mantis

Hall of Famer
30k Posts 10k Posts
Bombers
Devo & other roos, what do you think of Carey now after saying that he thinks melees should be allowed.
I wonder how long it would be before it filtered down to junior leagues, with kids after watching their role models, think it is acceptable to fight with opponents. How long before some kid gets seriously injured, or parents stop their kids playing AFL.

------------------
RED & BLACK, THE COLOURS OF FENG SHUI

Yeah digusting Sandie - I reckon everyone ought to give him a big booooooo! next time they see him play!!
wink.gif

Cheers

Gonzo

Mantis it's people with attitudes like yours that are ruining our game. So whats wrong with a bit of push and shove during a game. It adds to the excitement of the match.

Well done Wayne for speaking the truth and not being a puppet for the AFL.

I believe Carey was eluding to fact that you aren't allowed to ask for the umpires to intervene when a teammate is having the shite beaten out him. It's best to be fined a couple of grand for your involvement in a melee than suffer a two week suspension for tapping a umpire on the shoulder.

------------------
Are We Not Men
We Are DEVO

As Manton said their role models should be their parents. If all kids went out and copied what their friends or other kids did then the world would be a lot worse off than it is today. I wouldnt want my kids to copy the attitudes or actions of some AFL players, Rugby players, tennis players, journalists, popstars etc. So it is up to me to guide them and teach them. I believe that there are more fights in junior footy than the AFL anyway, I also believe that the parents are amongst it, so if they cant set good examples for their children, dont rely on other notables to do it for them. He also said that if he saw his mate getting bashed up he wouldnt walk and leave him, he couldnt help but get involved, most would dont you think?.

Typical of an Essendon supporter - deal with only half of the facts!!!

Sandi, your own captain, Hird, had an article in Thursday's (Vic) newspaper commenting on the very same thing - that the bump was part of the game and that the physical part had been taken out of a great game.

Your coach was a little thug, that is why he likes Wallis.

How many melees have involved Essendon?

How "tough" or should that be rough is Lloyd?

Before you reply, Shannon Watt was pulled backwards, so he had no chance of balance and his head hit the ground first. It was sickening to watch.

Was the Johnson bump on Grant "fair", or was it a lttle high? Did it involve the elbow?

Neither of these acts were intentional - if they were either player should be rubbed out for life - but they were reckless and consitute unduly rough play.

Michele

NMFC 1869

As rooboy would say, hook line & sinker.
biggrin.gif

------------------

kids getting hurt, what a load of crap,
As much as I hate Carey I have to agree with him, I love a brawl, apart from making the game interesting it shows just which players are real men, not these new age oh please don't hurt me type like Turd or Knowles, The game needs more tough blokes, blokes with beards, like bruce doull, now he was a footballer, and there are heaps of other blokes like him, they made the game great,

Wanye Jackson I blame you,
Adelaide city of churches yeah and the churches are full of pedo's

I've noticed that all these new anti violence rules have only really been inforced and introduced since the Crows came into the comp.

------------------
Sir Kennith luke would be spinning around in his grave if he knew what was happening to waverley park

Originally posted by Michele:

Your coach was a little thug, that is why he likes Wallis.

We had Tom Hafey speaking to us at work on Wednesday, telling a few things about Sheedy - not only was he a mongrel to opposition players, but also to his team mates!

At training, if Sheedy had an issue with some player, he would ask Hafey to be paired with him during one on one competitive work. Sheedy would then proceed to do his 'competitive' work... with clenched fists!

Hafey used to love it! Just the same as Wallis and Sheedy I guess!

------------------
Richmond vs Western Bulldogs Preview - Independant Richmond Tigers website

Originally posted by mantis:
Devo & other roos, what do you think of Carey now after saying that he thinks melees should be allowed.
I wonder how long it would be before it filtered down to junior leagues, with kids after watching their role models, think it is acceptable to fight with opponents. How long before some kid gets seriously injured, or parents stop their kids playing AFL.

He said there wasn't much wrong with a bit of push and shove and implied that maybe the melee rule should be loosened a little. This isn't exactly advocating violence or encouraging nasty brawls.
The small melee that occured in last week's game was just a bit of push and shove, I didn't see any punches thrown.
I don't think Carey, or anyone really, wants to see repeats of brawls like the Richmond vs Essendon one in 1974, the Hawthorn vs Essendon ones from the 1980s, or the Collingwood vs Essendon one from the 1990 GF.
By the way, notice a common factor?
wink.gif

biggrin.gif

I spat that hook out Sandie... after thinking of a little nimble... but anyway talking of Wayne was it great to finally have a great speaker on that show instead of those w***ers that are normally on... everything he said was a winner...

and gregthegouldsmetalclass I don't think Wayne was advocating brawling more that a bloke should be allowed to stand beside his mate when needed...

no I don't mean behind... to all you dicheads and your oneliners...

