CARLTON vs PORT thread...

Because they deliberately block competition by using patented mounts and blade systems. That's why you should always buy disposables - the manufacturers actually have to compete in that market segment.

Glad I could help.

I have a second book on egg-sucking coming out in March.

Sort of like the Braun toothbrush heads.....got offered them in China for about 1 cent but they breach copyright.......Braun sells them for about $5

Clearances aren't what I'm talking about. A clearance is when a player takes the ball from the centre square towards his goal. I'm talking about the first touch after the ruckman's tap. It's the job that Sam Mitchell does so well.

Any side that controls the ball with the ruckman's tap and the first touch will always do better than a side that doesn't. As it happens Bentick is the only "first touch" winner we have, such as he is. All the linking types, and inside/outside runners can only do their job if someone else has fed them the ball. It's rare to see a ruckman tap to a running player in one motion at centre-bounces.

Carrazzo is a first touch winner.....but he actually does more than touches it......he gets to dispose it.

Yes Sam Mitchell does it well, and to see Bentick play against him illustrates just how poorly he stacks up against the leagues better inside mids.

Bentick gets tackled with the ball when he gets his first touch way too often and it just results in another ball up.

No pace, no sidestep, no evasive skills, no quick hands = Bentick = first touches with very lttle effect.

I hope he has gotten a bit quicker as otherwise he will spend most of the year in red and maybe delisted come years end

Carrazzo is a first touch winner.....but he actually does more than touches it......he gets to dispose it.

Yes Sam Mitchell does it well, and to see Bentick play against him illustrates just how poorly he stacks up against the leagues better inside mids.

Bentick gets tackled with the ball when he gets his first touch way too often and it just results in another ball up.

No pace, no sidestep, no evasive skills, no quick hands = Bentick = first touches with very lttle effect.

I hope he has gotten a bit quicker as otherwise he will spend most of the year in red and maybe delisted come years end

Exactly

Clearances aren't what I'm talking about. A clearance is when a player takes the ball from the centre square towards his goal. I'm talking about the first touch after the ruckman's tap. It's the job that Sam Mitchell does so well.

Any side that controls the ball with the ruckman's tap and the first touch will always do better than a side that doesn't. As it happens Bentick is the only "first touch" winner we have, such as he is. All the linking types, and inside/outside runners can only do their job if someone else has fed them the ball. It's rare to see a ruckman tap to a running player in one motion at centre-bounces.

Carazzo & Bentick were our leading first possession players in 2007. Carazzo's total was 100 in 22 games & Bentick 92 from 20 games (virtually 4.5 per game for both of them). Bentick was also our number one tackler for the season. I wonder what more Bentick has to do to get some recognition. He does the hard work that you will never see the likes of Stevens, Murphy, Gibbs, Walker etc do, allowing those players to demonstrate their flair.

This is an example of why stats can be so misleading.

These stats do not illustrate how effective these first touches were, nor how he did compared to his direct opponent.

Bentick also failed to win much of the ball around the ground and his total posessions would have been way down on Carrots tally. It also does not illustrate that Carrots was often the recipient of a hard tag.

The MC voted Carrots our B&F winner while they saw it appropriate to drop Bentick for 2 games at about Rnd 17. Surely this is an indication of how the MC analyzed their comparative value last year.

agreed i reckon bentick should be part of our mid rotation; at the least on the interchange!

I really liked Waites game last night, i definately think he's the one to build the defence around. Good to see Stevens up and about selling heaps of candy which must mean his confidence is up.

Judd for Norm Smith.

I really liked Waites game last night, i definately think he's the one to build the defence around. Good to see Stevens up and about selling heaps of candy which must mean his confidence is up.

Judd for Norm Smith.

Love that saying! What the hell does it mean? Is it baulking? Stevens has this brilliant maneuver where he looks down at a tackler who is grasping for a piece of the front of his jumper and he just twinkle toes back a few inches until the tackler has lost him completely and then he takes off. He actually pulls his stomach in as he does it leaving his opponent clutching at air. It is so precise yet so clinical. Think Hoops might do it a bit too.

