Review Cats into ANOTHER PRELIM (14 of 18) after beating Lions by 38 points

True, but a year ago on the same ground they struggled. However the 2024 prelim was only their 2nd AFL final. I get that Mannagh is older, but nothing can make up for the actual experience of an AFL final. He has starred in 2 of his first 3 now, while Dempsey has had his breakout final on the 3rd attempt. I'm delighted for both of them.

I also thought it was one of Close's best finals. Underrated player is Bradley.

The other thing to note with last year is that it was Dempsey's 32nd match and Mannagh's 12th AFL match - on Friday night they were playing their 56th & 33rd match respectively

We can't discount the value of those extra 20 odd games for our young players

It's actually quite interesting to look at the two teams games & age profiles from last years Prelim through to this years QF

24 Prelim:
1757311956723.png

25 QF
1757312030099.png

Our figures this year are skewed a little by the addition of Clark as sub - 21 in game #24, versus last years sub in Duncan who was 33 in game #296

And while we've obviously integrated O'Sullivan into the playing 23 this year, 4 of our sub 50 gamers last Friday have 33 -> 43 games under their belts and have been in the playing 23 all season; Mannagh with the 21 games this season, while for Humphries, Mullin & Neale it's 23 games each

Now compare that with last year where those 4 had played just the 12, 11, 12 & 15 games respectively for the whole season (PF included), and our other sub 50 gamer was the previously mentioned Dempsey

The experience not in Friday nights game that played in the prelim are Duncan, Kolodjashnij & Bews, but those who've replaced them (Clark as sub aside) are all more settled in our 22/23 this season and we can't underestimate that value of that

This is probably an unpopular opinion but it's a hill I'm prepared to die on - Blicavs is the best player in the league for all the reasons outlined above. No other player in the league can do what Blitz does. Some are better at one or two of the roles we use Blitz in, but no-one is as good as all the roles Blitz can play.
There is an idea that a player value is who they’re keeping out of the team. His flexibility keeps some ordinary players out of the team when we’re in a pinch

Geelong v Brisbane​

9 Oliver Dempsey (GEEL)
7 Tom Stewart (GEEL)
5 Mark Blicavs (GEEL)
4 Tom Atkins (GEEL)
4 Max Holmes (GEEL)
1 Josh Dunkley (BL)

I'm more than happy to be corrected on the likely vote split, but does it seem like:

Dempsey - 5 & 4
Stewart - 4 & 3
Blicavs - 5
Atkins - 3 & 1, or 2 & 2
Holmes - 3 & 1, or 2 & 2
Dunkley - 1

I do like the way that Ollie Dempsey's soccer was an expected score of 4.94, lol
And I'm guessing that the 5.99 is the Dempsey goal following the assist from Bowes.

The question becomes - who missed from there for those efforts to not be 6 as an expected score

I'm more than happy to be corrected on the likely vote split, but does it seem like:

Dempsey - 5 & 4
Stewart - 4 & 3
Blicavs - 5
Atkins - 3 & 1, or 2 & 2
Holmes - 3 & 1, or 2 & 2
Dunkley - 1

Interesting. Silly question- How does this get awarded overall when some teams play more than others?

Or Stewart 5, 2
Blitz 3, 2
Atkins or Holmes 4

But I think you are correct.

I could see Holmes getting 4 from one of the coaches

Either way it's crazy to think that one of Blicavs or Holmes got either 5 or 4 from one coach but nothing from the other

Interesting. Silly question- How does this get awarded overall when some teams play more than others?

Votes across weeks 1, 2 & 3 of finals are worth 1 for the overall count

So Dempsey's 9 votes in the overall count would still be 9

Votes in the grand final are worth 1.5,

So in that scenario, Dempsey's 9 would be worth 13.5 in the final count

But the only reason it's an issue is because the frees were soft. If O'Connor had punched him in the head a free kick where Stengle was would be totally inadequate.
Not really. If Stengle punched a Brisbane defender in the head after he marked it, the free would have been taken from where the ball was. Same crime, same punishment

I get what you mean but very bad take. The free kick should always be at the place of greatest advantage, either where the ball is or where the free kick occurred. Otherwise, say there's a quick break and you have some defender outnumbered in the goalsquare...you just grab an opponent's jumper and force a free kick where the ball is 60 metres out from goal rather than ten metres out where the infringement took place. This would actually disadvantage the attacking team.

