Captain Juddy

• Thread starter Thread starter ONE EYE

I think the team as a whole is playing with confidence now, something they've been missing all year. They aren't p¡ss-farting around with the ball as much, and Cousins certainly hasn't been the only one guilty of that in recent weeks. If it weren't for the fact that he has often single handedly dragged us over the line in close games, i'd probably agree that he should be rested as he's obviously been carrying some sort of mystery injury for most of the year.

Originally posted by Weagle8
For a start, "mate", unless you are an insider at the club, you're response is no less an opinion than mine. I didn't say it would definitely happen, I said I would be surprised if Judd wasn't at least offered a co- captaincy. How do you know it will never happen? The club will be doing anything they can to keep him here when he comes out of contract at the end of next season and he does seem like leadership material so why is it so impossible? I think you're the one who needs to "get your hand off it". (BTW I dont have one to get my hand off, so there.)

Well than get your finger off it and read what you wrote " I reckon Judd will either be sole captain next year or co-captain with Cousins"(first post, not this reworded crap above), meaning you think this will happen, no surprises there and if you know anything about the players you should be able to see that Juddy does'nt like the lime light, so the eagles would not even think of giving him sole captaincy or co-captaincy cause he is doing just fine with where he is at at the moment.

I kind of agree with Ripper actually. I don't think Ben Cousins is the answer as captain. Folks, its time to take the blinkers off about Ben Cousins. The game has changed over the years. Smallish, prolific yet unaccountable ball winners like Scott West and Shane Crawford have never lead their teams to anything. As much as you might not want to admit it but Benny is in this mould. Now cousins is popular and taking away the captaincy would be very risky but if you think about it you would realise its the best thing to do. We need a captain with a physical presence, probably either Judd or Gardy.

Originally posted by WestCoastJonny
Well than get your finger off it and read what you wrote " I reckon Judd will either be sole captain next year or co-captain with Cousins"(first post, not this reworded crap above), meaning you think this will happen, no surprises there and if you know anything about the players you should be able to see that Juddy does'nt like the lime light, so the eagles would not even think of giving him sole captaincy or co-captaincy cause he is doing just fine with where he is at at the moment.

Oh thats real good. Get your finger off it.If your not under the age of 16, I pity you if thats the best you can come up with.
I stand by what I said and if I'm proven wrong in the future then that's fine, I can take it.
You accuse me of knowing nothing about the players, then say something as simplistic as "Juddy doesn't like the limelight the eagles would not even think about giving him sole captaincy or co-captaincy." I dare say we see a bit more of him over here than you would over there. He may not have Cousins' confidence with the media yet, but having seen him at training, he's not exactly a shy little butterfly either.
Maybe if you tried to get your point across without insults, you wouldn't sound like such an *ss.
Oh, and as far as me not knowing anything about the players, it sounds like ripper 46 knows more than you and he's a dockers supporter.

Originally posted by Weagle8
Oh thats real good. Get your finger off it.If your not under the age of 16, I pity you if thats the best you can come up with.
I stand by what I said and if I'm proven wrong in the future then that's fine, I can take it.
You accuse me of knowing nothing about the players, then say something as simplistic as "Juddy doesn't like the limelight the eagles would not even think about giving him sole captaincy or co-captaincy." I dare say we see a bit more of him over here than you would over there. He may not have Cousins' confidence with the media yet, but having seen him at training, he's not exactly a shy little butterfly either.
Maybe if you tried to get your point across without insults, you wouldn't sound like such an *ss.
Oh, and as far as me not knowing anything about the players, it sounds like ripper 46 knows more than you and he's a dockers supporter.

