BlueBelle
Chief Bluebagger
I'm thinking Houlihan vs Russell in a celebrity death match to decide this feud.
My money's on Hoops

I'm thinking Houlihan vs Russell in a celebrity death match to decide this feud.

They're celebrities?I'm thinking Houlihan vs Russell in a celebrity death match to decide this feud.

Well Ryan Houlihan has 2 last names and and well let's just see ...They're celebrities?![]()
Russell will win because tough guys usually have two first names, see Kurt Russell, John Wayne, Bruce Lee, etc.
Robert Harvey ..... and the granddaddy of all Lee Harvey Oswald. You can't beat 3 first names.Kurt Russell, John Wayne, Bruce Lee, etc.
Well it's an adaptation of Thunderdome. 2 men enter, the crowd takes the key and goes home.Cage?
Well it's an adaptation of Thunderdome. 2 men enter, the crowd takes the key and goes home.
I'm not jumping to any conclusions because in my opinion, Ryan would have been dropped anyway since he was named on the bench.
You clearly have watch Ryan with eye closed and have a level of faith in him that would make you an Islamist or Fundamentalist Christian.You clearly have no clue. I suppose you're happy about it.![]()

Why was Ryan named on the bench and not in the best 22 for last week if he's that good?
Burns was named and withdrew from the same match.![]()
Cage?
Nah mate, it's a free entry.do you have to pay to watch carlton train?
do you have to pay to watch carlton train?

Valid point though, seeing as you have to pay to watch Melbourne play...![]()
Was very impressed with how he's looking, very glad he's in this week.

If I could give training a score out of ten this week - it'd be 7.5. Much of the work was done at the Legends Stand end of the ground before the boys moved into the midfield...but the squad looked focussed. What's particularly noticeable each week is that after a long drill that's been executed well Richard Hadley is one of the first in saying 'Good Skills boys - good skills'....followed by the boys giving each other low fives as if Lebron James is about to go to the free throw line to clinch the game. I'm not knocking it - it's great to see and great that guys like Hadley can bring some leadership and voice similar to what you would see at the Brisbane Lions during their heyday.
ok...before I forget - Adam Hartlett trained the house down. One grab marks - clean pick ups off the ground, strong leading and great execution of kicks. I'm from the old school of good form on the training track needs to be rewarded but it might be a little tough to squeeze into a side coming off a win.
What might make life easier is someone dropping out. I didn't see Bryce Gibbs today - can anyone else shed some light on this. I looked for him and didn't spot him...he and Murph normally stand out like dogs balls such is their Rolls Royce movement along the ground.
Ratts really took the lead today...the session was very similar to what we've seen the last 2 weeks with a great deal of emphasis being waiting for the right option to present itself out of the backline. I got the impression that the ball will be moved into the forward line a little quicker this week...I doubt Melbourne will leave no one in front of Fev and there might be a little bit more flooding going on from the Dees.
As usual - Judd, Stevens, Murph, Kruezer etc are really noticeable at these training sessions...sublime skills that come naturally to them. For Bentick and Armfield it's a matter of persisting, practice and patience and they will hopefully be rewarded. On today's performance these 2 in particular need a little bit more fine tuning in the disposal under pressure department.
Ok...there's probably more - but I'm off to watch the Bombers and Saints tonight...and will support the men in yellow and inform Lloyd and Riewoldt that with Loudy Wiggins' having to pull out of Beijing - it's not too late for them to get on the Olympic diving team.
GO BLUES!
bluebo baggers said:Coming at you live from Hale (and the wonders of Blackberry). Boys going thru their warm runs with Braddles, Crosisca and Ratts all hanging grief on Bomber Reilly's kicking style - great spirit amongst the coaches and Braddles hitting every target with a drop punt or a torp - except for the one that nearly cleaned up Kroooz.
Hampson has travelled as has Pfeiffer and both are having a run.
First impressions - lots of talk, David Ellard looks tiny, and a real sense of purpose in what they are doing and Jordan Russell training in number 20 (maybe to stay incognito!!!!)
More later
My God!bluebo baggers said:Second installment.
End to end 40m kicking drills and then an end to end kick and 1:2 handball drill and only 1 target missed as far as I could see (when not having to kick to kick with BB Jnr.
Fev was having a few snapshots thru the rugby goals just for fun (and nailing them).
Eddie is awesome on the half volley
Jamo is a great mover
Russell was great - never missed and loads of voice.
Cloke is 100pc fine - did everything.
Goal kicking practice - while Juddy and Reilly had 1 on 1 kicking and handballing over 5m while talking about Perth and where a good place for dinner is!!!!!!
One thing that I thought was funny was all the players use nicknames for each other but everyone calls Eddie "Eddie Betts" which sounds hilarious if you say it really loud 5 times in a row!!
Fwd 50 training about to start.
Time for more kick to kick for me!!
bluebo baggers said:OK last installment and I got a bit ahead of myself with the fwd 50 stuff, the boys moved to another oval with a 50m arc and footy goals but just had a warmdown stretch and Fish, Russell, Carlos and Scotland had a long talk together with Crosisca.
After the warmdown there was time for autographs and pics with Fev and Juddy surrounded and Murph, Simmo and Eddie also popular.
Fev signed my sons #5 on his jumper then turned around and laconically asked "weren't there any 2's left in the shop mate?"!!! I told him I would get 25 on my jumper if he kicks more than 8 and doesn't give 50 away to which said "the 8 goals is OK but 50's are all part of coming to Perth but there won't be 2 in a row!
All in all a beautiful sunny afternoon, a few Carlton crew a heap of media and a great way to get up close to the boys.
Very positive vibe and high expectations for tomorrow night.
I'm pumped and feel a bit like a kid at Christmas!!
Go Blues!
bluebo baggers said:Yep - Browney looked OK - he did all the drills and I didn't see him (or anyone for that matter) get any treatment. My guess is that Pfeiffer travelled as an emerg. in case Browney doesnt come up.
No sign of Hadley
Wiggo looked like he was loving being part of the group again and is obviously super popular with the playing group.
Carlos looked very very intense the whole time and was probably the only one of the groupd who I thought didn't look like he was genuiniely having fun - I'm not saying that as a criticism just as an observation of perhaps Carlos realising that he really needs a big one tomorrow night.
Judd is such a selfish person.bluebo baggers said:Most of the guys headed straight for the bus but Judd and Fev were the two that were surrounded and stayed for about 10mins - Fev was by far the last on the bus.

