On at least one occasion he actually grabbed the arm and put it there.Ginnivan takes it to another level by trying to lock the tacklers arm around his neck with his off hand.
Not a footballer

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
On at least one occasion he actually grabbed the arm and put it there.Ginnivan takes it to another level by trying to lock the tacklers arm around his neck with his off hand.
Makes sense, they want Bruhn on the attack and Parfitt and Atkins are better at defensive work.He did. I rewatched the match. Bruhn had 1/3 of the game on the bench, just under 1/3 on Newcombe, just under 1/3 on Nash and maybe 1/50 on Worpel (about a minute and a half).
We tried to roll Atkins (mostly), Clark (sometimes) and Parfitt (occasionally) onto Worpel. A bit of Holmes and Bowes in the last term. Worpel was great but it's hard to really complain about the collective efforts of our undermanned midfield. We made it scrappy enough that our wingmen and flankers could dominate after stoppages.
He’s just trying to sHRug tHe tACkLe.Ginnivan takes it to another level by trying to lock the tacklers arm around his neck with his off hand.
There was one play in the 2nd half Willo: when a Hawks player (not a small) thought a Cats player was right on his back and he half dived forward but there was no Cat player there and he looked like a total dickhead as it was so obvious to what he had done but yeah it's very clear the Hawk smalls have been 'taught and instructed' to flop, dive, etc to try to draw free kicks, especially in the last quarter when the rain came tumbling down, thankfully the umpires overall have been great at not falling for it and NOT paying a free kick. Unfortunately with Ginnivan, he just takes staging for a free kick to another level, I think the only time Ginnivan has his right hand/arm on the footy is when he kicks for goal, otherwise he just 'continually' raises his right arm underneath the oncoming tackers arm to get a cheap free kick.He wasn't on his own there... The entire list of smalls in the Hawk fwd line seemed to have instructions almost to flop, dive and try draw frees... Particularly in the last quarter
Mitchell barely gave it air. Even said if you're playing for them you don't deserve them.Yeah what utter crap.
Very s**t from Mitchell too. Good coaches focus on and teach players to focus on things they can control, not blaming others.
Mm yes very insightful contribution.He’s just trying to sHRug tHe tACkLe.![]()
Feels like some Feelings have been hurt here. Some emotional momentsMm yes very insightful contribution.