I actually fly between Melbourne and Perth and get both sides of the story, so dont sit there and try tell me I no nothing of the media, game, eagles, Juddy and yes it might be something as simplistic as "Juddy doesn't like the limelight but its the simple truth and you being the passionate eagles fan you are, know this.

and I'm in love with you and ripper 46 aswell, mayby we should meet up some time.;)

I actually fly between Melbourne and Perth and get both sides of the story, so dont sit there and try tell me I no nothing of the media, game, eagles, Juddy and yes it might be something as simplistic as "Juddy doesn't like the limelight but its the simple truth and you being the passionate eagles fan you are, know this.

and I'm in love with you and ripper 46 aswell, mayby we should meet up some time.;)

I think you and Ripper 46 would make a great couple.;)

...you should be able to see that Juddy does'nt like the lime light, so the eagles would not even think of giving him sole captaincy or co-captaincy cause he is doing just fine with where he is at at the moment.

I think you're wrong. If Judd didn't like the idea of being captain he wouldn't have taken on a vice-captaincy at the start of the year, nor would he have accepted being the captain for the game on Friday (which would have left Rowan Jones in charge!).

I don't doubt that Juddy might not like the limelight, but I don't think he objects to it either. He does not avoid media appearances; rather he seems to do them very well. He just seems very well adjusted and when you compare that to some of his contemporaries from the 2001 draft who have a profile he seems quiet (take Medhurst as an example).

Talk is Judd has told WC he wants to leave for Victoria.
A rumour is youre going to make a deal with Hawthorn for pick 1 and one of 2 talls in their mid 20s one of which is a WAustralian .
Im a Carlton supporter but thats what ive heard.
Youll use pick 1 on Franklin

Originally posted by TheHeatleyStand
Talk is Judd has told WC he wants to leave for Victoria.
A rumour is youre going to make a deal with Hawthorn for pick 1 and one of 2 talls in their mid 20s one of which is a WAustralian .
Im a Carlton supporter but thats what ive heard.
Youll use pick 1 on Franklin

"Talk" is cheap, and you sure didn't pay anything for that little rumour.

Dont get touchy not trolling .
if judd is out of contract next year he can do a stevens.
its talk... i didnt pay anything for it and the people i heard it from arent noones.,
ps i dont even barrack for hawthorn

its talk... i didnt pay anything for it and the people i heard it from arent noones.,

Thanks. We'll file that with the 3000 other rumours which have surfaced at some point in the last 2 years about Judd being a 'dead set certainty' to go to Carlton, Collingwood, Essendon, Geelong, Hawthorn, Melbourne, North Melbourne, Richmond, St Kilda and the Bulldogs. Sounds like Juddy is going to be a busy boy, what with him playing for 10 teams each week :rolleyes:

Throughout our history, whenever we've wanted to keep a victorian player, he stays kept on account of us looking after our players. And in recent times, every time he's been asked about it, Judd's stock standard response has been that he's very happy here, and he'll consider his future when contract renegotiations roll around at the end of 2005. Last time he considered his future he chose to stay, and as yet there's been absolutely no indication that will change next time around.

FWIW, Hawthorn don't have any West Australian talls in their mid twenties who we'd really want, and certainly not any for Judd.

Originally posted by coasting
I kind of agree with Ripper actually. I don't think Ben Cousins is the answer as captain. Folks, its time to take the blinkers off about Ben Cousins. The game has changed over the years. Smallish, prolific yet unaccountable ball winners like Scott West and Shane Crawford have never lead their teams to anything. As much as you might not want to admit it but Benny is in this mould. Now cousins is popular and taking away the captaincy would be very risky but if you think about it you would realise its the best thing to do. We need a captain with a physical presence, probably either Judd or Gardy.

Your a nutter. Ben Cousins is a great captain and leader, his consistency, leadership, work ethic and fitness are unquestioned and unrivalled at the club.

Ben Cousins is our captain and will be the day he retires. Giving Judd the captaincy for the sole purpose of desperately trying to keep him reeks of something Fremantle would do.

I think Judd likes the limelight more and more every week, he is doing interviews on SEN, double page interviews with Gary Lyon in the Herald Sun, talking with TV after games.

