Expansion Canberra

The final poll had only 11% of Canberra-based GWS members supporting the Giants as their primary team, which would extrapolate to 667 members.

Small sample size, but interesting perspective. And it shows that the Giants are definitely better off focusing on their Sydney base.
It might be similar in Sydney. I bet a large % of GWS members follow other teams including the Swans.

There'd definitely be some crossover, but I doubt it'd be anywhere near as similar.

I've read plenty of anecdotes from Giants fans in Sydney saying they only started following AFL because of the Giants, whereas I wouldn't say there'd be many new AFL fans in Canberra because of the Giants.

There'd definitely be some crossover, but I doubt it'd be anywhere near as similar.

I've read plenty of anecdotes from Giants fans in Sydney saying they only started following AFL because of the Giants, whereas I wouldn't say there'd be many new AFL fans in Canberra because of the Giants.
From my experience of going to games at Showgrounds, there were heaps of families in the crowd with parents in Hawks gear (and other teams) and the kids in Giants gear.

I also reckon a lot of GWS members are Swans fans first. That would explain why there are so few Giants fans at the ‘Battle of the Bridge’.

From my experience of going to games at Showgrounds, there were heaps of families in the crowd with parents in Hawks gear (and other teams) and the kids in Giants gear.

I also reckon a lot of GWS members are Swans fans first. That would explain why there are so few Giants fans at the ‘Battle of the Bridge’.

That's good to see the kids are getting into them at least! That's where the Giants' future lies.

What was the split at the game? Two-thirds Sydney/a third Giants? I'm sure there's a few double ups, but that'd pretty much align with how many Giants fans there normally are at the ground this season. Using the Saints game as their lowest base this year, there would be ~7k people notionally supporting them at each game.

Manuka has again averaged higher crowds than Hobart.

Canberra has now averaged higher crowds than Hobart for five consecutive seasons (minus the disrupted 2020/21 seasons). 2016 was the last time Hobart had higher crowds.

This year, Manuka averaged 71% higher crowds than Hobart. In fact, we got more people to three games than they got to four.

I know Tasmanians are disenfranchised and North isn't fun to watch, but the comparison reinforces the fact that Canberrans consistently rock up and would have a healthy base for a team.

Manuka has again averaged higher crowds than Hobart.

Canberra has now averaged higher crowds than Hobart for five consecutive seasons (minus the disrupted 2020/21 seasons). 2016 was the last time Hobart had higher crowds.

This year, Manuka averaged 71% higher crowds than Hobart. In fact, we got more people to three games than they got to four.

I know Tasmanians are disenfranchised and North isn't fun to watch, but the comparison reinforces the fact that Canberrans consistently rock up and would have a healthy base for a team.
Wonder if there will be decent crowds for the AFLW matches played at Manuka Oval in Round 2 & 4 next month (in line to the AFLW average attendance).

Probably will be making the trip down for both matches and hopefully GWS put up a good showing against the two powerhouse clubs in the competition.

Wonder if there will be decent crowds for the AFLW matches played at Manuka Oval in Round 2 & 4 next month (in line to the AFLW average attendance).

Probably will be making the trip down for both matches and hopefully GWS put up a good showing against the two powerhouse clubs in the competition.

I hope so. We had great AFLW attendances pre-pandemic, but they dropped off a bit.

I think if it's promoted well, we should get the crowds.

Behind a paywall but Canberra’s own Phil Davis doing his bit to promote our code in the National Capital

Seeing the men in orange and black hoist that elusive premiership would be the perfect way to cap off Davis' final year in the AFL, and bookend what's been an unforgettable journey with GWS, which has been linked with his hometown for over a decade.
The former Marist College student has witnessed first-hand the growth of an AFL club from scratch, and is proud of what has been achieved in Sydney and Canberra, believing the Giants' best years are still to come.

While back in the capital for the premiership cup tour, Davis was thrilled to get back to where it all began, and inspire the next generation of footy stars, visiting Belconnen Magpies Football Club as well as Parliament House on Monday.

