Hamburger

Eagles
Not everyones favourite player.....well, maybe no ones favourite player.
However, IMO I can see Trent spending a fair bit of time on the paddock for the Eagles this year.
The retirement of McIntosh, and the faltering development of the younger talls, and the injury to Glass (I note the AFL site says today he is not expected back until round 5). If that is the case, then Carroll will most certainly be playing in the first 4 rounds, even if Staker is both fít and picked. Thereafter, even if Staker can hold down FB, and Glass CHB, I can see Carroll on the third tall.
IMO Carroll is not actually that bad..... he can mark, and has a long and accurate kick. And he is a mobile tall, quite quick and agile.
The problems are undisciplined play....eg free kicks, and poor decision making under pressure.
Time will tell this season whether he can improve his performance in these areas. If he can, he might just surprise a few people.

I personally prefer Collica as the third tall. Carroll, while not awesome, can hold his own and has, but still shouldnt be in our best 22 IMO. Its just something about him, if hes picked, gets near the ball i feel VERY nervous.

Originally posted by Hamburger
The problems are undisciplined play....eg free kicks, and poor decision making under pressure.
Time will tell this season whether he can improve his performance in these areas. If he can, he might just surprise a few people.

Because of the above and because I do not think you can improve on poor decision making under pressure I would like to use three words to elequantly describe how I feel about this.

NO F...ING WAY

Thank you....

I had been assuming that if Trent Carroll was fit, he would play until Glass came back as he is the back-up FB.

He cops a lot, but he's really just an average player, there is worse running around.

Whether he is the third tall or not as the season goes on I don't know.

I'd say Jakovich and Hunter would be the best chances for that role.

He is OK, a stop-gap measure who will do a job but won't take the club forward. He is a fair negator and spoiler but doesn't provide much else - he isn't overly quick, he doesn't provide much drive or make good decisions and gives away far too many freekicks. The bottom line is he won't get any better and he is in the last year of his contract. But with our injuries, he'll be given every opportunity to prove he deserves to stay on the list.

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
I don't know why you bloke bag Trent all the time. I reckon he is pretty good.

Is it just the fact that he is an Ex Docker?

I gotta agree with that. He's not in the class of an AA fullback, and he never will be spectacular, but he isn't the dud he is made out to be.

Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes
I gotta agree with that. He's not in the class of an AA fullback, and he never will be spectacular, but he isn't the dud he is made out to be.

You always need to have those players that are there but never receive the accolades. How many people off the top of their head could name the 6 Backline players from the 92 and 94 Grand Final? We always remember Players like McIntosh, McKenna, Worsfold and Jakovich but what of the others. Trents new nickname should be Trent (Quiet Achiever ) Carroll.

Originally posted by West Coast Stre
You always need to have those players that are there but never receive the accolades. How many people off the top of their head could name the 6 Backline players from the 92 and 94 Grand Final? We always remember Players like McIntosh, McKenna, Worsfold and Jakovich but what of the others. Trents new nickname should be Trent (Quiet Achiever ) Carroll.

Uh Waterman, White, Hart and Brennan ?

I'd say the majority of dedicated Eagles fans would know those names.

Monkey Brennan was one of the leagues best full-backs in a time when the likes of Lockett and Dunstall were dominating. Ash McIntosh wasn't our full-back in our priemership sides, this admittedly is something people forget.

David Hart and Mitch White (admittedly as a forward) were AA representatives at their best.

Chris Waterman was a key member of the priemership teams, could play back, forward and in the middle very well.

They are also far better players than Trent Carroll will EVER be. ;)

But my point is, I don't think Trent Carroll is good enough to be a member of a top line defense. He just isn't good enough in my book. Honest player but he wouldn't go anywhere near a game in a top quality defensive unit.

I know more than a few Dockers fans who would hope you are taking the **** there...

I've got nothing major against the guy, I must admit. But then again, I'm this board's biggest fan of Josh Wooden so my sanity is already in question!

When Carroll was with us, it felt like he gave away more free kicks than got kicks himself. And many of those were 50m penalties. Atleast he's cut his hair.

He tries hard, you got to give him that.

Just in case anyone is looking for a bit of light relief, here is what people were saying way back once upon a time when Carroll was recruited-

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=5886

I particularly like this quote from Sabre-
"I was bitterly disapointed to see freo delist Carrol, and now even more saddened to see him go to the eagles.
Anyway Carrol is a great pick.Tall, strong and agile full back.Just what the doctor ordered to replace Macintosh."

Hmm.

I suppose the thing which depresses me about Carroll is that funny as the above quote looks now, in theory, there isn't actually lot wrong with him physically- he's sorta tall, sorta quick, and a sorta strong. That should make him a sorta good key defender, shouldn't it?

Against that, however is ranged the fact that he's lacks focus, is a **** decision maker, gives away a lot of silly free kicks, and just plain can't defend very well- given the fact that he isn't actually that slow over 5-10m, it makes it all the more confusing as to why he is frequently led to the ball by his man.

