Autopsy Cats lose to GWS by 4 points

The most disappointing thing was the complete lack of intensity from half the team.

Bad kicks/skills etc can happen and cost us dearly but the half arsed efforts from a few are inexcusable.

SDK, Stengle, Duncan, Gryan had absolutely no intention of jumping on the grenade. Like ever.

Neale came to the club as a ruck and I’m convinced he’s never done it before. Getting pushed off in the defensive goal square then punching it over the fence coat is two goals
100% this - I can forgive some errors etc. when someone is given their absolute most but way too many were just PATHETIC in terms of effort / intensity today. Really want Scott to tell some home truths to these gutless wonders but I'm doubtful he will :mad: :mad: :mad:

Despite Blicavs shocking set shock kicking I thought it was his best game of the year. He competed well and was a reason why we were able to get a lot of scores through clearances especially in middle.

Was also really impressed with how Bews played and even more so with no matchday fitness. Felt like he took over Guthries role of offering rebound from defence.

Sam De Koning is one of the most gutless, mentally weak footballers I've ever seen.

Ollie Henry is probably a lovely bloke, but he just doesn't have IT.

A few soft efforts when players need to put their body on the line, including Close near the end.

Stengle really needed to kick that matchwinner with his poor season so far.

Baz, Dempsey, Holmes and a few others can keep their heads held high. Annoying because we outplayed them but poor goalkicking cost us.

Close failed to straight line the ball on multiple occasions today - it wasn't just in the 2nd half.

Set shot goal kicking.
That's all it is.
Lost by less than a goal having 17 set shots and only converting 6 of them, the majority of them being simple AFL standard shots.
We can sook about d trans, we can sook about SDK being out of position countless times, we can sook about turnovers, but if we only converted set shots at the AFL median standard, we win by 4 goals.

Same story different year.
GWS played the counter attack from half back and ran to get out the back like they have every time on the 4 previous wins and we defended exactly how they wanted us too. We could have easily won that game by 30 points just horrible defensive game plan given we were missing 3 of our best defenders. SDK and COS can’t be caught 1 on 1 in the last line it’s not their strength at all.

Huge respect to GWS, to humble our mob 5 times on the trot at Kardinia Park is not to be swept under the rug.

After losing to Carlton and St Kilda again this season I felt we were every chance to be rolled by the Giants on our home deck; the post-2022 Cats have genuine match-up issues against these teams.

I felt as though Chris Scott sensed the danger of repeating old patterns and behaviours when he bizarrely started Jeremy Cameron in the guts for at least the first 15 minutes of the game - I didn't mind the change-up, but I'd have preferred him to be paired with Tom Atkins for a bit of balance.

I actually didn't think we played horribly by any means; the Giants played out of their skins though.

We had multiple chances to ice the game at the end but we snubbed the opportunities and the Giants deserved their win.

The defense looked stretched all game long; we conceded countless marks inside our F50 as the laconic Sam De Koning and the undercooked Connor O'Sullivan struggled to control the aerial battles.

Jack Henry and Tom Stewart can't come back quickly enough.

In the F50 Ollie Henry and Shannon Neale gave us flashes but the contrast with the masterful Jesse Hogan up the other end was stark.

Tyson Stengle has become one of my favourite Cats in recent years, so it pains me to admit to myself that his goal-kicking radar has completely malfunctioned in 2025.

I actually think Stengle is playing fine; his defensive work is good, his contested game is in order - but his Finishing, which was his Major over the previous 3 years, is a shadow of what it was.

Our midfield was on top for large stretches of the game; Mark Blicavs has struck a great compromise with his rucking for a few years now; nullifies his opponent's ruck craft and then butters up on the ground with real concenration and intent.
Max Holmes played his best game in weeks, Bailey Smith worked his way into the game with a pleasing inevitability, and Tom Atkins' strong run of form continued.
It's an ok group, especially when Dangerfield is running through there for 5 minutes a quarter. I still reckon we're one good rotation player away from having a really competitive contingent though.

Great to see veterans Mitch Duncan and Jed Bews contributing strongly; Bews was really effective.

Onwards and upwards, hopefully.