KB, is that you? :D

58698.jpg

I hope it wasn't a message from Harboujan.

58688.jpg

Is there a bigger w***er than Tredrea playing the game?

This is an example of why stats can be so misleading.

These stats do not illustrate how effective these first touches were, nor how he did compared to his direct opponent.

Bentick also failed to win much of the ball around the ground and his total posessions would have been way down on Carrots tally. It also does not illustrate that Carrots was often the recipient of a hard tag.

The MC voted Carrots our B&F winner while they saw it appropriate to drop Bentick for 2 games at about Rnd 17. Surely this is an indication of how the MC analyzed their comparative value last year.
When? Murphy was the one tagged while Carrazzo was rarely tagged.

There are obviously some problems with the skills and fitness at the moment, but thats not a huge concern for this time of the year. The biggest thing to come out of the game was that when Port went hard early and we went behind, we didn't drop our heads at all and came oraring back. Seems like a little bit more heart through the squad this year

Over the last 3 years that we have played you guys, every outing seems to start with us skipping out to a 4-5 goal lead only to have you claw back the margin and push on into the second quarter with good momentum. Don't know what to put it down to, but I recall it happening in previous years, as well as in the Aami game last year.

You certainly don't drop your heads most of the times you play us.

FWIW, the young player who impressed me most from your mob yesterday was Edwards. While Hampson was good up forward, most Port supporters were stunned that our clearance work continued to be good in the second half when DeLuca was in the ruck.

Over the last 3 years that we have played you guys, every outing seems to start with us skipping out to a 4-5 goal lead only to have you claw back the margin and push on into the second quarter with good momentum. Don't know what to put it down to, but I recall it happening in previous years, as well as in the Aami game last year.

FWIW, the young player who impressed me most from your mob yesterday was Edwards. While Hampson was good up forward, most Port supporters were stunned that our clearance work continued to be good in the second half when DeLuca was in the ruck.

You suggesting he's as popular at Port as his brother was at Carlton?

Maybe not quite that bad, but there's a question mark over his willingness to grit the teeth and stand his ground. Used his body well yesterday against your young ruckmen which was an improvement.
Last year he got pushed off the ball too easily a couple of times by Setanta when we played you.

Clearly forgetting our first meeting last year at The Dome.:eek:

Sure.........but Hampson has played footy for 3 years.......is the quickest at the club over 20m, and has a vertical leap second to Waite..........

Jake was good in pateches, but Hamspon, when he learns more about tap work (tapping and guiding to advantage rather than slamming the ball down) will be one of the hardest matchups in the AFL.

Who will be tall enough and quick enough to go with him?:eek:

Maybe not quite that bad, but there's a question mark over his willingness to grit the teeth and stand his ground. Used his body well yesterday against your young ruckmen which was an improvement.
Last year he got pushed off the ball too easily a couple of times by Setanta when we played you.

I have to admit, Deluca's tap work was pretty good late in the game. His around the ground work is terrible though. Looks very uncoordinated :)

When? Murphy was the one tagged while Carrazzo was rarely tagged.

yeah they never moved a hard tag on to Carrots....right........quite a few times he had massive stats up to half time and a hard tag was put on him afterwards. Go watch the last game against Melb if you have the tape. Carrots had a huge 1st qtr and Godfrey was sent to tag him.

When he started getting big stats mid season opposition coaches started to pay him respect and tag him.

I was trying to recall what happened in the first 5-10 minutes of that game, because the rest of it was a real blur. Couldn't remember if you blasted off the park from the first siren or whether we got in a couple of early goals.
From memory I think you might have kicked the first one or two, a classy Burgoyne snap seems to ring a bell, but by quarter time we were well in control, and by half time it was over.
I don't think the first goal or two could be considered "jumping us".

CARLTON vs PORT thread...