You could watch his game for several weeks and not spot anything which he obviously needs to work on, the way you can say that Glass needs to get stronger, or that Rowan Jones needs to improve his kicking, or Munro needs to bulk up or whatever, but the fact remains that at the end of the day, you can generally rely on his opponent getting at least 3 goals or so. The thing which tore it for me was watching him get carted by Sav Rocca when we played the Kangas last year- it was absolutely pelting down, the ball was soaked and it was slippery underfoot- if there was ever a day where you'd expect a tall, heavily built full forward to struggle, that would be it- but with Carroll on him, Rocca was dominating, and for no appreciable reason- he wasn't taking speccy pack marks, or launching cunningly timed or lightning fast leads to the ball, Sav was just ambling towards the incoming ball in no great hurry, continually getting there in enough time to take an easy chest mark, despite Carroll killing himself trying to shut down the leads. You look at that and you can't say Carroll was too weak, or too slow, or even that he lacked ticker or had a poor attitude- it was just that he was Not Very Good.

His best games are along the lines of him breaking even with the guy he is on in the absolute best case scenario, so unless he changes as a player its hard to see him being a part of this side long term, other than through dire necessity. He's been there too long for us to have any hope of him turning it around now.
[Note: The last time i bagged a player of ours this much, it was the end of 2002 and his name was Andrew Embley. If Trent wants to repeat history and make me look like an idiot again.. I would really really really really like that. Really really!]

Originally posted by Mead
The thing which tore it for me was watching him get carted by Sav Rocca when we played the Kangas last year- it was absolutely pelting down, the ball was soaked and it was slippery underfoot- if there was ever a day where you'd expect a tall, heavily built full forward to struggle, that would be it

I was going to reference the same game ... Personally, I'd prefer to see Lynch, Hunter, Staker and Jako get a run in a key defensive post at this stage of the season then Carroll. Then eventually Gaspar and Glass. Something like ...

B. Wirrpunda Hunter Green
HB. Staker Jakovich Collica

The thing is, we've seen Carroll get beaten time and time again and I just can't see him getting better. At least we could give the Hulk a run and see if he could do better.

Having said all that, I'd expect the selectors to continue going with Trent until Glass is back. Just seems to be a fav amongst our committee

rant over

thegur

Carroll is the average guy every team has. He only really plays when first teamers go down so I fully expect him to play every game until Glass returns. However I believe our third tall will more than likely fall to Jako, Hunter or Collica before Carroll.

Oh and I dont think he is that bad...just average.

Originally posted by Kenny_01
When Carroll was with us, it felt like he gave away more free kicks than got kicks himself. And many of those were 50m penalties. Atleast he's cut his hair.

you obviously havent seen his new haircut - its a hybrid bogan mohawk

Originally posted by Kenny_01

That is true ... I suppose that's why initally it made it hard to really think he's *****e, because he is a go-er who can get quite physical, which is not a bad thing, it's a good thing (for you DDP fans, I know you are out there) ... but when it comes down to it, he very rarely breaks even, which is what we should set our lowest expectations on for defenders.

thegur

Carroll is also the type of player every club NEEDS a few of. Content that he is on an AFL list so not likely to either drive the club for more money as much nor look elsewhere for the big bucks quite so readily. When he plays, although i feel nervous, he does absolutely 100% give his best. Thats all we can ask of him. when he is on song hes a decent defender.

I see Trent as the guy who gets assigned the second best forward, glass getting the best. at the moment guys like hunter and collica are stretched for height when playing on the bigger forwards. staker looks to be able to take that roll but he would still be a bit small for some of the stronger blokes.

Here are the height and heights of our defenders from the west coast site*.

Carroll H: 192 W:90
Collica H: 184 W:85
Glass H: 192 W:97
Green H: 186 W:84
Hunter H:190 W:81
Jakovich H:193 W:102
Lynch H:193 W:104
Staker H:194 W:87

Gaspar H: 197 W:91 Gaspar is a forward people. I'm sticking by this one.

Glass, Carroll and Staker are defiantly the best we've got with if you take into body shape and speed.

I'd love for him to step up this year (as i'm sure we all would) and take a spot in our top 22.

* i don't know how old these weights are. apparently peter matera still plays for us.

Originally posted by noodle

Thats what they said about McIntosh when he first started. Gaspar would have to be the best option in the backline bar none.

i agree but gaspar is our BEST option for CHF unless somebody new stands up this year. the few games that he has played he played bloody well in that position.

we have both glass and staker (or carroll) as options in the backline while up forward we have McDougall and.....

some new guys might present themselves as KPPs this year but at this stage I would like to see Gaspar fit and at CHF.

up forward we have McDougall and.....
Early indications suggest Johnson has stepped up to fill a forward role. We also have Hansen who played well last year at CHF for the Black Ducks and who was also looking good until his shoulder injury.

Nothing would please me more than seeing a fit Gaspar playing in any position but I still feel our biggest need is in the back half.

i guess time will tell. i'd rather see him up forward but that's not for me to decide.

I see Trent as the guy who gets assigned the second best forward, glass getting the best. at the moment guys like hunter and collica are stretched for height when playing on the bigger forwards. staker looks to be able to take that roll but he would still be a bit small for some of the stronger blokes.

Here are the height and heights of our defenders from the west coast site*.

Carroll H: 192 W:90
Collica H: 184 W:85
Glass H: 192 W:97
Green H: 186 W:84
Hunter H:190 W:81
Jakovich H:193 W:102
Lynch H:193 W:104
Staker H:194 W:87

Glass, Carroll and Staker are defiantly the best we've got with if you take into body shape and speed.

I'd love for him to step up this year (as i'm sure we all would) and take a spot in our top 22.

* i don't know how old these weights are. apparently peter matera still plays for us.

are yiou sure glass is 97 kg ?? - id be very surprised

Is it just the fact that he is an Ex Docker?

It's because he is football DUMB, always has been and always will be. His brother is exactly the same.