List Mgmt. Carlton's 2019 Draft Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Arr0w

Can't help but feel a bit down we didn't select Robertson with our second pick. Think he would have been an absolute bargain and brings those intangible qualities in spades.
I read somewhere shit disposal is no longer considered an intangible..........

Don’t get to excited Thy to us here at Big Footy you will always be irrelevant as well as extinct.😜🤪😆
preciate it, murph........

not really we basically gave up a futre 2nd pick and 3 picks in the 50s for henry which is def worth it
go read your board - 'not really' my arse..........

They didn't reneg, it was based on their player not being there and he was.
Stephens was their player. McAsey was guaranteed to be there at 6. They balked at the risk of McAsey not being there at 9 - versus what we were offering. They were more than happy to do the swap at a price.

I’m delighted with the trade down. I always thought the flaws in our previous list (2009-2012) could be traced back to the decision to refuse to trade Thornton in 2006 for three second round draft picks. We then compounded it with the trade for Judd. List depth is essential in the modern game, and we have enough top end draft picks to enable us to ease back in the order. This was the perfect year to do it.

The list is also in the perfect position to take the risk on Kemp. We can let him sit out the year, and just get himself right. That video footage of him where he just slices through about 3 or 4 opponents at half back on his way to half forward is pure pawn though. Not many other sides could have afforded to let him have the year off. It’s the perfect selection for us.

Overall, I’m feeling good about how things played out. I hope those responsible are feeling nervous about the loss of SOS.

Stocker, Kemp & Philp for Mcansey.

McAsey and GWS first 2020*

love the Kemp pick. I had him in the top 5. Would have loved Flanders and Kemp but I’m stoked just to get Kemp. Philp definitely a stretch, would have rather’d Sharp, Bianco, or Taylor. But gotta back the scouts in.

I hope clubs release the footage for live trading like what happened last yr. I think Sydney taking Stephens meant we didn’t want to trade up to 6 so we probably pulled the pin on the deal. That’s just how I read it.

It didn't take long.

They weren’t failed bids they where extra time to get our trade done, we knew both Freo and GWS would match, halfwits how come we all new what SOS was doing but the experts are oblivious to what’s going on.

I will be honest, I have had a very rough evening health wise, nearly 2 hours ago I had a really bad panic attack (thought it was a heart attack) and the fine ambos had to come check me out, i am now okay, but this draft and the players and haul SOS trawled in did really lift my spirts and helped to erase the negative/fearful thoughts that were racing through my mind.

I cannot thank Mr Silvagni and the Carlton Football Club enough, this has been another wonderful night for the club, and was the placebo I needed the most. #GratefulElmer

💙💙💙💙💙
thank god you’re okay now mate, even though we’re both babies on bigfooty ( i think you are atleast) you’re easily one of my favourite posters

Still have picks 44, 70 and 81 left for tomorrow. What are we thinking. I laughed at sos teasing everyone.

Last edited by a moderator:
i had a bad feeling we would take Kemp and once we traded down, it was only a matter of time. Its clear SOS and co obviously rate him highly and it seems good business to trade down, secure your target and pick up a bonus pick or two along the way. I can't get past pocking a guy coming off a torn ACL, with our recent injury luck with knee recess, with the recurrence of ACL tears in so many AFL players, i have serious concerns of Kemps longevity. Along with this, i don't see a spot for another 192cm midfielder, despite all this he is now a Blue, he has my support and hopefully he has a long career with us.

I do admit that i know very little about Philp, he was rated at 28 on the draft board, so picking him up at 20 isn't a huge reach, talent wise, i am concerned that with a desperate need for small/medium forwards and medium running defenders, that we picked 2 mostly inside midfielders with our first round selections, an area that we are very well stocked in and with players who fitted our needs, still available.

trading pick 55 to move up two places on the draft board was a bit of a surprise, but maybe there is a few more twist and turns tomorrow night.

Welcome to both the boys above, good luck and i hope you both have a great career at the Blues.