CARLTON vs PORT thread...

Disappointed in Murphys game. Made a few bad errors, and didn't get a heap of the ball. Hopefully he'll get better before round 1.
I'm writing that one off as just a bad day - be it the heat, not feeling well or whatever. He was BOG or just about against Freo a week ago, and while that was the definition of a nothing match, the difference between his game against Freo and today's game was night and day.

No Gibbs??? Or am I missing him there.

I echo Drummond's sentiments, another massive fan of Pfieffer, AA U18, dominant SANFL player when fit first roun draft pick. Only dumped for his lack of following of the strict team rules we had over here. But spewing raw chips that he left, bloody awesome player, natural HBF, long raking kick of the footy, find a stack of it for a HBF and uses it well more often than not and as Drummond said can seriously JUMP. Takes many a screamer. Absolutely a 200game AFL player there no doubt at all. One of the best players we have drafted in the past 10 years and he's all yours....

sorry everyone. how could i forget him after i just raved about him. permanant textad in on hff changin onball which puts fish in the fp and krueze on int.

In all honestly, if we didn't win then alarm bells would be ringing because Port's side in the second half was VERY inexperienced.

In saying that, I was very happy with our performance considering our side isn't very experienced either.

Waitey dominated in the last quarter which was brilliant to see. Can't wait to see him settle at CHB.

Seeing guys like Hampson, Pfeiffer and Armfield hard at it was encouraging :thumbsu:

IIRC, Thornton was drafted as a forward - great to see him kick a couple. He looked comfortable up there too :thumbsu:

We were beaten out the middle which was a little disappointing but glad we started the year with a win :)

Bring on the Hawks next week I say. Should be a good test :thumbsu:

In all honestly, if we didn't win then alarm bells would be ringing because Port's side in the second half was VERY inexperienced.

In saying that, I was very happy with our performance considering our side isn't very experienced either.

Waitey dominated in the last quarter which was brilliant to see. Can't wait to see him settle at CHB.

Seeing guys like Hampson, Pfeiffer and Armfield hard at it was encouraging :thumbsu:

IIRC, Thornton was drafted as a forward - great to see him kick a couple. He looked comfortable up there too :thumbsu:

We were killed out the middle which was a little disappointing but glad we started the year with a win :)

Bring on the Hawks next week I say. Should be a good test :thumbsu:

I reckon the ducks will get up tomorrow...

True, he'd be #1 in my book. But we could have had both....but not to be. Hope he kills it for you guys :thumbsu:

Cheers mate. I can actually feel your pain. What a pickup for us. Any chance Massie and Nelson lessen the blow?

Nah, thought not.

Carlton will now play the winner of tomorrow’s Sydney-Hawthorn game at Telstra Dome next Saturday.

Carlton 1.3.7 1.5.9 1.10.11 1.13.13 (100)
Port Adelaide 0.3.5 0.8.7 0.8.11 0.12.13 (85)

GOALS
Carlton:
Nine-point goals: Jackson. Goals: Fevola 2, Thornton 2, Hampson 2, Edwards, Pfeiffer, Cloke, Kreuzer, Gibbs, Russell, Murphy
Port Adelaide: Nine-point goals: Nil. Goals: Salopek 3, Tredrea 2, Cockshell 2, Logan, Pearce, Brogan, Cassisi, Thomas
BEST
Carlton:
Pfeiffer, Houlihan, Fevola, Waite, Hampson, Scotland
Port Adelaide: Salopek, Brogan, Thomas, Cassisi

INJURIES
Carlton:
Fisher (dislocated finger)
Port Adelaide: Chaplin (broken hand), Surjan (rolled ankle)
Reports: Nil
Umpires: S McLaren, S Jeffrey, C Bowen, S Hay
Official crowd: 9,133 at AAMI Stadium

Game is next Saturday at the Dome :)

Fisher injured again :thumbsdown: :(

Didn't look like 9,133 people at the game!

Carrazzo is a ball magnet. Just knows how to get it. Problem is his kicking is deplorable. Should be encouraged to handball to other prime onballers (Stevens, Murphy etc) at every practical opportunity.

what a game by Pfeiffer & especially one who is becoming my Fav ..... Dennis (Dangles) Armfield.
This guy I am starting to like more & more every day.....
Keep up the work blue boys...... we still have some ways to go & that will come :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Oh and Murph..... Karma has bitten you today for sneaking out of the family day early...... what a shocker you had !

what a game by Pfeiffer & especially one who is becoming my Fav ..... Dennis (Dangles) Armfield.
This guy I am starting to like more & more every day.....
Keep up the work blue boys...... we still have some ways to go & that will come :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Oh and Murph..... Karma has bitten you today for sneaking out of the family day early...... what a shocker you had !

Yep, was a little reality lesson for Murph today. He'll learn from that no doubt. Really liked Armfield's game today. The rotations were pretty extreme and so it was hard for him to settle. But he has blistering pace, and is perfect for running down small opportunistic forwards. Good on the rebound as well. I was impressed with Fev's attitude today. He was really supportive of the younger players, and particularly Jake Edwards, which I thought was great. Pity the media don't focus on that stuff. :)

murph missed two absolute soda goals.
The first i was sitting right there on the fence and he
played on needlessly in front of my eyes.
Probably a little bit of over confidence which isn't
a bad thing. Thornton looked strangely at home up forward too.
As for little eddie... If he can have games like that every second
week he'll have a blinder season.
He never stopped trying and had his head over it at all times.
Overall the blues just showed some good pressure around the nut
and displayed some nice execution moving off of halfback.

hope some these signs early carry thru.

