List Mgmt. Carlton's 2019 Draft Thread

No doubt I will end up with egg on my face, but I agree with the Anderson call. I have not seen his best games it seems, as he does not scream top 2 player for me.
He’s erratic I reckon. Not a strong enough body for mine. Nice hands. Kicking up and down. Nice burst. He just isn’t a clear #2 imo. Sits with the rest of the players up the top. Not stand alone #2. Just for mine.

That last game in the champs, he dominated playing in the midfield. This kid is a serious talent and Fremantle are super lucky to get him for a free hit.
I reckon he has sufficient endurance running talent. When trained up in an AFL environment he will shine.

Agree and disagree with Arrow on the relevance of his draft placement. If a bid comes before 7 on him (which on talent I think it should) then it forces Freo to use their pick on him.

Before watching a number of his games I had not know where he would be bid on. Now I think if he gets to us then we should call Freo and ask for a pick swap and a second rounder. There’s no way do they not take that deal.

I am interested in some predictions of undervalued or bargain prospects.

I was going to ask the board for suggestions before TerryWallet read my mind with one of his posts (see below, moved from Pick 9 thread)

So, I put this out to the board. Who are your player crushes? Who do you think will go top 10 but could be the best player in the draft? Which are the players that you don't think are getting the love and attention they deserve? What players do you think will slide and would be worth trading into the draft to select?

Arr0w - I know you love Rivers as an elite prospect but is generally rated in the 15-20 range. Got any more?

Paging LemmingMaster, Eiffel 65, Coona Blues, Jimmae, mediumsizered, The Smoking Gun and any other keen draft watchers I've missed.
I’ll throw in my 2 cents worth,
Best player in draft: I think Flanders might turn into one of the best from this draft has the short powerful legs and long body that gives him great power and balance, can play forward really well but will mainly develop as a mid that switches forward, has a bit of Stevie J about him and think he can have an immediate impact as a half forward.

Not getting the love they deserve: There’s a few here obviously Dylan Williams who should be the highest ranked forward in the draft pool but for obvious reasons has slipped down the order, Kossie Pickett is very under valued imo and has some attributes that lead me to believe he could be an elite small forward that can go into the middle for short bursts ala Cyril Rioli, has the best hands in the draft again just my opinion.

Sliders worth trading in for: Obviously the aforementioned Dylan Williams is probably the big one, Cooper Stephens will be a bargain if he keeps sliding, especially if he goes out the other end of the second round, will be an absolute steal, could easily be the Worpel of this years draft and I would be happy for SOS to trade in for either of these 2.

My crush would have to be Kossie Pickett just love the way he moves and those hands are elite, great decision maker and quick decision maker that knows exactly where his team mates are when he takes possession, great understanding of what the right thing to do is whether to hold the ball, tap on, kick, handball just plain footy smart. Will be an elite small forward that excels at goal assists and just being an absolute little ripper, would benefit heaps by playing and learning from the best in the business in our one and only Eddie Betts who is and always will be my main footy crush, better better Betts.

That last game in the champs, he dominated playing in the midfield. This kid is a serious talent and Fremantle are super lucky to get him for a free hit.
We should make them earn it, place a bid or make a call about trading to get into the second round to get Pickett. Freo board think we will bid.

Perhaps Bergman. I’m going to watch him more closely. Had intensity that I love in footballers. Stay tuned.
I like Bergman as well but his injury history at such a young age worries me, had stress fractures in both feet and now has a case of shin splints can’t seem to stay out there for any descent amount of time, I hope I’m wrong because he has an abundance of talent as a forward or pushing into the midfield/wing, definitely one to watch if he can stay on the park.

I also think Anderson is a bit overrated. But only in an overall draft class, not this draft class. I think he is a plausible No.2 in this draft albeit not a standout No.2 in this draft.

In saying that, as a comparison i think last years draft had 8 genuine No.1 or 2 picks. I think this draft has about 1 genuine No.3 Pick and then about 10 genuine No.6 to 18 Picks.
And his value is inflated due to the Rowell connection which GC are hoping alleviates the flight risk for Rowell. I hope we can prize Rowell out of there in a year or two!

