List Mgmt. Carlton's 2019 Draft Thread

Finbar is a popular name in Ireland,it's the same as Sam or Jack over here. In my working life i've known 3 Finbars.

3 Finbars, huh?

7% of our list are Jacks
11% of our list are Sams

Just saying....

:)

Michael Jezz

Jan 30, 2007
collingwood
I am so pumped after the draft. The best I have felt about our future since 1992. I mean getting Judd in 2008 was porn but we never had the overall list. It is a question of development and coaching now. Recruiting will be easier because we will target role players for later picks. If our young mids develop, we only need 1 A grade mature mid. I know the next 2 seasons will be up and down and even the first 2 games will be a real barometer. The dogs have beaten richmond 4 out of the last 5 times. I am unbelievably positive. This is different, I can feel it in my guts

Stamos

Mar 30, 2010
If our young mids develop, we only need 1 A grade mature mid

We might not even need that.
Another year into Walsh, Setterfield, Dow, Fisher, O'Brien, Stocker, Kennedy (and that's assuming Samo plays back), it might be completely unnecessary (and poor list management) to chase a high-priced senior mid.

Reckon we'll go after Papley again. We'll need to replace Betts.

windows1

Sep 8, 2018
Finbar was a longshot, but if you can't take an occasional longshot that your recruiter sees something in with a Pick 70, then what can you do. The Finbar selection was fine. If he makes it, he makes it. If he doesn't, he doesn't.

Stephen Wells just picked an unknown kid with Pick 41.

I'm sure everyone is right behind Finbar to have a career at Carlton...even if we have a bit o fun with his unusual name and bolt from the blue status. Can be worse positions to be than the cult figure guy at a club. Levi's made a bloody 11 year career of it.
I just think if we had to go there it should have been a rookie call. But maybe I should let it go.

Stamos

Mar 30, 2010
I just think if we had to go there it should have been a rookie call. But maybe I should let it go.

If we had have taken him as a rookie, and had wanted to cut him already, we’d just be replacing him with our 3rd rookie of the draft. And given how undeveloped he was a year ago, there’s really not a lot of point taking him on for only a single year, especially given how he seems to have developed his body in the last 12 months.

Who knows if he will make it? But all picks in the 70s are speculative, so yeah, probably best to let it go.

TerryWallet The Smoking Gun Arr0w LemmingMaster as our avid U18 watchers I’m really interested in your post draft thoughts (if you don’t mind) on the Philp selection/Robertson non-selection at that pick.

Personally I would have taken Robertson 10/10 times (plus a few others) over Philp, but this is where the pro’s earn their money and you have to trust your draft board.

That speed of Philp really is something though, cant wait to see him in a professional program.
While I'm not going to disagree with you on the non-selection of Robertson, I don't have a problem with us taking Philp.

There's a bit of Cripps about him in the way he applies himself to his training. Philp has never been the most naturally gifted athlete or talented player. His diligence and discipline to continuously work on his weaknesses is what's lead him to this point. A lot of kids can cruise through underage footy, but this kid has had work for it and has thoroughly deserved the improvement in performance he's been able to achieve. It is for these reasons that I'm confident Philp will succeed where many more fancied draftees will fail.

Sheephead

Nov 23, 2009
In a good paddock
Got NFI where to post this, so I’ll chuck it in here.
Was out walking yesterday in an old guernsey. Pulled up to watch a bit of local cricket near some others. Bloke says to me -‘Dan Murphy hasn’t sponsored the club for a while mate’. We struck up a conversation where he introduced himself as an ex-employee if the club. I’m not going to name him, but verified who he was and that he still has a lot of contacts within the club. He tells me that Stephens/Young/Serong we’re our 3 targets inside the Top 10 in that order. We were always confident Kemp would slide but if he went then Cooper Stephens was the next target. The kid we took 2nd pick was always a target, but there was a lot of chatter so they thought they’d pounce early as he had the attributes they wanted. Didn’t rate Robertson much nor Rivers when I asked. Says our 3rd guy isn’t a bad get and Honey is a great project.

Leaves me with. ‘Walsh is right. Setters will be an absolute gun and don’t sleep on Kennedy.’