GWS has been one of the easy beats this year. It does not augur well for Geelong if we can't beat a very ordinary GWS at home.
We can’t beat any ordinary ****ing teams. St Kilda Carlton and now GWS, we are a team that plays to the level of the opposition.

Outplayed them by a margin I thought, apart from their one strength which they used so well.

We have a team of battlers and they've got a few highly skilled blokes which can cut you up.

Dominated much of that last quarter, and our forward delivery was better this time than often when we are chasing it.

Quite simply, didn't finish off. Some sloppy shots at goal and decisions cost is. But that was an entertaining game if footy, and a few out of form blokes found a little bit tonight.

Kolo, Henry, Humphries or Stewart would have been nice.

So we get beaten by what we know yet again. Annoying.

So frustrating to see so many contested marks conceded as the Giants come out of defence.

Sign me up for the following clubs:
1. the Harden Up, SDK club
2. the never handball again, Mitch club
3. the Stop Being the Hero, Shaun club

You are full of yourself. Seriously. You were tagging me every 30 minutes in the game-day thread.

I don't know how any Geelong supporter can honestly sit back and say that our midfield is not the issue.

Yes, we had no Henry but Stewart's been piss poor for a year already. He's 32 going on 33. If he gets back to the player he was, great, but we've been losing while in the team.
Humphries was a big loss but in the third quarter, they won all the critical stats needed which put the game on their terms.

Let's hope Henry is back asap.
O'Sullivan looks tired and De Koning is not progressing into the player he was touted to become in 2022.
I agree that Stewart is no longer a necessity. He's nice to have but he is a shadow of the player from a few years ago.

Didn't think we would beat them. Their a genuine flag threat and we are merely making up the numbers.

Smith was brilliant all day. We would be in a world of hurt if not for his influence in midfield. A consistent gut running machine.
Holmes pathetic in the third quarter when it was there to be won.
A genuine flag threat lmfao good one mate. They barely beat us with 4 of our 6 starting defenders missing... :$

As far as I’m concerned that’s as positive a loss you could get.

You are full of yourself. Seriously. You were tagging me every 30 minutes in the game-day thread.

I don't know how any Geelong supporter can honestly sit back and say that our midfield is not the issue.

Yes, we had no Henry but Stewart's been piss poor for a year already. He's 32 going on 33. If he gets back to the player he was, great, but we've been losing while in the team.
Humphries was a big loss but in the third quarter, they won all the critical stats needed which put the game on their terms.

Let's hope Henry is back asap.
O'Sullivan looks tired and De Koning is not progressing into the player he was touted to become in 2022.
Keep the personal shit out of it and discuss football.

How you can watch a match like that and think we lost it from midfield baffles me.

Check the scores from stoppage differential. Our drive from midfield and territory dominance kept us in it.

We lost this game from their defenders intercepting and transitioning off half back.

Their midfielders got involved in those chains but it was primarily Taylor, Aish and Whitfield dominating half back and then feeding their forwards- who eviscerated us in their 1v1 battles.

Stewart and humphries in (probably for Clark and ted) will help but there's about 5 others I'd drop but the problem is some including neale and sdk we have no replacements for. Duncan will get torched on the bigger ground at AO (if he isn't sub).

Arghh,not a flipping gain.
Tried but played like rubbish. So many mistakes, poor choices, lack of dare. Had our chances- didn’t take them. What is it with that team and us? Blix always gets those goals.
Ah well regroup and must win a couple of 50/ 50 games now.

GWS has been one of the easy beats this year. It does not augur well for Geelong if we can't beat a very ordinary GWS at home.
At the game I thought they were a bit of a one trick pony, but they used that trick really well against us. Otherwise I'm not sold on the giants.

We should have put them away earlier, and def should have overrun them in the last. Just ****ed it up in the end. I think the performance augurs well TBH.

It's a bummer we didn't just bank those 4 points.

The team is down on man-power.

Henry, Kolo, Stewart and Humphries out of our backline.

Jack Martin if he can get it together in a couple of months could be a very handy inclusion and offer about 3x more than the VFL level Clark/Clohesy offer.

Autopsy Cats lose to GWS by 4 points