2nds Casey Thread 2013

• Thread starter Thread starter Tulip

Yeah let's not give a kid a chance because of a few guck ups when he was 17. Just like the reason why we over looked Darling. #flog

Nothing to do with it, ridiculous assumption. Have a look at Sam Blease, could do all that we want and more, but running round at Casey because he doesn't work hard enough, and having him in our forward line is just giving the opposition an extra rebounding HBF. The point about Garlett isn't just that he has a questionable social life, it's that he's just not prepared to work hard enough across the board. He didn't even start pre-season training when he was supposed to this year (for example). Reports are that he's improving, but plenty of "doesn't really work or chase" comments about from people who are watching him play as well. Give me a Terlich or even a Magner any day.

As for Darling, equally ridiculous. He didn't get passed by every club in the AFL because of a bit of hanky panky in a tent. He had a so-so year on the field in his draft year, leading to concerns that he was going backwards and/or that he'd starred earlier simply because he had been more physically developed than the other kids. Clubs were also concerned about his head injury, and finally, there was concern that he was one of those "too big to be a mid, too small to be a KPF" players. Every club passed on him ... every club. For good reasons at the time.

Crystal balls.

Nothing to do with it, ridiculous assumption. Have a look at Sam Blease, could do all that we want and more, but running round at Casey because he doesn't work hard enough, and having him in our forward line is just giving the opposition an extra rebounding HBF. The point about Garlett isn't just that he has a questionable social life, it's that he's just not prepared to work hard enough across the board. He didn't even start pre-season training when he was supposed to this year (for example). Reports are that he's improving, but plenty of "doesn't really work or chase" comments about from people who are watching him play as well. Give me a Terlich or even a Magner any day.

As for Darling, equally ridiculous. He didn't get passed by every club in the AFL because of a bit of hanky panky in a tent. He had a so-so year on the field in his draft year, leading to concerns that he was going backwards and/or that he'd starred earlier simply because he had been more physically developed than the other kids. Clubs were also concerned about his head injury, and finally, there was concern that he was one of those "too big to be a mid, too small to be a KPF" players. Every club passed on him ... every club. For good reasons at the time.

Crystal balls.

Was that common sense? Gtfo

Nothing to do with it, ridiculous assumption. Have a look at Sam Blease, could do all that we want and more, but running round at Casey because he doesn't work hard enough, and having him in our forward line is just giving the opposition an extra rebounding HBF.

According to some, anyway.

Lets get back to what the thread is for: discussion about Casey.

If anyone wants to discuss draft & trading (so sad we're already at it after 2 months of footy but I guess thats been the last 8 years), feel free to start a thread.

Garlett has apparently pulled his head right in, and with Davey as a mentor I think he'd be fine with us.

I want Garlett - it takes more then 2 months of no incident to say he's pulled his head in though.

Sam worked pretty hard on the weekend - had 22 Defensive Involvements to 3/4 time.

I don't believe it's Defensive Involvements, it's Desire Indicator. Players and coaches have used the term.

Good to see Sam working on his work-rate, hopefully he'll be back in contention soon.

Sam Blease:

Sam demonstrated from start to finish his desire to apply pressure on the opposition. He had eight tackles, which was an excellent reward for effort. His speed on defence matched his offensive run. Sam finished with 17 disposals and kicked two quality goals which capped off an overall very good game.

Good news, I'll very likely head down to Casey to watch 'Us vs Them' this weekend - I've decided that I probably can't afford to go to QB with two exams in the two days that follow (no doubt I'll watch it at home despite this) and a mate does some volunteer analysis for the Collingwood VFL side, I'm favoring driving down with him.

Not set in stone however, it does hit me that going to Casey will be a 2.5 hour round trip as well...

Good news, I'll very likely head down to Casey to watch 'Us vs Them' this weekend - I've decided that I probably can't afford to go to QB with two exams in the two days that follow (no doubt I'll watch it at home despite this) and a mate does some volunteer analysis for the Collingwood VFL side, I'm favoring driving down with him.

Not set in stone however, it does hit me that going to Casey will be a 2.5 hour round trip as well...
We're a positive lot down here in CASEY town - bring your positivity or we'll run you out of town :P

If Casey actually played nearer the city I'd be tempted to go watch them on a more regular basis. Nice cure for the MFC blues.

True. They're playing at Victoria Park on July 27, and at Box Hill on August 24. I wouldn't mind getting to one of those games if I'm not busy... we'll see.

Does the membership that comes with our MFC members packs let you in to Casey away games? I'm guessing not...

Nah don't think so, tickets wouldn't be more than $10 though. Worth it just to see Hogan tear it up.

Any more news y'all?

Belted them by 15 goals.

Our three-game winning streak in the VFL has come to an end. Collingwood 7.9 (51) def. by Casey 21.15 (141).