Carlton Vs Kangaroos at Pigsarse Oval

• Thread starter RICE80
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None

R

RICE80

Please please please big Wayne put on a blinder this week mate, beat those tossers on their little dung heap. I love seeing Carlton get beaten any time, but if the Kangas beat them at Optus that will make my weekend more than another Bomber win.

If they didn't have Optus they'd be about as successful as Richmond were last year, they wouldn't even make the finals. Apart from their annual "twilight zone" win over at Subiaco (stuffed if I know how they do it) they don't have many wins away from Optarse.

Hey and take a bow big Spider for showing us the leader you AINT when the game was there to be won on Saturday Night. You are a true dickhead. The great, brave and loyal player Nathan Burke must have been pulling his hair out, watching Spider's efforts.

I only wish we were playing Carlton on Optarse this year, now that would be fun.

Give us some stats Dan, how bad are they away from Optarse exactly?

Go Bell, Harvey and King. Come on big Mick put a stop to Large Lancey.

BOMBER BLITZ IN 2000!
cool.gif

Everything is for Carlton, they get the reigning premiers at home and only play them once.

Why can't geelong get a home game against North, it's not as though they have so many supporter that couldn't fit into the ground?

If memory recalls, the last time we played them at home was in 1994, and we towelled them up that day, as we did at Optus later in the year and as we did Preliminary Final day, that was a good year.

Gocatsgo, should get your fact right loserboy, at the last nine meetings between North Melbourne and Geelong at the shell hole the mighty Kangaroos Lead 6 to 3. We would love to play you down there, now be trueful you guys aare just too scared to do it again.

last nine outings
1983 N/18.16.124 G/12.12.84 you lost once

1984 N/11.13.79 G/9.11.65 you lost twice

1985 N/14.9.93 G/16.23.119 wow 1 win

1987 N/19.22.136 G/18.19.127 you lost three times

1989 N/17.15.117 G/20.19.139 wow 2 wins

1990 N/20.11.131 G/17.8.110 you lost 4 times

1991 N/22.18.150 G/17.17.119 and you lose again

1993 N/15.18.108 G/13.6.84 and again you lose

1994 N/15.15.105 G/17.18.120
You towelled us by 15 points for win number 3, and after your past history I would call that a towelling, or the closest Geelong will ever get to one, against the might of the KANGAROOS at shell hole.

Bye Bye Loserboy

Carlton have won the last FIVE count them FIVE matches so watch out North

ps: Dont tell anyone four of them were against teams 12,13 15 and 16 on the ladder (pleasebe gentle with us North)

1994, EXACTLY!!!!!

Don't you think its about time they played there again.

If you remember in 1994, it was round 5, Geelong were 1 and 3, North were 3 and 1 or 4 and 0, my mind escapes me, but they were on top.

And we beat you, Wayne Carey didn't get a touch and even Tim McGrath kicked a goal on him. I'd love to have North down here again.

If you remember, in the mid 80s, North weren't a bad side making a few finals, Geelong didn't make the finals between 1981 and 1989, so if you couldn't beat us, there would have been some problems.

Geelong and North don't often attract crowds of more than 35,000 and both teams have been successful in recent years

Just a question, when was the last time North played Carlton at Optus Oval, it wasn't when Malcolm Blight kicked that goal was it?

[This message has been edited by gocatsgo (edited 18 May 2000).]

GoCatsGo

The last time we played Carlton at Optus was in '98 when the Blues were in the middle of their slump (Big John was making rumblings about Parkin getting the arse), the crowd was something like 15,000, and North had a comfy win. The two memorable things from that day were:

1. A North fan running onto the field holding a wooden spoon.

2. The ball kicked long into the goal square, Longmire had it all covered, but got blinded by the light, missed the ball, and the ball took a vicious bounce into the goal.