Gibbs, Simo, Scotto and Murph all happy to sign gear post match..
As for Fev.... he left before the team bus on his own in a limo.
what the?

Few standouts for me in terms of potential were
Hampson...enough said.
Pfieffer...looked very impressive...knows where to be, good size and skills will only get better. A good super coach pickup
Ellard...looks like he's a talented little bugger...reminds me of King from Richmond...could be a real rookie find.
Bower...had my doubts, but looks like he is coming good. His composure was actually a real strength tonight.
Grigg...looks the goods. Solid, athletic and good decision making. Another Supercoach cheapie.

Clearances were a bit of a worry in the final quarter, it looked like Hammer ran out of steam, but to his credit played amazingly well for a second year player. Skills cost us a bit, we would have absolutely buried Port had we polished up a bit.

The encouraging sign is that there is room for improvement, I can't wait to see this team firing on all cylinders, some massive potential displayed both holistically and individually.

Great to see T-Bird get a run in his 'true' half of the field...

Bring on Hawks/Swans - who ever wins...

What people have to recognise is that we lost at stoppages. Bentick is a first-drop on-baller and that's exactly what we missed today. Someone who could cleanly take a tap and handball to advantage. Instead it was a bit of a scrum which Port, more often than not, won.

The only challenger for Bentick's spot is (one day) Joseph and maybe Armfield on today's performance.

Good to see someone acknowledge what we were missing at the clearances in this evening's game. We got absolutely smashed. Last season we were one of the leading clearance teams in the competition & Bentick was a major contributor to that. If he doesn't get hands on the ball himself he ensures the ball is locked in. This wasn't happening in this evening's game. Port was just able to get first hands on the ball & comfortably clear the ball from these contests. Fortunately they didn't use the ball as well as they can & we escaped a number of 'bullets'.

Carlton's best 22 will include Bentick for quite some time yet. Without him Judd's impact will be reduced.

Good to see someone acknowledge what we were missing at the clearances in this evening's game. We got absolutely smashed. Last season we were one of the leading clearance teams in the competition & Bentick was a major contributor to that. If he doesn't get hands on the ball himself he ensures the ball is locked in. This wasn't happening in this evening's game. Port was just able to get first hands on the ball & comfortably clear the ball from these contests. Fortunately they didn't use the ball as well as they can & we escaped a number of 'bullets'.

Carlton's best 22 will include Bentick for quite some time yet. Without him Judd's impact will be reduced.

are you suggesting that Judd doesnt like the hard ball?! :eek:

No, I am suggesting Judd was able to have such an impact at the Eagles because there was always someone prepared to block for him, or feed out the quick handball to allow Judd to turn on the 'after-burners' & leave the opposition in his wake. The last thing we want is for Judd to be doing a lot of the 'bullocking' work. Of course he could do it, but he would not be as effective, as his greatest hurt factor is the ability to get away from a contest & deliver the ball to a leading player ahead of him.

If Judd has to do the 'bullocking' work & the burst stuff, we will end up running him into the ground way too early & then the 5 year contract could come back to bite us.

Good to see someone acknowledge what we were missing at the clearances in this evening's game. We got absolutely smashed. Last season we were one of the leading clearance teams in the competition & Bentick was a major contributorto that. If he doesn't get hands on the ball himself he ensures the ball is locked in. This wasn't happening in this evening's game. Port was just able to get first hands on the ball & comfortably clear the ball from these contests. Fortunately they didn't use the ball as well as they can & we escaped a number of 'bullets'.

Can you show us any stats to back this claim up MS........its not the way I remember last year.

Judd and Carrots would be the first 2 guys picked for centre square duties IMO.... I would be very surprised if carrots didnt lead our stats for centre square clearances last year.

Stevo,Murph,Bentick,BG,Hadley,Eddie and probably Jacko will all be rotated there at some stage.......but ATM Judd and Carrots by a mile our best 2 clearance players.......Bentick tries hard and tackles fiercly, but he struggles to actually win the ball and then put it to our advantage. When he gets his hands on it he is too often tackled before finding a team mate.
His hands did seem to get quicker in the last 2-3 games of the year.
It is something the coaching staff said he needed to get better at and he was working on it.

Reports are that Bentick has lost 4kg this preseason in a successful attempt to gain a little pace. He needs to improve on his form of last year to cement a place in our midfield with its increased depth and talent.

I think you will find that when Judd is playing some of our players will have roles regarding blocking Judds tagger, rather than an emphasis on winning the ball themselves.

Yep Carrots was our leading clearance player last year with about 90. He is without a doubt an extractor and this is his best role. Judd is the best clearance player in the comp.

Benticks clearance ability is terribly overated as he actually has very slow hands and usually gets caught due to his inability to give off the quick handball

A good win over all , for sure . Concern lingers over our disposal at times and maybe some decision making as well , but a good win over quality opposition all the same . Very impressed with Pfeifer , Armfield and Hammer as well as Ellard and Grigg . With some of our elite players down or under done for whatever reason , the second tier players and recruits all seemed to hold their own ok although we were lucky not to get caught out for not manning up enough . I suddenly like the thought of thornton at chf as well . Lets not get carried away with a pre season win , still just waiting for he real deal to come around before i get too excited . On pre season form , we'd smash the tigers i think .

CARLTON vs PORT thread...