Was there any training yesterday???
If so, where are the reports?

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Thanks for that BGhttp://www.carltonsc.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=10007
There's 3 reports in that thread.
http://www.carltonsc.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=10007
any way you could post them in here?
I hope this helps explain the situation for you.Brizzy
it does explain it, thanks very much for taking the time.
Sorry this is late..i was just hoping someone else would post and i could just add...
Just a few quick points.
Ackland is really pushing himself. He could slack off and rest a bit here and there but he is pulling his 'sled' around the park and when he does take a break he jumps on the bike. Really impressed with his endevour.
Judd: Looks like a million bucks out there. Started with the main group. Basic running and kicking drills. Plenty of voice from the star and is oozing class with everything he does.
Scotland: Very vocal out in the middle during the drills. Could hear him blasting someone from the stands. When he had the footy and no one was calling he just kept running at them yelling VOICE! WHO WANTS IT! very impressed by his leadership too.
Fev: Also looking really good putting in and looks like one of the older boys helping the young guys through.
Murph: Gee has this kid bulked up. Runs around like he knows exactly what is about to happen and then makes it happen..
Overall: the boys just look like they're having fun out there. They're really working hard on their fitness which is a very important factor come the end of the year so all is looking good.
2 minor things: Paul Roos was in attendance. Sitting alongside someone that i couldnt quite make out...both with pen and paper in hand....was quite surprised to see that the bnig swan himself would travel down to melbourne and watch the blues running around.
The other: Toward the end of training setanta and Aisake (both looking very intimidating) were going one on one with Mark Riley BARKING out instructions at them. Setanta was very good as the backman for most of the drill, but when Aisake got away from him he was very hard to stop....at one stage Riley yelled at Aisake "just stick your hand up and Ratts will hit you he's the best f'n kick in this place.
Was a top morning and only downer was that the carlton shop are only getting the training singlets in in Feb.
Sorry if this isn't as informative as you'd all like...If you have any questions i'll be able to answer those no worries.
MB
Most likely. I don't have a problem with it, it's not as though he is un-allowed into the ground, so why not take advantage of it while you can?Lol Ackland
I'm a big supporter for Judd as captain (if he wants it). Every single training report seems to mention him being loud and leading and instructing the players
Can't believe Roos was watching us. Do you reckon he would be inspecting every Melbourne club?
Grigg.dablues said:I just happened to be at MC labour park late this morning about 11am with my son and as we were leaving the car park we noticed a group of about 16 players training on the edge of the car park. We decided to take a seat a couple of meters away under a tree and enjoy watching the boys having fun.
It was a small group of about 16 players manly the young ones i think the most experienced player was Bentick..i didn't realise it was him till he walk right past me..he has longer curly hair these days.
Players involved include, Kruz, Grigg, edwards, jackson, gibbs(he has put on some size up close) , hampson, irish bloke, austin, blackwell, jamison (shit he looks big..standing next to the two ruckmen he wasn't much shorter either had a look of determination about him i think he'll do well this year. There were some other kids but i couldn't pick em.
Brett Montgomery was in charge of these players it it was all about ball handling, reflexes and kicking skills.
He split the boys into two groups about 20m apart and they had to kick passes to each other alternating between left and right feet. Grigg was fantastic at this as was Gibbs, Jamison was very poor with his left foot under no pressure i hope this improves.
He then made them come in very close maybe 3-4m apart and the boys had to kick the ball to each other, catch it and then kick it back in the one motion without getting set. He specifically told them to kick it as they catch it if it doesn't float correctly or isn't a drop punt no matter. Kruz's hands are as good as little blokes down low he didn't miss one kick in this activity. Bret then explained the reasoning behind the activity but i couldn't hear b/c my son was asking questions at the same time.
A couple of other things i noticed..Edwards seemed to lack some intensity gibbs paired with jackson was a very good competition, jackson let out the f word a few times when gibbs out did him and my son wasn't very impressed!![]()
The boys all seemed to be having fun and they were all encouraged to hold a ball at all times. When they walked off to some other activity they were all told to get a ball and walk/carry it with them.
