Canberra's own AFL team

Nov 26, 2016
Canberra, ACT
Port Adelaide
When Tasmania gets the 19th AFL licence, Canberra should get the 20th.

GWS has been great for footy in Canberra, but playing only eight games in Sydney can’t last forever. As they continue to grow, eventually the Giants will have to leave the ACT to focus more on Western Sydney (or Los Angeles).

My proposal would be for nine men’s games a year in Canberra and one each at Wagga and Albury to incorporate everything from Canberra to the Murray.

Canberra-Queanbeyan is fast approaching 500k people (double Hobart). With Wagga and Albury, that’s a potential fanbase of 650k.

While Canberra is not the “heartland” that Tasmania is, we have more adults (15+) playing footy in the territory than both rugby league and rugby union participants combined, despite them having full-time professional teams playing in town.

No, tiny market. Wouldn't work.
Do you live in Canberra?

if not, you'd be surprised, a huge portion of residents are blow-ins from other states and follow AFL, some even bought a Giants membership to go with thier other club membership.

Do you live in Canberra?

if not, you'd be surprised, a huge portion of residents are blow-ins from other states and follow AFL, some even bought a Giants membership to go with thier other club membership.

I've been in Canberra for about four years, and you're right, I have both a Port Adelaide and GWS membership. But just in my time I've noticed the population become less transient. The city becomes pretty quiet over the Christmas break as everybody returns home, but people are still spending their weekends through the year mostly in Canberra.

I've seen more and more people wear GWS gear out and about, which is a positive sign for a team that only plays three games and gets next to no press. I imagine with an actual Canberra team with the media support behind it, we would have no trouble attracting support.

GWS has been great for footy in Canberra, but playing only eight games in Sydney can’t last forever. As they continue to grow, eventually the Giants will have to leave the ACT to focus more on Western Sydney (or Los Angeles).

My proposal would be for nine men’s games a year in Canberra and one each at Wagga and Albury to incorporate everything from Canberra to the Murray.

Canberra-Queanbeyan is fast approaching 500k people (double Hobart). With Wagga and Albury, that’s a potential fanbase of 650k.

While Canberra is not the “heartland” that Tasmania is, we have more adults (15+) playing footy in the territory than both rugby league and rugby union participants combined, despite them having full-time professional teams playing in town.
Canberra's big problem is that we don't have a stadium with enough capacity to justify an AFL team. Manuka Oval is great as a venue, but it's a boutique oval, has a crowd capacity of 12K and there's absolutely no realistic public transport there (and nowhere to park).

Unfortunately Canberra missed the AFL expansion boat in the late 80's, when the NRL stepped in with the formation of the Raiders, which makes it difficult to get a toe hold now.

That said, if we had a Canberra - based team, I would totally support them, as would a lot of expat Vic's I'm sure. (I'd still have the Pies as my No 1 team though :)

Canberra's big problem is that we don't have a stadium with enough capacity to justify an AFL team. Manuka Oval is great as a venue, but it's a boutique oval, has a crowd capacity of 12K and there's absolutely no realistic public transport there (and nowhere to park).

Unfortunately Canberra missed the AFL expansion boat in the late 80's, when the NRL stepped in with the formation of the Raiders, which makes it difficult to get a toe hold now.

That said, if we had a Canberra - based team, I would totally support them, as would a lot of expat Vic's I'm sure. (I'd still have the Pies as my No 1 team though :)

I agree. Manuka Oval is nice, but even for the larger games it becomes a bit hectic. It's also so exposed in the cold and rain!

I think the AFL needs to be lobbying the ACT Government (along with cricket dangling the promise of a BBL side), to make sure the new undercover Civic stadium (or EPIC, or wherever they decide) has an oval configuration. The chief minister is a big Hawthorn fan and wants an oval, but he just needs some support.

I agree. Manuka Oval is nice, but even for the larger games it becomes a bit hectic. It's also so exposed in the cold and rain!

I think the AFL needs to be lobbying the ACT Government (along with cricket dangling the promise of a BBL side), to make sure the new undercover Civic stadium (or EPIC, or wherever they decide) has an oval configuration. The chief minister is a big Hawthorn fan and wants an oval, but he just needs some support.
Yep, i'd definitely be on board should it happen, but now is probably not the time for expansion. With the prospect of no crowds for the rest of this season and cut's to clubs' playing lists and salary caps, I fear that the AFL will be entering a period of consolidation and introspection.

yep, somewhere close to the tram line would be good. I read about something being planned for the Pool area in civic, not sure if theres space there for a stadium, but it would be a short walk to hotels, Casino, Convention centre etc.

No, tiny market. Wouldn't work.
The economy is bigger than Tasmania's. The population is close to the same, and all in one centre unlike Tasmania.
However, a large portion are not locals, a situation shared with GC, and either have teams elsewhere or in other sports. One thing Tasmania has in its favour is that most people are local, and there are a lot of Tasmanians in Melbourne as well (possibly as many as in Hobart). Canberra is also supporting NRL and Super Rugby (for as long as that lasts) teams, both of which are regularly in the conversation when it comes to clubs being killed off.