"I was born in Canberra, and we used to get visits every now and then from North Melbourne, and later the Swans, but to be able to be part of the Giants - we've been coming here regularly since 2012 and this is the first time the premiership cup has come to Canberra - I think it's just great," Davis said.
"The Giants' AFLW team played at Manuka Oval on Sunday night too.
"I've loved Canberra being the Giants' home, we love coming here and to see the game grow where you grew up, which was always dominated by rugby back then, it feels like there's a really big pulse for AFL here now."

Somebody recently posted in the r/Canberra subreddit, asking which AFL team to support as a new Australian.

I reckon the comments give some good insight to how AFL and GWS are perceived in Canberra.

I found three recurring themes.

1. GWS is the accepted proxy team. Most people have them as a second team, which is to be expected. But I couldn't find a single example of anybody claiming them as their first team. It shows that Canberrans support AFL, but aren't rusted-on to GWS.

2. There is quite a prominent anti-GWS streak running through Canberra, even from some AFL fans. The common reasoning is that so much money shouldn't be used for an interstate side. Another user disliked GWS because they think the partnership makes it harder for Canberra to get a team (which I think is a valid point).

3. There were a couple of "this is rugby league country" and "nobody follows AFL here" comments, and they all got heavily downvoted. It shows a large proportion of Canberrans are somewhat favourable to AFL.

Somebody recently posted in the r/Canberra subreddit, asking which AFL team to support as a new Australian.

I reckon the comments give some good insight to how AFL and GWS are perceived in Canberra.

I found three recurring themes.

1. GWS is the accepted proxy team. Most people have them as a second team, which is to be expected. But I couldn't find a single example of anybody claiming them as their first team. It shows that Canberrans support AFL, but aren't rusted-on to GWS.

2. There is quite a prominent anti-GWS streak running through Canberra, even from some AFL fans. The common reasoning is that so much money shouldn't be used for an interstate side. Another user disliked GWS because they think the partnership makes it harder for Canberra to get a team (which I think is a valid point).

3. There were a couple of "this is rugby league country" and "nobody follows AFL here" comments, and they all got heavily downvoted. It shows a large proportion of Canberrans are somewhat favourable to AFL.

I think though all new teams the majority of their supporters would be secondary fans, at least till the kids of that area come through and pick a team that's always been around. You'd probably find that even with Tasmania, let alone a gws or gold coast.

Absolutely, but I hazard a guess that the Suns have more primary fans on the Gold Coast than the Giants do in Canberra. It's harder to buy in when there's less to buy in to.

I reckon the Giants would actually have a reasonably high primary team rate in Sydney. I've read a lot of anecdotes about the Giants' existence actually getting them into AFL.

I reckon a New Zealand franchise would be epic. Surely a whole country has budget to set up an AFL franchise.

I've been thinking this myself a bit lately. However anti Australian sentiment is high over there, it could get the same scare campaign the Sydney media ran against the giants here, which can ruin any chance of success.

Any locals know what the latest is on the rectangle sports getting a new stadium as identified in the ACT Infrastructure Plan?

Whether it be in Bruce at the AIS or if it is at EPIC. The sooner the rectangle codes get their new stadium, their competing interests in fundings for stadiums falls away, paving the way for big upgrades to Manuka Oval.

“The ACT Infrastructure Plan outlines how the government is preparing for the delivery of new and improved infrastructure across the city for the next 5 years and beyond. The infrastructure priorities identified in the plan are informed by the best information we have now. As we move beyond the next 5 years, these priorities and investment decisions will be informed by changes in circumstances as our city and priorities evolve. Through careful planning now, the government will be able to continue to invest, at the right time, to maintain Canberra’s liveability.”

IMG_7027.JPG

IMG_7028.JPG

IMG_7029.JPG

Any locals know what the latest is on the rectangle sports getting a new stadium as identified in the ACT Infrastructure Plan?

Whether it be in Bruce at the AIS or if it is at EPIC. The sooner the rectangle codes get their new stadium, their competing interests in fundings for stadiums falls away, paving the way for big upgrades to Manuka Oval.

