List Mgmt. Carlton's 2018 Draft Thread II

Theres the conundrum ...until he plays at the top level the real worth won't be known. Lukosius is in the same uncertain place for us observers.
And yet I think Walsh we can already tell how he will go. Brilliantly consistently effectively wether the team is winnng or losing.

At worst Rankine will still be a sublimely skilled match-winner. I don’t see his floor being as low as some are suggesting, but his ceiling is huge. At best a top line league player.

At worst Walsh will get to the Heppell/Scully/S. Higgins level. Maybe a few years in the AA squad/team but usually in the top 20-30 mids.

I can’t recall Rioli entering any top tier conversations around draft time - was always 10-15 draft range. His highlights while exceptional aren’t as good as Rankine’s either. You’d be hard pressed to find many (maybe O’Meara’s) as good as Rankine’s.

IIRC played in the midfield for St Mary’s for didn’t spend as much time in the midfield playing for Scotch but I could be wrong.

Not concerned where Rioli was ranked compared to Rankine, more about tank and where he was playing at junior level.

While Rankine spent more time through the middle last year, others played a more prominent role this year, ahead of him. Building an AFL tank is not easy as most would think

I still see him somewhere between Daniel and Cyril (hate that I have to think of other indigenous players for this comparison), neither could play extended minutes through the middle

La Dispute this might be a worthwhile watch

Undoubtably a decent highlights package. This is school footy though, where the fitness requirements are lower and there might be 3-4 draftable players on either side, and top prospects stand out even more. Weitering kicked 16 goals from a wing as a 17 year-old (although I could be confusing that for a game for Mt Martha) and even Cam Polson dominated school footy.

Rankine’s highlights from the championship are some of the best I’ve seen.

Undoubtably a decent highlights package. This is school footy though, where the fitness requirements are lower and there might be 3-4 draftable players on either side, and top prospects stand out even more. Weitering kicked 16 goals from a wing as a 17 year-old (although I could be confusing that for a game for Mt Martha) and even Cam Polson dominated school footy.

Rankine’s highlights from the championship are some of the best I’ve seen.

Amazing highlights package, a freak of the highest order, but not a full or part time midfielder. Which is okay, because he is damaging enough as a forward, even drifting further up the ground.

I just wouldn't draft him at pick 1, but would love another high pick

Amazing highlights package, a freak of the highest order, but not a full or part time midfielder. Which is okay, because he is damaging enough as a forward, even drifting further up the ground.

I just wouldn't draft him at pick 1, but would love another high pick

Yeah - can't see Rankine being the pick at 1.

Bare minimum, there should be enough talk about Walsh that Gold Coast offer up Pick 2 or 3 plus change. Whether that's a second rounder or two, or even the 2019 Brissy first rounder, if we actually want Rankine we need to be taking full advantage of the landscape this year and getting something else back.

I think the Brissy pick would be an ideal target.
GC just end up "upgrading" their draft hand for this year, rather than losing picks.
They probably get a top end compo pick next year because AFL reasons, so they can bundle a couple of handy kids with Picks 1 and 2.
We get Rankine and a valuable pick to use in trade negotiations for an established midfielder next year.

Go into next year's draft with 4-6 and 8-10.

Carlton - Pick 1
G.Coast - 2,3,6,24,29
Adelaide - 8,13,16,21

could the 3 clubs sit down and come out with picks they are all happier with?

Carlton - 2,13
G.Coast - 1,6,8,16
Adel - 3,21,24,29

Lets assume Carlton rate Walsh and either Rankine or Luko fairly equally and they would take Walsh with 1 but only have Rankine/Luko a hair behind and would like him as well. It could be the other way around but lets put a name to it and just say it is Rankine for us and Luko that Adelaide want.

1) Carlton - we get Rankine and a shot at a good mid ie RCD/Butters/Valente/Stocker etc. Very tempting.

2) Adelaide - They get their man Lukosius but drop down to the late 20's for 2 picks instead of their nicer teen picks. Very tempting.

3) G.Coast - I just can't be comfortable if i'm GC about my Picks 2,3 and 6 because all of the guys in that range scream flight risk. To me if i'm GC i want a bit more surety and potential leadership. Imo Stewie Dew and Evans have cleared the decks and are going to try their hardest to make "a Club" with "Bloods/Storm culture". I doubt anything can work up there, but making a fair dinkum culture is the AFL's only chance of a Club working in any way up there imo and i think Dew and Evans' opinion.

