Casey Scorpions Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter CHBench

If he could be half as good as Max, take him in an instance. We need a decent backman to fill in when Max retires.

Cant say shit cos Ive never seen them play, but from all reports he sounds decent.

Good to see Armo and Stevo BOG and 2nd BOG for Casey. Surely Jack's gotta get a game!

Found some more info on him. :thumbsu:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
KEY DEFENDERS - FULL BACKS - CENTRE HALF BACKS
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ALEX SILVAGNI
191cm FB/CHB
Casey Scorpions
-----------------
Has been making a name for himself at Casey Fields, playing on and beating some of the power forwards in the second best comp in the country
PROS: - 2nd efforts
- 1%
- Reads play well
- Pace
CONS: - non to speak off
PREDICTION: could be a smoky in the draft as some clubs (Essendon in particular) are looking for developed backmen. seems the perfect fit. is already 22 and developed.

yeh well weve seen with harry taylor of geelong that mature age recruits are very decent as they can step right in and perform as they are developed and have been playing for a while and certainly arnt as raw as 18 yr olds. Def worth a crack spesh as we really have no genuine depth at full back or chb really when maxy or goose are out we use blake and sammy fisher and sammy much better as that running role and blake the 3rd best forward at least.

We should definetly have a go at him.. Maxy is not getting any younger and his legs are just about stuffed and Goose's leg is well let say not perfect by any strech so get him in there.. He is still young enough..

"is already 22 and developed."
im pretty sure hes only 20 liked what i saw against sandringham early on in the year would be handy if melbourne picked him up we need all the help we can get

Found some more info on him. :thumbsu:

He's not particularly quick, but reads the play well (sometimes half forward flankers can get confused). Good leap.

Dunno about second best comp going around, cause SA flogged us!!! Silvagni did not make the Vic team.

He's not particularly quick, but reads the play well (sometimes half forward flankers can get confused). Good leap.

Dunno about second best comp going around, cause SA flogged us!!! Silvagni did not make the Vic team.
Thats OK , If it was and AFL state of origin Max would not make the team either. Maybe thats why they lost.:D

"is already 22 and developed."
im pretty sure hes only 20 liked what i saw against sandringham early on in the year would be handy if melbourne picked him up we need all the help we can get
Alex Silvagni born 10/87 Height 192 cm weight 92 kg These are 2006 stats. has developed since then playing strong defensive football kept Dawes goaless this year against Collingwood VFL

Just got the Berwick Star report on the last game.
Said that:
Ferguson was OK in defence ( replacing Silvagny) but made two errors that ended up with shots at goal. Also snuck forward to kick a goal.
The Clarke brothers and Birss were listed as "influential" but apparently Xavier missed three shots at goal in the last quarter. Need more confidence?
Mc Evoy did some good play to set up two goals before half time.

Just got the Berwick Star report on the last game.
Said that:
Ferguson was OK in defence ( replacing Silvagny) but made two errors that ended up with shots at goal. Also snuck forward to kick a goal.
The Clarke brothers and Birss were listed as "influential" but apparently Xavier missed three shots at goal in the last quarter. Need more confidence?
Mc Evoy did some good play to set up two goals before half time.

Thanks SS. Lack of reports on the Scorpions each week is amazing.

My man X has never been a good kick for goal.

Good to see Macca getting back into it, as he is (imo) critical for us next year as a forward.

Thanks SS. Lack of reports on the Scorpions each week is amazing.

My man X has never been a good kick for goal.

Good to see Macca getting back into it, as he is (imo) critical for us next year as a forward.
As a FORWARD Squizz? I thought he was meant to be the great hope for the ruck?

Sorry mate - he's a long way off having an impact as a ruckman. Played a fair bit forward in U/18.

We need the presence to take the load off Kosi and Roo - been a big part of our problems this year with Ferguson, Raph, Chucky, Gardi, and Woody Allen all tried without success.

Fergie and Chucky may not survive the end of season review, and whilst there are still hopes for Allen we need another target desperately.

Part of the problem, with Lenny, X, Ball, and Jones in the midfield, all shonky kicks. Luckily Jones and Ball are improving.

Don't know why we persist with selecting Ferguson though. After 6 years he has done a fair job of covering for a VFL player who has never been selected for AFL, and seems to play similar positions at a similar position to Jared Allen. Maybe he will be staying with the Scorps next year.

Round 18
scorplogo.png
frankston.jpg

Casey
vs
Frankston

Sunday 17th August
Seniors: 2pm
Reserves: 11:10

At Frankston Park!

Seniors 2.00pm

B: Taylor Silvagni L Fisher
HB: Geary Rix Gwilt
C: Matthews Birss X Clarke
HF: R Clarke Allen Dunne
F: C Gardiner McEvoy Ferguson
R: M Gardiner Armitage Schneider
Int: Chivers Mohr Ferguson
Wall Panozza Howard
Garrubba Miles :thumbsu: O'Bryan McGrath Waite Parker

Radio Here

Qtr by Qtr Scores Here

And for next week. :thumbsu:
Please note that the round 19 clash between Casey and the Coburg Tigers has been shifted to Saturday the 23rd of August at 1:10pm for the seniors and 10:00am for the reserves, this is due to the seniors game now being the ABC Match of the round, and therefore broadcast on Channel 2!

2008 VFL Seniors
Frankston 1.1 5.9 7.9 10.10 (70)
Casey Scorpions 8.3 9.4 13.8 16.10 (106)

GOALS:
Frankston: Berry 3 Dore 2 Lourey 2 Proctor Kennedy Limbach
Casey Scorpions: Allen 3 Clarke 3 Dunne 2 Matthews 2 Fisher 2 Garrubba Parker Armitage Howard

BEST:
Frankston: Gabriel Lourey Raso Berry Dunne Magner
Casey Scorpions: Birss Clarke Wall Taylor Allen O'Bryan

REPORTED PLAYERS:
Frankston: NIL
Casey Scorpions: NIL

2008 VFL Reserves
Frankston 4.3 7.4 11.6 16.9 (105)
Casey Scorpions 0.2 2.6 7.9 9.12 (66)

GOALS:
Frankston: Clark 7 Barker 2 Comben 2 Collie 2 Whelan Willis White
Casey Scorpions: MacLeod 3 Fraser 2 McGrath 2 Attenborough 2

BEST:
Frankston: Stone Gill Willis Collie Rebeschini Clark
Casey Scorpions: Mercoulia Haretuku MacLeod McGrath Attenborough Fraser

REPORTED PLAYERS:
Frankston: nil
Casey Scorpions: nil

They did not even take Birss over to Perth ?

You really have to feel for him - and I have the utmost respect for him for providing a BOG performance despite all that.

Now that's the spirit !

What is the go with Birss. He isnt that old or hopeless is he?

I reckon he's up on top of the rough treatment ladder next to Armitage.

Thoughts?

He did not really deserve to be dropped at the time.

He had several BOG performances for Casey and has never given up trying and continues to recommend himself for selection for the Saints.

I have to admit that I don't really know how he's doing at training, but he does appear to be in a league of his own as to being unlucky !