He is evolving very nicely indeed. However he does not have that "I will drag this team over the line myself" attitude that cuz has.

The game a couple of years ago against Carlton when he won it for us in the last quarter. Nearly did it against Essendon this year, R3, and would have if it wasn’t for Hird.

Admittedly Cuz has had an average year by his lofty standards, obviously injured most of the year, but that is no reason to take the captaincy off one our greatest players.

Judd is over-hyped here in VIC. He actually has quite low stats compared with the rest of the premier midfielders in the competition. The thing about Judd is that everyone remembers the running through the packs, the great goals, so for a less productive game he still gets regarded as the best player, wen he clearly is not.

Eg. He got votes against Hawthorn for a 14 poss game when 8 of them came in the 2nd quarter. Then he got 6 for the other 3. This has happened a few times this year, but no-one ever mentions it.

In finishing, there is not doubt that Judd is one of the best players in the comp, but to take the captaincy of Cuz to keep Judd, is the wrong reason, and to take it of Cuz is not what our football club is about. Cuzz will be back to his devesting best soon.... and you all think, "gee, I'm glad cuz is skipper"

... i didnt pay anything for it and the people i heard it from arent noones.

Unless you give us names, they are.

He can. That's next year isn't it. Not this year.

If you didn't pay anything for it you still got ripped off. You paid with the time you wasted listening to it.

Like that's ever stopped a BigFooty troll....

looks like juddy will be captain for another week or so. He did a good job but Cousins is a grreat captain.

Judd will be captain once Cousins retires ( or is in his last couple of seasons ) but not before.

ps. Judd WILL stay that long!

Originally posted by Mr Q
He can. That's next year isn't it. Not this year.

If you didn't pay anything for it you still got ripped off. You paid with the time you wasted listening to it.

Like that's ever stopped a BigFooty troll....

Oh arent you a smart one.
Its actually being sprooked by many people including the inner sanctum of a third club. The other club is worried of losing one of their highly rated players in the PSD to Hawthorn also.

What you have to understand is if Judd has told the club he will leave when does WC get the best deal this year when theres a club like Hawthorn thats willing to give up pick 1 plus a player and with that pick you draft a WA kid who is a gun or next year when he might leave for nothing or no elite WA talent in the top 3?

Its actually being sprooked by many people including the inner sanctum of a third club. The other club is worried of losing one of their highly rated players in the PSD to Hawthorn also.

What you have to understand is if Judd has told the club he will leave when does WC get the best deal this year when theres a club like Hawthorn thats willing to give up pick 1 plus a player and with that pick you draft a WA kid who is a gun or next year when he might leave for nothing or no elite WA talent in the top 3?

Who are the other clubs and the other player mentioned?..

hehe...gotta love how the Vics are pretty much assuming he will leave, we aren't some sh*t box club that can't hold onto players...I reckon they're going to be disapointed, yet again.

On Talking Footy this week, Tim Watson was doing the usual " Judd will come home" thing.
David Parkin said he doubts that Judd will leave the Eagles. He said he feels from talking to him and knowing the kind of person he is, that Juddy is very happy here and will stay.
Mick Malthouse said the Eagles have never had problems keeping interstate players because they are a quality,well run football club.

Juddy would also be aware that either Hawthorn or St Kilda could have picked him but were not willing to take the risk. The Eagles on the other hand took two risks - first on his shoulders and secondly, by choosing a Victorian and risking the homesickness thing in the future.
Juddy came here as a raw kid and has grown not only in his football ability but matured as a person as well. He is very close to the young players at the club and the more the young group plays together, the better they will become. Why would he leave one of the most professional clubs in the league, with facilities second to none, an exciting young list heading to more finals action, in the best state in the land - to go to a bottom rung Vic club ?

Go take a long look at your rumours, then take a long look at the state of play at the Hawthorn Football Club, and then tell me that we should take you even remotely seriously. They couldn't organise a bunfight in a bakery at the moment.