Autopsy Cats lose to GWS by 4 points

Do we give Clohesy a few games as a starter or maybe give Stevens a shot as an inside mid?
Ollie Henry needs a run in the 2's for confidence, he's gone completely into his shell.
I'd rather give Polkinghorne a go if Martin isn't fit, we'll at least know those two will make more than 1 tackle a game and will compete on the ground (especially Ted) but also in the air (especially Polkinghorne). Totally agree with Gee Class Loco

He's not ready but hell we need pressure on spots so blokes don't bring nothing every game get given a certain spot.

Sorry, i tried to stand up for Ollie but enough is enough.
He doesn't do enough in the air to certify his spot as a third tall now that Danger is there and Danger is a menace on tackle pressure and follow up efforts, Henry provides none of that. Gary Rohan for any faults he had was an excellent third tall. Pressured like crazy and could take a big grab and kick goals in clutch moments.

I'd rather persist with another small in Ted or even better im big on the upside of Polkinghorne as a third tall or even Martin for something different.

2018 Geelong +61
2019 GWS +4
2020 N/A
2021 GWS +19
2022 N/A
2023 GWS +7
2024 GWS +4
2025 GWS +4

Net Result GWS 5 Wins Geelong 1 Win

Score Difference Geelong 23 Points Up

They have won, but if ever someone has won chook Lotto this is it.

I have never seen so many bounces go there way.

Most probably yesterday though was our own fault, Should have kicked at least one more goal.

Prior to that they deserved to win, just got us at the right time.

Broke the golden rule and watched losing replay.

Cats tired. Very tired from the get go. Not much sense at contests, seemed to misjudge and over run it, poor hand passes, even out of centre bounce, with Smith, Atkins, Holmes mistimed by hand. While smart oranges always to be found hanging on the outside with quick hands.
Oh well, get stuck into the Roogenics sleep tea this week and prepare to fly (in a plane of course)

2018 Geelong +61
2019 GWS +4
2020 N/A
2021 GWS +19
2022 N/A
2023 GWS +7
2024 GWS +4
2025 GWS +4

Net Result GWS 5 Wins Geelong 1 Win

Score Difference Geelong 23 Points Up

They have won, but if ever someone has won chook Lotto this is it.

I have never seen so many bounces go there way.

Most probably yesterday though was our own fault, Should have kicked at least one more goal.

Prior to that they deserved to win, just got us at the right time.
The curse of Steve Johnson?

Miers got better as the game went on. He got more involved and looked more sure of himself at the end than the 1st qtr.

We've gotta give him some patience, he got clocked a few weeks ago.
He just needs to build confidence and bring himself back to his level.

Reckon he'll fire up for the Port game, a lot of them will.
Scotty rarely lets the boys slip a game and not come firing out the next.

Just my thoughts.
Left field selection for next week.
The Number 2 returns.
The Polk
Nice first game in his home town would be good for the young fella.
Give Oh Henry a run in the Magoos. About time he earns his spot IMO.
At least the Polk will run chase and tackle.
Don't know if others caught it, but what annoyed me most was that moment in the last quarter.

Max blazed away at goal, and the first bloke to turn around and whinge at him was Henry.

Should Max have done it? Probably not. He should have looked for a target.

...But of all people to whinge about not getting it kicked to them, it's the guy who's hanging out the back at every marking contest, or not going up at all.

It just gives me the impression that he doesn't "get it", and I've defended him regularly but it's getting ridiculous now.

You barely chase. You contest half the time. You fumble the ball like it's a bar of soap while missing sitters, and yet you're still selfish enough to think you deserve the 50/50 ball from a teammate who busts his gut.

Just doesn't sit right with me. It's not the the Geelong way.

Don't know if others caught it, but what annoyed me most was that moment in the last quarter.

Max blazed away at goal, and the first bloke to turn around and whinge at him was Henry.

Should Max have done it? Probably not. He should have looked for a target.

...But of all people to whinge about not getting it kicked to them, it's the guy who's hanging out the back at every marking contest, or not going up at all.

It just gives me the impression that he doesn't "get it", and I've defended him regularly but it's getting ridiculous now.

You barely chase. You contest half the time. You fumble the ball like it's a bar of soap while missing sitters, and yet you're still selfish enough to think you deserve the 50/50 ball from a teammate who busts his gut.

Just doesn't sit right with me. It's not the the Geelong way.
I think you're spot on and we're all probably similar in our views. He's the type of player we all really want to see develop, but enough is enough and it's sending a bad message to players on the fringe if we keep playing him. Particularly when it's clear that the selfish stuff is creeping into his game.

It might also be important for us to consider a few outside factors that I think might be having an impact.......and I'm going to be very careful here. But he's very close to a fella who is going through a pretty big personal matter outside the footy club. On the surface the easy thing might be to brush that off and say he has to deal with it - and get on with what he's paid to do. Yep that's fair, but I also think we need to remember what we all go through along the way at school or work and how it can impact you're personal performance. Over time we may / or may not get all the facts on that particular matter, but given how close he is with the other player, I think at his age it's easy to imagine that it might have taken a bit of a toll on him personally as well.

