Carlton V Hawthorn thread

We must have broken Ian Thorogood's heart with our inconsistency in those days.

Poor old Thorogood, he only got 2 years at the helm before they replaced him with Ian Stewart (I think Collo flew to Hawaii to sign him up). No wonder George Harris was put back in charge of the club in 1978.

..will be a serious test of Rattens game plan and young talent. I would expect the Hawks to win. If Carlton's senior players can lift (Murph, Fev, Stevens, I'm looking at you), then Carlton have a very real chance of knocking the Dawks off. The future is NOW!....:D:D:D:D:D:D

Poor old Thorogood, he only got 2 years at the helm before they replaced him with Ian Stewart (I think Collo flew to Hawaii to sign him up). No wonder George Harris was put back in charge of the club in 1978.
I always felt sorry for the guy when he had to came onto World of Sport and try explaining WTF had happened the day before. If we were race-horses you would have swabbed us. Champions one week, drop-kicks the next.

He wouldn't have been too upset, afterall Uncle Doug probably gave him a shitload of Patra - The Orangier Orange Juice.

P - a - t - r - a. Patra! Don't forget the Tosca luggage, or Ballantynes Chocolates.

The cycling contest with that arrow, the handball, the longest kick, the panel. What a show. Couple it with Jack Little's Wrestling there's your Sunday morning shot to pieces. Think I'm gonna howl.

Those were the days...over to you lou ! Then the WOOD CHOP !!

The ****ing woodchop. Axemen ready, one, two, three. Did the O'Tools have a mortgage on that or what?

Out: Russell, Saddington, Wiggins, Fevola (rest), Fisher (rest)
In: Hadley (if fit), Aisake (if fit), Setanta (if fit)

If Hartlett gets himself fit we should probably consider bringing him in for either Edwards or Kruezer.
I reckon Fev and Russell will stay in . Harts can replace Fisher now that he's injured . Keen to see Hadley play .

is Judd due back? or you resting him for round 1?

Out-dawson stokes
In- Croad Brown
Should be a gooden coz neither teams will play boring sydney shut down footy.

is Judd due back? or you resting him for round 1?

Out-dawson stokes
In- Croad Brown
Should be a gooden coz neither teams will play boring sydney shut down footy.

Judd definitely won't play. Might be the week after... something to look forward to if we win.

The tug-of-war. An Aussie Rules version of touch football played in the studio during the off-season. Club Corner (I remember in 1971 after a couple of Carlton's losses poor old Serge Silvagni was sent in to fill the breach, with Barassi apparently 'unavailable' due to being in Tassie). Who will forget Ron Casey's one-on-one interview with Jezza after the '79 GF?