Nice to see some other teams having to deal with injuries. If the Blues get blown away by the Pies and lose to the Bombers, top four is gone and so are their premiership hopes.

Blown away like Hawthorn? It's almost a certainty that they will lose one way or the other to Collingwood. They are even talking like they are resigned to losing i.e. Murphy's comments about "nothing to lose" etc.

They should account for the Bombers though.

How do you rate Hawks' premiership hopes up against Carlton's?

If WCE continue on their merry way, the final spot in the top 4 could come down to the clash between Hawthorn v Carlton which would make for interesting viewing- a finals like clash before the finals.

If West Coast continue to win, Carlton loses top 4 this week.

Carlton will drop at LEAST 2 more games:

- Collingwood
- Hawthorn (haven't beat Hawks since federation)
- Essendon (Essendon has a great record against them, and they coudl only grasp a draw playing Essendon with 12 fit players)

West Coast just needs to win the games they should win (which is actually borderline all of them) and They have 4th, potentially 3rd depending on percentage.

It's not just them, it's the players who come in to cover for them, Bower or Austin should cover for Jamo but Both have been injured, When Waite goes down then Carlos should come but he is also injured. It is not the problem of losing one but losing the back up that is a problem.

Yeah Carltons problem is not the injury list but the difficulty they have covering them. Collingwood have as significant injuries as Carlton do currently, Dawes, Brown, Didak, Beams, Dick but cover things better.

Its not who is out so much as the replacements. Waites a good solid KP player but no worldbeater and Jamisons breakout season is only 14 rounds old. They are good not great players but until Hendo/Watson etc come on (if they do ) the cupboard is pretty bare behind them. Bower and Austin even fully fit a very average replacements

Yeah Carltons problem is not the injury list but the difficulty they have covering them. Collingwood have as significant injuries as Carlton do currently, Dawes, Brown, Didak, Beams, Dick but cover things better.

Its not who is out so much as the replacements. Waites a good solid KP player but no worldbeater and Jamisons breakout season is only 14 rounds old. They are good not great players but until Hendo/Watson etc come on (if they do ) the cupboard is pretty bare behind them. Bower and Austin even fully fit a very average replacements

It's not that the replacements are no good. It's just that their replacements are also injured.

Don't pretend that Collingwood have it tough with injuries. Dawes and Brown are big outs. However Didak has been in shocking form and Beams and Dick are arguably not best 22

do not agree 100% with that, Jamo has been been fantastic for 3 years now, Bower was starting to show he can be a gun before he was struck down nearly 2 years ago, Hendo has had no pre season and had an op just before the season. You do not have to be a world beater you just have to be competitive, If you look at the best teams how many world beaters are there? Not many it all about being fit enough to cover Bower and Austin are still not fit, Hendo just getting fit now, Waite will be unfit when he is ready to come back in as will Jamo. If all pull there weight and can be fit then what will be will be. If you have to replace injured played with other players that are coming of long term injury's then you will have problem with structure.

Iv notice a few people mention Jamison as AA.... I don't recall him ever being named AA I may be wrong though

Thats because you either never watched him play or a just another big footy troll, any fool can see what players are playing well no matter what jumper they are wearing. Some on here are just far to stupid to admit that some players are playing well because they do not play for there team. This is something that makes me sick about big footy, Trolls should just shut the fk up and fk off. Dollars to donuts the big mouths on here would not say a peep to anyone if they ever got out from behind there keyboards.

Would definitely have been AA before his injury

His loss is huge. Then there are the guys that would have stepped up after he went down also injured.

Very true it's a problem a few teams are having, The Hawkes have Gibson playing as a FB doing a very good job but are stripped to bone to cover the many injured.

Nice to see some other teams having to deal with injuries. If the Blues get blown away by the Pies and lose to the Bombers, top four is gone and so are their premiership hopes.
To say Carlton's premiership chances are gone indicates they had a chance in the first place. Don't think so champ!

It's not that the replacements are no good. It's just that their replacements are also injured.

Don't pretend that Collingwood have it tough with injuries. Dawes and Brown are big outs. However Didak has been in shocking form and Beams and Dick are arguably not best 22
Didak has been in shocking form as he was without a pre-season and has been fighting injuries all year. When fit he is still in our best half dozen (proven by top 5 B&F finishes in past two years).

Beams finished 6th in our B&F last year (his second season) - not a bad effort for a 20yo in a premiership team. To say he's not in our best 22 is ignorant.

Always rated Dick but as we learnt with Rusling there's only so long you can carry a player on your list who can't get on the park.

You neglected to mention Jolly.

Thats because you either never watched him play or a just another big footy troll, any fool can see what players are playing well no matter what jumper they are wearing. Some on here are just far to stupid to admit that some players are playing well because they do not play for there team. This is something that makes me sick about big footy, Trolls should just shut the fk up and fk off. Dollars to donuts the big mouths on here would not say a peep to anyone if they ever got out from behind there keyboards.

Settle down sunshine.. All I was saying is I don't recall him being AA He's a good player though no doubt.