“The ACT Infrastructure Plan outlines how the government is preparing for the delivery of new and improved infrastructure across the city for the next 5 years and beyond. The infrastructure priorities identified in the plan are informed by the best information we have now. As we move beyond the next 5 years, these priorities and investment decisions will be informed by changes in circumstances as our city and priorities evolve. Through careful planning now, the government will be able to continue to invest, at the right time, to maintain Canberra’s liveability.”

View attachment 1808870

View attachment 1808871

View attachment 1808872

A Bruce redevelopment seems to be the current direction. I think EPIC was plan C.

Bruce is cheaper than Civic and can fit a larger capacity.

I think it might be the best option for Manuka, too. It means there'll be more money around, and the Raiders and Brumbies will need somewhere to play during the redevelopment, so Manuka might get some love to bring it up to scratch as a temporary host.

New Zealand Panthers? Would you barrack for them?
Maybe.. phwoar!

I'm pretty Tiger-blooded however. Would be hard for me to switch from Richmond. I'd get foundation membership to help them get started.

Regarldess of what a NZ team would be called, I think it would be great for the game, and perhaps we'll even have an Team Australia v Team NZ test one day.

I was looking at the national tv guide today and realised Canberra doesn't get any footage at all of the brownlow, as they don't even get 7 mate (unless I'm missing something).

That's really strange considering statistical analysis has afl as the most popular sport their by a slight margin.

Again, the afl dropping the ball by not leaning on ch7 for better coverage in growth markets.

I was looking at the national tv guide today and realised Canberra doesn't get any footage at all of the brownlow, as they don't even get 7 mate (unless I'm missing something).

That's really strange considering statistical analysis has afl as the most popular sport their by a slight margin.

Again, the afl dropping the ball by not leaning on ch7 for better coverage in growth markets.
I can confirm that Canberra gets 7 mate. Have been watching Brownlow on that secondary channel - presume 7 shows the Brownlow in NSW on 7 mate too?

Interesting it doesn't appear as a channel option on the guide. Canberra Pear can you confirm? It should be on 7 main anyway, but if it's not on at all that's pretty bad.
Ah, I see you have the dodgy Channel 9 Guide, which often has incorrect or incomplete info about its rival channels, especially channel 7. You need this independent Guide, which has 7 Mate in Canberra with the Brownlow on it live -

Interesting it doesn't appear as a channel option on the guide. Canberra Pear can you confirm? It should be on 7 main anyway, but if it's not on at all that's pretty bad.

View attachment 1812891

Professor Knowall summed it up perfectly, but I've never had an issue with the Brownlow in Canberra (though I don't watch it religiously, it just drags too much).

Just to spam this thread with reddit more posts, there was another AFL post in r/Canberra, asking the best spot to watch the grand final. A pro-NRL commenter said that paint drying was more entertaining, and they were heavily downvoted.

It doesn't show that AFL is necessarily bigger than NRL in Canberra, but it shows that Canberrans don't generally buy into code wars. Which bodes well for people supporting teams in multiple sports.

Just a graph I put together, which is a bit of a downer for the pro-Canberra AFL team advocates.

Whilst Canberra is growing, it is way behind the big 5 capital cities and the Gold Coast. It’s one thing to say, look how fast this one place is growing, but it is good to compare how much everywhere else is growing too.

Even with Perth and Adelaide having two teams 3 decades ago, the share of population at the time was still larger than what Canberra is now.

This also makes things less favourable for other candidates like Sunshine Coast and Newcastle.

You can accept Gold Coast got a team because of how much the region is growing.

The only thing working in Tasmania’s favour is their history and political will. But Tasmania used to be bigger in comparison to elsewhere in Australia, their slow population growth for multiple decades has really left them behind.

IMG_7238.JPG

You really are hard pressed for future teams, as should we really be lowering the bar for entry, when each of the existing teams are just getting bigger and stronger?

Sources for population, you may say they are a bit out here and there, but they show the overall trends:

Expansion Canberra