Capper.

• Thread starter Thread starter PhatBoy

Also kicked the winning goal in 1989 that was the nail in the coffin for Robert Wall's coaching career at Carlton.
Ironically about the only kick he made that went further than 30 metres - from memory on a boggy Carrara oval too.

A simple bloke playing in a simpler time who could jump high and kick straight, but not very long. A showman who made footy fun to watch as there was always the feeling that something was about to happen - and invariably did. Hid highlight reel of spekkies is up with the best of them. Reckon he would have copped a few in the back of the head too, i can remember wishing the fullbacks would deal with him but he kept getting up and going on.
Saw him at a sporty night a couple of years ago with Jacko and the Buzz - talk about egos in the room. Was a great night, WHizz took the p1$$ out of himself but still great to listen to.

Used to drink at the Alexandria and was mates with the publican who was actually one of Capper's best mates during those years. Played together on and off field. Stories he told over a beer or 2 were fantastic. Capper was well loved by his team mates and a lot of what you see in the media is a put on. All part of the Capper brand that just grew and grew during those years. For a very simple bloke, he made a killing back then...money wise and with the women!

A simple bloke playing in a simpler time who could jump high and kick straight, but not very long. A showman who made footy fun to watch as there was always the feeling that something was about to happen - and invariably did. Hid highlight reel of spekkies is up with the best of them. Reckon he would have copped a few in the back of the head too, i can remember wishing the fullbacks would deal with him but he kept getting up and going on.
Saw him at a sporty night a couple of years ago with Jacko and the Buzz - talk about egos in the room. Was a great night, WHizz took the p1$$ out of himself but still great to listen to.

I'd pay good money to see him, and would be indifferent to Buzz. You'd have to pay s to listen to Jacko.

Ironically about the only kick he made that went further than 30 metres - from memory on a boggy Carrara oval too.

I thought it was Princes Park or Hardie even kicking it. Etched in my mind as one of most horrible memories and the first time in 12 seasons we were destined to not make the top five.

I'd pay good money to see him, and would be indifferent to Buzz. You'd have to pay s to listen to Jacko.
buzz was def the weaker of the 3. Jacko used me as the other half of a conversation he had with someone in Vegas, i'm not the biggest chicken going around (certainly no big brave hero either) but when jacko gave the staredown as part of the conversation looking into the eyes was chilling - emotionless / shark like. Good on Kel moore and crew who stood him each week - rather them than me

He didn't have the most durable knees from memory which curtailed him, as well as making a stupid move to Brisbane where he didn't get the supply he got in Sydney as very much a stay-at-home FF.

He was a really good athlete, particularly when he was young... great leap, strong, quick and really good hands. Basically built to play the old school FF position. Nowadays he'd never make it as you can't stand one-on-one isolated with a full back any more, and you need to do some chasing.

Agree he clings to his football legacy closely as he probably realises it's the only thing that gives him serious currency. Was unhappy when he didn't make the Swans TOTC... despite the presence of Pratt and Lockett.

I've met Warwick twice in recent times through work.

Firstly, anyone in this thread who hates the guy no doubt had their missus shagged by him. Cos otherwise there is really no other reason to dislike him.

Both times I met him we were on short film/web series shoots. To paint the picture, when he walks into a room, he vacuums all the attention. His reputation demands it and I imagine it's something he's practiced his entire life. But make no mistake, everyone who pays that attention can see the real Capper straight away, and that is an older man trying to hang on to past glories.

He had a little guy with him the whole time, he kinda looked like a Danny DeVito who hadn't showered in a while. I guess he was a personal assistant. He would screen phone calls and hand out t shirts (to people who were colleagues) of Capper's other businesses he has on the side. A coffee truck called Capper-cino or something and also Capper's well hung meats.

He was also the only guy on this particular web series who would have been paid in cash. What a weird moment that was. He played himself in the show. The cast was also made up of about 8 very pretty young women who he had a ball chatting to. He really struggled with remembering his lines, but gave his all in terms of delivery. He would also do pushups in between takes so the chest popped.

So what I gathered from that, and the other stuff I've seen in the media, is that he is actually not a happy man. I'm sure someone could diagnose a raft of mental issues. I really thought he was a talented footballer and obviously he did too, but as this thread displays, he hardly gets any plaudits for it because of how zany the guy is, and that he seems to rub a lot of people the wrong way. I reckon he is really unhappy that he isn't thought of how good a footballer he his.