Originally posted by Darky:
He said there wasn't much wrong with a bit of push and shove and implied that maybe the melee rule should be loosened a little. This isn't exactly advocating violence or encouraging nasty brawls.
The small melee that occured in last week's game was just a bit of push and shove, I didn't see any punches thrown.
I don't think Carey, or anyone really, wants to see repeats of brawls like the Richmond vs Essendon one in 1974, the Hawthorn vs Essendon ones from the 1980s, or the Collingwood vs Essendon one from the 1990 GF.
By the way, notice a common factor?
wink.gif

Darky... Sorry... what is this common factor you are talking about???

The only thing I could notice was Essen... ooh I forgot I being a Kangaroo fan arn't allowed to have a go at the dons... Darky you should know better... getting me in trouble again...

Wayne Carey is right whats wrong with a bit of pushing and shoving the crowd fires up and gets involved in the game,the 5-10 minutes after the so called "melee" is some of the most exciting football of the game.Every year the game gets softer and softer the shirtfront has gone a bump is now a charge what next take out tackling(someone could get hurt when tackled and we cant have that)Our game was once the toughest game in the world now l'm afraid to say it's one of the tamest.

Sandie proves she is an idiot, then tries to pretend she was "trolling", putting in some smileys for added effect.
Oh well, just proves Caroline Wilson does have a peer

------------------
Chris

(Yes Virginia, there is a Santa Claus)

Wow look, I just caught another one.
biggrin.gif

------------------

Was the Johnson bump on Grant "fair", or was it a lttle high? Did it involve the elbow?

Neither of these acts were intentional - if they were either player should be rubbed out for life - but they were reckless and consitute unduly rough play.

Michele

NMFC 1869

Michele, do you always post shit? Take your blue and white striped contact lenses out, the Johnson bump was fair. Maybe if Grant wasn't so soft and got up quicker they're would have been no fuss made about it.

I wonder how long it would be before it filtered down to junior leagues, with kids after watching their role models, think it is acceptable to fight with opponents.

[/B]

There are already brawls in under age footy. The club I support get into fights every week. They say if we can't see fights in the AFL well we will have our own brawls. The lalor bloods were kicked out of the DVFL for brawling with Montmerency in an under 17s games last year. And in the local paper their was an article on how there were brawls from the under 10s to the seniors in the EDFL week in week out. The under 10s had the points and finals taken out of the compitition. But their was strong resistance from most clubs and eventually the points and finals were re-introduced.

So until the AFL scrap the melee rule then under age fights will get worse because they want to see brawls and if they can't then they will just fight anyway.

And what is wrong with a bit of biffo anyway.It gets the crowd fired up and it can be very entertaining stuff.

-----------------------
Play on says the umpire
-----------------------

Originally posted by play on

And what is wrong with a bit of biffo anyway.It gets the crowd fired up and it can be very entertaining stuff.

[/B]

I love melees, I was just trying to get a point across to devo & the other roos people who said that because Lloyd got away with doing what he did, that it would filter down into the junior league as being acceptable and kids would get hurt.
Now all of a sudden they are saying that kids won't copy what they see the players do in the AFL, I was just looking for consistency.
They have now said that the parents are the role models & the kids will follow them not players, so what Lloyd did will not affect juniors.

------------------

biggrin.gif

So Sandie, you would have us believe that your original post was a clever lure, using cunning and wit to trap us all ??
No, you are not smart enough for that.

------------------
Trample the Weak,
Hurdle the Dead.

Thought provoking,

Your nick-name is paradoxical, because your posts are anything but thought provoking!

Johnson's elbow was raised a little and the bump was a little too high. The name of the game is to protect the player going for the ball and also a player's head! One week would have been sufficient.

BTW Great retort too - if you can't win an argument, resort to personal abuse. A little like playing the man, not the ball.

Michele

NMFC 1869

I love melees, I was just trying to get a point across to devo & the other roos people who said that because Lloyd got away with doing what he did, that it would filter down into the junior league as being acceptable and kids would get hurt.
Now all of a sudden they are saying that kids won't copy what they see the players do in the AFL, I was just looking for consistency.
They have now said that the parents are the role models & the kids will follow them not players, so what Lloyd did will not affect juniors.

Sandi or Hook, line and sink her,

Nowhere in your original post did you mention Lloyd and his act of stupidity. The question you posed was on what Carey had said and whether melees would "filter down to the junior league" thereby causing injury. In fact, according to you, it was just a "fishing exercise". In a follow-up post you now say that you had a point to make. Which post is the real deal?

Parents AND players are role models for their children. Would you like a child of yours to have big, bad, bustling Barry Hall as a role model? Hypothetically, if your child player junior footy and you had stated that he shouldn't get into a fight or a melee, but a fight broke out on the ground, in the heat of the moment, would he remember to listen to you, OR would he think of his role model?

IMO a player's image, to an extent, mirror's his profile as a role model for children. Lloyd's image is "sqeaky clean"! Lloyd got off - no investigation! The more important question is what does that say to kids?

Michele

NMFC 1869

Wasn't the original topic about melees?

[This message has been edited by Same Old's (edited 07 April 2001).]

Mate, it happens anyway. I go and watch the Under 16s (my brother) and there are scruffles and fights every match. If its going to happen its going to happen. Kids don't see footballers fight and then think, well, if they are allowed to so am I.