So, would i prefer 2,3,6 and 2 later 20's picks, or would i prefer 1,6,8 and 16? On face value probably the former, but when i put names to it, probably the latter. Luko, Rankine and Rozee and be doubtful they'll stick around? Especially Rankine .....or

Walsh at 1, Caldwell at 6, Hately at 8 and McLennan, Valente or O'Halloran at 16. Walsh a genuine No1 and great leader. Hately a genuine No8 and great leader. Caldwell a genuine No6 and a preferred Vic Country boy for the Northern States. And either of 2 more leaders or a top half back that wants to play on the Coast.

Imo, IF deals have or are being talked through now(to be done on the night) this one is a chance. I'm in two minds whether deals will be done in the first round or not, and i'm leaning to none or only a minor one because the easiest way to lose a job with a reasonably long tenure is to stick your head out and get it wrong. But if the mindset is slightly adventurous and their personal rankings match the above then maybe there might be some action.

But if Carlton want Walsh clearly, then nothing else matters. I'm 99% sure he is our clear top pick and i'm 100% sure he is Gold Coasts top pick.

I can see 4 distinct tiers emerging for Pick 1 in my mind

1. Bailey Smith (#1 preference, standout player in the draft)
2. Sam Walsh/Izak Rankine (top end talent, fill immediate needs)
3. Jack Lukosius/Conor Rozee (top end talent, fill secondary needs)
4. Jye Caldwell (question marks, value impacted due to injury)

I’d be content with any player from the first few tiers, and had we had multiple picks any combination provided we managed to get a midfielder.

Carlton - Pick 1
G.Coast - 2,3,6,24,29
Adelaide - 8,13,16,21

Carlton - 2,13
G.Coast - 1,6,8,16
Adel - 3,21,24,29

Lets assume Carlton rate Walsh and either Rankine or Luko fairly equally and they would take Walsh with 1 but only have Rankine/Luko a hair behind and would like him as well. It could be the other way around but lets put a name to it and just say it is Rankine for us and Luko that Adelaide want.

1) Carlton - we get Rankine and a shot at a good mid ie RCD/Butters/Valente/Stocker etc. Very tempting.

2) Adelaide - They get their man Lukosius but drop down to the late 20's for 2 picks instead of their nicer teen picks. Very tempting.

3) G.Coast - I just can't be comfortable if i'm GC about my Picks 2,3 and 6 because all of the guys in that range scream flight risk. To me if i'm GC i want a bit more surety and potential leadership. Imo Stewie Dew and Evans have cleared the decks and are going to try their hardest to make "a Club" with "Bloods/Storm culture". I doubt anything can work up there, but making a fair dinkum culture is the AFL's only chance of a Club working in any way up there imo and i think Dew and Evans' opinion.

So, would i prefer 2,3,6 and 2 later 20's picks, or would i prefer 1,6,8 and 16? On face value probably the former, but when i put names to it, probably the latter. Luko, Rankine and Rozee and be doubtful they'll stick around? Especially Rankine .....or

Walsh at 1, Caldwell at 6, Hately at 8 and McLennan, Valente or O'Halloran at 16. Walsh a genuine No1 and great leader. Hately a genuine No8 and great leader. Caldwell a genuine No6 and a preferred Vic Country boy for the Northern States. And either of 2 more leaders or a top half back that wants to play on the Coast.

Imo, IF deals have or are being talked through now(to be done on the night) this one is a chance. I'm in two minds whether deals will be done in the first round or not, and i'm leaning to none or only a minor one because the easiest way to lose a job with a reasonably long tenure is to stick your head out and get it wrong. But if the mindset is slightly adventurous and their personal rankings match the above then maybe there might be some action.

But if Carlton want Walsh clearly, then nothing else matters. I'm 99% sure he is our clear top pick and i'm 100% sure he is Gold Coasts top pick.

