Capper.

• Thread starter Thread starter PhatBoy

I'm certain this bloke has had countless threads done on him before but none since I've been here - having just watched the rehashing of his Open Mike interview it reminded me how much I actually like the bloke.

As odd as he is, and as big as his ego is, there is a kind of innocent if somewhat misguided honesty about him.

It's sad in hindsight that he didn't play out the second half of his career more effectively because f*** me he could play.

Interested to see where other people stand on him.

His football was better than his singing.

Hell, Jacko's singing was better than Wozza's.

Football and singing both better than his acting.

An awkward kicking style, but fairly accurate from memory. Tommy Hafey got the best out of him. He had a really hot patch of form in about '86 or '87 with Barry Mitchell, Diesel and Gerard Healy kicking it down to him. I always tuned in on a Sunday arvo to watch the Swans play. They were a bit of a novelty back then.

Capper comes across as really arrogant, but of course much of it is tongue-in-cheek. However I actually do think he's quite defensive about his standing in the game.

He was actually a bloody good footballer, and a great pair of hands, awesome leap and quick.

I used to love Capper,big speckies every second Sunday,plenty of glamour.
My memories were everybody else in general hated him.
At school he had a fan club of about three of us and some would get rather upset that we liked him.
Myparents,brothers,uncles,neighbours,friends all hated him and thought I was some kind of freak for thinking he was great.
I used to sneak around jumping on people's backs yelling 'Capper" just so I could upset them more.
One friend told me his idiot old man even went as far as telling him there was something wrong with our small group because we liked Capper,it wasn't appropriate apparently.
Bought his single from Brashs,forced myself to like it. Capper was great.
Actually,pretty underrated footballer when it comes down to it.

An awkward kicking style, but fairly accurate from memory. Tommy Hafey got the best out of him. He had a really hot patch of form in about '86 or '87 with Barry Mitchell, Diesel and Gerard Healy kicking it down to him. I always tuned in on a Sunday arvo to watch the Swans play. They were a bit of a novelty back then.

Capper comes across as really arrogant, but of course much of it is tongue-in-cheek. However I actually do think he's quite defensive about his standing in the game.

He was actually a bloody good footballer, and a great pair of hands, awesome leap and quick.

You make an interesting point - much of what he says is definitely a pisstake but it seems that underneath it all, he worries that people forget that he could really play the game.

Would like to stand on his head,the mans an idiot.
Football wise he has the score on the board,but he's still a bloody idiot

Could play. Kicked goals on pretty highly rated opposition

Also took close to the best mark ive ever seen over Chris Langford at Waverley. Langford turned around watched the replay and clapped. Gary Buckernara at the other end of the ground also applauded.

I remember watching rounds 16, 17 and 18 where the Swans scored 201, 236 and 198 points respectively. It was actually a disappointment they didn't score 200+ three weeks in a row but how often does a team score 600+ points in three weeks?

Capper knocked up 16 goals, in these 3 games, in a very even contribution by the swans

Was extremely unfashionable to like him growing up but I absolutely loved his footy as a kid and he got me right into footy and the Swans. I tried to emulate his big grabs and flair. Great to watch, gets lambasted for using his hands but plenty of highlights show he had a pure jump. Was kicking 100 or close in an era when the greats were doing it against the same punch the back of the head defenders. Could seriously play. Obviously smarter than he portrays indentified a way to stay somewhat relevant and has lived a wild life. Still love him absolute fav player but understand why people cringe at him. I think he is genuinely remorseful for chasing the money and acknowledges it and him ruined his career doing so.

Bit of a flog but in an endearing way; unlike guys like Dal Santo who are dull, prissy, and still flogs.

Guy has so many stories, plenty of charisma, and had the ability to back it up. He also isn't a nasty or dirty person, unlike many in the industry – who has he really done wrong by?

If you had to spend a weekend with him you'd want to kill him but those first few hours would be a laugh.

People I know who've met him reckon he is exactly like he acts in the media. A totally bizarre bloke but good for a laugh in my opinion

I don't think he's a bad bloke, it's all a show and I think he is more self aware then people realise. He isn't mean spirited and hasn't really done anything to bad.

For the 1982-1986 period the Sydney Swans by a country mile got the most TV coverage of any VFL team. So not only did Capper become a star but even the likes of Rod Carter became well-known because you saw them play full matches every couple of weeks.