carlton or VB?

Top tier: Or the I have to much money tier.

1. Chimay Blue Lable... Best beer by far and it would want to be at around $7 a stubbie.

2. Coopers Vintage... Once again only drinkable if you've just won tattslotto.. Both these beers get you ****ed after 3 stubbies

3. Schofferhofer, Hefewizen. Also exppensive but a treat every now and again.

Second Tier: Australian beers (excluding Vintage)

1. Cascade/Boags premium. 12 months ago Cascade had Boags easy, they seemed to have changed the recipe so it's now a little sweeter. Boags seems to have lost that metalic taste as well, so it just infront.

3. Coppers Pale/Sparkling. The only reason this isn't the best by a country mile is it is the worst hangover beer that I have ever had. I can't drink it in my old age ;)

Third tier: Your average pub beer, non imports.

1. Carlton Draught on a CLEAN tap and pipes.

2. Thooeys Extra Dry for the stubbies. Only cold filtered beer I will drink. Good for footy with mates on a Friday night.

3. Insert any crap here.

Best option: Brew your own and bottle it for at least 6 months.

Smokin_Joe said:
Anyone one had Brahma ? its a brazilian beer.

Yeah we had a rep in work a month or so ago and he gave me a sixpack. Not too bad at all.

Jules101 said:
Just on fosters, do you know that the exported fosters is really crown lager??

Er, no its not. They are a slightly similar beer and have a similar smell, but the color, taste and even the carbonation are completley different.

Also there isn't much Foster's exported, the majority of it is brewed under licence by foreign breweris, much like Stella in Australia is brewed by Foster's/CUB, or it's brewed in an overseas Foster's brewery, like the new one in Vietnam.

For those genuinley interested in different beers from Aust and around the world, check this thread

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=231173

Quality beer thread:thumbsu:

djharps said:
while we having a good convo on beer this is what i find

stella is ****e<< worst beer for buck our there
It is ordinary here, but in europe it tatses alot better, it's also cheaper.

coronas love em who doesnt cant have more that 7 cause get to sweet
Most overrated beer out there. The fact it is imported with clear bottles means the beer will go off quicker then any other import. People throw in lemons to add the taste, and look like tossers.

asahi love em only had a couple per night.. not sure what be like to have em all night
It isn't to bad. Mind you they any beer is ok when Qantas are giving them to you...

1664.. tasted it loved it.. not sure what it would be like for a whole night
One of the worst in the planet. I had the unfortunate pleasure of tasting this off tap as well as from a bottle in it's home nation of france. They should stick to making wine really. kronenbourg also make White beer, it's twice as bad.

The Dice Man said:
They are a slightly similar beer and have a similar smell, but the color, taste and even the carbonation are completley different.
Not really. There is no big taste difference, crown is slightle bitter. Both contain the same amount of abv and both taste vulgar. Crown probably contains slightly more hops, justifying CUB ridiculous price tag for this cats p-ss.

Also there isn't much Foster's exported, the majority of it is brewed under licence by foreign breweris, much like Stella in Australia is brewed by Foster's/CUB, or it's brewed in an overseas Foster's brewery, like the new one in Vietnam.
True. Fosters in the UK is brewed in manchester and contains less abv than the rubbish down here. They also have Fosters ICE, which I've never heard of. Ironically it is labelled AUSTRALIAS FAMOUS BEER

M29 said:
One of the worst in the planet. I had the unfortunate pleasure of tasting this off tap as well as from a bottle in it's home nation of france. They should stick to making wine really. kronenbourg also make White beer, it's twice as bad.

Have to agree regarding Corona there. It's like a weak-cordial beer. Met a Mexican a few months back (no, not a Victorian, a genuine Mexicano dude), and he told me the reason the lemons started in Coronas was to keep the flies out of the neck.

I scoff inwardly when someone orders a Corona with lemon, same when the young wannabe yuppies drink Stella like they're Rene Rivkin... I usually find a polite way to inform em of what the Poms think of the stuff :p

M29 said:
Not really. There is no big taste difference, crown is slightle bitter. Both contain the same amount of abv and both taste vulgar. Crown probably contains slightly more hops, justifying CUB ridiculous price tag for this cats p-ss.

The increase in price (for Crownies) is probably largely to do with a longer maturation time. Crownies are matured for 3-4 days longer than your VB, MB etc... And when you consider it's a couple of million litres sitting there, it adds to the cost of teh product.

Also, Crown Lager uses the best graded ingredients. When the Hops are bought (only at one time every year to maintain consistency) and the Malt comes in, they're graded by the taste testers and sorted from best to worst.. The best stuff is reserved for your Premium beers, in this case Crownies... And while Im not sure what the worst graded are saved for, I suspect it's VB ;)

True. Fosters in the UK is brewed in manchester and contains less abv than the rubbish down here. They also have Fosters ICE, which I've never heard of. Ironically it is labelled AUSTRALIAS FAMOUS BEER

There's actually quite a few different 'Foster's' beers around the world... around 5 or 6 IIRC.

M29 said:
Ha. Tried that once. Waste of money. Carlton cold is another CUB product that is absolute rubbish.

Premium Drys need to be kept at almost freezing point. Home fridges will not keep them asd cold as they're designed to drink. And I think it's more targeted as a beer to have with a meal, as it leaves no aftertaste... thats the plan anyway.

The Carlton Cold recipie has just been changed, along with teh labels and marketing... I havent tried the new recipie yet, but I wasnt a fan of the previous one either.