Beams came 6th in our b&f last year? He is easily best 22. Dick not so much. We have also been missing Johnson and Macaffer, both best 22, Swan struggled for weeks, and Jolly was out for 10 weeks or so. Dawes and Brown are obviously vital, and despite Didaks form, he still contributes a great deal and adds some polish.

To say Carlton's premiership chances are gone indicates they had a chance in the first place. Don't think so champ!

Didak has been in shocking form as he was without a pre-season and has been fighting injuries all year. When fit he is still in our best half dozen (proven by top 5 B&F finishes in past two years).

Beams finished 6th in our B&F last year (his second season) - not a bad effort for a 20yo in a premiership team. To say he's not in our best 22 is ignorant.

Always rated Dick but as we learnt with Rusling there's only so long you can carry a player on your list who can't get on the park.

You neglected to mention Jolly.

The point is any player small of size is much easier to cover than a KPP or Ruck (Jolly). If you had a choice for a injury you would pick a Mid/Winger player not a ruck or KPP.

Beams came 6th in our b&f last year? He is easily best 22. Dick not so much. We have also been missing Johnson and Macaffer, both best 22, Swan struggled for weeks, and Jolly was out for 10 weeks or so. Dawes and Brown are obviously vital, and despite Didaks form, he still contributes a great deal and adds some polish.

As good as Beams is and think the young man is going to be a star, he is easy to cover along with Jonson and Macaffer. Didak is x factor and could hurt in finals if he does not lift. Dawes, Brown and Jolly all need to be as fit as they can for finals. Geelong and the Pies should treat the season as a NAB cup type thing because the real season starts when the finals hit.

Collingwood havent had it tough with injuries, neither have Carlton thats my point.

Is it wise to have two old spuds in the same team? Two of the old spuds have been introduced into the team for about the first time this year in recent weeks. Choose one spud out of the two but not both is one option...or maybe pick both? What is best? who knows...?

Do we need two ruckmen in the team when Collingwood go for one ruckman and a back-up ruckman? What is the point of having a 2nd ruckman if one of them can't impact the match other than in ruck contests?

That is another question. More midfield depth needed with Carazzo out? ruckman or runner? Interesting decisions to be made....either way, Carlton can't win the match...but can at least minimise the damage with shrewd selection choices.

The point is any player small of size is much easier to cover than a KPP or Ruck (Jolly). If you had a choice for a injury you would pick a Mid/Winger player not a ruck or KPP.

Agree entirely with this, much more difficult to replace KPP than it is smalls or mid-size players. When a team has a large number of KPP out, they tend to be replaced by players who either struggle at AFL level or players who are still some years away from being developed. With the exception of Jolly and now Dawes, the Pies injuries have been mainly to smaller players. Though admittedly the depth of Collingwood and the ability of even first year players to slot into the system has been sublime, though Cam Wood showed he is still a battler.

Carlton on the other hand have had injuries to almost the entirety of their spine; much more difficult to replace. Although the prospect of a youngster playing in Jamo's place wouldn't have seemed too bad at the beginning of the season, it has proved to be damaging.

Essendon, Carlton and West Coast have been big improvers this year. However, this is because they started the season with a practically full list to choose from and plenty of players in good form.

Essendon had a few injuries to key players, teams started covering our long kick forward and then the wheels fell off.

The other two continued flying. I coped a lot of shite from a few Carlton mates but I tried to point out to them that they were a few injuries to key players away from falling into a heap. Apart from Judd, Waite and Jamison would be the two most important players for Carlton as they have no other quality KPPs. Tall fowards will kick bags against them and they will struggle to have structure up forward and this will effect Betts and Garlett too. They will also struggle to get over the oppositions press. With Collingwood employing the most experienced press I think this week will get very ugly for Carlton. I think only Richmond and Collingwood supporters will enjoy this game. I expect Essendon to beat them and even North's talls might run riot against them.

West Coast right now has an injury list of Naetes and Butler. I don't even know who they are. If they were to loss 4 key personal in the next few weeks their season will derail too. Lets see if that happens though because every year there is one team who has more luck than others with injuries and it might be West Coasts turn this year. However, regarding finals I just don't see them beating either of Collingwood or Geelong in Melbourne so I give them no chance for the premiership.

Similarly without injuries I wouldn't give Carlton a premiership chance as they have only beaten one side in the top 8 (at the time of playing) in over 32 games.

Compare this to the top two teams. In the last month or two both Collingwood and Geelong have battled on with injuries and suspensions to key players. Sure Geelong has dropped the last two games but there were highly competitive in both of them. They were surprised by Essendon but stood up to West Coast in Perth with a fair few outs. Collingwood never lost its winning ways.

Hawthorn has battled on manfully with a long injury list too. Freo has not coped so well and what I see as a potentially top 4 club probably will miss the finals due to a long injury list including key players.

Right now there is just a massive gap between the league's best, Collingwood, and the rest of us. Geelong is an aging champion team having one last hurrah. They are the only team that could possible get close to Collingwood come September.