No way in hell did I meet the real Capper, but the crack are so huge that anyone can see there's someone else in there who actually strikes me as a really honest, hard worker still trying to make his way in the world. And as Silent Alarm said, I would be really surprised if he's done anything wrong by his fellow man. He seemed like a guy who wouldn't hurt a fly. And he's also really funny, a natural comedian. I think his next gig after the film shoot was hosting Bingo somewhere... What's that huge entertainment center near Marcellin?

Anyway,

Onya Caps.

He was one dimensional but geez, he was good at what he did. I was in the pub at lunch time and I saw some of his highlights - terrific mark and he could snap a creative goal as well. Good on him for parlaying his relatively short football stint into an ongoing career. He does come across as someone who can take the piss out of himself which gives him credits in my book. It doesn't surprise me in the least that people are overwhelmingly positive when talking about their encouters with him. I'd happily have a beer with him given the opportunity.

The thing is, 30 years after his career really peaked, people are still talking about him and many people in pubs no doubt cack themselves and spit their beers when they reminisce about the guy. You can't say that for many footballers. At best you're remembered by Mike Sheahan in lists, talked about as a what-if, or laughed at for getting as many games as you did. Everyone accepts he was a good footballer, he was larger than life, and still is. For someone who loves attention he also isn't in the limelight that much... he toes a line between being known and not being everywhere. I don't know how he does it.

The other thing is everyone would have a story about him. Nothing boring, no 'I did a line of coke with him at CQ in 2012!' or how you saw him down a Woolies in Camberwell.

My pop and dad once saw him during what would have been a very short stint in South Fremantle – he was too big for a place like that. He drove into the parking lot at the shops down there and in his bright red convertible sports car, haphazardly parked askew and jumped straight out with some other mid-50s bloke; guts hanging out, tan all over them, blonde hair, little footy shorts still on. They walked through the little mall part and all these old girls about his age came up, blushing and gushing, touching him and trying to impress ol' Capper with "hi Warwick! What are you doing here?!"

Apparently they looked like a pair of gay blokes from 1980s Miami who still thought it was 1980s Miami.

UOTE="Gavin Excell, post: 49930195, member: 40057"]View attachment 363159[/QUOTE]
Can't argue with that. Surely the only professional athlete in the world who had a full 1980s glam rock mullet

For all his glitz and glamour, pretty much every time I've heard him speak at any length about his footy he always emphasises the need to work hard for what you want. That apart from anything is a pretty good lesson for any young blokes coming through.

I read a story once about Capper shortly after his move to Brisbane. He'd been set up in a luxury apartment on the Gold Coast and some journalist from the time had gone to interview him, after being told to meet Capper on this floor in that room.

So the reporter goes up in the lift, gets to the room, sees the door wide open and after calling out Capper's name a few times with no response, he walks in to find the TV blaring and Capper nowhere to be seen. After checking all the rooms, he goes out to the balcony, to find Capper dangling over the edge of the railing by his legs. The journo asks the obvious question "What the bloody hell are you doing, you idiot?" To which Capper replies by holding up his TV remote control and explaining "I wanted to see how far away I could be and still get this to work."

Lives across the road from me. I've not bailed him up but other neighbours say he's always up for a chat. Especially with the ladies.
I wonder how money'd up he is?

He's the sort of bloke to have had a million bucks and to have pissed it all away, but come out the end still okay but with twice as many stories as dollars.

I'm not sure if he'd start his frankly dumb side businesses (which were clearly only followed through because he thought of the name first) like Capper-cinos and Capper's Well Hung Meats because he needed the money, he needed something to do, or because he was just bored and thought it'd be funny.

There's about nine ways you could read this dude's every move.

I wonder how money'd up he is?

From what I can tell he splits his time across from me (Balwyn North) and up on the Gold Coast.

I don't know if he owns the house in Balwyn North, rents it, his Mrs. owns it etc.

But it's probably worth 1.1-1.2m at a guess so he can't be struggling if that's an occasional home for him. Seems to have a different Mercedes or Beamer every 6 months or so too.

So much better than Howe, and that's not having a go at Howe.

You don't kick 100 in a season unless you're an absolute star.

The game could use some characters again.
true enough, but he kicked most his goals from 35 metres out or less due to the game plan with brownlow medalists feeding him on the smaller than today SCG, had lockett, matty richo or nick revolt played in those teams that 150 record would have been smashed. NO NEED for a CHF in those days in sydney so he got twice the supply. he was the sydney package tho thats for sure.