Originally Posted by bluebo baggers
Fev signed my sons #5 on his jumper then turned around and laconically asked "weren't there any 2's left in the shop mate?"!!! I told him I would get 25 on my jumper if he kicks more than 8 and doesn't give 50 away to which said "the 8 goals is OK but 50's are all part of coming to Perth but there won't be 2 in a row!

Dr.Sherrin said:Injury group: Thornton, Cloke, Banno, Walks, Saddo...all bar Cloke ran laps and all looked good.
* Richard Hadley didn't do much in the way of training...we've seen this before on the 'day before the game' - but yet again there are question marks...left the main bunch to do some skills work with Matty Lappin before leaving the track...did not seem dejected nor frustrated with the groin...those closer to the players race might be able to elaborate as I was in the Social Club...but i think he'll be ok....for what it's worth David Ellard trained well.
* Fev has confidence like I've never seen before and i've seen a lot of his training sessions. Seems genuinely excited to be out there and was sharp in his skills and laughing at the same time. He's one of the few who'd probably get away with doing that...it's just his character.
* Cain Ackland looked resplendent as he strutted around in a brand new pair of Copa Mundials (easily the best footy boot going around and have been for decades). Trained well and when he got the footy he went straight to his first option. I like that. He's not overly footy smart and he's not there to do the fancy stuff...he's not everyone's favourite (understatement) but while he's in that navy blue jumper I'm backing him...would really like to see him in the thick of it and tire Charman out. I'm even prepared to pay the $900 fine for wrestling...if the Lions are going to go into this game with one ruckman then Ackland must be physical...give him first shot at him at the centre bounce and rough that SOB up so Kruezer can jump all over him! Other than standing 20 meters in front of Johnno Brown there's no other reason for him to be there. Go Cain!
* Steven Browne looks extraordinarily comfortable out there...he's one of the few players on our list (Stevens, Judd and Murphy are the others) who can fire out a handpass at speed and consistently hit the target. We definitely got a bargain with this bloke.
* Bryce Gibbs has polish and a ton of skill - but have we found the right position for him yet or will he force his way into the midfield. His only downfall at the moment is that he doesn't always kick to the advantage of his teammate. But with 30 games under his belt it's early days and he still reminds me of Mots. Great balance and poise.
* With training all but done and the boys either jogging laps or having set shots on goal - Ratts pulled Ackland, O'hAilpin, Kruezer, Simpson, AB and Murph into a huddle at the top of the 50. What was being said i've no idea, but he was animated and really getting his point across (reminded me of what Parkin used to do at training)...this lasted for three or four minutes and then the huddle suddenly broke. It was very much like the NBA...the last time-out...2.7 seconds left on the clock type stuff.
*Great drill featuring the boys running in 3's...quick succession of handballs, run and carry - kick to target...repeat...was a highlight today...rarely a fumble and great voice amongst the playing group.
Ok....do I need to mention that Juddy trained well? Honestly - it's like being at the races and seeing all the horses come into the mounting yard...they all look the same...then you see number 5 'Gee, what a beautiful specimen' ...your hand reaches into your pocket and before you know it you're in front of the bookie saying 'The lot on Number 5 to win'. We're not favorites with the bookies tomorrow night - but with that 'beautiful specimen' out there, I reckon we should be.