Play Nice Carlton supporter demands apology from Clayton Oliver and Melbourne over abuse

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...-clayton-oliver-incident-20170710-gx8100.html

Supporter claims he called Oliver soft but also physically touched him, and that Oliver turned around and threatened him. Oliver claims obscenities yelled at him as well as physical contact.

Don't touch a player in the heat of the game, you idiot. Moreover, if you can't stand the heat, don't yell personal abuse at players while sitting in earshot. They're humans and they are within their rights to reply if you yell something seriously dumb. Furthermore, they're also physically pumping due to being in the middle of a footy match and more than likely right on the edge emotionally, so it's a pretty dumb thing to do.

In before the thread is locked
Given the reason the other one was locked was because of the average OP I tried to make it more discussion-based...

With Oliver's reputatino for being a diver is anyone actually going to believe a word he says? Still, he admitted to touching him which is not on.
I've seen a bit of commentary on BF and elsewhere on the net suggesting that the language was closer to Oliver's statement than the Carlton supporter's...

I'm sure that the Carlton fan was saying nothing but things of praise to Oliver all game surely if he wants an apology?
The Carlton fan needs to pull his head in a realise he has had his 15sec's of fame and it is time to let it go.

I second the 'no touching' thing. Dont touch/ throw things at a player. Full stop. Long bans for anyone that does so without reasonable excuse (i.e. the player crashes into the fence and you're protecting yourself).

You can otherwise troll/ sledge them with impunity though (racial stuff and injury/ health trolling are not on as usual though). Are we really saying that fans/ supporters cant hurl abuse over the fence?

I mean Christ; some of the best sledges I've ever heard have come from the stands. Oliver wouldnt want to be fielding at third man at the 'G in front of the Bay. Those pricks were merciless.

Thread should not be locked. This is a genuine topic because it's highlighted an issue whereby patron and player interaction needs to be identified as being inappropriate.

Yelling obscene language at an individual is just not on at all, particularly when it's within earshot like that. What Oliver did is also not on, as he shouldn't be sucked into this sad campaigners effort to get under his skin. Oliver will learn.

As far as demanding an apology? This flog can **** right off. If you're going to lean over the fence and serve someone like that, then don't expect not to get a retaliation. I'd consider both actions to be unacceptable, so they negate the other. If this idiot wants an apology then he can also issue one to Clayton Oliver for being a w***er.

I mean Christ; some of the best sledges I've ever heard have come from the stands. Oliver wouldnt want to be fielding at third man at the 'G in front of the Bay. Those pricks were merciless.

Assuming we get an Ashes series this year, apparently they've allocated the Bay to the Barmy Army :(

Opposition supporters are just going to suck him in at every opportunity now.

Mentally fragile, this bloke. Snaps back on Twitter, swears at fans, dives, sooks and moans... he'd wanna hope his on field performances don't start getting affected by all this bullshit.

Mentally fragile yet still dominates no matter what's going on around him? Okay then.

Blues supporter should be banned, you don't touch the players.

I second the 'no touching' thing. Dont touch/ throw things at a player. Full stop. Long bans for anyone that does so without reasonable excuse (i.e. the player crashes into the fence and you're protecting yourself).

You can otherwise troll/ sledge them with impunity though (racial stuff and injury/ health trolling are not on as usual though). Are we really saying that fans/ supporters cant hurl abuse over the fence?

Nothing wrong with sledging but don't cry if they have a go back.

Opposition supporters are just going to suck him in at every opportunity now.

Mentally fragile, this bloke. Snaps back on Twitter, swears at fans, dives, sooks and moans... he'd wanna hope his on field performances don't start getting affected by all this bullshit.

If he was mentally fragile he wouldn't be continually putting up excellent performances as a 19 yr old.

I don't mind the bloke saying whatever he wants to Oliver nor do I mind Oliver giving it back. But to then go on a crusade for an apology, please your a moron and an attention seeking idiot.

Oliver can issue his apology in an old room at a casino with no cameras

The Carlton supporter's face gets me every time.

1499653074019.jpg

I've seen a bit of commentary on BF and elsewhere on the net suggesting that the language was closer to Oliver's statement than the Carlton supporter's...
Well he didn't exactly cover himself in glory with the Schofield incident. Shouldn't react back to him but the supporter definitely shouldn't have touched him, no matter how innocuous. Totally not on.

Yelling obscene language at an individual is just not on at all, particularly when it's within earshot like that.

Dude what?

Fans are going to sledge players. Misfield out in the deep at a cricket match and see what happens. You never hear the end of it.

You've just gotta take it in your stride. As long as it isnt racial vilification, or trolling an injury/ health thing (or shitty language around kids), then its fair game.

Touching a player is simply not on. There are certain no go zones from fans, and this is one of them. Oliver gave him a verbal to which i wouldn't be reading too much into 'If you touch me again.....etc' Good chance the bloke isn't going to do that.

This has been beaten up because the campaigner got a serious shock when Oliver served him because he thought calling him a weak **** and 'accidentally' touching him is something he would get away with.

At the end of the day, AFL players are operating within a work environment, that needs to be respected.

Dude what?

Fans are going to sledge players. Misfield out in the deep at a cricket match and see what happens. You never hear the end of it.

You've just gotta take it in your stride. As long as it isnt racial vilification, or trolling an injury/ health thing (or shitty language around kids), then its fair game.
sure but then don't sook when you cop it back