Just a slightly different take that we should be considerate of.

I think you're spot on and we're all probably similar in our views. He's the type of player we all really want to see develop, but enough is enough and it's sending a bad message to players on the fringe if we keep playing him. Particularly when it's clear that the selfish stuff is creeping into his game.

It might also be important for us to consider a few outside factors that I think might be having an impact.......and I'm going to be very careful here. But he's very close to a fella who is going through a pretty big personal matter outside the footy club. On the surface the easy thing might be to brush that off and say he has to deal with it - and get on with what he's paid to do. Yep that's fair, but I also think we need to remember what we all go through along the way at school or work and how it can impact you're personal performance. Over time we may / or may not get all the facts on that particular matter, but given how close he is with the other player, I think at his age it's easy to imagine that it might have taken a bit of a toll on him personally as well.

Just a slightly different take that we should be considerate of.
I don't care. Drop him

I said he's got to go back to the VFL. Just adding a bit of context and some reasons why I think he's off the boil this year.

These blokes are not robots.

He doesn't look ready.
I thought he'd turn the corner against Collingwood but he went back into his shell on the weekend.

I reckon he needs to go back to the VFL and work on his craft around stoppages etc. Leave him there until next season. Jhye needs another preseason before he can handle senior footy.

I want Ollie Henry to rediscover his best football but he really needs to find a way to compete when out of position in both the air and on the ground. I think he'd benefit from modelling his defensive game on how Zach Guthrie competes from a position of disadvantage as a player who has a similar body type (but perhaps not as strong yet) which would also improve his offensive game particularly with body on body contact.

I think way too much about Jhye Clark's football for it to be healthy. But ... I've settled on the fact that he has some similarities to a younger Atkins who could sufficiently read the play and apply competitive hardness but lacked requisite strength and pace to be a midfield starter. Perhaps the MC could look at alternative defensive roles across half back on other smalls as he develops other aspects of his game to hopefully become a more reliable mid with the required physical attributes similarly to Atkins' trajectory. I also haven't often seen Clark shy away from a contest which is a massive tick in investing in him.

Spot On I was thinking the same. Best scenario for all concerned if he did eventuate being an Axe 2.0

FWIW I think Mullin could become a real problem for opposition when the MC see him ready to go from being the hunter into an attacking role. His defensive work in the air against mids and talls is understated and, possibly controversially, I think he's actually a smarter player than some of his teammates.

Something different.
I th8nk the people who run the game day are not the sharpest tools in the shed.

After the game i was heading down some stairs almost to the street there's a wheelie bin booking the door .
I pushed out of the way.

Other times going double stairs only one side the double door open .
Bottle neck of people.

Another time they couldn't open the doors and only had one wond to scan people .

If cats win too many kids booking the lanes if you in the front rows.

I think it could be better.

Coaches votes, thanks Kingy for the screenshot

View attachment 2312439
The Giants half backs could be considered unlucky not to get a mention, but both sides midfielders had good games.

13 coaches votes to the Geelong midfield group, 7 to GWS. To the surprise of no one it was Hogan who decided the game, which was a microcosm of their forwards destroying our depleted defence. Our forwards couldn't get on top of the Giants strong defence in the same way.

We do have the 2024 All Australian CHF on our team, a player neutrals continue to hold up as one of the very best players in the comp. He had some bright moments early (once moved out of midfield to the wing and half forward), but failed to stand up again when the game was there to be won.

A dominant, efficient Cameron probably swings the result of our 3 close losses this year. Interested in others thoughts. Or will we double down on "that damn weak midfield" being the core problem? It might be time to wake up and address a few elephants in the room.

If you didn't already enjoy the content on offer from the GWS social media team, then how about them calling out "journalism" as a reason to find some love for that team

If you didn't already enjoy the content on offer from the GWS social media team, then how about them calling out "journalism" is a reason to find some love for that team

100% warranted that reply.

The Giants half backs could be considered unlucky not to get a mention, but both sides midfielders had good games.

13 coaches votes to the Geelong midfield group, 7 to GWS. To the surprise of no one it was Hogan who decided the game, which was a microcosm of their forwards destroying our depleted defence. Our forwards couldn't get on top of the Giants strong defence in the same way.

We do have the 2024 All Australian CHF on our team, a player neutrals continue to hold up as one of the very best players in the comp. He had some bright moments early (once moved out of midfield to the wing and half forward), but failed to stand up again when the game was there to be won.

A dominant, efficient Cameron probably swings the result of our 3 close losses this year. Interested in others thoughts. Or will we double down on "that damn weak midfield" being the core problem? It might be time to wake up and address a few elephants in the room.
The coaches votes + Scott's comments post game summed it up well. Our three best players on the night were all in the middle of the ground: Smith (mid), Holmes (mid), and Blicavs (ruck). We got well on top in there as Scott said once Cameron went out and Smith moved in. In this particular game the midfield was the least of our concerns despite probably being our weakest part of the ground at full strength. Decimated backline and underperforming forward line relevant to talent was what killed us (and pissing away easy shots at goal).

Autopsy Cats lose to GWS by 4 points