Toast Carey's Comments

• Thread starter Thread starter Tulip

More blood needs to be shed at this club if we are ever going to move up the ladder

Starting with the fact that we need a new midfield coach NOW
Neeld needs to call Brian Royal into his office first thing on Tuesday morning and tell him its all over.

Yep, and the same goes for Rawlings as well.

I would pay Carey to go down to melbourne and sort these guys out. He wasn't the captain of a team that made 7 prelims in a row for no reason. He would never let anyone play alongside him if they weren't giving 100% all the time

How about Carey replacing Leigh Brown as forward coach?

I don't think Jamar and Dunn necessarily fall in to this category. I saw Jamar looking for all the world like he was about to cry a couple of minutes after the siren yesterday. And Dunn, before today, seemed rejuvenated in the backline under Neeld.

Sylvia, well, we've spoken about him for years. But there were more than a handful of us who thought he might have clicked late last year too. Not to mention that various comments from Neeld in the media indicated that he was happy with Sylvia's attitude.

Frawley I think you are right. The others for mine are Col Garland and Jez Howe. These are the guys that seem to have stagnated the most since Neeld's arrival and the guys whose little body language clues make me think have some sort of attitude issue(s).
Bit rough on Howie, thought he was okay yesterday all things considered, and he was good last year.

Yeah, he's good. And was okay yesterday but he never seems to be trying that hard (unless he's trying to take a screamer). I just have this niggling feeling that he is among the non-prefessionals.

Sylvia was far from our worst yesterday

To quote that article above:

'Sylvia was seen dawdling along some metres behind, uninterested'

No leadership. No passion. He cares about his hair, his designer t-shirts and his dumbells. He couldnt give 2 shits about this club that has paid him a fortune over the last decade.

Im sick of it.

Do not want Carey at our club as a coach (we've got enough off field problems, thanks) but someone should transcribe that snippet in its entirety on the change room walls.

While there at it, forget putting the supporters names on the jumper, write Carey's quote on the jumper so the players see it at every stoppage.

Fair call mate- was just throwing it out there. But someone else with that sort of on-field record would be a good option I'd reckon.

I don't think Jamar and Dunn necessarily fall in to this category. I saw Jamar looking for all the world like he was about to cry a couple of minutes after the siren yesterday. And Dunn, before today, seemed rejuvenated in the backline under Neeld.

Sylvia, well, we've spoken about him for years. But there were more than a handful of us who thought he might have clicked late last year too. Not to mention that various comments from Neeld in the media indicated that he was happy with Sylvia's attitude.

Frawley I think you are right. The others for mine are Col Garland and Jez Howe. These are the guys that seem to have stagnated the most since Neeld's arrival and the guys whose little body language clues make me think have some sort of attitude issue(s).

I will elaborate on why I said those 4 guys.

Dunn - He always points the finger and usually isnt very accountable. No point puffing out your chest when you cant back it up.

Sylvia - if you watched what else he did yesterday off the ball he is just lazy. Just jogging around the ground, most likely thinking about whether to put wax or gel in his hair after he hits the showers.

Frawley - Ive been saying this for a while now and been slammed for it, but apart from having one good season he is just another run of the mill full back. At the moent he is more interested in having a competition of growing a beard, than winning the competition that is on the field.

Jamar - not quite sure at why I said him, but it is mainly to do with him doing stupid shit like handballing to a guy who has his back to him and then slumping his shoulders when it gets turned over instead of working hard to get it back.

But I also agree with Garland and Howe as well.

Off the ball Sylvia doesn't work hard enough but he's not alone. In the clinches he was one of our better players yesterday IMO. His tackling and body work was pretty good. He just didn't have any effect with ball movement once we dropped our collective bundle and gut running is foreign to him.

Was shocked to see Sylvia had as many touches as he did - the few times I noticed him during the game he was trotting in pursuit as a Port player ran off with the pill or lurking at the back of a pack hoping the ball would drop for him. I'm surprised he avoided getting binned in the clear out we had over the break.

I feel for you guys because we have been there and it can be turned around. I am not sure where our club is at but we have had consistency in the way we play, train and team selection. I thought you guys would struggle because our preseason has been harder with less injuries.

