2nds Casey Thread 2013

• Thread starter Thread starter Tulip

All he had to do was not heck up and he would have been drafted. He couldn do it...

Let me guess. Fev to full forward?
we have plenty of full forwards.

what did he do wrong at Essendon? i generally don't know

we have plenty of full forwards.

what did he do wrong at Essendon? i generally don't know
That's just it. He did nothing. He is as I said a dickhead.

Can he change. You bet ya. Ca he play? You bet ya. Do we have strong leaders and a strong culture? No. Should we take a massive risk (assuming he is a first round selection)? No.

I wouldn't be taking him with a first rounder especially when we are probably going to have pick 2, I just find it strange that no club picked him up at all, surely he has a better chance at making an AFL career than the guy picked last in the rookie draft. Personally I think our first 2 picks should be hard ball wining midfielders but if he's available at our 3rd pick i would consider him.

You hit the nail on the head. He, whilst very talented, was passed over by every single club with every single pick. That tells you how far back he's coming from.

Can play and I'm not against him all together, but needs to have had a massive reality check!!

You hit the nail on the head. He, whilst very talented, was passed over by every single club with every single pick. That tells you how far back he's coming from.

Can play and I'm not against him all together, but needs to have had a massive reality check!!

I personally think it's the AFL that need to have a reality check, not everyone that plays is going to be a perfect angel, the media search for any little slip up and turn the player into a serial killer and it's why clubs want to avoid players like him.

There are plenty of shit blokes on AFL lists according to your theory of shit blokes, have a look at Collingwood, Swan, Shaw and Didak for starters.

Since Malthouse left Collingwood its been going so well for them. You need a strong culture to mange the personalities. Dayle belongs on an AFL list, just not ours right now.

Dayle Garlett kicked 6 in the WAFL today. We desperately need a crumber. Could he be the man?

Big trouble - any kid who is dumb enough to get cooked on pills, and post a photo of himself on twitter, drinking and smoking at 3am in the days before the AFL draft - is a lost cause in my opinion.

I reckon his only hope is a rookie spot with Freo or WC.

Since Malthouse left Collingwood its been going so well for them. You need a strong culture to mange the personalities. Dayle belongs on an AFL list, just not ours right now.
What a prelim final from one season not good enough? Like i mentioned earlier Aaron Davey is a great role model off the field for young guys like Garlett, I would put him under his wing if he came to Melbourne.

See post above - drugs were the main issue.
There are that many players using drugs in the AFL it shouldn't be a major concern, you are bound to pick up drug taking players whether you know it or not, at least you know what you're getting with Garlett, help him with his problems from day one, at a young age.

You seem to know so much more about it than the 18 clubs who passed on him with every pick in every draft that occured in 2012. He was overlooked in the national, PSD and rookie drafts for a reason. The recruiters weren't going "oh so what, he uses drugs, smokes, drinks, posts it on twitter, looks about as mature as a 12 year old... but apparently players do that so let's draft him anyway." All 18 clubs stayed well away for a reason and, even when Essendon gave him an opportunity, he stuffed that up completely with a shithouse attitude.

Waffle on about overlooking some important facts all you want, but one fact remains - all 18 clubs can't be wrong.

You seem to know so much more about it than the 18 clubs who passed on him with every pick in every draft that occured in 2012. He was overlooked in the national, PSD and rookie drafts for a reason. The recruiters weren't going "oh so what, he uses drugs, smokes, drinks, posts it on twitter, looks about as mature as a 12 year old... but apparently players do that so let's draft him anyway." All 18 clubs stayed well away for a reason and, even when Essendon gave him an opportunity, he stuffed that up completely with a shithouse attitude.

Waffle on about overlooking some important facts all you want, but one fact remains - all 18 clubs can't be wrong.
That's true, but let's see what happens at this years draft, let's see if one year makes a difference, if he gets picked up and turns into a star, every club that overlooked him in the rookie draft is going to be wondering why they picked that bloke that never got a game over him.

Yeah the picture he posted of himself with eyes the size of dinner plates and a caption of #cooked (slang for high on gear for those unaware) was what would have got him in most trouble.

Imagine if a similar photo of Jimmy Toumpas or any other draftee surfaced after draft time. You wouldn't be impressed.

That's true, but let's see what happens at this years draft, let's see if one year makes a difference, if he gets picked up and turns into a star, every club that overlooked him in the rookie draft is going to be wondering why they picked that bloke that never got a game over him.

True, problem is that the more likely scenario, at this point in time, is that he'll go off the rails, create negative publicity and be delisted within a year.

Apparently he is an awfully shit bloke as well - great shame, we need midfield and crumbling talent like we never have before.. But I really don't think this guy is the answer unfortunately.

Yeah let's not give a kid a chance because of a few guck ups when he was 17. Just like the reason why we over looked Darling. #flog

If we can get him for cheap/low pick he would be worth a chance as a rookie. I like the idea of Davey mentoring. Good family man no drugs n shit. If after 2 years the kid is still a loose cannon then set him free.

Yeah let's not give a kid a chance because of a few guck ups when he was 17. Just like the reason why we over looked Darling. #flog
I heard on twitter (so take it with a grain of salt) just a few weeks ago he turned up to a youth game in Adelaide blowing 0.13 or something ridiculous and had lost his guernsey while out partying all night. I don't think these are isolated incidents and I don't think that missing out on being drafted has had any influence on his behaviour at all. And with a group of players who already struggle to give a shit I don't think we want him.

Very different situations.

Darling had a few normal 17yo lad issues, drank a bit to much, chaised skirt and turned up late to training once of twice. Nothing like the level or frequency of Gartlet, not to mention Darling was always commited to his footy.

And for the record the reason we like others passed on him in the first round was the uncertainty around the risidual fluid on the brain after he was attaked.