Not sure what they did then as I had to leave...
![]()
always great to read your reports BG & thanks for taking the time in doing them....
as I posted in the other forums, have some fantastic shots from todays training (yes hubby went mad again today with the camera) another 150 pictures taken......lol
and yes...... got some great pics of Murphy this time (soz can't remember who wanted them)
they will be posted up hopefully tomorrow as hubby has to resize them & change the format of them..... he is at work now & gets home at midnight tonight.......
That would have been me Mrs TB69.
cool HBF...... from what I see on the PC here...... they are mighty fine pics of him too......
some action shots & some shots of him just walking & also some shots of him just standing there......take your pic....... hehehehhehehehehehe
First Post, probably last, more of a reader. Down from Gold Coast for tennis and wanted to say thanks to all regular training report writers for keeping the rest of us in touch with how the boys are going.
This is my take of today. (please forgive spelling)
FIRST SIGHT (who impressed, compared to what I have read previously) -
BUILD -
Jamison - looks ready!
Cloke - toned, no pud here
Grigg - Great build for HBF, wing
Gibbs - my best mate is an adelaide supporter and the first thing I did was to text him how unbelievably good grigg is looking
Murph - Without doubt, I was most impressed by murph
Russell -I kept asking peopele around, who was that, Looks nothing like last year.
Other Standouts -Jackson, Pfieffer, Eddie.
SMALLER THEN EXPECTED -
Not a knock, just was my immediate reaction when first sighting them after reading previous training reports_
Armfield - nothing like I have been reading about ready made. moved well and was quick, but very slight. I was getting very excited reading about this young man
Fish - was only out for the first bit, but legs are like pins, and so are arms
SKILL -
Jamison -was not beaten in backline drill today
Eddie - I would almost go as far to say top 3skilled in team with murph and stevens. One touch pick ups, out marking opponents ( yes outmarking)
Murph - WOW
Gibbs - He doesn't miss, not one drop or poor kick form what I saw. AND always kicks to advantage - laces out too. So balanced and composed
Judd - from the small amount of kicking he did, very clean and smooth
Benji -just kidding, more about that soon
Sake - He really did well today, everything I saw was dead accurate
Stevens -normal
Scotland - v underestimated I think. One of the loudest out there too.
ENERGY -
Everyone is talking joking and working their butts off. I was walking out and over heard and oldtimer (70's) saying he comes every year and can't remember when he has seen so much voice and good sporots TRAINING
Hand ball and padd exercise. 4 x 4 squares.
Close checking, hard hitting, finding your way through traffic, choosing best option quickly and delivering while under enormous pressure. Great drill, just what we neee.
the best - murph ( sorry I know he sticks out, but you cant help but watch)
They then did normal cross kick drill that every footy club does ( even up in qld. ps borady supprter not southport)
I have been reading about poor skill at training and in my experience this drill always has a few balls hitting the turf.
Excellent today - everyone was hitting targets. Only a few poor kicks. Benji stood out.
Although there were few hitting the deck. what stood out was guys like murph, gibbs, judd, stephens, hadlee, pfeiffer, scotland, grigg, ALWAYS kicked to the advantage of their man, so they didn't have to break stride. These are the few that really stood out in this one. ANd sake - he looked really good (maybe I was expecting less, but he is a solid kick over the 20 to 30 they were kicking this morning)
They then split up into backs forwards and midfielders.
FORWARDS -
I have complete faith in fev, eddie and fish ( and maybe even russel now I have seen him), so didn't really pay attention to these guys. FYI - cloke trained with midfielders, waite with backs. Kruzer with forwards
MIDFIELD -
2 teams with rucks, getting control and getting it out . Lots and lots of voice.
Sake KILLED Hamson in this. Was mmost impressive. If I had my way he will No 1 ruck round 1!!!!!
Murph and Gibbs on the same team and a couple of times they worked well with each other. Had me dreaming of the future and how good it will be. One passage gave me mini goosebumps.
Scotland really stood out here. He really controlled everything.
Stevens looked good without dominating, same with simmo.