We got lucky when Darren Burgess came back from Liverpool to virtually save the side. Hinkley, Richardson and Burgess have made our fitness inseparable from the way we train. We actually run less laps, do more skills and train more intense.

Why is it that Sydney and Geelong can stay at the top and bring their youngsters on quicker. They have a pretty good mix in the coaching and fitness team. They have experienced players who show people how to tackle and spend a lot of time on educating players. They have good coaches with footy brains. Our players spend a lot of time in the classrooms learning the game so that they could go out and just train.

Our team was chosen by the expectation that guys could do what the coach wants. That means an uninterrupted preseason. I chose Port to win because I felt that we had a lot of players who were ready. The next time we meet I don't expect it to be an easy game because you guys are a bit under done.

Good luck for the rest of the season and great to see that kid Viney play.

I think that the comments on Howe are off. Go back to his games last year and he is a great tackler, really goes in hard and tries to make them stick. It is something I started to notice throughout the year and thought that it went unnoticed due to all the focus on his marking. He also had the yips with set shot goal kicking but seemed to have turned that around which suggest he put a lot of work into it.

Overall though, I am pretty fed up with the team. Just not sure how many more times I can have my heart ripped out by them. I will never change or drop them, I was born into it and love them to death but geez... Give a guy a break!

It's getting so bad now that when someone asks me who I barrack for and I tell them Melbourne I swear that they think less of me as a person. Creating a real stigma. Only other time I felt a team had this effect was the dark days of Fitzroy.

It's either that or straight up pity. I hate both reactions.

Honestly. The look on their faces when you say it.

I will elaborate on why I said those 4 guys.

Dunn - He always points the finger and usually isnt very accountable. No point puffing out your chest when you cant back it up.

Sylvia - if you watched what else he did yesterday off the ball he is just lazy. Just jogging around the ground, most likely thinking about whether to put wax or gel in his hair after he hits the showers.

Frawley - Ive been saying this for a while now and been slammed for it, but apart from having one good season he is just another run of the mill full back. At the moent he is more interested in having a competition of growing a beard, than winning the competition that is on the field.

Jamar - not quite sure at why I said him, but it is mainly to do with him doing stupid shit like handballing to a guy who has his back to him and then slumping his shoulders when it gets turned over instead of working hard to get it back.

But I also agree with Garland and Howe as well.

That actually gave me a good laugh, I can picture him jogging around weighing up the benefits of both.

It's getting so bad now that when someone asks me who I barrack for and I tell them Melbourne I swear that they think less of me as a person. Creating a real stigma. Only other time I felt a team had this effect was the dark days of Fitzroy.

Try to think of it as a strength of your character that you can support a team even when they go through a period (is there an end?) of performing like this.

[quote="

It's getting so bad now that when someone asks me who I barrack for and I tell them Melbourne I swear that they think less of me as a person. Creating a real stigma. Only other time I felt a team had this effect was the dark days of Fitzroy.[/quote]

Wearing the dees jumper to footy training is a nightmare

[quote="

Wearing the dees jumper to footy training is a nightmare[/quote]
I got my first Dees jumper since I was a kid at the start of last year. Maybe, if I stop wearing mine to games, we'll be less shit.

Wayne Carey has one of the most astute football brains on and off field ever.

It is just a shame he's a desperately damaged individual as a result of horrendous childhood abuse who did some despicable things that he can't blame on his upbringing that means his insights are usually discounted.

The boy Viney is a ripper though and the fact he addressed the group after the game shows you there's plenty of build on.

You'd better off pursuing the Duck and not Dermie as Derm's got an affiliation with GWS.

We all know about Duck's 7 prelims but do we know what sort of coaching methods he has?

Made Trav Cloke and Tom Hawkins into hugely effective forwards.

Yep I totally agree about the off the ball work ethic of Sylvia, Howe and plenty of our players...if not almost all of them last week. I watched the replay and whilst they made some good effort when in the contest, they did not will themselves to any contests and just ran around jogging. Or they would jog in to fill space and not man up properly.

I was baffled about our defence. Our defenders were manning space half the time instead of close checking their opponent. Surely it's the job of the midfielders to be the ones to come in and fill the empty space whilst the defenders keep on their man? All we need is 2 extra midfielders to fill in each side of defensive 50 and there should not really be any uncontested marks, unless the delivery is perfect.