Who know next year might be different. With the coaching debacle at Collingwood they might have a drop in form next year, Essendon might get lucky with a midfielder trade, Carlton might get lucky with a KPP trade, West Coast could continue to improve and Hawthorn and Freo's injury luck could turn. If those things happen we will have an interesting season on our hands.

However this year there is a 90% chance that Collingwood will win the flag and the other 10% belongs to Geelong. The rest of us are making up the numbers. Not many people want to face up to that.

Suprising how many good posts the last few pages have had from other clubs' supporters :thumbsu:

Carlton has good depth.....in the midfield. And Rucks.

Outside of that we are in a world of pain with tall forwards and backs. Hardly any depth, and what we did have has had a very crap injury run.

At the moment there are only 2 KPP backs on our list capable of playing AFL due to injury/age (Bower and Thornton). We have zero dedicated KPP forwards with Henderson playing back.

Our spine, quite simply, is ****ed: no full back in Jamison, our CHB in Bower hasn't really played footy for about 2 years (and has been playing forward), 2nd ruck in Hampson injured, CHF in Henderson is playing back, FF in Waite is injured.....

:mad:

Suprising how many good posts the last few pages have had from other clubs' supporters :thumbsu:

Carlton has good depth.....in the midfield. And Rucks.

Outside of that we are in a world of pain with tall forwards and backs. Hardly any depth, and what we did have has had a very crap injury run.

At the moment there are only 2 KPP backs on our list capable of playing AFL due to injury/age (Bower and Thornton). We have zero dedicated KPP forwards with Henderson playing back.

Our spine, quite simply, is ****ed: no full back in Jamison, our CHB in Bower hasn't really played footy for about 2 years (and has been playing forward), 2nd ruck in Hampson injured, CHF in Henderson is playing back, FF in Waite is injured.....

:mad:

Carlton's depth in KPP isn't brilliant but Watson and Henderson will both be players, Warnock and Hampson are good enough to hold down the ruck and allow Kreuzer to head forward if it becomes necessary. Add in the return of Waite and Jamo and those aren't half bad KPP prospects. Any team will struggle to cover the losses Carlton have experienced lately.

P.S. Can't believe my first two posts on bigfooty both defended Carlton. I'm hoping they continue to improve, however, because the prospect of beating them in a big final is tantalising indeed.

EDIT- That is providing Essendon make it to one of the big dances in 2,3,4 years time.

Essendon, Carlton and West Coast have been big improvers this year. However, this is because they started the season with a practically full list to choose from and plenty of players in good form.

I don't know if you have noticed or not but we have never had a practically full list when it comes to KPP this year.

In case you don't remember we started the year without Jamison FB, Bower CHB (Although he hasn't been near his best this year) Kruezer Ruck Henderson CHF (Hasn't come on but he is the only kp forward we have that can play at AFL level at this stage)

Waite and Warnock were our only 2 big men to start the season.

Out of all our big men none have played the whole season:

Waite - 12 games
Henderson - 6 games
Warnock - 11 games
Kruezer - 5 games (Hampson 6)
Bower - 2 games
Jamison - 11 games

If you count the 3 rucks as 2 spots they have missed a combined 8 games (15*2-(11+6+5)), the rest of our KP players have missed a combined 29 games out of 60. That is 37/90 (41%) which in simple terms means we are missing at least 2 of these guys every week. This week it was Jamison & Waite after going down early, last week it was Jamison & Bower.

You may argue that some of these guys will make very little difference because they aren't that good, some have even spent more time in the VFL then the big stuff this year (Bower/Henderson) but at the end of the day if we can get all these guys fit and firing it will make a huge difference. If any of these guys go down bar 1 of the 3 rucks we are in deep shit Jamison especially as you can build a defense around him. Our next best forward behind Waite/Henderson are untried rookies (Mitchell, Casboult) , the same can be said down back as we have no one to cover Jamison/Bower besides rookies Watson/McCarthy and undersized guys like Austin/White.

Until now we have covered these holes with high intensity football and midfield dominance, unfortunately you cannot keep up such a high level for an entire season so we will drop a few more games before we start building up again.

The first 50 metre paid against the Dogs was a joke and shouldn't have been paid. I hate the 50 metre penalty for creeping a centimetre over the line either way.

The 2nd one was there - the one where your David ? (footscray) Murphy basically went a metre over the line. That is an example when a 50 is warranted.

In the 2nd half the umpires looked to square up and wouldn't have given a free kick to Carlton even if one of our players had been punched in the jaw. Garlett and Duigan were basically forced to the ground without the ball - both at crucial times and both got no free kicks. Even the commentary team - who were obviously anti-Carlton - Healy and that ex-Collingwood bloke - noticed these ones.

Carlton's injuries are catching up with them. Having Carazzo out was a big factor. I reckon they might need a big bloke on the forward line to shore up their little forward line....but not Warnock. He does nothing other than ruck. I never thought I would say this but I will look forward to Hampson coming back. Warnock needs to be able to do more than just ruck.

If we get within 30 points of the Pies it will be a miracle. No point going to the match at the G for me. It will be game over by half time. There is nothing worse than gloating Collingwood supporters.

Yes there is mate and that is a gloating Carlton.