Carrara

• Thread starter Thread starter zajicrow

Don't worry, I'm sure Luke could've handled himself.

Well..... maybe :p

I was worried I'd have to protect him from his own supporter group at one stage! ;):D

But seriously, it is a concern. If it ever happened it would be dreadful. Alcohol and male bravado at the footy are never a good mix!

Storm in a teacup.

I think society is getting a little precious with stuff like player safety. I blame Monica Seles. Or at the very least, the bloke that stabbed her. Fair enough if they were being disruptive in the crowd, but jumping out on the ground and signalling a goal is harmless fun.

It would have been the bad news Brisbane Bears back then but I also fund that story funny. Pity Robert Walls has told that story on more than the one occasion.

The merger didn’t occur until 1996 and Robert Walls was sacked in 1995 (never coached the Brisbane Lions)

300pxbrisbanebearskl3.png
he wasn't sacked, he got a better offer from richmond (funilly enough, john northey who was coaching richmond at the time got the gig at brisbane)

Just to be pedantic he annouced he was leaving The Bears well before the season was finished, and when Northey was still safe in the Richmond job as he had them heading towards the finals for the first time in ages.

Storm in a teacup.

I think society is getting a little precious with stuff like player safety. I blame Monica Seles. Or at the very least, the bloke that stabbed her. Fair enough if they were being disruptive in the crowd, but jumping out on the ground and signalling a goal is harmless fun.

So you wouldn't mind if one of these clowns jumped the fence and tackled Welsh or Stiffy? They were jumping the fence as a "dare" - yes I know good old fashioned immaturity at it's best! And we all know that harmless fun is fine until someone gets hurt!

Yes, I would mind if that happened. I'm just saying it's a bit melodramatic to say that just because some people are jumping the fence and signalling a goal leads to one of our players being tackled. Also, it depends on what sort of game Welsh is having. I almost ran out and tackled him after Daniel Bell chased him down in the goal square the other week. :D ;)

Hehe, funny you speak of immaturity. A certain revered member of our community famous for his yellow jacket dared me to do this at the MCG the other week. I honestly would do it if he was happy to take the $6000 fine. :p

Are you always a drama queen?!

I mean seriously, THIS is exactly what is wrong with today's society. An innocent little thing gets blown out of all proportions and there a millions of what ifs. What if he had 4 kgs of plastic explosives strapped on him? Where do the what ifs stop?!

It was a bit of harmless fun that was never going to get out of hand yet you continually try to make a mountain out of a mole hill.

Are you always a drama queen?!

I mean seriously, THIS is exactly what is wrong with today's society. An innocent little thing gets blown out of all proportions and there a millions of what ifs. What if he had 4 kgs of plastic explosives strapped on him? Where do the what ifs stop?!

It was a bit of harmless fun that was never going to get out of hand yet you continually try to make a mountain out of a mole hill.

I take it from your defensive stance, this is the something you and your mates would get up to for a lark? ;)

You weren't there, you don't know how they were behaving. I was. Nuff said.

I take it from your defensive stance, this is the something you and your mates would get up to for a lark? ;)

You weren't there, you don't know how they were behaving. I was. Nuff said.
No actually I am not but this stance you are taking is quite robotic. So the lads had a bit of fun BIG deal! Did they actually hurt anyone? Was there ANY indication that they would do what you suggested? Obviously no because if there was, they would have done it!

I am just sick and tired of goody do gooders who expect people to be robots in this day and age. I am pretty sure you would have got up to some things in your youth than you would find unacceptable for your kids but when people get older they look upon it with resentment.

Give the kids a break. They went there to have a bit of fun. So they acted up a bit, big deal! They didn't hurt anyone, they didn't harm anyone and neither did they think of doing it because if they did, they would have done it since there was apparently no security.

Just sit back and relax a bit and stop taking the high ground here. You would have done things at least on par as those kids when you were their age.

Carrara is a great ground to watch footy at We had seats in the east stand section 9. The shuttle buses were a lot worse than AAMI though, the wait after the game was a little long. Travelled with mates and made a weekend of it with a three night stay in surfers which was fantastic. Only ever been there for family holidays before so saw some diffent sights. Ocean was 21 degrees and great to swim in, although the locals were complaining it was cold.

Only bad thing was hearing that the roosters upset the eagles before our flight back.

No actually I am not but this stance you are taking is quite robotic. So the lads had a bit of fun BIG deal! Did they actually hurt anyone? Was there ANY indication that they would do what you suggested? Obviously no because if there was, they would have done it!

I am just sick and tired of goody do gooders who expect people to be robots in this day and age. I am pretty sure you would have got up to some things in your youth than you would find unacceptable for your kids but when people get older they look upon it with resentment.

Give the kids a break. They went there to have a bit of fun. So they acted up a bit, big deal! They didn't hurt anyone, they didn't harm anyone and neither did they think of doing it because if they did, they would have done it since there was apparently no security.

Just sit back and relax a bit and stop taking the high ground here. You would have done things at least on par as those kids when you were their age.

Give the "kids" a break? They weren't KIDS they were very drunk young men who were obnoxious - more interested in their daring escapades than the footy. I don't expect them to sit on their hands and stay sober, but I do expect them to respect others around them (ie. the young kids).

When I was "their" age I still always respected the feelings of those around me. And THAT is the difference today - nobody gives a stuff about anyone else but themselves and how good a time THEY can have even if it's at other people's expense.

My concern isn't that they jumped the fence...in fact if that was all they did I wouldn't have said anything about it. My main concern is the potential for problems because they were able to do it so easily AND were so intoxicated - not a great combination. It has happened in other sports many times before (soccer, tennis to name a couple) so don't be so naive to think it won't ever happen in ours.

Oh that was when they were the Bears ! Hardly counts! LOL

Our recent form (ie. last two years) has been excellent in Queensland. Couple of the lads after the Brissie game said they felt like they "were on holiday" up here - having brekky in the sun by the river! It certainly is agreeing with them at the moment!

As for the FOOLS signalling goals in the last quarter :mad: - that was up the end where we were standing and the security was essentially non-existant. Finally security marched one of them away only to have him return 5 minutes later and do it again!
fools?

That was brillaint, what was the big deal? The bloke was obviously getting ready for heritage round.

Try reading the rest of the posts to gain the general gist of it.
alright fair enough, I just finished reading it.

I was just a bit shocked someone would takr this approach. Lets not go over board, it was a bit of harmless fun. Maybe they should of held their tongue a little bit but to be fair, in your initial post you did not mention anything about the swearing, you just commented on the "fools" signalling a goal. It was only when people challenged your point that you elaborated.

You are boring jenny. Stop being so boring please.

Oh what a "wowzer" I must seem to all you youngens. ;)

Sorry to bore you, gloss over my posts as clearly somebody my age could not possibly know what's going on in the world.

It might surprise you to know I party pretty hard for an old bird (possibly harder than some of you young whipper snappers)! And I am probably louder at the footy than most of you!:p (ie. I'd fit right in to Bay 114!) AND I can do it all without getting up other peoples noses! :eek:

But credit given where it's due, at least ya said please!