowna is a great summer holiday spot for Canadians, on Lake Okanagan, as it not only has a fantastic lake and scenery, but also it's own micro climate. In Summer it can hover over 30c for weeks on end, and it has beaches.

The whole area's amazing in Winter as well. I've been to Kelowna, Salmon Arm, Vernon and Penticton, as well as Vancouver further West of course (many times). Vancouver's up there with Sydney and San Francisco as one of the most picturesque settings for a city in the world.

North West of Calgary you'll also find Glacier National Park, which is stunning.

If you happen to venture that far west, you won't be found lacking for things to do and see TbRb.

Edmonton's ok, but not somewhere I'd rush to get back to. Alberta's booming on the back of the sand oil boom, much like Western Australia's mining led recovery. If you happen to get there, go to Whyte Ave, which is their version of Chapel St.

I reckon you'll love Canada mate, and it really is true about the people........they're so similar to us. Enjoy!

G'day jozeph,

I spent a bit of time in Oregon in the late 80's. There's not alot to see there but there's enough, considering that you'll be there for work.

I spent time in Portland, Harrisburg and Eugene (the home of Nike). I remember the locals in Harrisburg kept telling me to get out to the coast and check out the surf beaches if I had time, but I didn't. Seattle WA is well worth a weekend trip up the highway, and what's left of Mount St. Helens is enroute as well.

Northern California's magnificent and there's a heap to see there, and again it's a great way to spend a weekend..........whether you go towards the coast or towards the Rockys.

You'll have a ball anyway mate!
Thanks for that TT, i'm not taking my board but would like to catch a wave whilst there that's for sure.

Thanks for the help lads, I leave this sunday. I'm hearing the actual town i'm staying in, Windsor, is a fair shithole. Any experience with it? Also what's the price of a pot of beer over there?

Canada is awesome. Things I noticed.

We have double story houses, So do they, but they have stairs going downward to a floor below the ground rather than upward.

Beautiful lakes.

Thats it really.

Shit. What a waste of money.