No doubt I will end up with egg on my face, but I agree with the Anderson call. I have not seen his best games it seems, as he does not scream top 2 player for me.
I actually think Rowell and Anderson are both over rated, think Gold Coast have gone way to early if they really are going to take them at 1 & 2, don’t think either will be rated top 5 from this draft in the future, especially after being stuck on the Gold Coast for at least 2 years.

I'm going to have to dig up more footage of Flanders, because all I see is a kid who sprays a lot of kicks trying to do it all coming out of the stoppage with the footy in his hands.

Kicks as often as he gets a contested possession... not a smart trait for a contested midfielder.

Best player in draft: I think Flanders might turn into one of the best from this draft has the short powerful legs and long body that gives him great power and balance, can play forward really well but will mainly develop as a mid that switches forward, has a bit of Stevie J about him and think he can have an immediate impact as a half forward.

Not getting the love they deserve: There’s a few here obviously Dylan Williams who should be the highest ranked forward in the draft pool but for obvious reasons has slipped down the order, Kossie Pickett is very under valued imo and has some attributes that lead me to believe he could be an elite small forward that can go into the middle for short bursts ala Cyril Rioli, has the best hands in the draft again just my opinion.

Sliders worth trading in for: Obviously the aforementioned Dylan Williams is probably the big one, Cooper Stephens will be a bargain if he keeps sliding, especially if he goes out the other end of the second round, will be an absolute steal, could easily be the Worpel of this years draft and I would be happy for SOS to trade in for either of these 2.

My crush would have to be Kossie Pickett just love the way he moves and those hands are elite, great decision maker and quick decision maker that knows exactly where his team mates are when he takes possession, great understanding of what the right thing to do is whether to hold the ball, tap on, kick, handball just plain footy smart. Will be an elite small forward that excels at goal assists and just being an absolute little ripper, would benefit heaps by playing and learning from the best in the business in our one and only Eddie Betts who is and always will be my main footy crush, better better Betts.

Picketts balance is terrific.

Surely Adelaide are all over him. Losing betts, and having picks 23, 28, 37. How can they go past this SA boy.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

I am interested in some predictions of undervalued or bargain prospects.

I was going to ask the board for suggestions before TerryWallet read my mind with one of his posts (see below, moved from Pick 9 thread)

So, I put this out to the board. Who are your player crushes? Who do you think will go top 10 but could be the best player in the draft? Which are the players that you don't think are getting the love and attention they deserve? What players do you think will slide and would be worth trading into the draft to select?

Arr0w - I know you love Rivers as an elite prospect but is generally rated in the 15-20 range. Got any more?

Paging LemmingMaster, Eiffel 65, Coona Blues, Jimmae, mediumsizered, The Smoking Gun and any other keen draft watchers I've missed.
I certainly think the sky is the limit for Dylan Williams & I would be quite happy to use our Pick 9 on him if he is still available. With some hard work I could see him developing into a very good midfielder.

Sam Philp is one I have mentioned a few times on here who seems to have mostly flown under the radar. He knows how to find the ball & improved his skill level as this year progressed. He turned out some good numbers in a couple of the disciplines at the Draft Combine.

A bit of a smoky from the Western Jets who was overlooked in last year's drafts & doesn't seem to have rated a mention this year is Daly Andrews. I saw him play on a wing & spend some time in the midfield this season & he averaged 22 disposals, 5 tackles & 6 clearances per game. He is quick, has a good kick & what I like about him is he looks to have good strength through his core. He played some games in the VFL with Williamstown this season, so is not without experience playing against mature bodies. Ultimately I think he is a kid whose game might develop to the next level in an AFL environment.

I like Bergman as well but his injury history at such a young age worries me, had stress fractures in both feet and now has a case of shin splints can’t seem to stay out there for any descent amount of time, I hope I’m wrong because he has an abundance of talent as a forward or pushing into the midfield/wing, definitely one to watch if he can stay on the park.
These are common teenage issues that I’d expect to resolve. Just his kicking remains the big issue for mine.

Since that plan A this year was to trade our picks for mature talent, are there any mature agers worth having a punt on in this years draft with one or more of our later picks? I've seen Luke Partington's name thrown around a bit but admittedly I don't know much about him.

it honestly wouldn’t surprise me if in 5 years we are sitting here talking about any of Kemp, Flanders or Anderson being in the absolute elite of the comp. All have the traits that it is imaginable. It also wouldn’t surprise me if a couple are busts and I think that’s why this draft is so difficult to rate.
Rowell for me is suffering in the same way Walsh was this time last year. Like Walsh I don’t think he will probably end up the best player in the draft but bloody hell you would love to be getting him.