The rule is fine, the umpiring was poor in this instance and outside the spirit of the game. The key thing is once you pay something you have to be consistent in your application, and with something like the Raynor dive it encourages similar poor behaviour.
In that case pay 50m from where the ball is.

Who the hell gave Dunkley a vote?

(Of course it was Fagan, but come on mate, seriously?)

I could see Scott giving him 1 - he way Brisbane's best player

Now then, if Rayner got a vote, I'd be wanting an investigation

Who the hell gave Dunkley a vote?

(Of course it was Fagan, but come on mate, seriously?)

I'm not sure why people think coaches would favour their own players. I reckon it's much more likely Scott didn't want to put all Geelong players than Fagan deliberately favoured his own player.

Dunkley was very good too. It's not a crazy vote to give.

This is probably an unpopular opinion but it's a hill I'm prepared to die on - Blicavs is the best player in the league for all the reasons outlined above. No other player in the league can do what Blitz does. Some are better at one or two of the roles we use Blitz in, but no-one is as good as all the roles Blitz can play.
Most useful, no doubt. Best, I don’t think so…
However probably first picked in any team out there I’d say.

They have/had quite a few stagers and floppers in that team. We forget Daniher was a master flopper. Hipwood, Loman Rayner, Zorko and Charlie C continue the tradition. Needs to be called out.
The umpires have clearly rewarded them over the journey
Perhaps the best thing to come out of the disgraceful Rayner incident is that there are a lot of footy people now calling for greater penalties for it.

Normally calm heads like Rory Sloane, Nathan Buckley, etc have been quite vocal on it in the last couple of days. And was it Justin Longmuir who suggested $10k fines?

I'd be fully supportive. Would stamp that crap out immediately.

I'm not sure why people think coaches would favour their own players. I reckon it's much more likely Scott didn't want to put all Geelong players than Fagan deliberately favoured his own player.

Dunkley was very good too. It's not a crazy vote to give.
Dunkley was OK. Best 5 on the ground though? Nah. Not in that game.

The other thing to note with last year is that it was Dempsey's 32nd match and Mannagh's 12th AFL match - on Friday night they were playing their 56th & 33rd match respectively

We can't discount the value of those extra 20 odd games for our young players

It's actually quite interesting to look at the two teams games & age profiles from last years Prelim through to this years QF

24 Prelim:
View attachment 2420383

25 QF
View attachment 2420386

Our figures this year are skewed a little by the addition of Clark as sub - 21 in game #24, versus last years sub in Duncan who was 33 in game #296

And while we've obviously integrated O'Sullivan into the playing 23 this year, 4 of our sub 50 gamers last Friday have 33 -> 43 games under their belts and have been in the playing 23 all season; Mannagh with the 21 games this season, while for Humphries, Mullin & Neale it's 23 games each

Now compare that with last year where those 4 had played just the 12, 11, 12 & 15 games respectively for the whole season (PF included), and our other sub 50 gamer was the previously mentioned Dempsey

The experience not in Friday nights game that played in the prelim are Duncan, Kolodjashnij & Bews, but those who've replaced them (Clark as sub aside) are all more settled in our 22/23 this season and we can't underestimate that value of that

The height average is interesting, when we have the difference between Shannon and say, Mannagh.
I wonder how many talls we have comparatively speaking, just as an aside.

I wouldn't have given him a vote but he wasn't miles off. And I reckon it's much more likely he got a vote from Scott than Fagan.
I think if Scott was going to give a Brisbane player a vote, surely that should have gone to Andrews? Perhaps Dunkley was doing the things asked of him and Fagan rewarded that.

Review Cats into ANOTHER PRELIM (14 of 18) after beating Lions by 38 points