Also the depth issue - last week Geelong and Hawthorn played very meek opposition (much like we did today), and we played a top 5 side. If you have a third of your side out against a side similarly placed on the ladder, its going to hurt more than when you play a mediocre side out of form.

I mean come on, seriously.

Carlton will win a flag in the next 2 or 3 years.

No realistic Carlton supporters expected one this year. Though it is still a possibility.

I love this whole myth people keep trotting out about Carlton supporters claiming we would win the flag, etc etc. Where are they? No Carlton supporters in this thread have been anything other than realistic, that we are top 4 but need to prove a few extra things to challenge the top 2. This whole talk about an arrogant/delusional supporter base is something of fiction.

Many posters still wouldn't rate us even if we had won every game by 12 goals plus and be claiming 'they wont win when it counts' or some other such crap.

Also our losses have been to other top sides, is it better to lose to bottom sides? Or do you have to win 22 games to be taken seriously? Who thinks we should be going better? Many people calling us pretenders or whatnot probably predicted us to miss the 8 at the beginning of the year.

Also the depth issue - last week Geelong and Hawthorn played very meek opposition (much like we did today), and we played a top 5 side. If you have a third of your side out against a side similarly placed on the ladder, its going to hurt more than when you play a mediocre side out of form.

Exactly right mate. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Yes those super stars would have really swung the balance.

Who said they have to be superstars? They're part of our best 22 and played for the majority of the year. Do you really think having 6 sudden changes and your FB down doesn't have at least a small influence? Having a steady lineup is vital - because you always have a group of players who know the gameplan well, know everyone else's strengths/weaknesses and how they play. Replacing them with fringe players and a first gamer who aren't familiar with things with comparison to the rest of the team makes it harder. Too many changes are usually a bad thing if it means you're replacing guys from your starting 22. I'm not really surprised we lost.

Robinson in particular would have been very handy. I'm not saying we would have won with them in, I'm just saying we would have been better off. You guys played very well and deserve the win, I'm not going to use excuses like injuries or outs as an excuse. You might even knock off Geelong if you keep up this form, good luck to you.

Yes those super stars would have really swung the balance.
Who called them superstars? You cant win a game with only Superstars every week, they need to have back up somewhere. If you don't rate Robinson, Curnow and Duigan as valuable you clearly don't watch the blues, they add grunt to a side that has lacked that for the best part of 5 years and did last week. We played our worst game this year against you and the areas we were clearly lacking were KPP forward and back and a competitive ruckman. You deserved to win but you don't have to be so arrogant about it.

Who said they have to be superstars? They're part of our best 22 and played for the majority of the year. Do you really think having 6 sudden changes and your FB down doesn't have at least a small influence? Having a steady lineup is vital - because you always have a group of players who know the gameplan well, know everyone else's strengths/weaknesses and how they play. Replacing them with fringe players and a first gamer who aren't familiar with things with comparison to the rest of the team makes it harder. Too many changes are usually a bad thing if it means you're replacing guys from your starting 22. I'm not really surprised we lost.

Robinson in particular would have been very handy. I'm not saying we would have won with them in, I'm just saying we would have been better off. You guys played very well and deserve the win, I'm not going to use excuses like injuries or outs as an excuse. You might even knock off Geelong if you keep up this form, good luck to you.

Thank you for your post I understand what you are saying.

A lot of what you are saying is real hindsight stuff, though. Before the bounce, likely you still thought that you would have won relatively easily.

It is tough bringing in fringe players - we all recognise that. Truth is though that WC have had a largely unsettled backline this year with Waters out for most, Brown out completely, McKenzie out for majority and Butler in and out. WC have had to play various kids to try to cover that. Smith, Sheppard and McGinnity have had to play more than we would probably want this year. They have made their mistakes and we have had to cop that at several times throughout the year as they slowly learn. Schofield was seen as fringe at the start of the year and he often has absolute brain explosions. By throwing them in the deep end however, they eventually improve and this slowly builds depth.

Who called them superstars? You cant win a game with only Superstars every week, they need to have back up somewhere. If you don't rate Robinson, Curnow and Duigan as valuable you clearly don't watch the blues, they add grunt to a side that has lacked that for the best part of 5 years and did last week. We played our worst game this year against you and the areas we were clearly lacking were KPP forward and back and a competitive ruckman. You deserved to win but you don't have to be so arrogant about it.

Sorry - didn't intend to sound arrogant about this. Fortunately/unfortunately I know a lot of Blues supporters. My Dad even grew up in Carlton.

Before the game, I had to put up with all of them saying how the best WC could hope for would be to get within ten goals.

Then after WC actually win, all we hear is the injuries excuse (though most of these outs were well known during their pre-game gloating). You can see how this is a little annoying to hear from our perspective, right?

Thanks for the good words though and look forward to more battles in the future.

Carlton fans have been pretty modest in my opinion. Bloody hell they must be excited right now though. A few outlandish comments could be forgiven.

Dimmed somewhat because of the injury to Jamison - AA form and he's out for 4 weeks. Such a bummer, I reckon he's our most important player and someone we cannot replace. Hall and Cloke are licking their lips, we have no one to match up on them.

Sorry - didn't intend to sound arrogant about this. Fortunately/unfortunately I know a lot of Blues supporters. My Dad even grew up in Carlton.

Before the game, I had to put up with all of them saying how the best WC could hope for would be to get within ten goals.

Then after WC actually win, all we hear is the injuries excuse (though most of these outs were well known during their pre-game gloating). You can see how this is a little annoying to hear from our perspective, right?

Thanks for the good words though and look forward to more battles in the future.

Please understand that not all Carlton supporters had excuses. I for one gave credit where credit is due, and WC was simply better than us on the day and deserved the win :thumbsu:

I must admit, even i thought we would still win with those outs. I put it down to under-estimating WC and now realise how dangerous they will be come finals.

Please understand that not all Carlton supporters had excuses. I for one gave credit where credit is due, and WC was simply better than us on the day and deserved the win :thumbsu:

I must admit, even i thought we would still win with those outs. I put it down to under-estimating WC and now realise how dangerous they will be come finals.

The game confirmed to me that Worsfold is still a bloody good coach. Couldn't believe the supporters calling for his head last year. It's the nature of the beast that clubs are going to have a downer. The gameplan didn't look pretty but it's not easy to implement with an inexperienced side.

The way they set up last week was brilliant. Stopped our run better than any other side this season.

Really, how old were these fans ... kids .... 13 or 14 yrs. old ? :rolleyes:

For mine once I saw of the outs (Daigan and Hampson) on Thursday night plus no Waite or Laidlaw, I thought we might be too short in the back half against the 3-4 WC tall forwards, with Jamison having too much to do ... but I was hopeful our strong midfield might get us over the line.

Puniting wise I thought the $4.10 WC head to head was terrific value and the WC $1.90 - 26 pts was a steal.

However just before the game I read that our best two inside mids in Curnow and Robbo were out, I really started to doubt our chances of winning and then when Jamo went down early the 1st qt., I really thought that too much would be left too few and we realistically had very little chance of winning.

Of course I am writing this in hindsight but this was how I was feeling as the situation updated.

Saying all that ,WC were far too good for us and you can only play who is on the field against you.

To be a contender they are going to have to beat an opposition of higher caliber than Richmond!

You're just talking about the internal mentality of fans. In reality, to be a contender, we just have to finish top 4 with a full list and play good footy on the day. Carlton's games against top sides this year have shown well enough where that effort would place us.

Thank you for the comments.