List Mgmt. Carlton's 2019 Draft Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Arr0w

thank god you’re okay now mate, even though we’re both babies on bigfooty you’re easily one of my favourite posters

Appreciate it man :)

Really looking to forward to Brodie Kemp, I have a really positive feeling he will end up being a top 5 player in this draft class, provided his knee holds up :)

i had a bad feeling we would take Kemp and once we traded down, it was only a matter of time. Its clear SOS and co obviously rate him highly and it seems good business to trade down, secure your target and pick up a bonus pick or two along the way. I can't get past pocking a guy coming off a torn ACL, with our recent injury luck with knee recess, with the recurrence of ACL tears in so many AFL players, i have serious concerns of Kemps longevity. Along with this, i don't see a spot for another 192cm midfielder, despite all this he is now a Blue, he has my support and hopefully he has a long career with us.

I do admit that i know very little about Philp, he was rated at 28 on the draft board, so picking him up at 20 isn't a huge reach, talent wise, i am concerned that with a desperate need for small/medium forwards and medium running defenders, that we picked 2 mostly inside midfielders with our first round selections, an area that we are very well stocked in and with players who fitted our needs, still available.

Welcome to both the boys above, good luck and i hope you both have a great career at the Blues.
can get lucky and pick up a small forward late in the draft and rookie draft, just have faith we pick up our very own papley

I can't even remember the last draft where there wasn't value on the board at 50-70. We need a ruck, we need role players. I wonder if we'll target Nick Bryan at our next pick?

Additionally, I would have been happy to trade down into a range for Jeremy Sharp and boosted our 4th pick up the order.
Would be happy if we took Callum Jamison with one of our picks if still on the board, really has some upside as a developing ruck.

Great article and great work finding it, based on that GWS could look pretty silly in a couple of years compared to us having done exactly what the article warns against, looks like SOS went to the Bill Balachek school of drafting and thank goodness he did.
GWS and GC are the exception to the rule...they’re playing a different game on draft night to the rest of the league.

I will be honest, I have had a very rough evening health wise, nearly 2 hours ago I had a really bad panic attack (thought it was a heart attack) and the fine ambos had to come check me out, i am now okay, but this draft and the players and haul SOS trawled in did really lift my spirts and helped to erase the negative/fearful thoughts that were racing through my mind.

I cannot thank Mr Silvagni and the Carlton Football Club enough, this has been another wonderful night for the club, and was the placebo I needed the most. #GratefulElmer

💙💙💙💙💙
Mate, Kemp and Cripps are gonna kick opposition midfield arse. Think about that. Noice ha?

Appreciate it man :)

Really looking to forward to Brodie Kemp, I have a really positive feeling he will end up being a top 5 player in this draft class, provided his knee holds up :)
very exciting that our first pick in the draft won’t most likely play a game in his first year ( can’t remember the last time that happened) shows we have proper depth now, thylacine60 in fact, isn’t there a thread for depth somewhere on this board?

Really happy with our efforts tonight.
Clearly had a plan to trade up (would love to know who of Stephens or Young we were targeting), which didn’t pan out.
Once Freo drafted the 2 players we would have taken we did what other teams seemed reluctant to do and bid on the academy boys.
We then decided to trade down, and eventually got our man in a steal at 17.
Know much less about Philp, but seeing SOS so adamant in the war room makes me confident he’s the right choice.
Overall a fantastic night.
Wouldn’t put it past SOS to pull another rabbit out of the hat tomorrow, and still (hopefully) Martin to come on Friday morning.

Yeah SOS didn’t look happy for a while there when he was talking with Teague but then the big smile came on the dial when we locked in Philp.

can get lucky and pick up a small forward late in the draft and rookie draft, just have faith we pick up our very own papley

It will be interesting to see who we target, my biggest issue with Kemp is his knee and size, i was surprised we picked 2 mids but in all honesty, i wanted Robertson, who was higher rated than both of the two we picked.
Im excited to see what unfolds tomorrow night and hopefully we fill some needs.

