List Mgmt. Carlton Draft 2021

Not sure, averaged 30 touches (albeit from only 4 games) and 148 ranking points. Had 10 shots at goal in those 4 games (once again 3.7 needs improvement) and captained his school.
Doesn't sound the worst option to me.
Being captain appeals to me.

Try learning to read :winkv1:
The coaching panel have informed the recruiting team that they believe that the players they have on the list currently are of more value to them than trying to draft players in the 60's pick range.
They also believe that as a new coaching panel they may be able to get more out of cottrell and l.o.b. than the previous coaching set up did.

Its hard to see that as painting ourselves into a corner.

Is slamming on the boot a technique issue or a role/instruction/mindset function?
Connors’s kicking is a problem, otherwise he’d be off the board, if Nick wants a midfielder , of whom is available then it’s Taylor, I’d be very happy with him.
We want a player that can get the ball and can kick it, hopefully to our advantage.
Surely that’s not too much to ask?

I really like a couple of players and for our list Motlop and Bazzo make sense, but we might be eyeing off a tall while sliding back or in the SSP. Then you have pure talent in Johnson, Draper, Sonsie

Next year gets talked about a fair bit in terms of talls, but currently apart from Busslinger, most of the touted talls are KPF's and or ruckmen
You’re forgetting the bloke you went early on, Luke Taylor

Connors’s kicking is a problem, otherwise he’d be off the board, if Nick wants a midfielder of whom is available , it’s Zack Taylor, I’d be very happy with him.
We want a player that can get the ball and can kick it, hopefully to advantage.
Connor MacDonald got a write up from knightmare on July 7 after a 37 disposal game for the stingrays. His take was that his ball winning at stoppages and around the ground was exceptional.

He addressed his kicking. "He is a capable kick over medium and long distance and can make quick and sound decisions and place his kicks nicely". However "he is prone to bombing long to a contest when there are opportunities to hit short targets".

Sounds like a fixable issue for mine. He also pointed out that MacDonald was as much outside as inside "he regularly provided a target from kick outs and in general play was either working into spaces to provide an easy uncontested mark, or often a moving option on the outside who could be looked towards by hand.

Connor MacDonald got a write up from knightmare on July 7 after a 37 disposal game for the stingrays. His take was that his ball winning at stoppages and around the ground was exceptional.

He addressed his kicking. "He is a capable kick over medium and long distance and can make quick and sound decisions and place his kicks nicely". However "he is prone to bombing long to a contest when there are opportunities to hit short targets".

Sounds like a fixable issue for mine. He also pointed out that MacDonald was as much outside as inside "he regularly provided a target from kick outs and in general play was either working into spaces to provide an easy uncontested mark, or often a moving option on the outside who could be looked towards by hand.

Thanks for the additional detail, much appreciated, if Conner’s kicking is fixable then he’s a good one would add depth and quality to our midfield and teams seem to like him he ticks the right boxes, another youngster I like is Joseph Fahely albeit HBF ? , has a beautiful kick.

For me, it's the same as every year. I just want a player than can

1) Find the ball
2) Make sure the next person who gets the ball is a teammate

Thanks for the additional detail, much appreciated, if Conner’s kicking is fixable then he’s a good one would add depth and quality to our midfield and teams seem to like him he ticks the right boxes, another youngster I like is Joseph Fahely albeit HBF ? , has a beautiful kick.

GWS academy member Josh Fahey?

Connors’s kicking is a problem, otherwise he’d be off the board, if Nick wants a midfielder , of whom is available then it’s Taylor, I’d be very happy with him.
We want a player that can get the ball and can kick it, hopefully to our advantage.
How many games of his have you watched to announce that his kicking is a problem? How much junior footy do you watch?

For me, it's the same as every year. I just want a player than can

1) Find the ball
2) Make sure the next person who gets the ball is a teammate
Sometimes I'd like someone in our forwardline to not make sure they give it to a team mate and just kick the bloody ball through the big sticks themselves when they have a clear chance...

No forgetting him at all, I still rate the kid long term, so if we get a few talls to train with us, we can assess all these types for an SSP spot
We are talking about next year’s tall prospects.
TAYLOR IS NOT IN THIS YEAR’S DRAFT POOL Not a train on option, not SSP option.

Some rumours Draper might be a little lazy / too laid back. That kind of attitude can rub off on ppl.

I mean, he's so lazy you couldn't even be bothered finishing your sentence to describe him.... :p
Was curious why a player of his talents is such a big slider, if true along with the poor defensive side of his game it makes sense…
The game has gone in the direction of two way efforts just as much as the class skill and finesse…

I have my personal preferences of the guys who are within our reach level with 25. But i hope we get who we(the recruiters) want. Not what i want. We have a competant group doing the picking, and i am confident now with our development, with Power and O'Keefe, and our reserves team now bedded down with a proper reserves fixture and hopefully no covid interruptions.

We've come out of a dark period, some fans are still overly scarred, but our recruiting is fine, has been for 5 years. It was our development, lack of senior players to help the youngsters and Covid ruining 2 seasons of reserves footy with a young list that have been the recent problem.

Have confidence.

I Reckon this is a bluff…re Conway. I don’t think a longer term ruck play is on our run sheet.

We show interest in a player so someone jumps ahead of us to take them, leaving our preferred selection free for us.

Nice one Austin!

Geelong have been linked to Conway and MacDonald amongst others so maybe this is the play.

I rate Conway though. Looks like a first ruck all day long.