Not sure why, but I have created a consensus phantom draft.

I combined multiple phantom drafts (9 so far) and then ranked players on their average selection.

Here are the top 60 results:

1572313915072.png

Nerdy stuff
  • I've included phantoms from Knightmare, Pie 4 Life, eDPS, Chris25, Davo-27, Fooxfooty (Bishop?), Cal Twomey and our very own TerryWallet and LemmingMaster
    • I will update as more phantoms are released and/or updated. If you want me to include your phantom, add it to this thread or PM me
  • Yellow selections represent Carlton's current picks
  • Most drafts are Power Rankings (rated best to worst) but some are Phantoms (where players might go)
  • Some drafts run to top 30, some 40, and at max 50.
  • Where a player has missed out on a draft, I have added an arbitrary 25% weighting. Eg not selected in a top 50? You could be that person's 51st or 101st. I have no way of knowing, so my spreadsheet puts you down at 62.5 (50 * 1.25). The penalty for missing a top 50 is deliberately worse than missing a top 30.
  • I would have liked to use median, but that got tricky when players missed out on drafts so used average
  • I will share the spreadsheet in time, but 1) I am still tweaking it 2) Can't use google docs at work

Not sure why, but I have created a consensus phantom draft.

I combined multiple phantom drafts (9 so far) and then ranked players on their average selection.

Here are the top 60 results:

View attachment 771552

Nerdy stuff
  • I've included phantoms from Knightmare, Pie 4 Life, eDPS, Chris25, Davo-27, Fooxfooty (Bishop?), Cal Twomey and our very own TerryWallet and LemmingMaster
    • I will update as more phantoms are released and/or updated. If you want me to include your phantom, add it to this thread or PM me
  • Yellow selections represent Carlton's current picks
  • Most drafts are Power Rankings (rated best to worst) but some are Phantoms (where players might go)
  • Some drafts run to top 30, some 40, and at max 50. TW - I've got 25 from you, would love another 5!
  • Where a player has missed out on a draft, I have added an arbitrary 25% weighting. Eg not selected in a top 50? You could be that person's 51st or 101st. I have no way of knowing, so my spreadsheet puts you down at 62.5 (50 * 1.25).
  • I would have liked to use median, but that got tricky when players missed out on drafts so used average
  • I will share the spreadsheet in time, but 1) I am still tweaking it 2) Can't use google docs at work
Great work!
Stephen's would be a great draft selection for us, but I'll happily take any of the top 9 that you've listed :D

If we did that mooted trade with Gold Coast (where I assume we'd give up pick 57), and we felt at least one of Gould, Jackson or Kemp would be in range of the first pick (currently 15), I'd do it.

That gives us the ability to get someone like Sharp as well.

I'm pretty sure GC are targeting Gould with their 3rd Pick. They are probably trying to get up a few spots to make sure of him(maybe above Port at 12).

Maybe their current 15 might be good enough though. Goulds testing may not hurt him but it probably didn't help him.

I think Gould is a good fit for them with his ability, ready to go strength and his mateship with Luko, Izak and McLellan.

I'm pretty sure GC are targeting Gould with their 3rd Pick. They are probably trying to get up a few spots to make sure of him(maybe above Port at 12).

Maybe their current 15 might be good enough though. Goulds testing may not hurt him but it probably didn't help him.

I think Gould is a good fit for them with his ability, ready to go strength and his mateship with Luko, Izak and McLellan.
I think Gould is a terrible fit for them because they'll try and make him into a key defender. Kid was a state-level sprinter and needs to get lean.

I think he could be an incredible inside mid in the right environment, and I'd be happy to take the chance on him at 15 if others look over him. I assume Kemp will be gone for similar reasons, but if they both are, I'd be more than happy with Luke Jackson.

Picketts balance is terrific.

Surely Adelaide are all over him. Losing betts, and having picks 23, 28, 37. How can they go past this SA boy.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app
I’m hoping against hope that they are happy with McAdam and Stengle and have other priorities in mind for those picks in the twenties and with luck we can get a pick in the early 30s or late 20s to swoop on the young man.

List Mgmt. Carlton's 2019 Draft Thread