Nah, not in the slightestFeels like some Feelings have been hurt here. Some emotional moments![]()
Nah, not in the slightest
I just find it funny seeing all hatred from Geelong fans directed towards Ginnivan for trying to milk high free kicks using the time-honoured Selwood "Shrug" manoeuvre. Took me by surprise actually, hearing all the boos whenever he went near the ball in the 1st half. The Cats fans in my section had a real boner about it. I briefly wondered if there was some history there from a previous Geelong v Collingwood game.
Then I remembered he's a detestable flog who constantly plays for free kicks. I hated him at Collingwood. I hated that we traded for him. But to my surprise, he actually showed that he can really play during the pre-season pricey games and in Rounds 1 & 2. I changed my mind about him: he's a good player with more strings to his bow than the shitty free kick milking.
Unfortunately, he reverted to his embarrassing ways on Monday. Why the hell he decided to continue staging for free kicks when we were 6-7 goals down, I will never know. He doesn't seem to learn (after numerous unsuccessful attempts within a game) that the umpires are not gonna fall for his tricks, yet he keeps doing it...
If he's gonna do that crap, then at least save it for a one-off when we're a goal down with 10 minutes to go. Make it count.
If Ginnivan continues to embarrass himself (and the jumper) by faking for frees like a little bitch, then I will join in the booing.
I can't stand it. It's one of the worst things about modern AFL footy. It makes me switch off or change channels. Literally. When umps fall for that crap during the 1st or 2nd quarter of a neutral Thursday or Friday game, I often tune out in disgust and watch an NHL replay instead.
PS. Ginnivan doesn't even get rewarded for his staging attempts, which makes it all the more cringeworthy for me as a Hawk fan. But just imagine for one sec how much more you guys would hate him if he was actually rewarded with frees at the same that Selwood was for over a decade. You guys made all sort of excuses for him, but when it's a player from another club, you hate it as much as everyone else.
Nah, not in the slightest
I just find it funny seeing all hatred from Geelong fans directed towards Ginnivan for trying to milk high free kicks using the time-honoured Selwood "Shrug" manoeuvre. Took me by surprise actually, hearing all the boos whenever he went near the ball in the 1st half. I wondered if there was some history there from a previous Geelong v Collingwood game.
Then I remembered he's a detestable flog who plays for free kicks. I hated him at Collingwood. I hated that we traded for him. But to my surprise, he actually showed that he can really play during pre-season and Rounds 1 & 2. I changed my mind about him: he's a good player with more strings to his bow than the shitty free kick milking.
Unfortunately, he reverted to his embarrassing ways on Monday. Why the hell he decided to continue staging for free kicks when we were 6-7 goals down, I will never know. He doesn't seem to learn (after numerous unsuccessful attempts within a game) that the umpires are not gonna fall for his tricks, yet he keeps doing it...
If he's gonna do that crap, then at least save it for a one-off when we're a goal down with 10 minutes to go. Make it count.
If Ginnivan continues to embarrass himself (and the jumper) by faking for frees like a little bitch, then I will join in the booing.
I can't stand it. It's one of the worst things about modern AFL footy. It makes me switch off or change channels.
PS. Ginnivan doesn't even get rewarded for his staging attempts, which makes it all the more cringeworthy for me as a Hawk fan. But just imagine for one sec how much more you guys would hate him if he was actually rewarded with frees at the same that Selwood was for over a decade.
Yeah, I KNEW this would be the replySelwood went hard at the ball 100% of the time, put his body on the line more than any other player, willed us over the line time and time again.
Please don't try to compare him to that flopping flog Ginnivan. It's embarrassing.
Mate it's not hatred at all. If he got given those frees, so be it. He didn't so why would we even have the smallest reason to be mad? That's pure projection. I didn't even hear any booing of Ginnivan on Monday, which differs to some of the crowd responses he has gotten.Nah, not in the slightest
I just find it funny seeing all hatred from Geelong fans directed towards Ginnivan for trying to milk high free kicks using the time-honoured Selwood "Shrug" manoeuvre. Took me by surprise actually, hearing all the boos whenever he went near the ball in the 1st half. The Cats fans in my section had a real boner about it. I briefly wondered if there was some history there from a previous Geelong v Collingwood game.
Then I remembered he's a detestable flog who constantly plays for free kicks. I hated him at Collingwood. I hated that we traded for him. But to my surprise, he actually showed that he can really play during the pre-season praccy games and in Rounds 1 & 2. I changed my mind about him: he's a good player with more strings to his bow than the shitty free kick milking.
I can't stand it. It's one of the worst things about modern AFL footy. It makes me switch off or change channels. Literally. When umps fall for that crap during the 1st or 2nd quarter of a neutral Thursday or Friday night game, I often tune out in disgust and watch an NHL replay instead.
PS. Ginnivan doesn't even get rewarded for his staging attempts, which makes it all the more cringeworthy for me as a Hawks fan. But just imagine for one sec how much more you guys would hate him if he was actually rewarded with frees at the same that Selwood was for over a decade. You guys made all sort of excuses for him, but when it's a player from another club, you hate it as much as everyone else.
Mitchell barely gave it air. Even said if you're playing for them you don't deserve them.
Yep I think people should get over it. Players have been milking frees for as long as I can remember. It's hardly a federal crime.Feels like some Feelings have been hurt here. Some emotional moments![]()
Those are incredible comments by Mitchell. He literally names Sicily, Ginnivan and now Watson as having played for free kicks and says they have to "play the right way" if they want to be awarded the free kicks they deserve "in time".
Clearly he's not happy with the staging!
It's a real hard spot to be answering the question there. I think this went to air not long after the game and looks ad libbed. Just a genuine reflection on the conversation he'll have with his playersThrows his captain under the bus... showing the expert leadership that got him thrown out of the captaincy
No. Booing drove one of the best and fairest players of our game to quit. It wasn't fun. It wasn't good theatre.I also think AFL fans have the right to boo whoever they want, whenever they want. It's all good theatre. Mostly fun.
I just don't get booing.No. Booing drove one of the best and fairest players of our game to quit. It wasn't fun. It wasn't good theatre.
What’s the shoosh meant to mean? Baffles me + looks dumb.I noticed that, too! I was thinking to myself, "he didn't just... shoosh the crowd, did he?"![]()
He was always an absolute pr**kGood win, but uneven performance.
5 day break, and a wet slog in the last quarter are a bit of a worry. Plus some niggles. Be interesting to see how Jezza's ankle recovers.
Looks like Mitchell continues to do the Clarkson "unsociable Hawks" thing. They don't have the players to back it up though, may be a long year for them. If he coached them to concentrate on playing the ball and not diving, pushing etc. results may be better?
Terrific post, nailed itI thought the umpiring and commentary around Ginnivan this game was really interesting. Prior to the final quarter, there was plenty of talk by commentators about how he is treated differently, unfairly.
The interesting part for me was how in the last part of the final quarter the commentators - confronted with a Ginnivan who kept diving, kept leaning, kept lifting his arm - completely changed their tune saying things like: 'well, I don't know what to think about it'.
The fact is, that's exactly what the umpires are faced with. And I feel for them. Players who dive put them in a difficult position: give a free where it may not be justified and give away a goal or let play go on and risk missing a free kick. I can see why they've been instructed to do the latter and I think most fans of all teams would support that approach in general: if in doubt, don't blow the whistle.
The truth is, it's hard not to be biased (how many Hawks supporters would have backed Ginnivan in prior years? I'd say it'd be close to zero). And with all honesty, I can see how many here would be pissed if this was Close or Stengle or Miers (granted, they don't duck, but admit that most of us would have a bias towards our own players). But looking at it from the umpires' point of view: this is surely the hardest game in the world to adjudicate, and players who try to milk free kicks make that job harder, and they have nobody to blame but themselves if they miss out on the occasional genuine free because of their own muddying of the waters.

WHAT!!! ???I can’t believe the AFL is apologising to the Hawks about that diving flog “treatment”
It's a real hard spot to be answering the question there. I think this went to air not long after the game and looks ad libbed. Just a genuine reflection on the conversation he'll have with his players