Carlton vs. St. Kilda

• Thread starter Thread starter Blue_Jazza

The couple of posts about playing tight acros HF are spot on. We disrupt Fisher and Goddard setting things up from HB, and we go along way to winning the game. These are probably the two most important matchups for mine.

Gibbs v Goddard?

The couple of posts about playing tight acros HF are spot on. We disrupt Fisher and Goddard setting things up from HB, and we go along way to winning the game. These are probably the two most important matchups for mine.

Gibbs v Goddard?

Gibbs might get Dal Santo. Use Grigg and Wiggins as defensive/lead-up HFFs on two of Fisher, Goddard and Gram.

After 10 games in a row against your boys, this is one that is no certaintity for us to win by any stretch of the imagination. I had round 3 pencilled in, but this one will be different. These long runs always come to an end, and Carlton is definitely good enough to do so. Going to be a ripper

Just thought i'd throw in my 2 cents

1. Milne just played a decent game, every chance he will go missing next week...
2. Stopping Fish/Gram/Bj off the backline is definitely important, however they run a lot through the midfield nowadays which makes them a bit more versitle.
3. Gibbs will get Milne IMO
4. The 2 match-ups that will determine the game is Max V Fev and Waite V Riewoldt - If max can stop fev it will go a long way to st kilda winning, and if waite gets on top of roo, it leaves us exposed.
5. We're minus Frase, who of course has been in no form this year, but has played a hand in all ov the recent wins
6. Who goes to Judd/Stevo/Murphy?? Baker will get Judd if he play's, but he's unfit, Blake might get Judd instead.. I think we'll send someone to Murphy, probably a dempster.

I think this one is in Carltons favour, we've had your measure for some time and the blues must be damn hungry to get a win. If we take you easy and assume you're still easy beats, we'll get flogged. Simple.

Should be a cracking game though, 60K Friday night @ the G

6. Who goes to Judd/Stevo/Murphy?? Baker will get Judd if he play's, but he's unfit, Blake might get Judd instead.. I think we'll send someone to Murphy, probably a dempster.

Agree with most of what you said... but do you mean Jason Blake? Miscellaneous in-betweener, wingman guy on Judd? I think Judd loses him in traffic all night long and dominates that match-up.

In round 3 Leigh Fisher did an unbelievable job on Judd

Agree with most of what you said... but do you mean Jason Blake? Miscellaneous in-betweener, wingman guy on Judd? I think Judd loses him in traffic all night long and dominates that match-up.

I never said Blake would do a good job on Judd :D:D

Lol, but Blake can run at least, he has the tank, and with Juddy still not runing at 400kph, Blake is a chance at running with him. You know Blake will give his all, can't deny that. We lack other options to go with the great man

In round 3 Leigh Fisher did an unbelievable job on Judd

11 weeks is a long time in footy ay... Wouldn't be surprised to see him in for this, but i highly, highly doubt it...

Has he not been playing?

Injury? With all your outs over the past month or so I can't see him being omitted unless he was injured?

Has he not been playing?

Injury? With all your outs over the past month or so I can't see him being omitted unless he was injured?

Can't remember the last game Leigh played... going back a fair few weeks IIRC

Was in horrible form, has been living it up* at Casey with Fiona

*Mediocre performances

McQualter might get the job on Judd - would be massssssive for him, but once again, like blake, he puts his all in, and sometimes those are the players who do the best work.. Although Boomber did rack up 30 odd on hm last week, lol

Oh Bakes, where art thou?

With the flooding tactics they will no doubt employ I think it's vital we have players like Stevo, Gibbs and Simmo (who can nail goals on the run from 50) crumbing across the half forward line.
Spot on Yoss, that and they move the ball quickly forward, one big key to beating the flood.

Bannister would have been good in that role a la his job on Cornes last year.

http://sportal.com.au/afl-news-display/judd-on-track-for-saints-clash-51676

According to Bomber Riley
We've been selecting from 24-25 players mainly of late, ready to play AFL football and now we're growing that with (Jordan) Bannister back and Walker back so that augurs well for the last eight weeks of the season.

Banno IS back.

I'd love to see him tag Fisher or BJ out of the game...and playing across their half back line also means he's likely to chime in with a couple of goals himself :thumbsu:

I was hoping we'd get McQualter, was quite annoyed when the Saints nabbed him.

Some might say we dodged a bullet. He can be a bit sketchy, but I still rate him. He's a goer, but I think he might get exposed by Judd.

The big question is which poor St Kilda player is gonna put his hand up to fill the space in front of Fev?

He always has eyes for the ball, but it's still a scary prospect. He goes fast, straight and hard - and protects himself in the process.

He has right of way according to the rules also, and as a defender you'd have to be thinking twice about running into his path when he's at full tilt.

I was hoping we'd get McQualter, was quite annoyed when the Saints nabbed him.

Some might say we dodged a bullet. He can be a bit sketchy, but I still rate him. He's a goer, but I think he might get exposed by Judd.

The big question is which poor St Kilda player is gonna put his hand up to fill the space in front of Fev?

He always has eyes for the ball, but it's still a scary prospect. He goes fast, straight and hard - and protects himself in the process.

He has right of way according to the rules also, and as a defender you'd have to be thinking twice about running into his path when he's at full tilt.

Death_wish_movie_poster.jpg

if the sainsts didnt have the wood over us id tip us by 40 points, seems st kilda cant kick goals for shit
prediction: blues by 30 points

60/40 our favour i rekon

playing at the G makes me swing more towards us, if it were at the other place down the road, id be less confident, keep edwards in, they'll probably underestimate him as a target up forward and double/triple team Fev, anyway, this game will tell all i rekon, if we can knock them off, we can certainly knock off port + north which almost sees us right for september, fingers crossed:thumbsu:;)

mate, we don't need to double/triple team Fev...

Maxy owns Fev!

Baker is back....Judd is his bitch

mate, we don't need to double/triple team Fev...

Maxy owns Fev!

Baker is back....Judd is his bitch

You poor slob. No need to post anything to humiliate yourself with a username like that. :o