Game Day Casey V Box Hill

Brilliant play by Troy Davis :thumbsu:

Amos and another streaming in, Davis tackles Amos and grounds the next man to clear.

Nicho has to be a big chance next week. His pace has been good and he puts his head over it.

Dunn burns Watts big time. Not great.

Loving the look of Rory Taggert and Troy Davis.

I reckon one of them will debut next week.

All for taggert if he's fit enoough but idk about davis... he's that inbetween height for a defender and who do you drop from the back six... bennell is the obvious one but i dont think davis has a heck of a lot of pace to be able to play small

Promising game;

I'm not sold on what Neeld's trying to do with Watts, he should be working on building his confidence in the position we ultimately want him to play.

It's also blatantly obvious he doesn't have the fitness for the midfield yet, and there's no point sticking him on a wing.

Either in the centre square or KPF thanks.

One thing he really needs to work on from a midfield point of view is how he hits the contest, a lot of the time he's stationary and trying to work out of contest.

That doesn't happen.

Watts, Jurrah, Blease, Martin, Dunn all in contention.

Taggert a smokey? I was impressed with him.

It was a tough day for tall players and the skills were pretty poor from all concerned.

26 possessions and 2 goals for Taggert. Hard at it, kicks the ball well. Really looked a player. I think we'll see him in red and blue before too long.

Lowlights package.

They've been ridiculously harsh on him.

Yeah I saw that. Every time he got the ball it was as if they wanted him to stuff up. I half expected them to say, "What a horrible goal there from Jack Watts."

Whatever. As a dees supporter I think I have learned to apply a Watt/Dees-bashing filter and just watch the game for what it is.

Watts was excellent I thought. What more could he have done? Maybe could have hit a few more targets I guess but it was obviously quite a tricky day. Still, I thought his intensity was right where it needed to be and he found plenty of the ball and generally made good decisions.

Dunn was really good, made a few errors in decision making but then you could see him try and make up for it.

I thought Lawrence was really good and with Blease showed some toe and flashy x factor that we could use. Jurrah was classy and got among the touches too.

Martin moved really well and did some good things too. I reckon the only dees listed player that didn't really have the best game was Spencer - he is a spud IMO.

My only criticism was our skills and easy goals that were missed. Probably should have won that game by more like 70-80. Dunn could have had 3, as could have Nicho. Reminded me of last night at times... *Shudder

I thought Taggert only had 18 and 2 Spirit?

Either way he was really impressive.

Not according to Casey Twitter:

Stats leaders - Dunn 27, Taggert 26, Watts 25, L.Tynan 24, Nicholson 21

Not according to Casey Twitter:

Stats leaders - Dunn 27, Taggert 26, Watts 25, L.Tynan 24, Nicholson 21

Sounds like they all played well, Watts kicked 4 last week with 20+ possessions & people still weren't happy.

Just how it is with him.

Sounds like they all played well, Watts kicked 4 last week with 20+ possessions & people still weren't happy.

Just how it is with him.

CA, I was ther today & wasn't impressed at all with his game. Lots of cheap possies & when I was behind the goals at one stage, he was even cracking jokes!!! I couldn't believe it...

PS, bad luck with your DT this week...

CA, I was ther today & wasn't impressed at all with his game. Lots of cheap possies & when I was behind the goals at one stage, he was even cracking jokes!!! I couldn't believe it...

PS, bad luck with your DT this week...

Same last night when they showed him & SME, we were getting pumped and they were joking.

I don't get it either, I could never take losing at anything or even see a mate lose, this is their career & they joke about it.

As for DT & SC, being OS doesn't help! :mad:

Great win by the Casey boys and a lot of good signs from a few younger players.

I watched most of the game on TV but would like to ask people who were there a question regarding Watts. His stats looked pretty decent, but I'm wondering whether he actually impacted the contest.

On TV, he looked very casual (as usual) and didn't look like he competed with great intensity. However, what the TV doesn't show is workrate around the ground, and overall impact. So, those who were there, how did he really go?

But how do we know they're even joking about the football?

Watts was good, but not as good as I'd like.... I'm worried Neeld isn't getting to him.

However, given he was plonked on a wing he played his role well.

I think what today showed is that we have some terrific VFL players who are only average AFL players. People are calling for Dunn to be recalled but his game today is like Bennell's from the last few weeks in the VFL - we will allow ourselves to be sucked in AGAIN by these guys only to be let down when they get promoted.

I was very impressed with Taggert and his ability to find the footy and run out the game after a long lay off with injury. Pleased with Jurrah and Blease and I still think Cook can be a terrific player for the club.

And we are guilty of being both too hard and too soft on Watts. He is in the mix for this week and I think we do need him in the side going forward.

Same last night when they showed him & SME, we were getting pumped and they were joking.

I don't get it either, I could never take losing at anything or even see a mate lose, this is their career & they joke about it.

As for DT & SC, being OS doesn't help! :mad:

Oh for the love of God, a bloke isn't allowed to laugh or crack a joke anymore?

This place is as bad as Demonology and Demonland.