CARLSCUM EXCUSES

• Thread starter KOUTAISABIGPOOF
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None

K

KOUTAISABIGPOOF

Umpires (22 for Carl, 13 for Ess)
Ess get them forward (2 goals each from frees)
Injuries ( Ess still won without Hird and last year it was a choke? without Hird ,Lucas etc...)
Waaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhh Diddums

Koutaisapoof! try you are one too! Tonight it showed - Essendon (much to my personal distaste) were the better team! Yes Carlton got injuries - but a great team has depth, has the bench that can fill in at any time! (oh god did I really say that - especially with the bombers winning!!!!!!!!!!!) Umpiring- far from good - team performance - great from both - but Essendon had the fitness in the end. IMHO, no other team has the fitness level that they have shown all year. Carlton would have been the closest. Having watched Carlton at the Gabba a few weeks ago I was amazed at how "physical" they were (maybe sitting in the front row instead of the 8th did that).

Congratlations Essendon on the win tonight - a record broken is a record to be celebrated - and I can't see any other team this year that ever had a chance to break it!!

Carlton had the biggest chance in my opinion of defeating them this year, it is an awesome team-performance, week in week out.

Let them celebrate without criticism - they now deserve it!

I reckon that was a good game of footy. Highly entertaining.

I think Carlton are more of a chance to be able to beat Essendon in the GF now than I thought before the game. I still think Essendon will win but I'm not as certain as I was.

Carlton played without Kouta, Bradley and Allan. Although Essendon had Fletcher out. So that probably doesn't say much.

You couldn't imagine Lloyd and Lucas will be so ineffective if they meet again.

Essendon were the better side and deserved the victory. You always sensed they had something in reserve.

Do you Essendon supporters think they'll go with Alessio in the finals?

Robran had a ggod game so watch out Alessio. As for Lloyd they can do anything to him and no frees. Just shows what a champ he is and he wont' be so quiet next time. Good game though.

Good win to Essendon but as an unbiased observer you would have to say that with Allan,Hickmott,Murphy, and the injured Bradley and Kouta dude to come back into the team the blues will be better equipped in the finals.Porter was good and Alessio was bad..Barnes might have his hands full with Allan and Porter come finals time.
Even Sheedy didnt seem that satisfied with the win.so mant unanswered questions.
Doesnt matter really ..the Roos are right up there and gathering strength..carlton and essendon can beat each others brains in for all I care...North will be waiting for them both and make it back to back in a surprise
GF victory..thats my favoured option..

Go Roos

I think we saw enough to indicate that an exciting Grand Final is in prospect. It was a pleasant surprise that after all the hype, the teams put on a quality game that was only lacking a close finish.

Carlton are still not as good, but I thought Essendon had to play well to beat them. If the Bombers' standard should slip during the finals, then Carlton are ready to pounce.

Great game

Personally I think against a side as committed as the blues turned out to be we really, really missed the drive and purpose off the HBLine we normally get from Big Dustin. Scott Lucas certainly missed the service.

Not doubt Kouta was a similar loss to the Blues.

Run and drive out of the centre will be enhanced by the presnece of ol MAn Bardley and Heffernan next time too.

End of the day I think we did pretty well to not play at our best and still get home reasonably comfortably - but you have to respect the blues effort.

Incidently, Hird wasn't that quiet (30 odd possessions is not quiet) - he just wasn't pushing foward...

Dutch

I thought Carlton had a real go, and it was a good game. They have got good players to come back, ie Allan, Murphy, Hickmott with the injured Kouta and Bradley. However, Essendon will welcome back Heffernan, Fletcher, possibly Wallis in a final, and I dont think Carlton will catch Essendon with the likes of Lloyd, Lucas, Long and Alessio all being very quite.

Alessio did very little, but it wasnt a big mans night. The skills were down, and it was the smaller, lesser-lights who produced for both sides. I thought Blumfield, Johnson and Ramanaskas were good, Ratten was brilliant for the blues.

Both teams can get better, and should meet again in the finals. However I am slightly leaning Norths favour in the qualifying final if Kouta, Bradley, Allen etc are all underdone.

Essendon finished the game well, and if it wasnt for a couple misses, ie Johnson, the game could have really blown out. However, at the same time Carlton had some injury problems. There are still a few ?'s to be answered later on.

Hats off to Essendon, however I think Carlton took a bit from the match as well. If not for a couple of turnovers (not necessarily from Essendon pressure) and poor decision making early in the last quarter Carlton could have stayed in the game longer and made the time on period more interesting. As it was the Carlton lapses gave Essendon the impetus to blow the game away. One concern is Mr Hamill's apparent stage fright in big games

OK, this topic was about the Round 20 Ess-Carl match played in front of 91,500 people. It was easily the most hyped and anticipated match of the year. But I also think it was the BEST match of 2000. it was playd at a high level of intensity in a cauldron like atmosphere. i just finished watching the match on video (I taped it a few months ago), and I thought this was a ripper of a game.

De facto Grand Final perhaps, in retrospect?

Dan24 i think Carlton were desperately unlucky in that game, im not a Carlton supporter but geez i reckon they had the bombers rattled. Losing Kouta, who was at the peak of his form, not having Allan and losing Bradley probably robbed the game of a difinitive answer of who was the better team. Its a pity 'cos i reckon Carlton at that stage of the season were shaping as a real threat to Essendon, the aftermarth of that game with the injuries in hindsight probably cost Carlton any shot at the Flag (although i still think Essendon would have won). From memeory the umpiring was pretty ordinary that night. Cant remember it favouring one side or the other. Cheers Bubba

It's kinda funny. The build up to that game was so huge (it sold out 3 weeks in advance) that the hype - and the crowd - exceeded their preliminary final meeting 5 weeks later.

The build-up to that game lasted 8 or 9 weeks. It was almost a "Grand Final" like build up. It really was a defacto Grand Final.

Kouta and Bradley certainly went down with injuries. But Essendon didn't have their best and fairest, Fletcher playing. Because Fletcher won Essendon best and fairest in 2000, he was arguably the best player of the year for the Dons and he wasn't playing ! Essendon also had next to nothing in contributions from Hird and Lloyd, yet they won by 26 points anyway.

But Carlton certainly put up a breave fight. We started the rot for them after this game. He he he he. They only won 2 of their last 7 matches. Pity eh !

CARLSCUM EXCUSES