Damn it you gave them an extra n and we got nothing back.
stocker should develop into a better player then mcasey, then we add kemp who should be a good player for us at worse and then philp who by the looks of it who could become anything, on paper we absolutely reamed adelaide

It will be interesting to see who we target, my biggest issue with Kemp is his knee and size, i was surprised we picked 2 mids but in all honesty, i wanted Robertson, who was higher rated than both of the two we picked.
Im excited to see what unfolds tomorrow night and hopefully we fill some needs.
thing is all of the afl recruiters don’t rate robertson in the first round. really happy we recruited for the future

They weren’t failed bids they where extra time to get our trade done, we knew both Freo and GWS would match, halfwits how come we all new what SOS was doing but the experts are oblivious to what’s going on.
And they are kids that would have added to the list quality.

i had a bad feeling we would take Kemp and once we traded down, it was only a matter of time. Its clear SOS and co obviously rate him highly and it seems good business to trade down, secure your target and pick up a bonus pick or two along the way. I can't get past pocking a guy coming off a torn ACL, with our recent injury luck with knee recess, with the recurrence of ACL tears in so many AFL players, i have serious concerns of Kemps longevity. Along with this, i don't see a spot for another 192cm midfielder, despite all this he is now a Blue, he has my support and hopefully he has a long career with us.

I do admit that i know very little about Philp, he was rated at 28 on the draft board, so picking him up at 20 isn't a huge reach, talent wise, i am concerned that with a desperate need for small/medium forwards and medium running defenders, that we picked 2 mostly inside midfielders with our first round selections, an area that we are very well stocked in and with players who fitted our needs, still available.

trading pick 55 to move up two places on the draft board was a bit of a surprise, but maybe there is a few more twist and turns tomorrow night.

Welcome to both the boys above, good luck and i hope you both have a great career at the Blues.

On Philp, the upside is really obvious for everyone to see. He's a yard quicker over 20m than pretty much every other midfielder in the draft. His combine was sensational:
  • 1st in 20m sprint test recording 2.867 seconds (think Jack Petrucelle quick)
  • Equal 5th vertical jump recording 69cm
  • Equal 5th on yo-yo test recording 21.5
Most importantly, he knows how to win his own ball and was racking up some decent numbers in the NAB league.

He's a real point of difference player. No doubt his draft combine results made him rocket up the draft board.

Mate, Kemp and Cripps are gonna kick opposition midfield arse. Think about that. Noice ha?

Spot on. Apparently Kemp has Bont like potential to do damage on the scoreboard too, which is makes me deliriously happy :)

Wowzers, that is really decent of you friend :)

Thank you
No worries at all. I went through my fair share of health concerns a couple of years ago, including a heart attack. I learned that while the small things in life, like footy, are great, health is way more important. It allows you to be with and enjoy the important people in your life.

Well said, I think I also need to start getting healthy myself (lose weight, cut out junk food etc)

I am very glad you're okay from your health scare pal.

Great viewing.

He looks genuinely excited.
Great interview, if we let him get away we are the dumbest club in history, screw Liddle he can take a long walk off a very short pier if he wants to mess with my man SOS we can not afford to let the best in the business go.

Anyone got a list of players that got injured in there draft yr or didn't play much footy in there first yr
ie J Selwood, N Riewoldt, P Cripps that turned at to be guns just as reassurance to those having meltdown over taking Kemp

Got to be happy with that nights work from SOS and the team, a 2 for 1 deal.

Can’t have too many first rounders on your list and we’ve added two more to a huge number already. Kemp can get himself right and Philp can work on his game in the twos to begin with no pressure. We add another former pick 1 on Friday hopefully!

we are starting to build GWS type first round pick depth and it allows us more than anything to have good players missing out on senior football in the near futur

It gives us flexibility with trading of players for other players or high picks ... a sustained success model that sets up for a prolonged period of Stability onfield. Hopefully a number of looks at top four and premierships over the next 8-10 years.

This has been an amazing rebuild and I think that many clubs will use this as a blueprint (Pardon the pun) moving forward, Sos will be in high demand!