Captain?

I get the feeling H-BOMB doesn't realise we all want Judd to actually perform for Carlton...

Sure he has a Brownlow, a Norm Smith, Captained Wet Toast to a Premiership (when he didn't want to).

But, we all want to see him string a few good games together for Carlton, make an impact within our club, show leadership on the field, sure he'll be a great rolemodel for the kids to look up to, and that's what we need right now, but, we he has stated he doesn't want the Captaincy, and we wont give it to him, we want him to get his groin right and let him play footy

Kade Simpson. Can't belive people saying Judd and Stevens are the only ones who can do it. Simpson PROVED time and time again this year he was a more than capable captain

And i cant believe how strongly people are voting for Nick Stevens. Remember him 2 years ago, a bloke playing liek that can't be captain. Our captain cant be someone unaccountable. what could be more demoralising than seeing a man who was free because he was matched up on stevens, kick a momentum-building goal for the opposition. i strongly disagree with people saying that Stevens "deserves" it.

FWIW, why are there people such as Thornton and Walker in the poll, ahead of options like Waite, who has been captain before, and done a pretty good job?

I think it would be breathtaking to see Steve-o take the field running along side Simmo as the Cartains of the Carlton Football Club. If Simmo get's voted in, it will be a bigger party than when John Howard finally get the ass from the public:thumbsu:

What I find interesting about this poll is not that Stevo ispantsing the others.....I expected that.

It's that Judd has twice the votes of Simmo, who did a great job while Lance was out.......and that 1 person thinks Gibbs should be the next captain...........interesting.:thumbsu:

Stevo will get it, But i too think that Simmo did a great job and should be rewarded in some way.....Vice at worst even though i think he should get it.

He was sensational in the 3rd quarter as captain vs port late in the year with his tackling,desire,and intensity,also another game where i think it was Fish (not sure) that was dropped just outside 50 and he was the first in out numbered and all but did the captain thing and looked out for his players.
He rose as cap and held his head up every week while doing it.
That to me shows that he wants it and will bleed for the honor.

Put Judd in a leadership group of 5.

I'd love Murphy to take it but he's not the type to step all over Stevens. He should definately be our captain after Stevens.
The leadership group should consist of:
Stevens (C)
Judd (vc)
Murphy (vc)
Simpson (d vc)
Waite (d vc)

Stevens handles media duties well, but from the Carlton games I've seen he doesn't look like the most inspirational on-field leader.
I'd like to see Fev named captain, but I think part of that would be in the hope that he is involved in some sort of controversy next year and is stripped of the captaincy, meaning that a very similar thread to this will pop up around the same time next year.

Stevens handles media duties well, but from the Carlton games I've seen he doesn't look like the most inspirational on-field leader.
I'd like to see Fev named captain, but I think part of that would be in the hope that he is involved in some sort of controversy next year and is stripped of the captaincy, meaning that a very similar thread to this will pop up around the same time next year.

There is practically no chance whatsoever of Brendan Fevola becoming captain of the Carlton Football Club, and IIRC he has admitted as much, too.

Quite simply, his off field troubles, and his occassional on field negative antics have severed his chances of being captain.

We have numerous better options than Fev for the captaincy.

Agreed, I took a sickie the day SEN held their Friday afternoon show at my local RSL and only went because Nick Stevens was guest and he was very good. Spoke very well about his neck issues and even tackled the Mark Robinson curve balls quite nicely... on a side not what a HUGE fat bloke Mark Robinson is!!!!

He can be inspirational as a player.
NAB cup final vs Lions last year and Round 1 vs Tiges......led by example.
Shame about his injury. He was set for a big year.

Stevo should get it but Simmo won't be far behind. His efforts this year when he had the job were sensational.

Stevens (C)
Simpson (VC)

Stevens, then Simpson.

On a side note, Mark Robinson as well as being HUGE is also a HUGE IDIOT.

On another side note, I don't understand people spruiking Waite as a deputy VC, or in the leadership group.

We need consistent performers as the leaders.

Waite's best and worst are too far apart, though in fairness, he did improve this year.

Either Stevens or simmo would make me happy. Stevens will probably be favourite and justifiably so. How good was Simmo when Lance was out? The rortaing capain system stopped very quickly when simmo took on the job. He rose as both player and a leader in that period.

Judd really doesn't want it so let's not "burden" him with it.

Really like the suggestion of Stevo capt. & Simmo v.c. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: and we should definately give this leadership group thing the 4rse and round up a few dvc's (plenty of solid candidates)

I was thinking about how Ratts wants to wait until after the pre-season to name a captain, and i reckon because of that it's going to be judd. stevens could just be named captain now, he already knows everybody. but by waiting a couple of months, it will give judd a chance to get to know the players and earn their respect

I guess the argument is that its just b/c Ratts is new and will want to check out everybody himself, but i still reckon its a sign judd will be named captain - just my thoughts

FWIW, id be pretty happy with Judd captain (as long as he wanted it obviously), and Stevens vice (hopefully alongside Simpson)

I was thinking about how Ratts wants to wait until after the pre-season to name a captain, and i reckon because of that it's going to be judd. stevens could just be named captain now, he already knows everybody. but by waiting a couple of months, it will give judd a chance to get to know the players and earn their respect

I guess the argument is that its just b/c Ratts is new and will want to check out everybody himself, but i still reckon its a sign judd will be named captain - just my thoughts

FWIW, id be pretty happy with Judd captain (as long as he wanted it obviously), and Stevens vice (hopefully alongside Simpson)

If Chris Judd hasn't already earnt their respect with what he has achieved both individually and at club level, then there is something wrong!

Captain?