BACKS -
This is what I came down for, who is going well, are we gonna be ok? ( although I do subscribe to the theory about our improved midfield making a massive difference to the pressure our backs will recieve.)
Lots of practice on spoiling, and one on one defending ( no zone stuff yet)
High ball defence drills against a partner and defending against the laces out low pass.
Jamison - didn't lose, looks fantastic, but always got his hand in there or out bodied his opponent. Creamed Bower multiple times.
Saddington - I hate to say it but trained well.
Pfeiffer - Looks very good.
Grigg - being groomed for HBF I think. (releassing walker to the middle...)
Austin - a bit low in energy and voice ( very quiet), but did the business.
OVERALL -
Except for a spoiling drill where they had to punch to team mate in front ( it was raining, so forgive) - BLOODY GREAT.
I really like the look of our team for 08.
More in a sec.
Ok, now for individuals.
Judd - He was at the tennis late last night so I wasn't expecting much.
Kicking -fantastic - anyone here who has been reading stuff about how his delivery is suspect, dont worry for a second, His style and delivery is smooth and silky. Laces out all day and beautifully weighted.
Afer the contact started, judd just kept running 200's all session. He would be talking to someone, and mid conversation when it wass time to go, off he went. Did some short range ( 3 m) marking pracitice in the wet with skinny. Skinny kicked one that smashed Judd in the face..... The only mistake I saw all day. ALthough I would probably blame the higher than sort after delivery
Murph -He looks fantastic, kicks balanced, penetration when needed. One word -SUBLME
Gibbs -I love the thought going round that he will be our james Hird. He really in my opinion is the most skilled person in the team ( did not make a mistake and all kicks were perfect, not just good.
Eddie -not his biggest fan until today -he stood out massively in a really good session from everyone. Some of the pick ups and marks and acceleration. I will take him over any other small forward in the comp. ( ps it was wet and greasy today, edie had super glue hands)
Kruezer - Did nothing wrong, very nice kicking style for a big man, good hands.
Grigg -lovely kicking style, smooth mover. Can't wait to see how his decision making goes at HBF.
Jamison -FB. He was very very impressive today
Cloke - toned, a lot of voice, from what I saw of him he did well. Stick him at CHF and see if his shoulders hold.
Ackland -very funny, everyone in the crowd ( about 400 at training today), you could hear them groan when he ran past on his laps.
Pfeifer - looks well balanced and I am tipping him to be in best 22.
Hadley - Didn't stand out, what I saw was good. Was talking to a guy who was adamant that he (not Judd), will make the biggest dofference to our team this year (not my words but interesting). Mathews was pissed about losing him.
Jackson - should have put him in the impressive build part. Looked good and clean. Didn't stand out in the midfield drill though.
Bentick -lost a lot of size. only thing I can remember is thinking, wow hes small now.
Blackwell - only came out at the start with fish and anderson who got to rest. But very small. Dont like his chances.
Benji - did the beginning with the main group. Some lovely passes and some shockers. He moves like he is gliding, floating.
After that he basically had a personal trianing session for the rest of day.
He ran 100's - beside Judd who was doing 200's. Now Judd looks smooth when he runs, but benji made him look ordinary. I really want this guy to learn how to kick. Very fast
He then did a lot of 20m kicks, where he would throw the ball into net, collect and quickly deliver to a coach ( not sure who, not one of the main guys). Some lovely passes that made me think OH YEAH, but then some terrible sprays over 10 to 30m. I was right behind his boot, and for mine he needs work on the technique, which the coach wasn't doing. Hew was just continually getting him to kick voer and over ( hopefully not ingraining poor motor patterns even further).
Benji was kicking next to skinny and the difference was very noticable. Skinny would kick straight through, toes pointer through impact and anke solid. The result, same kick every time.