Another year into Walsh, Setterfield, Dow, Fisher, O'Brien, Stocker, Kennedy (and that's assuming Samo plays back), it might be completely unnecessary (and poor list management) to chase a high-priced senior mid.

Peeps, I found Soapy!

:p

I'm giving SOS a Knightmaresque F- for the trade period.

No DeathRide to enjoy next year. Especially no CrowBot DeathRide.

BOOOOOO to you SOS.

I find it's really easy to hate on the crows...even without a pick swap ;)

I also feel that we'll be over that must-have mature mid by end of next year.
If Setterfield and Stocker can give Cripps a run for his money in the midfield, we may have a good platform to launch from and set our sights for more important needs next year.
I may regret saying this but I can't tell you how glad I am that we didn't acquire Wines....even if Liddle did want him.

The kid we took 2nd pick was always a target, but there was a lot of chatter so they thought they’d pounce early as he had the attributes they wanted. Didn’t rate Robertson much nor Rivers when I asked. Says our 3rd guy isn’t a bad get and Honey is a great project.

One has to be looking for reasons to make the squad better by way of specific and unique attributes.
Robertson and Rivers would not have made us better, other than for adding some 'safe' depth. Not the way to do things, given the talent we already have.

I'm glad and somewhat surprised for the way we went about this draft as it would have been easier selecting those safer options.
Funny how so many across this forum suggested that had have we taken Kemp & Robertson, they would have given us a higher rating........as if that's what we needed. :) A higher rating from Knightmare & Twomey?

Sep 16, 2014
Argyle Victoria
Ophidian Old Boys
I find it's really easy to hate on the crows...even without a pick swap ;)
Richmond supporters have jumped to no1 wth a bullet and will be there until after round one is over.

Tim H

Sep 23, 2006
Home

Whitfield then Papley in that order should be our prioritys next year.

FitzroyBlueBagger

Sep 30, 2018
Fitzroy
Now that all of the drafts are done and dusted, time for some analysis. There was actually so much drama for us at this draft, I've never seen anything like it. Makes the Stocker trade look tame.

Missing out on 3 main targets (Young/Stephens/Serong) and failed Adelaide trade

Was a fan of Stephens but those **** pesky Swans threw a spanner in the works again by taking him. Sounds like Freo took our other favourites which was annoying. I was happy with Kemp even at Pick 9 so kind of glad the Adelaide deal fell through. I honestly don't understand how those moronic Crows thought SOS was going to hand over a first rounder to move up 3 spots. They would have got McCasey at Pick 9-11 anyway so not sure what they were thinking, their loss.

Trade with GC eventually selecting Kemp & Philp

What a trade and balls of steel shown by SOS. Didn't rate Flanders highly (I agree), used the academy bids to give him more time to wheel and deal, got Pick 17 & 22. Picked Kemp who somehow stayed on the board. I am extremely happy with Brodie, IMO would have been Pick 3-4 if not for his ACL. If he gets himself right, he has the ability to become a star. Jumped infront of the Tiges to secure Philp, kid was relatively unknown (by mainstream fans/media) but looks to have huge upside. In my mind, he is our rawer/cheaper version of Dylan Stephens that we missed in the first round. The only "what if" here is the Deven Roberston non-selection. Reckon this kid will be a solid AFL player and make some recruiters look silly for letting him slide that far. Not a super high ceiling but a known quantity, perfect for the Lions. I am however comfortable taking Philp ahead of Robertson, he adds speed to our future midfield. I think Robertson is a similar type to what we already have with Setterfield and Stocker and less of a need, plus potential flight risk with his uncle being an Eagles legend.

Later selections including Rookie Drafts

Not going to say I had heard much about these guys until we read their names out. Looking at highlights and stats, they seem to all have potential. Ramsay looks a handy player and the stats he had toward the end of year are right up there. Honey and Phillips look to have the tools to make it, albeit need a few years to build up their bodies (Phillips in particular).

Jack Martin PSD

To get him for free is a huge win and SOS should be applauded for the result. Not only did we get our man for free, but SOS would have had a tough job to keep Jack keen on us and only us all the way through. Will slot in nicely on our half-forwardline, which is where we lacked a bit last year.