Seems reasonably balanced for all clubs, although if I was Adelaide, I would retain current picks

Perhaps this could also happen

Carlton - 2,16
G.Coast - 1,6,8,21
Adel - 3,13,24,29

Always one to have an opinion and I know people are hanging out for my Phantom Draft especially since I have never done one before. Here it is

ROUND 1

Pick One: Carlton - Sam Walsh
Pick Two: GCS - Jack Lukosius
Pick Three: GCS - Bailey Smith
Pick Four: PA - Izak Rankine
Pick Five: St Kilda - Max King
Pick Six: GCS - Jye Caldwell
Pick Seven: WB - Jordan Clark
Pick Eight: Adelaide - Connor Rozee
Pick Nine: SYD - Nick Blakey (matching GWS bid)
Pick Ten: GWS - Ben King

Pick 11: Port - Jackson Hately
Pick 12: GWS - Chayce Jones
Pick 13: Coll - Isaac Quaynor (matching Geelong Bid)
Pick 14: Geelong - Riley Collier-Dawkins
Pick 15: Ade - Jez McLennan
Pick 16: Freo - Ely Smith
Pick 17: Port - Xavier Duursma
Pick 18: Adelaide - Ned McHenry
Pick 19: North - Taryn Thomas (matched Richmond bid)
Pick 20: Richmond - Sam Sturt
Pick 21: Brisbane - Zac Butters
Pick 22: WB - Rhylee West (matched GWS bid)
Pick 23: GWS - Liam Stocker
Pick 24: WCE - Ian Hill

Seems reasonably balanced for all clubs, although if I was Adelaide, I would retain current picks

Perhaps this could also happen

Carlton - 2,16
G.Coast - 1,6,8,21
Adel - 3,13,24,29

That is also feasible of course, but i reckon Adelaide have to pay the premium to get a Top 3 pick and not the other Clubs. Lukosius to them(and their supporters) is gold.

Always one to have an opinion and I know people are hanging out for my Phantom Draft especially since I have never done one before. Here it is

ROUND 1

Pick One: Carlton - Sam Walsh
Pick Two: GCS - Jack Lukosius
Pick Three: GCS - Bailey Smith
Pick Four: PA - Izak Rankine
Pick Five: St Kilda - Max King
Pick Six: GCS - Jye Caldwell
Pick Seven: WB - Jordan Clark
Pick Eight: Adelaide - Connor Rozee
Pick Nine: SYD - Nick Blakey (matching GWS bid)
Pick Ten: GWS - Ben King

Pick 11: Port - Jackson Hately
Pick 12: GWS - Chayce Jones
Pick 13: Coll - Isaac Quaynor (matching Geelong Bid)
Pick 14: Geelong - Riley Collier-Dawkins
Pick 15: Ade - Jez McLennan
Pick 16: Freo - Ely Smith
Pick 17: Port - Xavier Duursma
Pick 18: Adelaide - Ned McHenry
Pick 19: North - Taryn Thomas (matched Richmond bid)
Pick 20: Richmond - Sam Sturt
Pick 21: Brisbane - Zac Butters
Pick 22: WB - Rhylee West (matched GWS bid)
Pick 23: GWS - Liam Stocker
Pick 24: WCE - Ian Hill

Soap, i was also thinking of putting up my draft for shits n giggles but i've got no idea what kind of draft to put up lol

a) a phantom on current picks that i would pick if i was the recruiter for everyone.
b) a phantom on current picks that i think the recruiters will pick regarding current rumours and feelings.
c) a phantom that includes pick swaps that i would do if i was in all recruiters shoes.
d) a phantom that includes pick swaps that might happen on current rumours.

Bloody AFL lol.....the speculation is fantastic but the prediction/forecasting is a nightmare.

Theres the conundrum ...until he plays at the top level the real worth won't be known. Lukosius is in the same uncertain place for us observers.
And yet I think Walsh we can already tell how he will go. Brilliantly consistently effectively wether the team is winnng or losing.
And therein lies the problem. Just ask the Geelong Falcons & Vic Country. A 35-40 possession game from Walsh doesn't guarantee anything. A 20 possession game from Rankine invariably wins you the game. Walsh is a low impact player, whereas Rankine is a high impact player. I think far too many people get caught up in stats rather than actually going to watch them play footy.
And yet I think Walsh we can already tell how he will go.
And therein lies the other conundrum. If you can already tell how he'll go, it demonstrates how limited his upside is. There is so much more room for growth and expansion in Rankine's game than Walsh's it's insane. Imagine if you could develop him to 25-30 possessions per game within 2 years whilst retaining his impact per possession. FMD. :eek::eek::eek:.