I think a team here is probably a touch more (financially) realistsic than a team back home, but not really a sure thing. If Tasmania gets a team the 20th team wouyld be a 3rd WA side; one that won't make money but has merit if (for once, should happen much more often) one puts sport ahead of money (Tas), and one in the only palce that should even if attendance is low to begin with due to people already having teams to support (Perth).
And the AFL seem set on GWS playing here, which I think is to the detriment of their attempts to provide a connection to their prime market in Sydney but can understand it to offset some losses in the first couple of decades.

Yep, i'd definitely be on board should it happen, but now is probably not the time for expansion. With the prospect of no crowds for the rest of this season and cut's to clubs' playing lists and salary caps, I fear that the AFL will be entering a period of consolidation and introspection.

I agree expansion wouldn't be just around the corner, but not in the too distant future.

I believe there are currently talks about extending GWS games another 10 years, so that contract would end about 2031. Could definitely be viable by then.

yep, somewhere close to the tram line would be good. I read about something being planned for the Pool area in civic, not sure if theres space there for a stadium, but it would be a short walk to hotels, Casino, Convention centre etc.
If it went ahead that would be a roofed rectangle, and is pretty much dependent on an A-League team so it becomes an all-year venue. Even then, its doubtful with a new convention centre and the tram lines having higher priority on the infrastructure budget.

As somebody who lives in Gungahlin, I would love a stadium on the tram line.

There was talk (not loudly, though) of the Civic Stadium going over Parkes Avenue and the road becoming an underpass so the lakeside and Commonwealth Park become more connected with the CBD. Would definitely make more room for an oval configuration. https://www.canberratimes.com.au/st...-parkes-way-looks-for-new-site-for-city-pool/

As somebody who lives in Gungahlin, I would love a stadium on the tram line.

There was talk (not loudly, though) of the Civic Stadium going over Parkes Avenue and the road becoming an underpass so the lakeside and Commonwealth Park become more connected with the CBD. Would definitely make more room for an oval configuration. https://www.canberratimes.com.au/st...-parkes-way-looks-for-new-site-for-city-pool/
yep thats the article, wow almost 4 years ago...now they're talking of filling in part of the lake again for apartments!

it hasn't helped the football public here in Canberra that the games have been largely boring

when North were making a push for the Canb. market they had a game V the Bulldogs on a bitterly cold day
one the Kingo pub side some guys were having bets around whether the Roos would win by 100 mid way thru the 3rd term , they were 60 up at the time

Three bus loads of Doggies fans had come up from Melb. for the game and they were down the Manuka end and started a chant in the forlorn hope they could lift their team
Well F me , many of the Canb. public hadn't seen anything that before and gradually plenty joined , by the end it seemed like the whole 7,000 strong crowd was barracking for the Dogs and Brad Johnson kicks a goal off the ground in the dying seconds to win it. It was the talk of the local footy community for weeks.

The crowds have got better but probably the best crowd I'd seen there was to an exhibition match Collingwood V Fitzroy for $20,000 prize money in 1987

Dont get me wrong , I like to see top line footy here and was a foundation member with GWS , if we hit 5,000 memberships they'd play games here was the deal , and that happend .

the crowds here are fickeld the Raiders & Brumbies are alright when playing well but drop away real quick and the AFL is similar
been to too many games of around 7-8,000 people

I reckon what is happening with Tassie & ACT AFL will continue for quite some time

I've always thought, Tasmania should have had a team before gws or gold coast

similar thoughts with Canberra to have a team

in order of new teams in future

tasmania

Canberra or NT

I've always thought, Tasmania should have had a team before gws or gold coast

similar thoughts with Canberra to have a team

in order of new teams in future

tasmania

Canberra or NT

I might be biased, but I don't think NT could support its own team. Maybe a "Northern Australia" team with Cairns and Townsville, but I don't think 150k people in Darwin would be enough to sustain a team.

That being said, beautiful weather for winter footy!

it hasn't helped the football public here in Canberra that the games have been largely boring

when North were making a push for the Canb. market they had a game V the Bulldogs on a bitterly cold day
one the Kingo pub side some guys were having bets around whether the Roos would win by 100 mid way thru the 3rd term , they were 60 up at the time

Three bus loads of Doggies fans had come up from Melb. for the game and they were down the Manuka end and started a chant in the forlorn hope they could lift their team
Well F me , many of the Canb. public hadn't seen anything that before and gradually plenty joined , by the end it seemed like the whole 7,000 strong crowd was barracking for the Dogs and Brad Johnson kicks a goal off the ground in the dying seconds to win it. It was the talk of the local footy community for weeks.

The crowds have got better but probably the best crowd I'd seen there was to an exhibition match Collingwood V Fitzroy for $20,000 prize money in 1987

Dont get me wrong , I like to see top line footy here and was a foundation member with GWS , if we hit 5,000 memberships they'd play games here was the deal , and that happend .

the crowds here are fickeld the Raiders & Brumbies are alright when playing well but drop away real quick and the AFL is similar
been to too many games of around 7-8,000 people

I reckon what is happening with Tassie & ACT AFL will continue for quite some time

It's been a tricky run for exciting games. Nobody wanted to watch the Giants get flogged, then nobody wanted to watch the Giants flog everyone.

The AFL has been kinder the past few years. We've had the Bulldogs after their premiership and GWS prelim rivalry, Richmond and Hawthorn (even if it was in the snow). It will be interesting to see if we can sustain these crowds through the next part of the GWS deal.