Anyway, GoCats, in terms of people having a go at North, us North fans can take it seriously when it comes from the likes of Essendon, Carlton, West Coast, and Hawthorn. You see, over the past twenty years, these clubs have shown a dedication to excellence over time and have won premierships. But Geelong....4 losing Grand Finals plus, what is it, another 3 losing Night Grand Finals....well, forgive me, LongJohn, Colley31, CCRidley etc. if we find it hard to keep a straight face when you crap on about a win in the Preliminary Final that happened....what....six, count 'em SIX years ago. Sure you lost those Grand Finals to four of the greatest teams ever assembled, but apart from '89 (where you were playing a crippled Hawthorn side), couldn't you have at least put up a fight? Another thing....Geelong have played North twice in finals since '94. We won both times. In '96 on our way to the Premiership.....Carey kicked a few that day and we won by about 10 odd goals...where was McGrath? Also in '97, that wet and windy Sunday night where Carey slotted in the lazy 6 goals on our way to the Preliminary Final....where was McGrath that night? It makes your ramblings about '94 seem really sad in the context of what has since happened.

Anyway, that last minute image from that black day in '94...Ablett getting the goal over our mighty Mick. Since then, Micky has two premiership medals on his mantlepiece. As for Ablett, he's won sweet FA not even Geelong loves him anymore.

Gocatsgo

If 15 points is a towelling is 5 points a flick with the teatowel? if so guess we flicked your pussy with a Teatowel in round 4 this year, you guys were undefeated then, werent you?

But then who really cares, about the PUSSIES.

Just to get the heat of gocatsgo for a second, unfortunately I really rate the Carlton side of 2000. Along with the Kangaroos, I think they will be the major challenges to the bombers for the flag.

As for Optus Oval, the ground is a hole.

Of course that has nothing to do with the fact that we have only won there once in the last twenty or so years.
wink.gif

Sainter

So, how confident are you of turning over Port tomorrow? I reckon you guys should win...at least the Saints have played a few good, if not great, quarters of football while Port have really only had that one game against Brisbane plus one half against Adelaide.

Touch wood....Saints by 5 goals.

Shinboner,

I have been pretty proud of the teams effort over the past few weeks after the disgraceful effort against the Crows.

If we perform to the level of the past few weeks, I think we will have a pretty comfortable win.

Unfortunately, I know that it doesn't work like that and we are likely to put in a shocker.

I have been rapt with the performances of the younger guys like Hayes, Beetham, Davis, Moyle and Blake which has helped me to remain positive through the devastating year.

Who knows? Depending on which St Kilda turn up and for how many quarters we play, the result could go either way.

Good luck for Saturday. As much as I hate to admit Carlton have really impressed me this year. A win at Optus against them would be a big psychological boost because I can see them featuring in the last few weeks of the year along with Essendon and the Kangaroos.

[This message has been edited by sainter (edited 18 May 2000).]

Sainter

I agree - you've played pretty good footy the last couple of weeks and, if not for Spider's stuff up last week, you might have knocked over the baggers.

I've tipped you for this week and will be genuienely gutted for you if you lose to that rabble.

Dutch

PS. Plus, I think if you win one, you'll win many. Remember folks, Essendon's 3rd most recent defeat (way back in around Round 7 or 8 in 1999) was at the hands of a committed, and not too dissimilar Saints line-up!

Thanks Sainter,

A little bit of luck on Saturday will help. If the game was at the MCG or at Colonial, then I'd be very confident of a North win. But at Princess Park, Carlton seem to play that little bit better. I'm sure we'll win, but I'm not pencilling in the four points just yet.

Anyway, I'll be at home tonight in front of the TV (sniffling away....damn flu) and cheering on the Saints. Good luck to your lads Sainter.

Carlton probably have the best home ground advantage in the league.How come Essendon never play at Optus and the Roos have to.They may be slow but carlton are one of the hardest teams at the ball and dont have many timid players like a couple of the other teams.Kouta will be a worry and I dont like the Burton v Allan match up being a
Roos supporter.Hopefully Capauano is fit and he can do the job like he did in last years GF.Stevo would have been handy as it might be wet which is going to suit Ratten and that mongrel mate of his ..Fraser Brown.
Roos to win but I'm not that confident.

Carlton Vs Kangaroos at Pigsarse Oval