I think far too many people here have been way too conservative with their evaluations. They're afraid of making a mistake. They're more concerned about where some kid's floor may be rather than where their ceiling is........and I think both Rankine's and Smith's ceilings are higher than Walsh's. SOS has drafted conservatively for 3 years and always raved about how good a teacher Bolton is. Now's the time for SOS to take a calculated risk and prove it.

So what's it gunna be Blue and Blue, a fried egg on toast or the smoked salmon omelette with fresh dill and drizzled with a fragrant Thai coconut, lime and sweet chilli sauce with a blood orange citrus salad off to the side???

Soap, i was also thinking of putting up my draft for shits n giggles but i've got no idea what kind of draft to put up lol

a) a phantom on current picks that i would pick if i was the recruiter for everyone.
b) a phantom on current picks that i think the recruiters will pick regarding current rumours and feelings.
c) a phantom that includes pick swaps that i would do if i was in all recruiters shoes.
d) a phantom that includes pick swaps that might happen on current rumours.

Bloody AFL lol.....the speculation is fantastic but the prediction/forecasting is a nightmare.

Anyone who does A) I take my hat off to

Carlton - Pick 1
G.Coast - 2,3,6,24,29
Adelaide - 8,13,16,21

Carlton - 2,13
G.Coast - 1,6,8,16
Adel - 3,21,24,29

Good to see some imagination at work TW. Rankine is a hard one to walk away from isn't he??? Valente, such a brilliant understanding of the game and the best leader in this draft crop by a country mile. Rankine and Jones would be a nice combo.

And therein lies the problem. Just ask the Geelong Falcons & Vic Country. A 35-40 possession game from Walsh doesn't guarantee anything. A 20 possession game from Rankine invariably wins you the game. Walsh is a low impact player, whereas Rankine is a high impact player. I think far too many people get caught up in stats rather than actually going to watch them play footy.

And therein lies the other conundrum. If you can already tell how he'll go, it demonstrates how limited his upside is. There is so much more room for growth and expansion in Rankine's game than Walsh's it's insane. Imagine if you could develop him to 25-30 possessions per game within 2 years whilst retaining his impact per possession. FMD. :eek::eek::eek:.

I think far too many people here have been way too conservative with their evaluations. They're afraid of making a mistake. They're more concerned about where some kid's floor may be rather than where their ceiling is........and I think both Rankine's and Smith's ceilings are higher than Walsh's. SOS has drafted conservatively for 3 years and always raved about how good a teacher Bolton is. Now's the time for SOS to take a calculated risk and prove it.

So what's it gunna be Blue and Blue, a fried egg on toast or the smoked salmon omelette with fresh dill and drizzled with a fragrant Thai coconut, lime and sweet chilli sauce with a blood orange citrus salad off to the side???
Hence why Collingwood are happy for DeGoey to get 15 touches playing forward rather than 30 playing in the midfield. Robbie Gray the same.
For me if we are confident with our list we go Rankine, if not (which after our worst season in 100 years or something is understandable) go Walsh

Once a suburbs boy always a suburbs boy. I'd prefer the fried eggs on toast.:)

But if we're talking Walsh or Rankine, i'd prefer either. Both genuine No1's in any draft for mine. And we have genuine need for both and everything that both bring. Lucky SOS.

Good to see some imagination at work TW. Rankine is a hard one to walk away from isn't he??? Valente, such a brilliant understanding of the game and the best leader in this draft crop by a country mile. Rankine and Jones would be a nice combo.

By all reports, our boy Jones isn't getting past Adelaide or GWS at 8,9 or 11.

Hence why Collingwood are happy for DeGoey to get 15 touches playing forward rather than 30 playing in the midfield. Robbie Gray the same.
For me if we are confident with our list we go Rankine, if not (which after our worst season in 100 years or something is understandable) go Walsh
I think Rankine will end up a 50% mid/50% forward player. Not sure he'll ever have the tank to spend most of the day on ball........and even if he did, he's so damaging as a small forward would you want to???

List Mgmt. Carlton's 2018 Draft Thread II