Axcellence
- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- St Kilda
- Other Teams
- Surprise!
He played... and was good in patches. His best was around the goals, as well.

BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Round 6
The Golden Ticket - Corporate tickets, functions, Open Air Boxes at the Adelaide Oval, ENGIE, Gabba, MCG, Marvel, Optus & People First Stadiums. Corporate Suites at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
Soccer Notice Image
FA Cup Semi-Finals ⚽ 2026 FIFA Series A - Socceroos friendlies ⚽ Europa - Rd of 16 ⚽ The Matildas x 2026 Womens Asia Cup ⚽ Conference League - KNOCKOUTS! ⚽ Conference League - Rd of 16 ⚽ Socceroos Internat'l Friendlies ⚽ Champs League - League Phase ⚽
Funny Sandringham tried 3 Melbourne listed players on him Mark Jamar 198 cms no goals,John Meesen 196 no goalsand Trent Zoomar 200 cms 1 goal.I'm not seeing the same thing in Silvagni. He's steady and reads the play OK, but for his pace he isn't tall enough and his kicking is pretty average. Can't see him getting picked up. Wall is dominating down back, and he was delisted by the Saints.
Funny Sandringham tried 3 Melbourne listed players on him Mark Jamar 198 cms no goals,John Meesen 196 no goalsand Trent Zoomar 200 cms 1 goal.
So height is no problem. Max. Hudghton is 191.As far is pace he would leave Max. standing.
BEST:
Coburg Tigers: Carrick Carnell Schulz Graham Silvester Keogh
Casey Scorpions: Milne Silvagni Rix Panozza Birss Dal Santo
Yep, whoever wrote the report disagreed though. They are a hard to please bunch over at saintsational, but I'm guessing Dal just had to turn up to get in the best sort of thingPeople who went said over at saintsational that he had an ordinary game.![]()
Yep, whoever wrote the report disagreed though. They are a hard to please bunch over at saintsational, but I'm guessing Dal just had to turn up to get in the best sort of thing
Casey Scorpions - 2.2 5.3 8.5 14.7 - 91
Sandringham Zebras - 3.2 4.4 6.11 8.11 - 59
Casey Scorpions Goal Kickers: J. Allen 4, M. Rix 2, D. Armitage 2, L. Fisher, E. Panozza, B. Howard, A. Parker, K. Matthews, B. Waite
Best Players: D. Armitage, A. Silvagni, M. Rix, K. Matthews, E. Panozza, J. Allen
SandringhamGoal Kickers: A. Biddlecombe 2, S. Valenti 2, R. Crowe, T. Dean, S. Buckley, T. Zomer
Best Players: A. Biddlecombe, D. Bell, S. Valenti, P. Summers, K. Cheney, R. Crowe
HMC - did you see Haretuku (I did not notice him)? Any idea on who No.65 was (tall gangly left footer)?
Saw the second half.
Dal didn't get much of it, but did a few good things. Got smashed by the umpire (got drilled into turf without the ball in one play and laid a ripper tackle after the ruckman took him on and dropped it cold).
Milney was everywhere in the last quarter and set up play and kicked goals. They seemed to rotate him between wing (didn't suit him) and the pocket.
Rix got 3 goals whilst I was there, but found it hard to jump in the mud.
Silvagni - best footy I've seen from him. Very assured. Starting to change my mind on him as a prospect for AFL.
Miles was pretty good.
Birss's kicking was not his usual standard, and looked frustrated.
Jack Steven was OK in patches.
Raph played CHF. You'd say he played well but a few bloopers thrown in.
Leigh Fisher was solid.
Fiora got heaps of it and wasted most of them.
Eljay was there (out of sling) and watching his brother who played very well. Not sure why he can't get a gig at AFL.
Howard tried hard, but didn't get much of it.
Did I miss anyone?
Dal Santo had a heavy tag on him the entire game - he never really managed to shake him off and definitely had one of his weaker games. The weather of course did not suit him, but I was disappointed. In my opinion, he was defintely not amongst the best.
Milne started a bit slow, but ended with four goals and a lot of hard running all over the ground - his opponent was even smaller than him. I thought that, contrary to Dal Santo, he got the message that he needs to prove his spot and showed his determination to get back into the team with hard running and a few good tackles.
Rix was really good - disadvantaged by the heavy ground (and he took a hard hit in the second), he was everywhere, taking marks, scoring goals. I really don't know what else he has to do get a real chance with the Saints over a few games with reasonable game time.
Birss was contantly rotated off the ground and was not happy with it (at some stage, clearly annoyed, asking the bench "what does he want ?"). But I love his enthusiasm when he is off, he doesn't just sit down, he will comment on the game and will yell instructions all over the ground. I can't quite understand his inclusion into the best either.
L Fisher was solid, gosh he is a hard runner. Had a great run towards the end of the game with a smart push of the ball over his opponent which led to a goal.
I thought that Raph Clarke had a good game as half forward with a few goals, but he is always good for a clanger (and dropped a mark right on front of goal in the last minutes). He appeared a lot more confident that he does with the Saints, but needs to concentrate harder for the entire game (the skills are undoubtedly there, but he was lazy at times).
Fiora did not have a great game, but, in my opinion, was not as bad as Squizzy made him sound like (great smother late in the game).
I did notice the other St Kilda players too much, but I agree that Silvagni was very good.
There were quite a few St Kilda players at the ground (including the obviously very proud Allen, Eddy and McEvoy).
So, to the two of you: if you were the coach and you'd dropped Dal because he wasn't hard enough at it, would you put him back in this week?
Yes.
- He was dropped as the highest profile representative of the "soft group". Dropping him sent a clear message to the entire team and I would assume that the team got the message. Other main members of that "soft group" certainly did like Montagna who sacrificed his normal attacking stats for a defensive role keeping Bell quiet and having eight tackles on the way (but I thought that he was close to giving Riewoldt a spontaneous hug when Riewoldt ran back to mark in the goal square ahead of Montagna and Bell late in the fourth quarter), Gram who must have already received a last warning after the Brisbane game und who apparently was on the receiving end of a few strong words when called to the bench on Friday night and Milne who was great on Sunday, running all day and having a felt fifty or so tackles.
- He is still one of our best players and possibly the most talented (someone posted the other day that if he had Blakes heart and attitude, he would be a superstar with at least one Brownlow to his name). Lyon finally took a tough decision, but he has made his point and there is no need to take more risks by not playing someone as good as Dal Santo.
- While St Kilda finally showed enthusiasm and spirit, there were some with a less impressive performance who may be omitted from a winning team that, in his words, did what Lyon wanted them to do. I hope that he does not drop the youngsters (the new kids - Geary is almost part of the establishment compared to McEvoy, Eddy and Allen). They were part of a spirited performance and have played well. No need to destroy their new confidence by dropping them again after just one game.
- Dal Santo was disappointing (in my opinion) on Sunday because you would expect a player of his calibre to excel in the VFL with a 40+ disposals game. But I have to consider of course that he has not played with that team before (you saw him running into nowhere a few times, annoyed that he did not get the ball on the way) and Casey did not bother to change their game plan just for him. And, as I said, he had a very heavy tag always close to the boundaries of the games rules (St Kilda should keep that fellow in mind, he looked a bit like a young Baker - someone you can only like if he plays for your team). He did not show the same desire to impress as Milne and was not as good as many would have expected him against weaker opposition, but he did not just sook in the corner either.