VFL Carlton Reserves 2022

Had the pleasure of getting a look at the VFL game, missed a lot of the first quarter but gee what a belting. Carlton far too strong. Last time I dropped into punt road and watch us play Richmond it was very much the other way around.

Boyd - Fast and super competitive, looked too good for VFL.

Number 71, not sure who he was but played in defence and caught my eye.

Carroll - Got better as the game went on and was involved in everything. Playing on the ball, just a natural and quality footballer. Looks a bit light for the big time at this stage but he's showing a lot.

Cottrell - kicked a few goals. Seemed to be getting lose forward of the ball a lot and providing some good overlap run.

Philp - Kicked 3 in the first but not sure he was out there much after.

Curnow - Was out there early in the first quarter, knee heavily strapped and unsighted after the first or early in the second.

Dow - Dow played on the ball and was outstanding. Played against (not on) his brother. He seemed to be playing with higher effort and energy than usual. Didn't notice much in the way of poor defensive efforts as has been in the past. Thought he was great.

Fogarty - He looked busy. Really involved in the midfield and competes pretty well.

Kemp - Played half forward, took some nice marks but the ball didn't follow him a great deal. He's a talent, you can tell and his speed is a real weapon for keeping him in the contest.

Motlop - looks physically mature, faster than everyone out there and a natural footballer. Gets up the ground a long way and adds an extra midfielder but on the break going forward he's a real weapon running back to goal. Next cab off the rank into our senior team IMO. Talent galore. He's not a one trick flashy forward, he's happy to get physical and able to get up the ground and find it. What I really like is his reading the game at half forward, gets in space and gets on the end of the short kick, tells me he's reading the game really well.

Mirkov - There is talent there, he's very tall and a good tap ruckman but a development project. Would like to see him get better at general play and his overhead stuff but we should be patient here. Needs to fill out a bit too.

Newnes - Another player who is too good for VFL. Strong in the contests and played a nice game.

Parks - Thought he was really good. Reckon he's improving as a player and has put on a bit of size. Would have him in at this stage is McGovern went down.

Plowman - Just looked a quality AFL player out there. Noting flashy, just got to the right spots and was neat and tidy.

Young - general at full back, was able to sit on the back of the zone and pluck it off and even break free for a run. He's a good footballer and a good mark. Would like to see him play with more confidence but if we lose a tall defender we know we have a good backup to come in.

Thought all our players played well and looked good. Most looked like they could step up and be at least competent AFL player. It was over 100 points at one stage but a few late goals to Richmond brought that back, hell of a game from our reserves.
71 - Radovanovic, 3rd in B&F last season.

If he's retained the number, it's Alex Cincotta.

Yeah looking at the footage, it's him.
Thanks Jimmae - he looked like a big bodied fella - unless I missed up the numbers

probably handy to have in the team to protect the draftees - didn’t look that was a problem against Richmond

Could Motlop play on the wing, or is he pure small forward?
He looks like he could play anywhere. A first year player, usually the running g capacity isn't there.

I see him as a half forward you can give a run on the ball eventually.

Talented athlete and footballer.

Those running goals from Boyd, wowee.

He has a seriously good kick on him, will be a weapon at AFL level. I hope we keep developing him as an option for the senior side.
We had heard a lot about how good his Kicking is but had not seen it in the practice matches and I wasn’t very impressed.

Aside from the goals there was one kick where he was under pressure and speared it low about 40 m right along the boundary to hit a team mate on the chest. Not many players on the list could have made that kick. That was a moment that turned it for me. Could be a player

It was hard to give best players because we were so dominant. They were all best players in some way. Some guys did a lot of damage in short periods and the defence wasn't really put to the test, they had it on their terms, dominated and moped up well. Midfield dominated. Our game plan, particularly the handball game we see in the seniors was on show in the reserves. Cut them to pieces.

You could look in defence and say Parks and Young put their hand up. They weren't really tested that hard though, you would like to see what they could do under more pressure.

In the middle Dow is first player selected, he was one of our best. Fit into that game plan well. If a midfielder goes out of the senior team, he goes in.

Carrol is going to suite our handball, break away from stoppage game really well but he's still a light frame. If we were a weak team like we have been, if it was last year then Dow and Carrol come straight into the team but we aren't.

I want to see Kemp pushed a little harder. Seemed to play mostly forward but I want to see him go into the midfield a bit. Wing or centre, not fussed. He's fast around the contests, he gets to contests quick, that's a big deal in modern footy.

Philp kicked 3 in no time flat, I missed that then he wasn't out there. Cottrell had a purple patch and did the same.

Philp at this stage of his career seems to remind me of Simpson at the same stage in his career. Light, wiry, fast player who can cause a bit of damage, can go quiet but really loves to compete. Give him time.

Plowman is the player we have always known, good honest, not super quick, doesn't have the height, leap and offensive weapons McGovern has. Wise head.

Motlop looks to have it. Not sure he will be in the reserves too long. On that could easily be the next player coming in. Heaps of pressure on Owies now I feel. We have a good one here. Going to be a really strong powerful man, impressed with his build, looks more 3rd year than 1st.

If I had to make calls on who really put their hand up it's Dow and Motlop. Every player played well but they played a little above that. Going by spots available Motlop is closest.

Was nice seeing our structure and use of handball around the stoppages and our defensive structures. I could tell effort to get to contests and put pressure on was a huge emphasis. It was really good to see this knowing that this is what we will see in the seniors as well. IMO we looked really well coached and well drilled.

It's nice to know we have plenty of players to pick from. There were some real short bursts of quality from some. I think sustained quality and effort will be a thing to focus on. It was quite hot and very humid so the game would have been taxing. A few only played part games, not sure why.

Stocker, Marchbank, Walsh, Cuningham, Akuei, Honey and Williamson did not play football this weekend. If we had a full list to pick from then that is one hell of a senior and reserves side.

Unless Richmond are really really weak, our reserves should be worth watching this season, especially when players start coming back.
Great summary.

Thought Dow got into good positions to get uncontested possessions and link up play which is something he needs to work on to round out his game. Nice crumbing goal as well

Motlop seems to have very short legs (trait of some champs like Daicos and Matthews) enabling quick change of direction and the ability to collect the ball at pace. Think we got a good one here. Would be pick to replace Martin

Anyone got any details for the game on Friday? Would quite like to go if members can get in for free?

Tickets: Where matches are ticketed, entry is $10 for adults, $5 for concession holders and kids under 15 are free. Some venues don't charge for entry.

VFL 2022 ROUND ONE

Friday 25 March
Footscray vs. Sydney Swans - VU Whitten Oval, 4.35pm AEDT
Carlton vs. Brisbane Lions - IKON Park, 5.05pm AEDT

All VFL matches in 2022 will be live streamed and available on demand via the AFL website and AFL Live Official App.

VFL Carlton Reserves 2022