The Dice Man said:
Have to agree regarding Corona there. It's like a weak-cordial beer. Met a Mexican a few months back (no, not a Victorian, a genuine Mexicano dude), and he told me the reason the lemons started in Coronas was to keep the flies out of the neck.
I've heard another explaination, which cuased a big argument at work over this, that the lemon was used to wipe away sand. In any case, it's pointless as the beer is still not worth $4 a stubby.

I scoff inwardly when someone orders a Corona with lemon, same when the young wannabe yuppies drink Stella like they're Rene Rivkin... I usually find a polite way to inform em of what the Poms think of the stuff :p
Yeah, the old wife beater. It actully tastes ok off tap in the uk and is pretty cheap. You can buy the big cans in 4 packs at their servos for a few p extra.

The Dice Man said:
The increase in price (for Crownies) is probably largely to do with a longer maturation time. Crownies are matured for 3-4 days longer than your VB, MB etc... And when you consider it's a couple of million litres sitting there, it adds to the cost of teh product.

Also, Crown Lager uses the best graded ingredients. When the Hops are bought (only at one time every year to maintain consistency) and the Malt comes in, they're graded by the taste testers and sorted from best to worst.. The best stuff is reserved for your Premium beers, in this case Crownies... And while Im not sure what the worst graded are saved for, I suspect it's VB ;)
That, or any of their light beers. I did a blind test with me mates and we could barely tell the difference between crown and the standard. I don't think it's worth the extra $. If I want a top graded beer I'd go for Cascade or something.

The Carlton Cold recipie has just been changed, along with teh labels and marketing... I havent tried the new recipie yet, but I wasnt a fan of the previous one either.
Tasted to chemically for my liking.

The Dice Man said:
Compared to Carlton or VB,Stella is mother's milk.
carlton and VB are cat's pyss.

M29 said:
That, or any of their light beers. I did a blind test with me mates and we could barely tell the difference between crown and the standard. I don't think it's worth the extra $. If I want a top graded beer I'd go for Cascade or something.

I agree and dont think its worth the extra either... I'd only by a Foster's(CUB) beer if I cant be bothered choosing something as Im the type to stand in front of the fridge for 20 mins deciding. The beers are desgined to be mass marketed and sold to consumers who prefer to be told what to like, instead of actually choosing what they like.

It's all about Marketing.

p.s. you know Cascade is a Foster's(CUB) beer too dont ya?

Bombers 2003 said:
Compared to Carlton or VB,Stella is mother's milk.
carlton and VB are cat's pyss.

hehehehe.. If I blindfolded you and put a VB, a Carlton and a Stella in front of you Im 100% confident you wouldnt be able to differentiate any of them.

Though teh Stella should stand out as it uses a different hop to VB and Carlton, but otherwise its pretty damn similar.

Most Stella in Aus is brewed by Foster's these days down at the Abbotsford brewery.

Stella is THE beer to drink if you know nothing about Beer and wanna look like you do know.

The Dice Man said:
I agree and dont think its worth the extra either... I'd only by a Foster's(CUB) beer if I cant be bothered choosing something as Im the type to stand in front of the fridge for 20 mins deciding. The beers are desgined to be mass marketed and sold to consumers who prefer to be told what to like, instead of actually choosing what they like.

It's all about Marketing.
The ads for fosters in the UL are hillariously bad. Portrayed as if everyone drinks it here. Much like Castlemaine Lager ie XXXX. Never seen anyone apart from my relos drink that rubbish. Not as popular with the poms as fosters but still.

you know Cascade is a Foster's(CUB) beer too dont ya?
Yep. Still dosen't make it any less of a good beer. Of the bigger breweries down here, I much prefer CUP of Lion Nathan. I think Tooheys Pils is the only drink I can stomach they make.

ahh the olde boags is great.. havnt tried the st george though.. and calton cold all i remember about that beer is being underage and getting slabs of it.. my m8 use to go and by and wear a singlet and not shave to look 18+ good times... ne1 remember cold shot.. what a flop eh

verdict on reb back beer?

also love becks off tap

Beez Neez is great on tap...and some bloke comes and buys a slab every week coz he reckons he cant find it anywhere else.

Hang on Beez Neez is a Matilda Bay beer isnt it?

My old man loves his Tooheys Pils.

Melbourne Bitter is the best beer. i reckon it's the most under rated beer out there. If you like Bitters, nothing better

The Dice Man said:
hehehehe.. If I blindfolded you and put a VB, a Carlton and a Stella in front of you Im 100% confident you wouldnt be able to differentiate any of them.

Though teh Stella should stand out as it uses a different hop to VB and Carlton, but otherwise its pretty damn similar.

Most Stella in Aus is brewed by Foster's these days down at the Abbotsford brewery.

Stella is THE beer to drink if you know nothing about Beer and wanna look like you do know.
1-I'm afraid i can tell the difference betwwen draught,carlton and stella.
2-but to the stella formula,not some fooked up CUB formula
3-that is an idiotical statement,no why dont u make it tour idiot mate Crackers,who wouldnr know the difference between a CUB shyte product and decent Beer.

Bombers 2003 said:
1-I'm afraid i can tell the difference betwwen draught,carlton and stella.
2-but to the stella formula,not some fooked up CUB formula
3-that is an idiotical statement,no why dont u make it tour idiot mate Crackers,who wouldnr know the difference between a CUB shyte product and decent Beer.

WTF are you on about????

You think Stella is a decent beer, nuff said.

The Dice Man said:
WTF are you on about????

You think Stella is a decent beer, nuff said.
Compared to Carlton Draught and VB indeed that is so.
And why do u have a problem with Stella?

carlton or VB?