Implications on List Build & Future Strategy

Think we now have depth in many areas of the ground. There will be serious pressure for spots in the next few years which is very good. I thought last year we were light on for three types of players:

1) Small/Half-forwards- The way Teague implements his game plan, our small forwards play higher up the ground to make space, counter-attack and hit the scoreboard on occasion. Last year we had a multitude of players playing this role including Cunners, Gibbons, Setterfield, Fisher, Dow, Lang, Gibbons, even Kennedy at times. Some of these guys were playing out of position and some should be pushed out of the best 22 with more competition. This offseason we partly addressed these needs with Martin and Betts. We tried to get Papley who would have been massive. Hopefully Betts can be a stop-gap until we get Papley next year. If that happens, we will be dangerous.

2) Midfield- We need to give more help to Cripps at the contest and we need more speed in our midfield. Another years development into Setterfield, Stocker, Walsh and Dow should be great for clearance-work. If we can snare Wines next year, then we will have well and truly addressed this need. We added both speedy and contested mids at the draft but these guys may take a few years to really make an impact at AFL level.

3) Small/Half-backs- IMO we need rebounding half-backs who are clean with good disposal and defensive skills to replace Daisy and eventually Simmo. We should be ok for this year with Docherty and Willo hopefully back from injury and SPS playing more time back there. Newman was a revelation last year. We may need one or two more next year though. We had a crack at Hayden Young who would have fit the bill but it wasn't to be.

SOS

The guy is a legend and has given us the talent and the backbone we have missed for 20 years. Would be a massive to lose him, which sounds inevitable. The club would be negligent if it didn't move heaven and earth for SOS to stay. I wouldn't care if we cleaned out the other staff who clash with him. If it wasn't for SOS, we may have been stuck with Brandon **** Ellis as our star recruit. We wouldn't have Stocker, Cunners, SPS, Fisher who knows if we would have Walsh, Weiters. Cripps may have left by now etc. Thanks SOS for everything.

Whether or not he leaves, I pray we get access to the vision of SOS trying to trade with Adelaide and then his bidding strategy/trade with GC. It would be absolute gold footage. Unfortunately I feel it would be heavily edited by the AFL/Carlton even if we got access.
Great post👍 agree with just about everything you said but personally i don't believe we need to get Wines in to support Crippa out i think we have the players in Setterfield Jack Dow Stocker Cuningham Ed who will do the job.

Kemp longer term, then Walsh and Martin can hold their own when going through there mixed in with our lighter running types Fisher Gibbons Murphy and SPS, as good as Wines is i just don't think we will need him with these kids hopefully taking their games up next level.

Of course this is still very speculative atm maybe looking through the blue coloured glasses a little, time will tell...

Antagonising Blues score with draft bolter

From -
Screen Shot 2019-12-01 at 10.42.11 am.png

Aug 26, 2004
CHANEL BOUTIQUE!
"Goddess"
How Stephen Silvagni manufactured one of the greatest pick swaps in recent draft history ...

In what may be SOS’ final draft as Carlton’s List Manager, Silvagni instigated yet another magnificent pick swap after popularising the notion a year earlier with his trade for Liam Stocker.
In that trade, Carlton traded their 2019 First Round Draft Pick in exchange for 2018’s Pick 19 as well as Adelaide’s 2019 First Round Draft Pick. In doing so, Carlton acquired Sandringham Dragon and Haileybury College graduate Liam Stocker, in what has now proved to be a blockbuster trade for the Blues.

Effectively, this deal allowed Carlton to trade Pick 6 in this year’s draft (Fischer McAsey) for Liam Stocker, Pick 17 (Brodie Kemp) and Pick 20 (Sam Philp). Whilst this work from Stephen Silvagni has been heavily scrutinised by cynics, this is what I call a brilliant deal! Carlton legitimately traded 1 first-round draft pick for 3.

Leaves me with. ‘Walsh is right. Setters will be an absolute gun and don’t sleep on Kennedy.’
Can someone explain in simple languge even a horse can understand what 'don't sleep on Kennedy', means? Giant whoosh for me.
Thanks.