List Mgmt. Carlton's 2018 Draft Thread II

Interesting, the changing opinions of Polson from last year to now and how people see his progression

Predicting most, will be surprised with the final product
I agree, and if others want to know why he played up forward so much, it is because the coach likes the tackling pressure he brings to the forward line and he will stay a forward for that reason...........so leave the kid alone and let him play the way that benefits the team and his game!!! I think he showed a fair bit this season and remember he has come from a fair way back starting off with a crook shoulder before he was even drafted..........or maybe that was just another SOS diagnosis to store him away for one of our later picks..........:D

I'm not convinced that we will trade pick 1, can't see it happening.
I hope we pick up either Walsh or Lukosius.
No to Rankine - iidont care how talented he is, we don't need another Troy Menzel.
Anyone else thinking the same?

Also re. Polson - I'm a big believer in this kid, I think he is our small forward for the future.
Has the guts and the smarts, and is definitely an opportunistic player. Still adapting to the pace of AFL. Will be a very good player if he keeps his workrate up.

There were plenty of people early on that believed this would be the deal. Maybe now people are being more realistic?

Have you noticed it's always worded like Carlton are taking pick 1 to the draft and they will select Walsh, but discussions are continuing.

This is like SOS saying that it is highly likely they will keep pick 1, but they are still open to offers. Having said that it would take something pretty special.

Interesting though, there has been rumours of 5 different players that we are into.

If we take Walsh, great, if instead GC wanted Walsh and we end up picking one of Lukosius or Rankine, surely as a bare minimum, we could have traded down to pick 2 and 29?

With a day to go I believe there are 2 possible scenarios regarding Pick One.
We keep it and pick Sam Walsh
OR
we trade it for Picks 2,3,6, 24, 29 and a Snickers bar.

I would even do the latter trade without pick 2...or picks 3, 6, 24, 29.

I will shortly be joining Jarrod Pickett at Northern Blues training...

That looks much more like an accident but still remarkably freaky, but I suppose 1000 monkeys on 100 typewriters and all that.

Macca, you are really desperate for attention, may I suggest you go down to the club and outline your strategies of list management

Unless your next post is anything other than being related to footy, I will ignore it and you

Macca, you are really desperate for attention, may I suggest you go down to the club and outline your strategies of list management

Unless your next post is anything other than being related to footy, I will ignore it and you
Can you guys both stop? I'd like to see any posts not involving either of you. Thanks.

Interesting though, there has been rumours of 5 different players that we are into.

If we take Walsh, great, if instead GC wanted Walsh and we end up picking one of Lukosius or Rankine, surely as a bare minimum, we could have traded down to pick 2 and 29?
I'm a bit more selective about the rumours I listen to, but there are very good arguments for any of Walsh, Lukosius or Rankine.

GCS would be thrilled to get any of them with no need to give up a pick.

How I see it is this. You can be a good player with or without a high level of footy smarts. For instance; a player can be athletically gifted and be able to extract the ball when it is in the immediate vicinity and then use pace to burst away and get the ball forward. This type of player I have seen then have trouble being able to find the footy on a lead or be able to get out into space at the right time. So their footy IQ limits them being able to be a gun.
Alternatively you can have a player that may not have the athleticism and pace but they position themselves well in a contest for the ball to come to them, they have good awareness and always seem to step out of trouble when in tight and can chip a pass or handball to a teammate that the player on the burst wouldn’t have seen. They read the play well to know to run to space when others run to the ball and they get the sneaky one out the back. This is footy smarts or footy IQ. Superstars generally have a mix of both of these abilities but good players can have either but not both.
IMO JSOS has this and has shown it. He just lost confidence last year at times getting experience in different positions. He does have footy smarts and will be a good player.
100% agree with your summary and your assessment of JSOS. This is also why I don't want us to trade#1 because Walsh has that awareness and instinctively makes the right decision. There is no 2nd guessing and he sees the openings very quickly.

Carlton supporters TV viewing guide for Thursday November 22nd:

7 pm: 2018 AFL draft live on Foxtel/ afl.com.au

7:05 pm: Pawn Stars - 7mate
pure genius :thumbsu:

Draft night.

The night where some applaud and some bemoan our selection/s.
Nothing wrong with that, as we all build up who we feel will be the best player for the club. We all want the same thing, not necessarily the same player.

2015 seemed settled enough for Weitering with out first pick.
2016 also seemed somewhat settled for SPS with our first pick.
2017 gave us the Dow vs LDU and the Dow vs Cerra battles.
2018 has so far provided, Walsh vs Smith & Walsh vs Rankine duels. Surprised for the lack of Walsh vs Lukosius contest though.

2019? Bigger and better, but all being well we won't have a first to deal with. That would signal a good outcome, I feel.

Feel free to ignore the ones relating to footy too!

Draft night.

The night where some applaud and some bemoan our selection/s.
Nothing wrong with that, as we all build up who we feel will be the best player for the club. We all want the same thing, not necessarily the same player.

2015 seemed settled enough for Weitering with out first pick.
2016 also seemed somewhat settled for SPS with our first pick.
2017 gave us the Dow vs LDU and the Dow vs Cerra battles.
2018 has so far provided, Walsh vs Smith & Walsh vs Rankine duels. Surprised for the lack of Walsh vs Lukosius contest though.

2019? Bigger and better, but all being well we won't have a first to deal with. That would signal a good outcome, I feel.

Did I mention I would take Lukosius at pick 1 :D

Just defies belief. Given our list, where we are, the tightness of the group and McKay's undoubted talent and the fact we have put a lot into him people would happily trade him for an untried 18 year old that has already done a knee.

How would the rest of our young group feel?

Unbelievable
Agree with you 110% mate. McKay who after 15 games at over 1.5 goals a game. 200cm, crashes packs, clunks marks. Quick off the mark, agile and has great foit skills for his size... And we want to replace McJay with an unproven player (at AFL level) who based on his talent COULD be a star, but has done an ACL already and therefore is 7 times more likely to do it again or multiple times than a player who hasn’t done it. This is not to mention our list profile and the benefits of having a core group of players around a similar age growing in confidence together and instead with MKing we have to wait 3 years for him to compete at the top level if he comes on??? Man I am confused by anyone who thinks McKay out for MKing in is a good result

List Mgmt. Carlton's 2018 Draft Thread II