Benji - Grip looked ok. Leg came around rather than straight throuhg and foot was all over the place. . Semmed like his ankle and foot just could stay solid through impact. Reminded me of my bad foot. SOmetimes great but really a lottery, whereas the good foot is solid every time. I really want to know if the coaching staff have noticed how inconsistent his foot position is. It is never pointed and solid through impact. He did about 100 kicks today and couldn't see anyone actually getting him to try to change. Maybe they are just going with the other theory. Keep their individual stlye and hope to improve it. I am not sure, when there is such a technique problem. EVEN SO, please don't think I am down onthis guy, its just that I want to see him playing so am probably a little harsh. Some of his kicks were beautiful.
Stevens -loud, steady, no mistakes.
Sake - Let him rip!
Edwards -looks fast and is a talker - did some good things. Dropped a fair few though.
Bower - might of had a big night. Looked great physically, but low energy.
Scotland - he really is the dominant voice.
Fev -did everything well. Has great kicking with short passes too. Is always joking, which I think is great. Onething stood out. The couches wanted him to go to goal square in one of srills to be a target ( it was a full field drill, so he would have got to rest while the other boys basically did laps), but he said no, and motioned like he wanted to get some runing in. was impressed anyway. ALso, he is really good with all the boys, always smiling and like eddie someone who no dount makes all the boys laugh. To all fev haters get off his back, he will kick a hundered. Not everyone has the same personality.
Simmo - Didn;t realise how small he is. Regarless, one of my favourites. Not much to say about him so that is probably pretty good. I came down today to be tough on all ordinary perfomrances.
Carrazo - Solid, no mistakes. Was great in the traffic drill at the start ( ps so was murph)
Setanta - not there today, was spewing cause I really wanted to see him. My favourite player. Please put him at FB or CHB and leave him there!
Hartlett - another I was keen to see, but could locate.
Armfield - quick, real quick, wants the ball the whole time.
Bannister - looks great, was with the backs and was one of the best.
Austin -I have been reading bits baout future CHB, I hope so. Look pretty good today. Seems a little quiet and lacking in confidence, but not sure how I can telll that. Skillls were great, and had a nice spoil.
Over all -
Very impressed -bring on round 1!
Went today. Will try not to repeat what was said but will anyway
Jamisen is awesome. Has got taller wider. Looks like Judd but is about 7cm taller. Can he play round 1 please
Grigg Looks good. Has bulked up a bit.Nice mover
Aisake I reckon this kid has a natural feel for the game. Has to play round 1
Hampson has bulked up but his kicking is atrocious. I would have Bradley spend ever waking minute with this kid. His action is terrible.
Whilst on the rucking Ackland has fined down a bit. I dont think he will be rucking in 08. Maybe a backup defender.
Betts Eddie has definitely got stronger in the upper body. He wont be buffeted off the ball as easy in 08. Expect big things this year folks.
Fevola. Fev please put your inner child away in 08. During a criss cross handball drill with those big body pads, Fev literally took the stuffing out of them. The guy has awesome power and took the 200 odd crowds breath away. Looks the best he has ever look. Today brings me optimism, which is not bad for such a pessimistic bugger like myself. Keep yourself in check Fev.
Browne and Armfield Ditto previous poster. Armfield is smaller than I thought. Is a goer. Love Browne. Good solid skills. Looks like a real goer to me.
Murphy and Gibbs YYYEEEEEEEHHH
Scotland very impressive
Like Pfeiffer as well
Didnt see Carlos out there
Fisher and Anderson inside the whole session. Wanted to see Ando. Fisher is a skinny bugger but has added some flesh.
Walker a fair way off. Shoulder still looks sore. I doubt he will play any pre season
Judd took part in som general drills but no body contact. My partner loves him already.
Benjamin Confined to running. Has an awesome build.
Austin Hasn't put on enough muscle in the off season for mine but he is still very young.
Stevens looked like he had an army vest on today.
Waite shows know signs from the assault in Lorne.
Bannister has got bigger in the upper body. A big boy
Generally a vibrant session. Be good to have a sausage sizzle with soft drinks ,onions and sauce and bread. Is this allowed alah Bunnings style. The money could go to charity. There was 200 odd people today. My partner and I were getting hungry. Would add to the atmosphere.
GO Blues
My partner loved the bodies,buns and biceps. I thought she be bored but she actually wanted to stay.